cripple
Oct 9 2008, 18:13
who do u think is the best player to have played junior football?
cripple
Oct 9 2008, 18:37
QUOTE (cripple @ Oct 9 2008, 19:13)

start this one off robert prytz?? any others
CHIEF WIGGUM
Oct 9 2008, 19:59
dave mckay ex hearts, spurs , derby county and NEWTONGRANGE STAR
lazyjack
Oct 9 2008, 22:55
Andy Mclaren (Medda)
jaggywaggy
Oct 10 2008, 07:01
Rab Chapman when he was at Dalkeith.
tellyboy
Oct 10 2008, 11:24
Gordon Smith
Dundee North End/Montrose Roselea & Hibs Hearts Dundee Scotland
Paul Sturrock Bankfoot/Dundee utd
Gin and Juice
Oct 10 2008, 11:36
Lex Sheilds. Legend
sponsorsladdie
Oct 10 2008, 11:37
QUOTE (tellyboy @ Oct 10 2008, 12:24)

Gordon Smith
Dundee North End/Montrose Roselea & Hibs Hearts Dundee Scotland
Paul Sturrock Bankfoot/Dundee utd
All great shouts but before my time. Best player i have ever seen in the juniors is Brian Carrigan
Tommy Walker OBE
Linlithgow Rose
Hearts
Chelsea
Scotland
A legend of the Scottish game - another of those whose career suffered because of the war.
Specky
Oct 10 2008, 12:24
QUOTE (Gin and Juice @ Oct 10 2008, 11:36)

Lex Sheilds. Legend

a legend in his own living room more like .....
Recently - Carrots
Of all time - probably agree with HTG (Tommy Walker) if what your told as a laddie is anything go go by...
feckhaddington
Oct 10 2008, 13:49
Lex Sheilds only had 1 eye and still ripped the piss!!! just watch they goals in the scottish final!!!
Jimmy MCcabe
Oct 10 2008, 14:49
Bobby Russell played with Shettleston, I think.
hawsman
Oct 10 2008, 15:44
jim baxter crossgates primrose without doubt the best ever to have played junior.
QUOTE (hawsman @ Oct 10 2008, 16:44)

jim baxter crossgates primrose without doubt the best ever to have played junior.
I would agree with that.
Millfield Marksman
Oct 10 2008, 16:27
Kenny Dalgliesh was at Cumbernauld for while, I believe
QUOTE (gogsy @ Oct 10 2008, 16:55)

I would agree with that.
is it not his statue outside the hill o beath ground
Gin and Juice
Oct 10 2008, 17:46
QUOTE (feckhaddington @ Oct 10 2008, 14:49)

Lex Sheilds only had 1 eye and still ripped the piss!!! just watch they goals in the scottish final!!!
Agree theres not any linlthgow players who are good enough to lace his boots
Burnie_man
Oct 10 2008, 17:59
QUOTE (HTG @ Oct 10 2008, 12:50)

Tommy Walker OBE
Linlithgow Rose
Hearts
Chelsea
Scotland
A legend of the Scottish game - another of those whose career suffered because of the war.
I think Tommy Walker left Rose when he was 16/17.
Maybe this thread is meant to be about players who have played a significant chunk of their careers at Junior level? rather than Seniors who were farmed out or spent very little time in the Junior game.
Lex Shields is a good shout, or maybe even Jim Docherty at Whitburn.
juniornews
Oct 10 2008, 18:07
Gin N Juice
remember Lexie ended up at Rose as did Temps and Sinnet and Andy Dunleavie
they all saw the light eventually
No doubt he was a class act in his prime
not even a rose die hard could deny that
but we have had our fair share
Tommy Ure or Robert McMeechan both defenders but bloody good at it
and of course Carrots who was a modern day Lex Shields with some of his play
north_west_L52
Oct 10 2008, 18:26
Stevie Crawford - Rosyth
QUOTE (lyt @ Oct 10 2008, 18:29)

Yup
Grumpy Panner
Oct 10 2008, 18:36
Whatever happened to Carrots?
th1stleandr0se
Oct 10 2008, 19:01
QUOTE (Grumpy Panner @ Oct 10 2008, 19:36)

Whatever happened to Carrots?
He's in the background at Hamilton. It's the Ole Gunnar Solskjaer syndrone. Do you want a game every week or are you prepared to wait in the reserves with a chance of scoring the winner in the Champions League Final? Not that Carrots will be in that situation but if he hangs around, he might just get to play in the Premier League for a bit. As stated elsewhere though, he's quite far back the queue for a game.
Edited to add - I can really only comment on Rose players but, on his game, he's about the best I've seen in the jersey, a real match-winner on a number of occasions.
guinness
Oct 10 2008, 19:22
QUOTE (hawsman @ Oct 10 2008, 16:44)

george connelly wouldnae be far away : sauchie and tulliallan.
monthelie'
Oct 10 2008, 20:10
QUOTE (Burnie_man @ Oct 10 2008, 18:59)

Maybe this thread is meant to be about players who have played a significant chunk of their careers at Junior level? rather than Seniors who were farmed out or spent very little time in the Junior game.
I agree with that, I thought that's what the thread meant aswel.
I would say Martin McGarvey, still playing at Beith, a class act.
norrie16
Oct 10 2008, 20:30
nobby mcnab, hill of beath
cmontheloknow
Oct 10 2008, 20:40
QUOTE (monthelie' @ Oct 10 2008, 21:10)

Only on the pitch.
The title is best junior player ever. So surely if a player has played junior he qualifies??
However, if we are talking about players who chose to sign junior, I have never seen anyone who could offer the skill level that Carrigan brought to Linlithgow. And in spite of his reputation, he never let us down through lack of effort on the pitch. I'd love to see him get his game at Hamilton. Having watched him and Corcoran in recent times there's no comparison. Carrots is streets ahead in all round ability.
cmontheloknow
Oct 10 2008, 20:53
QUOTE (HTG @ Oct 10 2008, 21:48)

The title is best junior player ever. So surely if a player has played junior he qualifies??
However, if we are talking about players who chose to sign junior, I have never seen anyone who could offer the skill level that Carrigan brought to Linlithgow. And in spite of his reputation, he never let us down through lack of effort on the pitch. I'd love to see him get his game at Hamilton. Having watched him and Corcoran in recent times there's no comparison. Carrots is streets ahead in all round ability.
Perhaps a different way to approach a thread like this would be to consider the GREATEST Junior player ever, as opposed to the greatest player to have played Junior football. Kenny Dalglish was only 16 or 17 at Cumbernauld - how good was he then and how much of an impact did he make?
Former Lok manager Rab Sneddon recalls playing with Iain Ferguson at Cambuslang Rangers when he was loaned out by Clyde and regarded him as the best player he played with. There are however plenty of players to play Junior who became better players late on in their career, or were better before they played Junior. George Shaw played well over 200 SPL and Division 1 games in his career but very few people will remember his game for Lok after dropping down, while conversely Andy Millen had a superb journeyman career but few will recall his half dozen appearances for us as a 17 year old.
I'd say Robert Prytz was a very good Junior in his 18 months at Lok.
QUOTE (north_west_L52 @ Oct 10 2008, 19:26)

Stevie Crawford - Rosyth
Yup
so was he better at crossgates or HOB?
hawsman
Oct 11 2008, 07:06
QUOTE (lyt @ Oct 10 2008, 18:29)

yes its outside the ex-servicemans club
hawsman
Oct 11 2008, 07:08
QUOTE (norrie16 @ Oct 10 2008, 21:30)

nobby mcnab, hill of beath
nobby was a class act worth a million pounds
beith19
Oct 11 2008, 07:48
If it is for having just played Junior then it can only be Jim Baxter for me.
For being a junior player, Martin McGarvey is certainly up there (a class act on and OFF the pitch)
but I'd probably have to give it to Talbot's Willie Young as he has the credentials that can't be argued with being I believe also the most successful junior player ever - along with also being a class act on and off the pitch. A true legend in the game.
cmontheloknow
Oct 11 2008, 08:34
QUOTE (beith19 @ Oct 11 2008, 08:48)

For being a junior player, Martin McGarvey is certainly up there (a class act on and OFF the pitch)
The sort of class act who signs for a team then asks for his contract to be torn up so he can go elsewhere? The sort of class act who re-signs for said team 18 months later in a deal that had to be funded by that club selling someone else only for him AGAIN to ask to leave almost immediately, despite having this time been registered as a player and actually played a game? The sort of class act who, when demanding to leave a 2nd time around, refused to give a reason to his manager?
Cl-
ASS act indeed. He has at different points of his career displayed the loyalty of an alley cat, as Joan Burnie might put it.
QUOTE (monthelie' @ Oct 10 2008, 21:10)

I agree with that, I thought that's what the thread meant aswel.
Totally agree, have never seen a player at this level with his vision or so comfortable on the ball, yup, a class act.
beith19
Oct 12 2008, 10:11
If I was a Pollok fan I'd most likely feel the same way. However when I refer to Off the Park, I mean outwith the football park and I'm better qualified to comment on what kind of person he is in the last two years and you'd struggle to meet a nicer guy. He is regrettable about the Pollok business, and the lure of Pollok to leave us 18 months in is a compliment to your club - but he realised he had made a mistake and how much he enjoyed playing at Beith. The fact Sniffer came back to us as well is a compliment but neither should be taken as an insult to Pollok.
It takes strength of character to do that, but we've all had players who turn out not wanting to play for your club (its happened to us in the last few years as well!) and we just need to accept it - it doesn't mean they are bad people or weasels.
Anyway this thread should be about footballing ability alone.
Shedboy1924
Oct 12 2008, 11:01
QUOTE (cripple @ Oct 9 2008, 19:13)

Jimmy Johnstone, he played for Blantyre Celtic
QUOTE (cmontheloknow @ Oct 11 2008, 09:34)

He has at different points of his career displayed the loyalty of an alley cat, as Joan Burnie might put it.
Maybe in relation to Pollok, but between 1990 and May 2006, Martin McGarvey only played for two clubs, Dumbarton and Arthurlie. I would say that shows a fair degree of loyalty
Joethistle
Oct 12 2008, 13:47
Paul McGrillen of Bathgate Thistle
monthelie'
Oct 12 2008, 14:35
QUOTE (beith19 @ Oct 12 2008, 11:11)

If I was a Pollok fan I'd most likely feel the same way. However when I refer to Off the Park, I mean outwith the football park and I'm better qualified to comment on what kind of person he is in the last two years and you'd struggle to meet a nicer guy. He is regrettable about the Pollok business, and the lure of Pollok to leave us 18 months in is a compliment to your club - but he realised he had made a mistake and how much he enjoyed playing at Beith. The fact Sniffer came back to us as well is a compliment but neither should be taken as an insult to Pollok.
It takes strength of character to do that, but we've all had players who turn out not wanting to play for your club (its happened to us in the last few years as well!) and we just need to accept it - it doesn't mean they are bad people or weasels.
Anyway this thread should be about footballing ability alone.
When I mentioned his name, I didn't expect any Pollok fans to agree !!
But if you had seen him play regularly over the years, I think most would agree he has been one of the top junior players over the last decade.
cmontheloknow
Oct 12 2008, 17:01
QUOTE (monthelie' @ Oct 12 2008, 15:35)

When I mentioned his name, I didn't expect any Pollok fans to agree !!
But if you had seen him play regularly over the years, I think most would agree he has been one of the top junior players over the last decade.
He's a superb player and I did say that 10 posts ago.
wisey2
Oct 12 2008, 17:22
QUOTE (Joethistle @ Oct 12 2008, 14:47)

Paul McGrillen of Bathgate Thistle

aye i'll crack the jokes!! now if you had said Graeme Love............
In terms of the best player to play junior football it would have to be Jimmy Johnstone. In terms of the best junior player Robert Prytz from who Ive seen would be in with a shout.
Chooch
Oct 14 2008, 08:09
In terms of players I have played against in the 8 years I've been playing juniors, I would put Ray McKinnon up there just ahead of Brian Carrigan. McKinnon was a class act when he was playing regularly for Lochee united. Amazing with both feet and created space in the tightest of positions.
toonboy
Oct 14 2008, 21:43
Chic Charnley- Pollock, Tarff, Kirkie
John Martin- Tranent
Almost forgot wee Callum Milne- Whitburn
southerner
Oct 15 2008, 17:14
QUOTE (toonboy @ Oct 14 2008, 22:43)

Chic Charnley- Pollock, Tarff, Kirkie
John Martin- Tranent
Almost forgot wee Callum Milne- Whitburn
George Gemmell, Ross Findlay, Kenny Paterson, Tam McDonald, Jim O'Donnel, Gordon Mills, Hugh Lyden, Billy Young
where do I stop all legends in the junior game
cmontheloknow
Oct 15 2008, 17:33
QUOTE (southerner @ Oct 15 2008, 18:14)

George Gemmell, Ross Findlay, Kenny Paterson, Tam McDonald, Jim O'Donnel, Gordon Mills, Hugh Lyden, Billy Young
where do I stop all legends in the junior game
But very few of that list had a career at a higher level?
southerner
Oct 17 2008, 17:18
QUOTE (cmontheloknow @ Oct 15 2008, 18:33)

But very few of that list had a career at a higher level?
Jamie agree with you about the majority of these players but where does the thread come from is it the best player ever to have played junior or is it the best player who played a career in the juniors
Steve1954
Oct 17 2008, 17:38
QUOTE (southerner @ Oct 17 2008, 18:18)

Jamie agree with you about the majority of these players but where does the thread come from is it the best player ever to have played junior or is it the best player who played a career in the juniors
Only one ,,,, frank Mc vennie ,, Johnstone burgh
cmontheloknow
Oct 17 2008, 18:10
QUOTE (southerner @ Oct 17 2008, 18:18)

Well the question was who is the best player to have played Junior football, but as as been discussed, there are plenty who have dropped down well past their prime, while others have played Junior when they maybe were not great players.
For me the answer is someone like McGarvey (grrr) or Martin Nelson who came back to Junior football at a young age and had a great career in the Juniors.
To Steve 1954, how much football did McAvennie play in the Juniors? Another from that era was Frank McDougall, the last player to score a league hat-trick against either of the Old Firm. He stepped up to the 1st Division with Clydebank from the Shire aged 20.
toonboy
Oct 17 2008, 20:20
Stevie Mallan's doing well at the talbot considering his "experience" as us older guys like to refer to it.
Not sure he's a great yet but if old father time could be put on hold for a couple of years......
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.