Full Version: Agent Butcher - Doing A Great Job?
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > Tartan Army Ramblings
Pages: 1, 2
chingford
Our manager must have been sharing his concerns, dreams, plans and ambitions with his Assistant Manager of Scotland - Agent Butcher.

No doubt Agent Butcher pointed out that Boyd was a lazy c**t, so should never be allowed to play.
No doubt Agent Butcher suggested that what was needed against the tall Nog defence was someone of Faddy's stature.

No doubt Agent Butcher is quietly pleased with progress, so far.
St. Starko
QUOTE (chingford @ Oct 13 2008, 11:36) *
Our manager must have been sharing his concerns, dreams, plans and ambitions with his Assistant Manager of Scotland - Agent Butcher.

No doubt Agent Butcher pointed out that Boyd was a lazy c**t, so should never be allowed to play.
No doubt Agent Butcher suggested that what was needed against the tall Nog defence was someone of Faddy's stature.

Good observation.

p***k.
Deeboy

I AM
TheDoctor
I wondered how long it would take some tosspot to blame Butcher for what's going on, because he's English.

Is there not some jigsaw you should be doing somewhere?
IXI THE ONE IXI
Butcher crept into Burley's hotel room at night while he was sleeping and whispered 'play McFadden up front on his own!' like that scene out of Dumbo.

Dirty bassa! mad.gif
The Moonster
I too was waiting for this to come out, it didnt take long. Just like it didnt take some Scotland fans to show themselves up for being the racist pigs they are after the game on Saturday. Some of the comments about Chris were disgusting.
Nizzy
QUOTE (The Moonster @ Oct 13 2008, 14:01) *
I too was waiting for this to come out, it didnt take long. Just like it didnt take some Scotland fans to show themselves up for being the racist pigs they are after the game on Saturday. Some of the comments about Chris were disgusting.

What are you referring to?
The Moonster
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Oct 13 2008, 14:09) *
What are you referring to?

As soon as Iwelumo missed the chance there were about 3 people behind us who made a racist comment. When we were walking out the ground another racist comment was made and last but not least, in the Scotia bar after the game another arsehole makes a comment about Iwelumos skin colour and blames it for missing the chance.
chingford
QUOTE (St. Starko @ Oct 13 2008, 11:45) *
Good observation.
p***k.

Intellectual debate and scintillating repartee. Your strong points? laugh.gif

QUOTE (TheDoctor @ Oct 13 2008, 13:49) *
I wondered how long it would take some tosspot to blame Butcher for what's going on, because he's English.

This is a case of Tosspot calling kettles engerlish. I made no mention of engerland nor of Butcher's being engerlish. I simply noticed that for a scottish national team it does not take a mental giant to work out that someone who is NOT Scottish is helping shape the decisions of Burley.
It's disgusting that you should be so openly anti-engerlish. I happily live and work in engerland amid engerlish people. mad.gif

QUOTE (The Moonster @ Oct 13 2008, 14:01) *

What is racist in commenting on nationalities in relation to the allegedly scottish NATIONAL team, as I have done?

Either there was no intended link between your comment on the Agent Butcher front and unrelated coments about Chris Iwelumo, a player I've always liked.....
...or you are a cretin.

I suspect the latter.

Too many website forum tubes think that loathing the idea of Scotland having to employ people who are not scottish in a scottish national team is akin to racism. That is simplistic thinking of the first magnitude.

And I do hope none of those self-same forum tubes wanted to see scotland actually beat norway on saturday because that would have been equally racist.
And I'm sure none of the heidbangers whingeing above took any delight in fucking up the French in the last campaign cos that, by the same deluded guidelines would be racist.

Fuckin mental-midget Bampots. rolleyes.gif
Nizzy
Who is Butcher an 'agent' of then?
Jim Pansy
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Oct 13 2008, 15:08) *
Who is Butcher an 'agent' of then?

And, if he lives in England with English people, why can't he spell the name of the country in which he lives?
LinkinFighter
The OP is feckin idiot
The Moonster
QUOTE (chingford @ Oct 13 2008, 15:01) *

This is a case of Tosspot calling kettles engerlish. I made no mention of engerland nor of Butcher's being engerlish. I simply noticed that for a scottish national team it does not take a mental giant to work out that someone who is NOT Scottish is helping shape the decisions of Burley.
It's disgusting that you should be so openly anti-engerlish. I happily live and work in engerland amid engerlish people. mad.gif

What is racist in commenting on nationalities in relation to the allegedly scottish NATIONAL team, as I have done?

Either there was no intended link between your comment on the Agent Butcher front and unrelated coments about Chris Iwelumo, a player I've always liked.....
...or you are a cretin.

I suspect the latter.

Too many website forum tubes think that loathing the idea of Scotland having to employ people who are not scottish in a scottish national team is akin to racism. That is simplistic thinking of the first magnitude.

And I do hope none of those self-same forum tubes wanted to see scotland actually beat norway on saturday because that would have been equally racist.
And I'm sure none of the heidbangers whingeing above took any delight in fucking up the French in the last campaign cos that, by the same deluded guidelines would be racist.

Fuckin mental-midget Bampots. rolleyes.gif

Where have I said you were racist? I was only making a comment on some of the Scotland fans behaviour. You are the one who is coming across as the cretin.

Fuckin numpty.
chico

ching, sorry bud but that's shite.

Butcher knows all about McFadden and tried to tell Burley not to play him alone upfront after McFadden said it wasn't the best way to play him.

The one up front was burley's idea and pretty much his alone.
youroldda

No doubt a fuckin dud coach like buther can't belive he's got such a cushy fuckin job wi a fuckin alky
chingford
QUOTE (The Moonster @ Oct 13 2008, 19:39) *
Where have I said you were racist? I was only making a comment on some of the Scotland fans behaviour. You are the one who is coming across as the cretin.
Fuckin numpty.

I offered you the choice of admitting there was no linkage between my statement and your accusations of racism by linkage of my topic and the appalling abuse of ex-Buddie Chris Iwelumo. You have chosen to ignore that opportunity and merely indulge in senseless name-calling - to which I was justified due to your initial scurrilous linkage. You are not. Until you admit and apologise, it must be assumed you are, indeed, a cretin.
(btw you are presenting yourself as being unable to make your mind up. In your eyes, I am coming across as a cretin and yet that also renders me as a numpty. If you have one - please make your mind up.)

QUOTE (chico @ Oct 13 2008, 19:42) *
Butcher knows all about McFadden and tried to tell Burley not to play him alone upfront after McFadden said it wasn't the best way to play him.

I could go with this if I knew your sources.
Meantime, cos I'm enjoying the minimal nibbles I'm getting on this topic, I choose to go with the 'non-scottish agent infiltrating our inner sanctum and defiling the mind of our aryan Jock Burley' angle. smile.gif
Jim Pansy
QUOTE (chico @ Oct 13 2008, 19:42) *

That's not true. James McFadden has said, according to Pat Nevin, many times that up front with his back to goal is his favoured position.
chingford
QUOTE (Jim Pansy @ Oct 14 2008, 10:36) *
That's not true. James McFadden has said, according to Pat Nevin, many times that up front with his back to goal is his favoured position.

To be fair, that's NOT saying he wants to be playing ALONE up front, is it? huh.gif

Anyway, if even non-Scot can recognise the idiocy of sticking a dwarf in alone versus Scandinavian giants, then Burley should have known that, too. dry.gif
Guttenberg
Just to clarify, why is he an 'Agent', who is he an agent for and what is his mission?

chingford
I know you're being deliberately, dully and unfunnily obtuse, but...
...here to help! smile.gif

An Agent: in the same manner as Agent William Stark (not Greenock-minded) did a smashing job as 'manager' of Morton FC.

Guttenberg
QUOTE (chingford @ Oct 14 2008, 12:40) *
I know you're being deliberately, dully and unfunnily obtuse, but...
...here to help! smile.gif

An Agent: in the same manner as Agent William Stark (not Greenock-minded) did a smashing job as 'manager' of Morton FC.

Almost there. wink.gif

So, who is he an agent for and what is his mission?

Also....

Why do you think he is an agent?

Are Burley and Pressley agents too?
chingford
I'm no playin.
FilthyMack
QUOTE (IXI THE ONE IXI @ Oct 13 2008, 13:54) *
Butcher crept into Burley's hotel room at night while he was sleeping and whispered 'play McFadden up front on his own!' like that scene out of Dumbo.

Dirty bassa! mad.gif

I was actually wondering along the same lines. I wonder too if Chingford suspects our former goalkeeping coach Alan Hodgkinson used to sneak into Jim Leighton's hotel room at night and stick a thigh master between his legs whilst he was sleeping so opposition strikers could sneakily nutmeg him. Then he'd slip in to Andy Goram's room and slip some walkman earphones on with a recording of him saying "I'm Andy Goram, and so am I" on auto-reverse.
Guttenberg
QUOTE (chingford @ Oct 14 2008, 13:41) *
I'm no playin.

Don't accuse the guy of being an 'agent' then.
chingford
'Don't' doesn't apply to me.
Especially when suggested by someone boring.
Guttenberg
QUOTE (chingford @ Oct 14 2008, 14:12) *
'Don't' doesn't apply to me.

Really? You must be cool.
Makoliunas
Xenophobic, paranoid ramblings from Scotland fans : who'd have thought it?

chingford
QUOTE (Makoliunas @ Oct 15 2008, 08:28) *
Xenophobic, paranoid ramblings from Scotland fans : who'd have thought it?

'xenophobic'? 'paranoid'?
I think not. smile.gif

You obviously have misunderstood the concept of NATIONAL football, Makoliunas. (Having suffered the ongoing tynecastle soap opera, one can forgive your confusion.)

I'm merely drawing attention to the continuing inconsistency about being a devoted fan of an alleged scottish national team that cannot be/is not being manned by individuals who are, in fact, scottish.

How can the TCFs cheer and sing and chant in support of their national team stuffing another 'national' team, when the scots themselves are unable to provide players/coaches/managers for the national team, but have to call on other nation's mercenaries to make up the shortfall? We have more than enough fitba mercenaries of our own, I'd have thought?

This current set-up is the first step towards Team GB, TCFs. And you're all supporting it. smile.gif

Rant against my nit-picking as much as you want. but it contains a wee kernel of irritating truth.

Delude yourselves all you want. And indulge in name-calling - but that truth appears to be that scotland isn't good enough or confident enough to trust scots to do the job any more. And the TCFs are willing to accept that. Team GB must swiftly follow.

I know other nations abuse the nationality issue much more than scotland - but I don't care about other nations.
I'm scottish and can see no point in a national team that isn't scottish.

btw I didn't go to watch the wee german's teams either. For the same reason.

The SFA're rippin the pish out of you, though to be fair, they're bringing in The Argies so you can enjoy seeing 'our' lads pit their wits against the 'cream' of foreign opposition.

Aye - that'll be right! rolleyes.gif
Ally's honest man

I heard it was the reverse cowgirl
Guttenberg
QUOTE (chingford @ Oct 15 2008, 09:09) *
I think not. smile.gif

You obviously have misunderstood the concept of NATIONAL football, Makoliunas. (Having suffered the ongoing tynecastle soap opera, one can forgive your confusion.)

I'm merely drawing attention to the continuing inconsistency about being a devoted fan of an alleged scottish national team that cannot be/is not being manned by individuals who are, in fact, scottish.

How can the TCFs cheer and sing and chant in support of their national team stuffing another 'national' team, when the scots themselves are unable to provide players/coaches/managers for the national team, but have to call on other nation's mercenaries to make up the shortfall? We have more than enough fitba mercenaries of our own, I'd have thought?

This current set-up is the first step towards Team GB, TCFs. And you're all supporting it. smile.gif

Rant against my nit-picking as much as you want. but it contains a wee kernel of irritating truth.

Delude yourselves all you want. And indulge in name-calling - but that truth appears to be that scotland isn't good enough or confident enough to trust scots to do the job any more. And the TCFs are willing to accept that. Team GB must swiftly follow.

I know other nations abuse the nationality issue much more than scotland - but I don't care about other nations.

The SFA're rippin the pish out of you, though to be fair, they're bringing in The Argies so you can enjoy seeing 'our' lads pit their wits against the 'cream' of foreign opposition.

So you have a fear that the national set up will change to something you dislike because of the introduction of a non-Scot? I'd say 'xenophobic' hits the nail on the head perfectly.
chingford
QUOTE (Guttenberg @ Oct 15 2008, 10:00) *
So you have a fear that the national set up will change to something you dislike because of the introduction of a non-Scot?

A fear?
It's a fact.

It no longer is a national set-up when it contains non-scots.

QED
QUOTE (Guttenberg @ Oct 15 2008, 10:00) *
I'd say 'xenophobic' hits the nail on the head perfectly.

You'd say "wibble wibble wibble" and make as much sense.
Guttenberg
QUOTE (chingford @ Oct 13 2008, 15:01) *

QUOTE (chingford @ Oct 15 2008, 11:35) *
You'd say "wibble wibble wibble" and make as much sense.

Good to see you are leading the way in "Intellectual debate and scintillating repartee". smile.gif

It is your opinion that the national set up 'no longer is a national set-up when it contains non-scots', not a fact. There are many rational, non-xenophobic Scotland supporters who believe that the national set-up remains just that and the employment of a non-Scot as coaching staff does note threaten its status.

Incidentally, where do you draw the line? Do the physio, Kit-man, bus driver and tea lady all have to provide evidence of their Scottish family history before being employed within the national set-up? If not, they could be 'Agents' too. huh.gif
Makoliunas
QUOTE (chingford @ Oct 15 2008, 09:09) *
I think not. smile.gif

My, what a long post. First of all, the SFA aren't ripping the pish out of me. I wouldn't get out of bed to watch Scotland.

Secondly, many national teams have non-national coaching staff. Was it also a step towards Team GB when England had that Scottish guy (something Gorman?) in their coaching setup? Are Mexico planning on merging national teams with Sweden?

The only stipulation in terms of national football is that players have to be from the relevant nation (or have a grandmother who travelled through there or something).

You're right about one thing, though, which is that I wholeheartedly support Team GB.

Edit : If you love Scotland so much, how come you don't live here?
chingford
QUOTE (Makoliunas @ Oct 15 2008, 13:13) *
My, what a long post. First of all, the SFA aren't ripping the pish out of me. I wouldn't get out of bed to watch Scotland.

Secondly, many national teams have non-national coaching staff. Was it also a step towards Team GB when England had that Scottish guy (something Gorman?) in their coaching setup? Are Mexico planning on merging national teams with Sweden?

The only stipulation in terms of national football is that players have to be from the relevant nation (or have a grandmother who travelled through there or something).

You're right about one thing, though, which is that I wholeheartedly support Team GB.

Edit : If you love Scotland so much, how come you don't live here?

I honestly don't care about your personal feelings for or against scotland's 'national' fitba team. I'm merely pointing out the flaw that is accepted/glossed over in its execution for general enlightenment. smile.gif

I'm well aware of what is allowed and what not. And that contains the same flaw. I was happier in past years when scotland had a genuine national team. And I still can't understand why other nations should be in thrall to 'foreign' coaches - unless they are an emerging fitba nation and are trying to fast-track into serious contenders.

A genuinely national team - too big an ask, apparently. For scots.

And er.... Where did I say I LOVED Scotland? rolleyes.gif
(The true answer is 'economic migrant')

EDit for spelling
chingford
QUOTE (Guttenberg @ Oct 15 2008, 13:13) *
There are many rational, non-xenophobic Scotland supporters who believe that the national set-up remains just that and the employment of a non-Scot as coaching staff does note threaten its status.

Don't let FACTS get in the way of belief systems, eh?

Fuxake! laugh.gif
Guttenberg
QUOTE (chingford @ Oct 15 2008, 13:34) *
Don't let FACTS get in the way of belief systems, eh?

Fuxake! laugh.gif

And the facts are......
Makoliunas
QUOTE (chingford @ Oct 15 2008, 13:31) *
I honestly don't care about your personal feelings for or against scotland's 'national' fitba team. I'm merely pointing out the flaw that is accepted/glossed over in its execution for general enlightenment. smile.gif

I'm well aware of what is allowed and what not. And that contains the same flaw. I was happier in past years when scotland had a genuine national team. And I still can't understand why other nations should be in thrall to 'foreign' coaches - unless they are an emerging fitba nation and are trying to fast-track into serious contenders.

A genuinely national team - too big an ask, apparently. For scots.

And er.... Where did I say I LOVED Scotland? rolleyes.gif
(The true answer is 'economic migrant')

EDit for spelling

"Big ask" is a hideous Americanism.

Are you now accepting that this isn't, as you tried to claim, in any way a "step towards Team GB"? I don't see that the nationality of the coaching staff is relevant. Surely it's just about getting the best staff in (In itself an argument against Butcher)?

You didn't say that you loved Scotland. Your posts in this thread, combined with your signature, give that impression. Argue the pedantic point if you want, though, it's unlikely to make you look good.
chingford
QUOTE (Guttenberg @ Oct 15 2008, 13:46) *
And the facts are......

...a much more solid thing on which to base your life than any 'belief system'.
chingford
QUOTE (Makoliunas @ Oct 15 2008, 13:46) *
"Big ask" is a hideous Americanism.

I agree, and pondered upon using it. Originally I had 'too much to ask' but thought that was clumsy. I apologise. I should've stuck with it and not caused offence.

Are you now accepting that this isn't, as you tried to claim, in any way a "step towards Team GB"? I don't see that the nationality of the coaching staff is relevant. Surely it's just about getting the best staff in (In itself an argument against Butcher)?

I'd persist with that and suggest that Butcher's acceptance would be reasonably used to show that scots are not as against the idea as they were in the past. I certainly agree it should be about getting the best staff in - but the best available scottish staff. I still can't believe there are/were no such people available.
Assistant Manager is not as trivial as tea-lady/boot boy.

You didn't say that you loved Scotland. Your posts in this thread, combined with your signature, give that impression. Argue the pedantic point if you want, though, it's unlikely to make you look good.

Relax. I won't argue it.
I already look great. wink.gif
Guttenberg
QUOTE (chingford @ Oct 15 2008, 13:55) *
...a much more solid thing on which to base your life than any 'belief system'.

Your avoidance of providing any substance to which you base your much digressed point upon speaks volumes.
chingford
QUOTE (Guttenberg @ Oct 15 2008, 14:08) *
Your avoidance of providing any substance to which you base your much digressed point upon speaks volumes.

It's all above. I can't be arsed repeating myself.
Your failure to read and understand it, is why I have been blanking you.

Don't take it personally. I have a life. smile.gif

ETA: btw it's ON which not TO which.

I hope this helps? smile.gif
Guttenberg
QUOTE (chingford @ Oct 15 2008, 14:14) *
It's all above. I can't be arsed repeating myself.
Your failure to read and understand it, is why I have been blanking you.

Don't take it personally. I have a life. smile.gif

I hope this helps? smile.gif

Thanks.

Just to double check, I have re-read the thread. There are definately no facts. smile.gif
chingford
It's 'definitely'. smile.gif
Guttenberg
QUOTE (chingford @ Oct 15 2008, 15:35) *
It's 'definitely'. smile.gif

Thanking you. Free English lessons, Brilliant! smile.gif
DancingInTheStreets
This is the worst thread I've ever read on any football forum.

If Butcher is 'an agent' then he is indeed making a good job of it - assuming that he is working for either the Dutch/Macedonians/Norwegians.

If he's working for the Icelandics, then he's cocked it right up. smile.gif

chingford
QUOTE (DancingInTheStreets @ Oct 15 2008, 18:55) *
This is the worst thread I've ever read on any football forum.

I fear you exaggerate. unsure.gif

But thank you, nonetheless.

One tries one's best. smile.gif
Colin M

I'd question any striker who says they like to play "back to goal".

Unless they score 30 overhead kicks a season.
Jim Pansy
QUOTE (Colin M @ Oct 16 2008, 09:39) *
I'd question any striker who says they like to play "back to goal".

Unless they score 30 overhead kicks a season.

As Pat Nevin said on radio five live, he's clearly wrong.
Colin M
QUOTE (Jim Pansy @ Oct 16 2008, 09:43) *
As Pat Nevin said on radio five live, he's clearly wrong.

See now I'm questioning my own judgement if I agree with Pat Nevin tongue.gif
Makoliunas
QUOTE (chingford @ Oct 15 2008, 14:05) *
I'd persist with that and suggest that Butcher's acceptance would be reasonably used to show that scots are not as against the idea as they were in the past. I certainly agree it should be about getting the best staff in - but the best available scottish staff. I still can't believe there are/were no such people available.
Assistant Manager is not as trivial as tea-lady/boot boy.

Fair enough. I can see where you're coming from, but don't necessarily agree - the norm now, rightly or wrongly, seems to be to appoint the best staff regardless of nationality (which, as I've touched on, Scotland haven't done by appointing Butcher) - it'd be a bit daft to give other teams an advantage in that respect (although they've done it by appointing Butcher).

I don't even know why I'm arguing this. I don't care at all. huh.gif

Relax. I won't argue it.
I already look great. wink.gif

Yeah, you do. xx
QUOTE (chingford @ Oct 15 2008, 14:14) *

You should've used quotation marks there. tongue.gif
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.