local-lad
Oct 15 2008, 08:21
I just wanted to hear what the best derby matches were in the scottish junior leagues. It does not need to be the best teams in the league. Some of the best derby's are between to local teams that are as bad as each other. Who normally comes away with the local bragging rights? Whats the atmosphere like between the players ( who prob all know each other ) and sets of fans?
I will start it off this weekend i will be watching my two local teams!
Livingston V Pumpherston
Now i am well aware that this is not a top match on the weekends fixtures, But these are two local teams ( 3 miles apart ) that i watch weekly depending who is playing at home.
I am looking forward to a good faught match with no doubt some dirty takles and possibly a few goals. Its a shame these local teams dont get a great deal of support as this but only adds to the hype of the game. I have watched these two teams knock lumps out of each other on a number of occassions i only hope it gets a strong ref. Looking at the league tables both of these teams need the 3 points to get there seasons off to a start and get away from the bottom of the table.
My bet is this will be a close game, If i needed to put money on it i would say Pumpherston seem to have the upper hand as they seem to have a better set up with some really good players.
Good luck to both teams......Can't wait till Sat.
BadgersNadgers
Oct 15 2008, 09:14
Auchinleck Talbot v. Cumnock Juniors, known as El Clasico. Atmosphere is usually tasty and Strathclyde Police often send a few boys down.
junior_fan08
Oct 15 2008, 09:15
oh yes oh yes, quite a darby this game is going to be. Watched a few of these games over the years, and while the players seem to be all handshakes and laughs before the game soon as the whistle goes its like celtic v rangers.
Im not sure im a pumpherston fan so would like to see them winning it but although they showed what a good team they can be against linlithgow in first half and against harthill, they seem to leak goals and dont seem to be solid enough.
The boy clifford who is one of the strongest parts of the team constantly is having his defense changed around and feel his game is suffering a bit because of this.Surley a experienced sweeper should be signed to help out this boy as he is a good talent. (clifford is a cert to be booked on sat)
Also everytime i watch them they have differnt wingers none more impressive than the next! The center midfield looks strong, and the boy gordon adam is top class (my bet for first goal on sat)
livingston look very unpredictable and like the look of fleming and higgins, watched them against bonnyrig and they were shocking no team should lose 7 goals. On the other hand watched them against armadale they were great and if they play like that then pumphy have no chance..
prediction 1-1
chef1973
Oct 15 2008, 10:07
been too a few cumnock talbot derbies in ma time nothing like rangers celtic its local pride they play for and not the bigoted bile that follows the old firm was at the scottish cup tie last season at townhead i think there was over 4000 at the match,1 of the best moments of a cumnock talbot match was a few year back at beechwood it was a midweek cup tie that went too penalties as the pens were getting sorted out keithie stewart(cumnock) and i think it was billy thomson(talbot) were rolling aboot the ground they were both red carded as they made there way too the clubhouse keithie stewart turned and raise his arms too the nock fans so the red carded talbot player flew for him and the ended up rolling about in the clubhouse fantastic
cripple
Oct 15 2008, 10:12
pumphy_man
Oct 15 2008, 10:18
Pumphy v Broxburn is more like a derby match in my eyes,honours hav been even the last couple of seasons,last season if i remember correctly we were 2.1 down in league and snatched a 3.2 win at Albyn Park.And they Were 2 nil up at halftime going on 4 or 5 nil and we snatched a 2 each draw in league.Cant remember the other league score last season.This season they beat us 2.1
cmontheloknow
Oct 15 2008, 10:19
QUOTE (local-lad @ Oct 15 2008, 09:21)

I just wanted to hear what the best derby matches were in the scottish junior leagues. It does not need to be the best teams in the league. Some of the best derby's are between to local teams that are as bad as each other. Who normally comes away with the local bragging rights? Whats the atmosphere like between the players ( who prob all know each other ) and sets of fans?
I will start it off this weekend i will be watching my two local teams!
Livingston V Pumpherston
Now i am well aware that this is not a top match on the weekends fixtures, But these are two local teams ( 3 miles apart ) that i watch weekly depending who is playing at home.
I am looking forward to a good faught match with no doubt some dirty takles and possibly a few goals. Its a shame these local teams dont get a great deal of support as this but only adds to the hype of the game. I have watched these two teams knock lumps out of each other on a number of occassions i only hope it gets a strong ref. Looking at the league tables both of these teams need the 3 points to get there seasons off to a start and get away from the bottom of the table.
My bet is this will be a close game, If i needed to put money on it i would say Pumpherston seem to have the upper hand as they seem to have a better set up with some really good players.
Good luck to both teams......Can't wait till Sat.
As a semi regular Livingston watcher, do you know if the lad at the back Mark Thomas is the former Aberdeen and Stranraer player? I know there's already a Dons connection with Bobby Thomson and they played together for years.
More widely speaking, Pollok v Arthurlie is always a bit tasty. From the last season or so...
20/9/08: 7 yellow, 2 red
6/9/08: 3 yellow
6/8/08: 5 yellow, 2 red
12/5/08: 6 yellow
15/4/08: 12 yellow
24/11/07: 8 yellow, 2 red
11/8/07: 4 yellow, 1 red
prorege
Oct 15 2008, 10:34
The Scottish Junior Cup Round 2 game between Nitten and the Germans will inflame local passions
beith19
Oct 15 2008, 11:04
Beith v Kilbirnie are never normally quiet affairs, been quite a few red cards and mass fights between the teams on the park over the years. Not so much recently with both teams trying to get the ball down and play it on the deck - but the atmosphere is always there.
But other than our own, from the other derbies I'd seen I'd go to a Talbot v Cumnock derby then a Pollok v Arthurlie game as both have good derby atmospheres as well. Don't think you can ever beat the one your own team is involved in though.
Millfield Marksman
Oct 15 2008, 11:16
Haddington v Tranent is East Lothian's clash-of-the-not-so-titans. Dunbar like to get one over on us as well. Not particularly bad-tempered these days although the older committee members can remember a tasty match or three from days of yore.
Gin and Juice
Oct 15 2008, 11:59
Bo'ness v Linlthgow. Grant Stott once described it as the Old firm Derby of the Juniors.
junior_fan08
Oct 15 2008, 12:54
QUOTE (Gin and Juice @ Oct 15 2008, 12:59)

Bo'ness v Linlthgow. Grant Stott once described it as the Old firm Derby of the Juniors.
yeah been to a few cracking linlithgow boness games its a right good game..
On another issue every team that seem to play against maryhill or pollock in the west, seem to hate them. anyone give any insight into why these 2 teams seem to be so widely disliked?
Kayster
Oct 15 2008, 13:01
I have played with livi the last 3 seasons & Bobby and Mark are still playing with us.
As for saturdays game we won 5-0 away & 3-1 @ home last year when we met, but that means nothing, usually they are tight games, but obviously I hope we come out on top.
A repeat of the Armadale game would be nice...
Burnie_man
Oct 15 2008, 13:33
Any combination of Blackburn Utd v West Calder Utd v Stoneyburn is usually "hard fought". I cant say there's a local derby as such as there's so many teams in such a relatively small area.
cmontheloknow
Oct 15 2008, 15:35
QUOTE (Kayster @ Oct 15 2008, 14:01)

I have played with livi the last 3 seasons & Bobby and Mark are still playing with us.
Kayster, is it the same Mark Thomas who was with Aberdeen and Stranraer?
Kayster
Oct 15 2008, 16:06
Yea think he played with Stranraer last season.
cmontheloknow
Oct 15 2008, 16:44
QUOTE (Kayster @ Oct 15 2008, 17:06)

Yea think he played with Stranraer last season.
cheers mate
Kayster
Oct 15 2008, 17:19
Mind me asking why you ask?
cmontheloknow
Oct 15 2008, 17:32
QUOTE (Kayster @ Oct 15 2008, 18:19)

Mind me asking why you ask?

Nowt more interesting/tedious than I keep a wee season by season database of scottish footballers.
Kayster
Oct 15 2008, 17:35
No probs, you must have a big list!
Jim Hamilton & Colin Cramb must take up half your book!
cmontheloknow
Oct 15 2008, 17:51
QUOTE (Kayster @ Oct 15 2008, 18:35)

No probs, you must have a big list!
Jim Hamilton & Colin Cramb must take up half your book!
It's a spreadsheet so size doesn't really matter!
It's got most Juniors from the late 1990s plus all Seniors from 1980 and some from before, as well as all the Anglos from 1946. 26,000 names just now!
Who's in your pool beyond the below this season? I assume you're Richard Kay or are you Dean? I only this year have those who played a league cup game in August.
Bradford, Scott
Brannan, David
Fleming, Bryan
Fleming, Tony
Frater, Gary
Higgins, Liam
Kay, Richard
McGovern, Tom
Munro, Dom
Nichol, Gary
Simpson, Lee
Thomas, Chris
Thomas, Mark
Thomson, Bobby
Thomson, Marshall
Kayster
Oct 15 2008, 18:14
Im Richard, Dean no longer plays anymore.
We have a few others. Steven Thomson, Richard Handyside & David Currie. Quite interesting hat you keep a note of all those players. Good work.
Better stop Hijacking the thread or will end up on the complaints forum, ha ha!
cmontheloknow
Oct 15 2008, 21:04
QUOTE (Kayster @ Oct 15 2008, 19:14)

Im Richard, Dean no longer plays anymore.
We have a few others. Steven Thomson, Richard Handyside & David Currie. Quite interesting hat you keep a note of all those players. Good work.
Better stop Hijacking the thread or will end up on the complaints forum, ha ha!
Thanks again Kayster.
starky
Oct 15 2008, 23:38
watched the bonnyrigg vs livingson game the other week even thogh bonnyrigg one, i thought the little no 8 for livingston was the best player on the park, he played center mid and not once did he lose the ball, the boy should be playing with abetter team than livi, surely
cmontheloknow
Oct 16 2008, 07:09
QUOTE (starky @ Oct 16 2008, 00:38)

watched the bonnyrigg vs livingson game the other week even thogh bonnyrigg one, i thought the little no 8 for livingston was the best player on the park, he played center mid and not once did he lose the ball, the boy should be playing with abetter team than livi, surely
Gary Frater, a 21 year old formerly of the Shire, Airdrie United and Armadale Thistle.
star214
Oct 16 2008, 11:16
QUOTE (prorege @ Oct 15 2008, 11:34)

The Scottish Junior Cup Round 2 game between Nitten and the Germans will inflame local passions
The first ever recorded game against Arniston Rangers 1890/91 (Star 7 Arniston 0)
1920/21 cup Match was abandoned with 5 minutes left after a pitch invasion due to the award of a disputed penalty. Star were awarded the tie. "this team just can't take a beating"
1945/46 A Supplementary League was organised at the end of the season to provide some fixtures during which Star defeat Arniston 9-0 at Gorebridge
1951/52 The opening League game was at Arniston where a crowd of 2000 saw a rare Star defeat, with Arniston winning 2-1.
1954/55 The season ended in exciting and controversial circumstances. Star won the Mid / East Division title for the fourth time in five years but only after a titanic struggle with Arniston Rangers. The two great rivals finished level at the top of the Mid / East Division, and a play off was needed to settle the issue. Arniston won the toss to stage the game but home advantage proved no advantage. Star stormed to a 5-1 win with goals from Slater (2), Fitzpatrick (2, both penalties) and Paton.
1955/56 Scottish Junior Cup 3rd round 3-3 away, 2-2 home, replay (1-7 Arniston)
1958/59 Scottish Junior Cup 2nd round 1-2 Arniston.(still won the league).
1973/74 Scottish Junior Cup 2nd round 5-3 star.
1990/91 Scottish Junior Cup Final Newtongrange Lost 1-0 to Talbot. Arniston Rangers Supporters were driveing through newtongrange with Auchinleck Flags flying from car windows.
1993/94 Scottish Junior Cup 1st round 3-2 star
2008/09 Scottish Junior Cup 2nd round 1-0 star.
local-lad
Oct 16 2008, 15:04
The boy clifford who is one of the strongest parts of the team constantly is having his defense changed around and feel his game is suffering a bit because of this.Surley a experienced sweeper should be signed to help out this boy as he is a good talent. (clifford is a cert to be booked on sat)
[/quote]
Herd a rumor that Pumperston have signed ex livingston center half Lee Hargreaves???
I watched him for a season about two years ago at Livingston and he was a really solid center half. Very good reading of the game, kind of an older head for a young boy.
If its true then this could be a good partnership for the boy clifford and a good signing for Pumpherston. Not heard of the boy since then so not 100% sure.
Kayster
Oct 16 2008, 15:07
Are you Johnny Clifords agent?
local-lad
Oct 16 2008, 15:26
QUOTE (Kayster @ Oct 16 2008, 16:07)

Are you Johnny Clifords agent?

haha i was simply replying to an add left by juniorfan08
dealornodeal
Oct 16 2008, 18:29
More like Johnnys dad,Yes Lee has signed for Pumphy not seen much of him to see if hes good their games keep getting called off due weather.
Burnie_man
Oct 16 2008, 18:49
QUOTE (star214 @ Oct 16 2008, 12:16)

1954/55 The season ended in exciting and controversial circumstances. Star won the Mid / East Division title for the fourth time in five years but only after a titanic struggle with Arniston Rangers. The two great rivals finished level at the top of the Mid / East Division, and a play off was needed to settle the issue. Arniston won the toss to stage the game but home advantage proved no advantage. Star stormed to a 5-1 win with goals from Slater (2), Fitzpatrick (2, both penalties) and Paton.
There's actually more to this particular tale.
In season 1953-54, Arniston Rangers had beaten Bo'ness United 2-1 in the Championship play-off at Newtongrange.
At the conclusion of the following season as you said, Nitten had to play-off against Arniston to decide the winners of the Mid/East Section. Bo'ness had again won the West Section winning 25 out of 26 league games, therefore Bo'ness would face Nitten in the Championship play-off.
However the game was ordered to be played at Arniston, and Bo'ness complained that they again had to travel to Midlothian for this game, stating it should be held in West Lothian this time round. This was refused and Bo'ness refused to play the game, therefore the Championship was handed to Nitten and Bo'ness fined £10! Broxburn offered to step-in for Bo'ness as runners-up in the West section but this also was refused.
This lead to the introduction of 2 legged play-off the following year which existed upto 1973 when both sections merged to form the A and B Divisions.
You can all wake up now.
Berwick_Canary
Oct 16 2008, 19:11
Auchinleck-Cumnock takes some beating, think it's a bit tamer now than it was a few years ago. Seen a lot of feisty derby matches over the West including Neilston v Arthurlie, Pollok v Arthurle and Kilbirnie v Beith.
th1stleandr0se
Oct 16 2008, 19:28
QUOTE (junior_fan08 @ Oct 15 2008, 13:54)

yeah been to a few cracking linlithgow boness games its a right good game..
On another issue every team that seem to play against maryhill or pollock in the west, seem to hate them. anyone give any insight into why these 2 teams seem to be so widely disliked?
A couple of seasons back the Rose had a really good undefeated run except for a 4-0 stuffing from Bo'ness who were bottom of the league. Obviously Bo'ness raised their game for us that time but we've won the big ones against them in recent years.
Cmontheloknow, I know you hate it but I think you'd better just change the team's name to Pollock as it seems to be the natural way for everyone to spell it
cmontheloknow
Oct 16 2008, 19:30
QUOTE (th1stleandr0se @ Oct 16 2008, 20:28)

A couple of seasons back the Rose had a really good undefeated run except for a 4-0 stuffing from Bo'ness who were bottom of the league. Obviously Bo'ness raised their game for us that time but we've won the big ones against them in recent years.
Cmontheloknow, I know you hate it but I think you'd better just change the team's name to Pollock as it seems to be the natural way for everyone to spell it
Where does this typo come from though? It shocks me how many west coasters get it wrong considering half of Glasgow is named Pollokshields, Pollokshaws and Pollok!
star214
Oct 16 2008, 19:45
QUOTE (Burnie_man @ Oct 16 2008, 19:49)

There's actually more to this particular tale.
In season 1953-54, Arniston Rangers had beaten Bo'ness United 2-1 in the Championship play-off at Newtongrange.
At the conclusion of the following season as you said, Nitten had to play-off against Arniston to decide the winners of the Mid/East Section. Bo'ness had again won the West Section winning 25 out of 26 league games, therefore Bo'ness would face Nitten in the Championship play-off.
However the game was ordered to be played at Arniston, and Bo'ness complained that they again had to travel to Midlothian for this game, stating it should be held in West Lothian this time round. This was refused and Bo'ness refused to play the game, therefore the Championship was handed to Nitten and Bo'ness fined £10! Broxburn offered to step-in for Bo'ness as runners-up in the West section but this also was refused.
This lead to the introduction of 2 legged play-off the following year which existed upto 1973 when both sections merged to form the A and B Divisions.
You can all wake up now.
http://www.newtongrangestar.uwclub.net/index.html
Burnie_man
Oct 16 2008, 20:30
QUOTE (star214 @ Oct 16 2008, 20:45)

I know, and thanks for the mention of my book. New edition due out in 2011
monthelie'
Oct 16 2008, 21:01
QUOTE (Berwick_Canary @ Oct 16 2008, 20:11)

Auchinleck-Cumnock takes some beating, think it's a bit tamer now than it was a few years ago. Seen a lot of feisty derby matches over the West including Neilston v Arthurlie, Pollok v Arthurle and Kilbirnie v Beith.
The Arthurlie v Pollok games are usually pretty tasty, but our games with our near neighbours Neilston can be just as spicy.
The Neilston fans take these games much more seriously as they love to beat Arthurlie, with the Lie fans probaly having the same attitude towards Pollok.
We love to beat Pollok, but just expect to beat Neilston.
Brig O'Lea
Oct 16 2008, 22:36
QUOTE (monthelie' @ Oct 16 2008, 22:01)

but just expect to beat Neilston.
Aye and that's why we love you.
monthelie'
Oct 17 2008, 11:56
QUOTE (Brig O'Lea @ Oct 16 2008, 23:36)

Aye and that's why we love you.

Personally, 3 points against Neilston are vital, as a mate follows Neilston, and it's good to keep him in his place.
Right now though, I would take 3 points against anyone.
Kayster
Oct 20 2008, 13:53
Millfield Marksman
Oct 20 2008, 14:08
Kayster
Oct 20 2008, 14:18
Bad day at the office as well then aye?
Millfield Marksman
Oct 20 2008, 14:31
QUOTE (Kayster @ Oct 20 2008, 15:18)

Bad day at the office as well then aye?
3-0 after 15 mins. I'd rather have been at the office
Kayster
Oct 20 2008, 14:37
Thats a poor start eh!
We seemed to have all the posession but couldnt convert it into goals. Credit to pumphy for taking there chances though, even if they were bad mistakes on our part
pumphy_man
Oct 20 2008, 16:32
QUOTE (Kayster @ Oct 20 2008, 15:37)

Thats a poor start eh!
We seemed to have all the posession but couldnt convert it into goals. Credit to pumphy for taking there chances though, even if they were bad mistakes on our part

It was a good game,your keeper pulled off a few stunning saves in first half,the sending off which was a shocking decision,killed you off but we looked very nervy after we went 3-0 up.
Kayster
Oct 20 2008, 19:00
I was involved in the incident so didnt have a good view of the tackle, but heard it was a bit harsh, especially when there was a similair one earlier in the game.
Like I say although we had the bulk of posession, its all abot taking your chances, when you get them.
pumphy_man
Oct 20 2008, 20:11
QUOTE (Kayster @ Oct 20 2008, 20:00)

I was involved in the incident so didnt have a good view of the tackle, but heard it was a bit harsh, especially when there was a similair one earlier in the game.
Like I say although we had the bulk of posession, its all abot taking your chances, when you get them.
It was a poor tackle that merited only a yellow card,and i have to agree with the two footed tackle from Pumphys Morris looked a lot worse tackle that could have been a red cars.Refs are so inconsistant at all levels just now.
Souness
Nov 6 2008, 22:44
Try Lesmahagow v Lanark United, you can almost feel the hatred!
5 miles apart, Lanark under achievers and Lesmahagow over achievers, until recently!
Banter is right on the edge. Multi-player brawls, blood guts n snotters
A rival for the Nock v Talbot, on a good day or bad, depending how you look at it.
tattieman
Nov 7 2008, 18:38
Herd a rumor that Pumperston have signed ex livingston center half Lee Hargreaves???
I watched him for a season about two years ago at Livingston and he was a really solid center half. Very good reading of the game, kind of an older head for a young boy.
If its true then this could be a good partnership for the boy clifford and a good signing for Pumpherston. Not heard of the boy since then so not 100% sure.
[/quote]
Not sure about Hargreaves quality, too many rash challenges and struggles for pace. Looks as though he will spend more time on the treatment table than on the pitch!
lochee harp v dundee violet, used to be a big one attracting huge crowds, c'mon the harp!
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.