orlandoblue
Oct 11 2008, 15:54
Anyone?
LovaMan Bairn
Oct 11 2008, 15:55
Shouldn't of got the job in the first place.
Jim Pansy
Oct 11 2008, 15:56
It's 'have' not 'of', and sacking George Burley is utterly moronic.
Supras
Oct 11 2008, 16:00
Football fans never cease to amaze me.
EastFootball
Oct 11 2008, 16:00
QUOTE (Jim Pansy @ Oct 11 2008, 16:56)

It's 'have' not 'of', and sacking George Burley is utterly moronic.
As are you after your post in the other thread.
And yes, Burley should go.
Gutted, and Burley makes some real strange decisions today
1) 1 up front against an average team at home ina game we really need to win.
2) doing the above after 'talking' up and talking about stayle etc etc.
3) Boyd not even getting on.
4) he has a major blind spot for Maloney - how he got 90 mins i dont know.
5) Taking McFadden off
Jim Pansy
Oct 11 2008, 16:04
QUOTE (Tubbs @ Oct 11 2008, 17:01)

5) Taking McFadden off
Thought Scotland were a lot better after McFadden went off. However, Kris Boyd really ought to have come on, he would have done far more than either of the two guys who came on up front. Maloney was probably our most dangerous player left on the pitch.
We were better as we put 2 up front at that stage not cos McFadden went off, we would have offered much more if McFadden had been in Maloney's place.
MarvMarvSuperMarv
Oct 11 2008, 16:06
Yes, get him out. His tatics are woeful. Why was he playing with a stting mid-fielder and one up? AT HOME!?!?
Jim Pansy
Oct 11 2008, 16:07
QUOTE (Tubbs @ Oct 11 2008, 17:06)

We were better as we put 2 up front at that stage not cos McFadden went off, we would have offered much more if McFadden had been in Maloney's place.
I agree with that. Boyd instead of Fletcher, and keeping on McFadden. But it's all second guessing. The aftermath of this game is going to be messy... sit back and cringe.
Ayrgirl
Oct 11 2008, 16:07
QUOTE (Jim Pansy @ Oct 11 2008, 17:04)

Thought Scotland were a lot better after McFadden went off. However, Kris Boyd really ought to have come on, he would have done far more than either of the two guys who came on up front. Maloney was probably our most dangerous player left on the pitch.
If by dangerous you mean losing possesion whenever he got the ball I'd agree. If not Wtf?
Supras
Oct 11 2008, 16:10
QUOTE (MarvMarvSuperMarv @ Oct 11 2008, 17:06)

Yes, get him out. His tatics are woeful. Why was he playing with a stting mid-fielder and one up? AT HOME!?!?
Scott Brown was excellent as a sitting midfielder.
QUOTE (Supras @ Oct 11 2008, 17:10)

Brown was my MOTM i thought he was tremendous and i hope WGS watched that and plays him there for the rest of the season..
Dr Koop
Oct 11 2008, 16:26
QUOTE (Supras @ Oct 11 2008, 17:00)

Football fans never cease to amaze me.
Especially these ones.

Licky licky.
Dr Koop
Oct 11 2008, 16:27
QUOTE (Supras @ Oct 11 2008, 17:10)

Sitting? That explains a lot.
Am not a fan of Burleys by any measure but all told thought this was the best performance of his regime. We could have done with more physical presence in the 1st half and not putting Boyd on will always attract a decent degree of criticism. However we had decent chances and if the guy that all and sundry were casting as the next great thing had been able to hit an open goal from 4 feet, there would not be much to grumble about. As it is the campaign is effectively over unless we beat Holland at home which I certainly wouldnt be putting money on. The question is whether Burley should be in charge for the next campaign. If we think so then we need to give him plenty of space to experiment. If we dont think so then we should give the next guy plenty of time to build for the Euro qualifiers which will undoubtedly be a much tougher draw. Before we look to punt him, we need to consider if we will actually get anyone better. the candidates for the post of manager (former) 14th best nation in the world were not exactly stellar and the ratings will be a lot worse after recent results so perhaps we should stick rather than twist.
QUOTE (Jim Pansy @ Oct 11 2008, 17:07)

I agree with that. Boyd instead of Fletcher, and keeping on McFadden. But it's all second guessing. The aftermath of this game is going to be messy... sit back and cringe.
Its not second guessing, McFadden scores goals for Scotland, Boyd scores goal for club and country when played, both these facts cannot be ignored.
Will Burley ever play boyd for Scotland, if he cant get a game when we are at home against beatable opposition and move to 2 up ? are we that well off we cant play the second top goalscorer in SPL history ( or mis it third ? ).
maloney ?
HibeeJibee
Oct 11 2008, 16:38
Sacking Burley is ridiculous - he's only had a handful of matches. However, the sad thing is that (as I posted in another thread), he seems to have adopted a same 'over-cautiousness' of his predecessors.
He will stay so the sacking debate is immaterial.
If he cant get us to second in this group, however then he should go. That looks very hard and he will now have to 'up' his game big style.
Hedgecutter
Oct 11 2008, 16:44
Hearts, Dundee Utd, Newcastle, England... name more teams who have been changing manager every few years and have been remotely successul.
Burley must stay and get the chance to build from here.
clyde til we die
Oct 11 2008, 17:35
QUOTE (LovaMan Bairn @ Oct 11 2008, 16:55)

Could'nt agree more.
Toby Fair
Oct 11 2008, 17:56
QUOTE (Hedgecutter @ Oct 11 2008, 17:44)

Hearts, Dundee Utd, Newcastle, England... name more teams who have been changing manager every few years and have been remotely successul.
Burley must stay and get the chance to build from here.
Not the same. Our last two managers have been poached by others who can offer more money. We've not sacked anyone since Vogts who we allowed to scupper two campaigns. We've let this guy do it to to one. No more I say.
southsidediamond
Oct 11 2008, 17:56
Burley should go, Burley should not have got the job in the first place. Can anyone explain why he did and what he has actually done in Scottish football to deserve to get the job anyway? He plied his trade in England and doesn't really know Scottish football. He got the Hearts gig 'cos no-one else wanted it, did well for a period and was punted - ok by Mad Vlad - and has done nothing since.
One decision today - that of preferring two untried (at international level) strikers to Kris Boyd, who has that happy knack of scoring when he needs to - points to a lack of understanding of what wins games - goals. If we continue with Burley the campaign is well and truly over - replace him NOW and we might just have a chance of sneaking in the back door. We took too long to get rid of wee Bertie, I feel we are about to make the same mistake again.
T_S_A_R
Oct 11 2008, 18:03
i was gobsmacked when i saw the team he was going to play. no proper centreforward at home to norway? f**k off.
his starting line up was so shite robson barely touched the ball in the first 20 and had swap with morrison to get involved in the game.
faddy was played out of position for an hour but looked dangerous when he drifted out wide but was took off so maloney (who had been figured out by the fullback after ten minutes) could play another half hour in the role which he had been in for an hour already while he created nothing.
and why has ilwe???? skipped ahead of boyd int he queue to play centreforward for scotland. consistent spl scorer and good international ratiio vs. naebody who got sentoff for sticking the heid in somebody not long ago.
this is up there with walter's apocolypes of belarus at home and ukraine away.
get the alchy out. best decision vlad ever made.
khenny
Oct 11 2008, 18:43
I wasn't fussed either way when he got the job but after he made that skanky git of an Inglishman his assistant then I have been looking for him to get the bullit ever since!
Bootchur out!!
On the game today? Don't give a toss till that Inglish w**k is away!
QUOTE (LovaMan Bairn @ Oct 11 2008, 16:55)

Totally agree. The Southampton fans/media down there couldnt wait to get him up the road.Their website fans even offered to pay for a taxis to get him up here,and if your watched the BBC documentary,with Gordon Smith waiting for him up to the last minute to appear at his press conference,youll realise now why his lawyer was "looking at the small print in great detail."
Theyll need it when he goes and we dont qualify! A good record at Hearts,but what else has he done? Another example of the SFA coaching system which has held this country back for years.Look at the guys he has brought in to watch other countries.Theyll tell you guys there is no such thing as the "Largs Mafia",but there is! Couldnt believe we brought in Craig Brown to have a 30 minute talk before our opening game. Wee Craigy and Roxburgh took advice from a taxi driver before we got humped 5-0 by Portugal years ago,and we have never got away from the school teacher mentality! We need to look at the whole coaching set-up,right from community level with the £35,000 a year plus car guys,and dont let them come away with the rubbish that there is a lack of talent at grassroots level.We have always had talent and always will.The problem is getting the right guys to develop them.
Millfield Marksman
Oct 11 2008, 18:44
QUOTE (khenny @ Oct 11 2008, 19:43)

I wasn't fussed either way when he got the job but after he made that skanky git of an Inglishman his assistant then I have been looking for him to get the bullit ever since!
Bootchur out!!
On the game today? Don't give a toss till that Inglish w**k is away!
Can't you spell English?
HamiltonPork
Oct 11 2008, 18:44
Perhaps the Brechin manager ..Shaggy MacSheep...might care to apply for the Scotland job ? Baah.
steve-ton
Oct 11 2008, 18:46
QUOTE (Tubbs @ Oct 11 2008, 17:01)

5) Taking McFadden off
Add to that calling up that useless c*nt Iwelumo, how the f**k that w*nker ever got mear a Scotland squad I have no fucking idea
However sakcing Burley would be ridiculous ater 3 competitive games. V*gts got 3 years and look how bad we were under him.
T_S_A_R
Oct 11 2008, 18:48
QUOTE (coach @ Oct 11 2008, 19:44)

Theyll tell you guys there is no such thing as the "Largs Mafia",but there is! Couldnt believe we brought in Craig Brown to have a 30 minute talk before our opening game. Wee Craigy and Roxburgh took advice from a taxi driver before we got humped 5-0 by Portugal years ago,and we have never got away from the school teacher mentality!
to be fair broon got us to two tournaments and a play off out of four attempts. we'd take that in a second now.
steve-ton
Oct 11 2008, 18:51

Totally agree. The Southampton fans/media down there couldnt wait to get him up the road.Their website fans even offered to pay for a taxis to get him up here,and if your watched the BBC documentary,with Gordon Smith waiting for him up to the last minute to appear at his press conference,youll realise now why his lawyer was "looking at the small print in great detail."
Theyll need it when he goes and we dont qualify! A good record at Hearts,but what else has he done? Another example of the SFA coaching system which has held this country back for years.Look at the guys he has brought in to watch other countries.Theyll tell you guys there is no such thing as the "Largs Mafia",but there is! Couldnt believe we brought in Craig Brown to have a 30 minute talk before our opening game. Wee Craigy and Roxburgh took advice from a taxi driver before we got humped 5-0 by Portugal years ago,and we have never got away from the school teacher mentality! We need to look at the whole coaching set-up,right from community level with the £35,000 a year plus car guys,and dont let them come away with the rubbish that there is a lack of talent at grassroots level.We have always had talent and always will.The problem is getting the right guys to develop them.
Hold on a minute, I'm a Southampton supporter & while there was a sizable majority of our support wanted him sacked, you only need to look at how badly we nosedived after Burley quit last season to see what a good job he did with us. He performed miracles getting us into the play-offs a couple of seasons ago. I would much rather have him than Souness anyway. Rangers apart, Souness' track record as a manager is embarrassing.
WullieBroonIsGod
Oct 11 2008, 18:54
First half i could hardly believe my eyes, balls being played into the box to...............McFadden on his own
At home
In a game we HAVE to win
An absolute disaster
veteran
Oct 11 2008, 18:59
QUOTE (steve-ton @ Oct 11 2008, 19:46)

Add to that calling up that useless c*nt Iwelumo, how the f**k that w*nker ever got mear a Scotland squad I have no fucking idea
However sakcing Burley would be ridiculous ater 3 competitive games. V*gts got 3 years and look how bad we were under him.
You're right.We should give Burley three years to make us as bad as Berti did.
Burley is more Walter Mitty than Walter Smith.
steve-ton
Oct 11 2008, 19:02
QUOTE (veteran @ Oct 11 2008, 19:59)

You're right.We should give Burley three years to make us as bad as Berti did.
Burley is more Walter Mitty than Walter Smith.
I'm just saying we're maybe being a bit unrealstic in with our expectations. I don't remember anyone calliing for Walter Smith's head after we lost at home to Belarus. Burley should be given until the end of this qualifying campaign, if we fail to qualify, his position should be reviewed at that time.
the_saints_are_coming
Oct 11 2008, 19:09
QUOTE (steve-ton @ Oct 11 2008, 19:46)

he is playing at the same level as james mcfadden and has been alot better so far this season.
You are a fucking idiot tbf.
steve-ton
Oct 11 2008, 19:12
QUOTE (the_saints_are_coming @ Oct 11 2008, 20:09)

he is playing at the same level as james mcfadden and has been alot better so far this season.

Did you see Iwelumo's miss
Anyway McFadden isn't a St Mirreb reject.
In fact this is a stupid argumet. McFadden is just better than Iwelumo, full stop
the_saints_are_coming
Oct 11 2008, 19:14

Theyll need it when he goes and we dont qualify! A good record at Hearts,but what else has he done?
changed derby from relegation fodder to play off semi finalists with no money spent and taking ipswich from the championship to fifth place in the premiership and a uefa cup place.
steve-ton
Oct 11 2008, 19:17
QUOTE (the_saints_are_coming @ Oct 11 2008, 20:14)

changed derby from relegation fodder to play off semi finalists with no money spent and taking ipswich from the championship to fifth place in the premiership and a uefa cup place.
Took Southampton into the play-offs with the dregs left by Harry Redkrapp.
I've already asked this on another thread, but if Burley was to go, who would you appoint?
the_saints_are_coming
Oct 11 2008, 19:17
QUOTE (steve-ton @ Oct 11 2008, 20:12)

In fact this is a stupid argumet. McFadden is just better than Iwelumo, full stop
yes, i was at the match. apart from that though he played very well and was a menace to norway. i certainly think he is worth another go.
i agree that mcfadden is a better player however based on his performances over a number of years he thoughroghly deserves a place in the squad.
to call him a fucking w**k shows that you yourself are a p***k.
steve-ton
Oct 11 2008, 19:19
QUOTE (the_saints_are_coming @ Oct 11 2008, 20:17)

yes, i was at the match. apart from that though he played very well and was a menace to norway. i certainly think he is worth another go.
i agree that mcfadden is a better player however based on his performances over a number of years he thoughroghly deserves a place in the squad.
to call him a fucking w**k shows that you yourself are a p***k.
OK I may be exaggerating a bit, I've had a bit to drink.
I just don't see the point of giving him another go, I feel we've got better alternatives.
Reynard
Oct 11 2008, 19:31
Burley proved he was an absolute dud today. He made an arse of his tactics and team selection. McFadden up front being supplied by two utterly shit wingers? WTF?

Utterly ridiculous.
Compounded by bringing on Iwelumo instead of Boyd. Iwelumo is shit. He has never been anything other than shit.
Fife Saint
Oct 11 2008, 19:59
Give him the rest of the campaign, we are fucked as it is anyway. I hope he learned something today and takes that into the next few games but then again he didn't learn from the utterly shite performances in Macedonia and Iceland.
How long does his contract have to run?
stevenston saint
Oct 11 2008, 20:03
QUOTE (steve-ton @ Oct 11 2008, 20:12)

Great post. Greenock scumbag.
Captain_Sensible
Oct 11 2008, 20:06
Burley should never have got the job in the first place. He should go - and so should Gordon Smith.
The appointment of Gordon Smith at the SFA will drag Scotland into the gutter. He is a joke figure.
George Graham should have got the job.
But to be honest, we should pull out of international football and just play club football.
Hedgecutter
Oct 11 2008, 20:09
QUOTE (the_saints_are_coming @ Oct 11 2008, 20:09)

Colin Nish is playing at the same level as Kris Boyd (Miller, Robson, Broadfoot, Weir, Brown, Maloney...) and has just as many goals as him this season but it doesn't mean he should get a Scotland call up and a game ahead of Boyd does it?
pantene proV
Oct 11 2008, 20:33
A Rangers fan starting a post saying Burley should go?
It's like reading Sunday Mail/Daily Record!!
FWIW He shouldn't have started 4-3-3 it should have been 4-4-2 with Faddy & Iwelumo up front but still it was the best possesion football we have managed in years. Now, some might say that's because Norway weren't that interested but anyone saying we should get rid are missing a piece of their brain (either that or it's just drunken reactionary pish).
We are, and always have been, playing for 2nd place.
GunnerBairn
Oct 11 2008, 20:35
step aside george, give souness his job. i want my ticket money back.
Saor_Alba_1314
Oct 11 2008, 20:38
QUOTE (GunnerBairn @ Oct 11 2008, 21:35)

step aside george, give souness his job. i want my ticket money back.
Should have got it in the first place.
One word sums up today's 'tactics'. Disfuckingbloodygraceful............
tartanalan1979
Oct 11 2008, 20:42
Get the clown out right now!! Absolutely raging after that performance!!
He hasn't got a clue! He totally wasted Faddy today and not to even play Boyd is scandalous!! Faddy showed exactly what he thought of him when he took him off!!
BURLEY GTF!!!!!!!!!!!
Captain_Sensible
Oct 11 2008, 20:46
QUOTE (Hedgecutter @ Oct 11 2008, 21:09)

Colin Nish is playing at the same level as Kris Boyd (Miller, Robson, Broadfoot, Weir, Brown, Maloney...) and has just as many goals as him this season but it doesn't mean he should get a Scotland call up and a game ahead of Boyd does it?

er but Nish hasn't scored more goals than Boyd has he?

Iwelumo has scored more goals this season - in the same league - as McFadden.
Wolves are a massive club with gates of 20,000+ - bigger than anything in Scotland outside the Old Firm. Wolves were at one point the greatest team in the world. The Championship is the 4th richest league in the world... and Iwelumo is the leading goalscorer in that league. Half the Norwegian side play in Norway - the Championship is far superior. Indeed, the Championship is far far superior to the SPL. FFS, it was Cardfoff City who wanted Kris Boyd in the summer - that is his level.
Chris Iwelumo is a giant target man - the sort of plare you need. He scores goals in a great league. He should be an automatic first pick for Scotland. And we should play the long ball - like Norway do.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.