Full Version: Agent Butcher - Doing A Great Job?
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > Tartan Army Ramblings
Pages: 1, 2
TheDoctor
QUOTE (chingford @ Oct 15 2008, 09:09) *
'xenophobic'? 'paranoid'?
I think not. smile.gif

You obviously have misunderstood the concept of NATIONAL football, Makoliunas. (Having suffered the ongoing tynecastle soap opera, one can forgive your confusion.)

I'm merely drawing attention to the continuing inconsistency about being a devoted fan of an alleged scottish national team that cannot be/is not being manned by individuals who are, in fact, scottish.

How can the TCFs cheer and sing and chant in support of their national team stuffing another 'national' team, when the scots themselves are unable to provide players/coaches/managers for the national team, but have to call on other nation's mercenaries to make up the shortfall? We have more than enough fitba mercenaries of our own, I'd have thought?

This current set-up is the first step towards Team GB, TCFs. And you're all supporting it. smile.gif

Rant against my nit-picking as much as you want. but it contains a wee kernel of irritating truth.

Delude yourselves all you want. And indulge in name-calling - but that truth appears to be that scotland isn't good enough or confident enough to trust scots to do the job any more. And the TCFs are willing to accept that. Team GB must swiftly follow.

I know other nations abuse the nationality issue much more than scotland - but I don't care about other nations.
I'm scottish and can see no point in a national team that isn't scottish.

btw I didn't go to watch the wee german's teams either. For the same reason.

The SFA're rippin the pish out of you, though to be fair, they're bringing in The Argies so you can enjoy seeing 'our' lads pit their wits against the 'cream' of foreign opposition.

Aye - that'll be right! rolleyes.gif

You, sir, are a complete and utter cock. Xenophobic doesn't quite cover your comments. Perhaps borderline racist is a little more accurate.

For one, where do you get the notion that having Terry Butcher as assistant Scotland coach is the "first step to towards Team GB"? You are implying with that one point alone that Butcher's appointment was not down to Burley, but it was masterminded in the background by either the English FA or the Olympics 2012 committee.

Therefore are you suggesting that Wales must be going down the same route because former Liverpool manager Roy Evans is John Toshack's assistant? Bollocks.

I'd prefer to have a purely Scottish set-up myself, in all honesty, but if someone as experienced as Butcher can bring us something then I'm all for it. Berti was an unmitigated disaster, no question, but I didn't stop supporting them. I endured it, knowing it would get better.

I'm curious to know, when Don Hutchison scored our winner against England at Wembley nine years ago, did you cheer? I'm willing to bet you did, like we all did. But if you did, surely then your argument doesn't stand up, because he's from the North East of England.

As for Team GB, I'd be happy to accept it purely as a one-off, but I am slightly cynical about it. I'd rather the English went and did it themselves if they are that keen, but if it were to happen then fine.

But the image you paint of this cosmopolitan Scotland set-up has me thinking of you sitting in a house covered in tin foil because you think there are mind manipulation tactics at work in getting us to accept the Team GB idea.

If that's the case, you'd better get your prescription renewed because it's long overdue.
chingford
QUOTE (TheDoctor @ Oct 17 2008, 09:28) *
You, sir, are a complete and utter cock. Xenophobic doesn't quite cover your comments. Perhaps borderline racist is a little more accurate.

For one, where do you get the notion that having Terry Butcher as assistant Scotland coach is the "first step to towards Team GB"? You are implying with that one point alone that Butcher's appointment was not down to Burley, but it was masterminded in the background by either the English FA or the Olympics 2012 committee.

Therefore are you suggesting that Wales must be going down the same route because former Liverpool manager Roy Evans is John Toshack's assistant? Bollocks.

I'd prefer to have a purely Scottish set-up myself, in all honesty, but if someone as experienced as Butcher can bring us something then I'm all for it. Berti was an unmitigated disaster, no question, but I didn't stop supporting them. I endured it, knowing it would get better.

I'm curious to know, when Don Hutchison scored our winner against England at Wembley nine years ago, did you cheer? I'm willing to bet you did, like we all did. But if you did, surely then your argument doesn't stand up, because he's from the North East of England.

As for Team GB, I'd be happy to accept it purely as a one-off, but I am slightly cynical about it. I'd rather the English went and did it themselves if they are that keen, but if it were to happen then fine.

But the image you paint of this cosmopolitan Scotland set-up has me thinking of you sitting in a house covered in tin foil because you think there are mind manipulation tactics at work in getting us to accept the Team GB idea.

If that's the case, you'd better get your prescription renewed because it's long overdue.

laugh.gif laugh.gif