Full Version: Is Boyd Regretting It?
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > Tartan Army Ramblings
Pages: 1, 2, 3
youroldda
Does anyone think that Boyd is already regretting chucking the national team , no matter what he says about it, surley it was a knee jerk reaction!
After all , the best we could have hoped for is second place, and currently after 3 games we are in.. second place!
How fuckin sick is Boyd going to feel if we qualify?
buttons22
QUOTE (youroldda @ Oct 20 2008, 20:57) *
Does anyone think that Boyd is already regretting chucking the national team , no matter what he says about it, surley it was a knee jerk reaction!
After all , the best we could have hoped for is second place, and currently after 3 games we are in.. second place!

TBH I don't think it was a knee jerk reaction considering he's been thinking it over for the last couple of months. I don't think he has the brains to regret it. He didn't play much for Scotland anyway so he won't be missed that much.

He'll only be missed by the people who for some strange reason blame the fact we haven't be playing well on the absence of Boyd...but no one complained about this last season when we were close to qualifying even though had 2 of the worlds top teams in our group.
youroldda
QUOTE (buttons22 @ Oct 20 2008, 21:31) *
TBH I don't think it was a knee jerk reaction considering he's been thinking it over for the last couple of months. I don't think he has the brains to regret it. He didn't play much for Scotland anyway so he won't be missed that much.

He'll only be missed by the people who for some strange reason blame the fact we haven't be playing well on the absence of Boyd...but no one complained about this last season when we were close to qualifying even though had 2 of the worlds top teams in our group.

This particular statement from Boyd shows just what a fanny he is ,considering that Burleys first competitive game was last month! and Boyds been thinking about it for a COUPLE of months, does this mean that he condidering quiting "because of burley" before burleys first game?
port-ton
I don't think he's regretting it, but im sure he will be when we play Argentina and Holland away...then he'll realise what a silly boy he's been missing out on two of the biggest games of his career possibly.
Skyline Drifter
QUOTE (port-ton @ Oct 21 2008, 08:22) *
I don't think he's regretting it, but im sure he will be when we play Argentina and Holland away...then he'll realise what a silly boy he's been missing out on two of the biggest games of his career possibly.

The latter maybe, though I seriously doubt he'd have been involved. There's nothing especially "big" career-wise about a bounce game against Argentinian fringe players though. Fair to middling chance that he, and half of our other players, especially from Celtic / Rangers, would have pulled out anyway citing some mysterious injury that would remarkably clear up before the next league game.
Disraeli

Boyd has come across as lucid and sincere, much more so than Burley - even though Boyd has always been distinctly nervous around cameras.

I don't think he'll regret quitting at any point. He's seen nothing from Burley, thus far, that would suggest Boyd would get a game against minnows like Iceland and Macedonia, never mind a team like the Netherlands.
H_B
QUOTE (Disraeli @ Oct 21 2008, 10:37) *
Boyd has come across as lucid and sincere, much more so than Burley -

In what way?
Disraeli
QUOTE (H_B @ Oct 21 2008, 11:00) *
In what way?

Boyd has stated his intentions clearly and he has supported his views with evidence i.e the twenty eight minutes he has played under Burley.

Burley, on the other hand, chose to mutter about hotels and wages, rather than admitting that he was wrong not to play Boyd.
Rovers_Lad
Gough,Goram,Ferguson,Weir(returned),McCulloch,Boyd,Smith,McL
eish have all turned their back on their country.Connection? wink.gif
ClydeNewcomer

Yip totally agree.

Boyd should also be deported.

Absolute idiot
blue ayr
I think if we qualify, which to me is a big if, then he'l be disappointed in the sense that hes missing out on playing on a top International stage. But he'l also be aware that even if he hadn't jacked it then he wouldnt have got a look in with Burley anyway, therefore it isnt really a missed opportunity.
FilthyMack
even though Boyd has always been distinctly nervous around cameras.

So thats why he never gets a look in for the big games.

Iwelumo should try using this one.
dogma
Boyd has come across as lucid and sincere, much more so than Burley - even though Boyd has always been distinctly nervous around cameras.

I don't think he'll regret quitting at any point. He's seen nothing from Burley, thus far, that would suggest Boyd would get a game against minnows like Iceland and Macedonia, never mind a team like the Netherlands.

That wouldnt take much however....
DJP
QUOTE (port-ton @ Oct 21 2008, 08:22) *

hmmm he has played in a few cup final's with Rangers. Biggest games of his career, much better then a friendly with Argentina. Holland away, he would have not featured anyway, like the France and Italy games when he was over looked.

I am dissapointed he retired, although excited by the ariel presence of Fletcher if he can carry on progressing along with Ross McCormack who is scoring goals for fun with Cardiff as a possible partnership in a couple years. Although a couple of years is a long time in football and a lot can change in that time
bleubrazil
Too late - he has blown it..
G_Man1985
QUOTE (DJP @ Oct 21 2008, 16:06) *
hmmm he has played in a few cup final's with Rangers. Biggest games of his career, much better then a friendly with Argentina. Holland away, he would have not featured anyway, like the France and Italy games when he was over looked.

I am dissapointed he retired, although excited by the ariel presence of Fletcher if he can carry on progressing along with Ross McCormack who is scoring goals for fun with Cardiff as a possible partnership in a couple years. Although a couple of years is a long time in football and a lot can change in that time

Correct alot can change by then,like managers. So now he concentrates with club football and bags him a few goals when back, not to bad
Michael W
Boyd's scored twice today now.
dave258
Will he fuck be regretting it today. 2 goals, albeit one of which was possibly offside and the other a pen, but even so it's a big 2 fingers up to George Burley in showing what he can do against a defensive minded side (a la Norway) when given few opportunities (3 chances/2 goals, the other a phenomenal save).

Also good to see wee Novo on the score sheet and playing well when he came on, if he's serious about this British passport thing it's a wee nod in George "I'm no an alky, honest" Burley's direction.
Jeff Venom
QUOTE (dave258 @ Oct 25 2008, 16:15) *
Will he f**k be regretting it today. 2 goals, albeit one of which was possibly offside and the other a pen, but even so it's a big 2 fingers up to George Burley in showing what he can do against a defensive minded side (a la Norway) when given few opportunities (3 chances/2 goals, the other a phenomenal save).

Also good to see wee Novo on the score sheet and playing well when he came on, if he's serious about this British passport thing it's a wee nod in George "I'm no an alky, honest" Burley's direction.

Yep, I KNOW Bidey will have slept sound on Saturday night knowing that he was well and truly correct to walk out on his country after scoring a penalty and and an open net from 5 yards against bottom of the table Hamilton Accies. An emphatic two-finger salute to the Scotland boss.

Guess what Boyd, you're still a d*ck pump
Gordon EF
QUOTE (dave258 @ Oct 25 2008, 15:15) *
Will he f**k be regretting it today. 2 goals, albeit one of which was possibly offside and the other a pen, but even so it's a big 2 fingers up to George Burley in showing what he can do against a defensive minded side (a la Norway) when given few opportunities (3 chances/2 goals, the other a phenomenal save).

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Aye I'm sure that penalty against Hamilton Accies had the Norwegians thanking their lucky stars that they don't have to face Boyd.
dogma
QUOTE (Gordon EF @ Oct 27 2008, 14:12) *
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Aye I'm sure that penalty against Hamilton Accies had the Norwegians thanking their lucky stars that they don't have to face Boyd.

Given Imelumos miss yes they probably are.
DJP
QUOTE (dogma @ Oct 27 2008, 17:20) *
Given Imelumos miss yes they probably are.

youroldda
QUOTE (dave258 @ Oct 25 2008, 15:15) *

Funny how some papers go with the "look burley you was wrong cos boyd scored against a diddy team angle" but don't don't go with the you was right burley, cos fletcher scored 2 against Celtic and played great and Iwelomu scored again 9 in ten games angle! wink.gif
IXI THE ONE IXI
Scotland won't qualify, so why would Boyd regret his decision?
Gordon EF
QUOTE (IXI THE ONE IXI @ Oct 27 2008, 19:35) *

By that logic he must be regretting signing for Rangers as they couldn't qualify for the Champions League.
chris123
QUOTE (IXI THE ONE IXI @ Oct 27 2008, 19:35) *

QUOTE (Gordon EF @ Oct 28 2008, 00:36) *
By that logic he must be regretting signing for Rangers as they couldn't qualify for the Champions League.

Owned.

As pointed out above, as much as I think Boyd should have come on against Norway, he can't have much to complain about. Iwelumo plays at a much higher level and scores consistently, while Fletcher brings more to the overall game.
dogma
QUOTE (chris123 @ Oct 28 2008, 09:23) *
Owned.

As pointed out above, as much as I think Boyd should have come on against Norway, he can't have much to complain about. Iwelumo plays at a much higher level and scores consistently, while Fletcher brings more to the overall game.

Over the course of 6 games anyway laugh.gif . Whats his goal scoring record like against decent teams over the last 4 years ?
washsacks
QUOTE (chris123 @ Oct 28 2008, 10:23) *
Owned.

Well you are slavering pish on two points there.

Firstly, The Championship isn't a higher level than the SPL. The Championship is a journeyman league filled with Bolton rejects and SPL duds. Boyd would run riot in the Championship and indeed the EPL. He would score a barrowload wherever he goes.

Secondly, show me the fact that Iwelumo scores, consistently, at a "much higher level" than Boyd? You will find they don't exist. Unless you are suggesting League 1 is of a higher standard than the SPL? Or a player who couldn't score the mighty Danish 2nd division should replace Scotland's most natural goalscorer since McCoist?

George Burley's job is on a sticky wicket. Just wait until McFadden and a certain Celtic player call it a day next month. Cheerio George.
Rovers_Lad
Firstly, The Championship isn't a higher level than the SPL.

Outwith the OF it is IMO

Boyd would run riot in the Championship and indeed the EPL.

He wouldn`t as he wouldn`t get a game for being a lazy bassa and theres no way he would run riot in the EPL
chris123
QUOTE (washsacks @ Oct 28 2008, 15:24) *
Well you are slavering pish on two points there.

Firstly, The Championship isn't a higher level than the SPL. The Championship is a journeyman league filled with Bolton rejects and SPL duds. Boyd would run riot in the Championship and indeed the EPL. He would score a barrowload wherever he goes.

Secondly, show me the fact that Iwelumo scores, consistently, at a "much higher level" than Boyd? You will find they don't exist. Unless you are suggesting League 1 is of a higher standard than the SPL? Or a player who couldn't score the mighty Danish 2nd division should replace Scotland's most natural goalscorer since McCoist?

George Burley's job is on a sticky wicket. Just wait until McFadden and a certain Celtic player call it a day next month. Cheerio George.

You are suggesting that in my post I said Boyd is not good enough huh.gif

Boyd is our best finisher by a country mile, and as I said should have played against Norway. I agree, you stick him in at Manchester United or Arsenal, and he'll score for fun, the amount of chances those two create. When I said consistenly I meant this season, however I apologise if that was taken out of context. The championship is a much higher standard then the opposition that Boyd plays against every week.
StMirren1987
Should never play for scotland again, if he doesn't want 2 play under burley he shouldn't play under any manager full stop!
Michael W
QUOTE (StMirren1987 @ Oct 28 2008, 16:57) *
Should never play for scotland again, if he doesn't want 2 play under burley he shouldn't play under any manager full stop!

That's just being ridiculous.
Rovers_Lad
Why is it ridiculous?How many chances do you give the guy?Say Souness got the job after Burley,called Boyd up and never played him.Boyd takes a hissy fit and says I`m don`t want considered for the squad as long as Souness is the manager.The guys bawsed up big time IMO.Hes selected for the squad to represent his country,not Burley,playing or not.He decided to make it personal.He has turned his back on his country the same as Gough,Goram,Ferguson,Weir(should never have been accepted back)McCulloch,Smith and McLeish
BerwickMad
If he wouldnt say sorry for calling Burley a poof at the time, he's hardly going to go back now. Calling Butcher an English b*****d when he tried to get him to say sorry would have hardly helped.
Michael W
QUOTE (Rovers_Lad @ Oct 29 2008, 15:07) *
Why is it ridiculous?How many chances do you give the guy?Say Souness got the job after Burley,called Boyd up and never played him.Boyd takes a hissy fit and says I`m don`t want considered for the squad as long as Souness is the manager.The guys bawsed up big time IMO.Hes selected for the squad to represent his country,not Burley,playing or not.He decided to make it personal.He has turned his back on his country the same as Gough,Goram,Ferguson,Weir(should never have been accepted back)McCulloch,Smith and McLeish

Because he's said he doesn't wish to play for Burley, he never said he didn't want to play for Scotland again.
the_saints_are_coming
QUOTE (Michael W @ Oct 29 2008, 23:32) *
Because he's said he doesn't wish to play for Burley, he never said he didn't want to play for Scotland again.

So everything is on Boyds terms is it? By not playing for Burley he is also not playing for Scotland. rolleyes.gif So therefore he should never play for us again.
Michael W
QUOTE (the_saints_are_coming @ Oct 30 2008, 08:08) *
So everything is on Boyds terms is it? By not playing for Burley he is also not playing for Scotland. rolleyes.gif So therefore he should never play for us again.

Well done on that impeccable piece of logic. Boyd's issues are however, with the manager, not the national side.

Managers come and go. As far as I'm concerned, Boyd should be allowed back into the squad when Burley goes if the new manager wishes to pick him.
Rovers_Lad
QUOTE (Michael W @ Oct 30 2008, 00:32) *

Its a good job the scotland supporters don`t take that attitude,f**k it,am no going to the games as long as Burleys in charge.

Boyd's issues are however, with the manager, not the national side.

He should be man enough to rise up above the personal pish with Burley and be available for squad selection cause hes representing his country not any individual

Managers come and go

Correct but what happens if Boyd has the same attitude with the next manager?

Michael W
QUOTE (Rovers_Lad @ Oct 30 2008, 12:24) *
Its a good job the scotland supporters don`t take that attitude,f**k it,am no going to the games as long as Burleys in charge.

Give it time sad.gif

He should be man enough to rise up above the personal pish with Burley and be available for squad selection cause hes representing his country not any individual

To be honest, if I was unhappy with my boss at work I'd certainly consider leaving. It is a let down whats happened, but Its more our loss than Boyd's unfortunately.

Correct but what happens if Boyd has the same attitude with the next manager?

If's and but's, but if he does then perhaps we can really start to doubt his commitment to Scotland.
Rovers_Lad
To be honest, if I was unhappy with my boss at work I'd certainly consider leaving.

Tad different IMO

but Its more our loss than Boyd's unfortunately.

I agree

IXI THE ONE IXI
QUOTE (Gordon EF @ Oct 28 2008, 01:36) *

Well maybe if he had signed this summer, but he didn't did he? He's played in Europe for Rangers, so why would he regret it?

Scotland won't qualify due to the inept decisions and man management from Burley. The next Scotland manager would be a fool to overlook Kris Boyd due to his spat with a useless manager.
IXI THE ONE IXI
QUOTE (chris123 @ Oct 28 2008, 10:23) *
Owned.

He couldn't score from 4 yards out in an empty goal, and Fletcher was piss poor. It was a terrible decision from Burley, and one that looks to have sealed his fate.
washsacks
QUOTE (Rovers_Lad @ Oct 28 2008, 17:32) *
Outwith the OF it is IMO

He wouldn`t as he wouldn`t get a game for being a lazy bassa and theres no way he would run riot in the EPL

How the f**k would you know what standard the SPL is you lino licking c**t? How many years in 2nd has been? Have you even seen Boyd play in the flesh?

The Championship is a shocking league. Look at almost every defence in the Championship and they are all journeymen or players like Stephen Crainey who were SPL duds. The only difference is they can afford to pay average average players 20k a week and the SPL can't. Fucking Jason De Vos was the Ipswich Captain. That is how shit it is.

QUOTE (chris123 @ Oct 28 2008, 17:43) *
You are suggesting that in my post I said Boyd is not good enough huh.gif

Boyd is our best finisher by a country mile, and as I said should have played against Norway. I agree, you stick him in at Manchester United or Arsenal, and he'll score for fun, the amount of chances those two create. When I said consistenly I meant this season, however I apologise if that was taken out of context. The championship is a much higher standard then the opposition that Boyd plays against every week.

I apologise. I appear to have mis read your post.

However, i still disagree that Boyd players against a lower standard than Iwelumo week in week out.
DancingInTheStreets
If anyone should be regretting it today, it's George Burley having watched Boyd grab a hat-trick in less than 30mins.

He will probably say he doesn't though as he's been unable to own up to any of the other mistakes he's made throughout his short time in charge.
uberman

QUOTE (washsacks @ Oct 30 2008, 15:10) *
How the f**k would you know what standard the SPL is you lino licking c**t? How many years in 2nd has been? Have you even seen Boyd play in the flesh?

The Championship is a shocking league. Look at almost every defence in the Championship and they are all journeymen or players like Stephen Crainey who were SPL duds. The only difference is they can afford to pay average average players 20k a week and the SPL can't. Fucking Jason De Vos was the Ipswich Captain. That is how shit it is.

If you think the SPL is a higher standard the the championship you know nothing about football, it is a far better league, only the OF would challenge at the top to win it, the rest of the SPL teams would be well down the bottom half.
DomDom
I don't think the Championship is much higher standard than the SPL. I DO agree that it's a higher standard, but there most certainly isn't much in it.
DJP
QUOTE (DJP @ Oct 21 2008, 15:06) *

Another goal for McCormack today, looking some player.
Casper Rose
QUOTE (DJP @ Nov 1 2008, 18:25) *
Another goal for McCormack today, looking some player.

Watching the game just now, his finish was class, he should have had a second but his ankles were clipped by the center half so he fluffed his shot, no penalty given also!
Diamonds are Forever
QUOTE (DancingInTheStreets @ Nov 1 2008, 15:37) *
If anyone should be regretting it today, it's George Burley having watched Boyd grab a hat-trick in less than 30mins.

Yeah, and against top quality opposition as well

the_saints_are_coming
QUOTE (Diamonds are Forever @ Nov 1 2008, 18:52) *
Yeah, and against top quality opposition as well

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif