Full Version: Hard To Please Fans
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > Junior Football
Auld Heid
Was listening to Real Radio last night and the stick they were given to Darren Fletcher. This got me thinking how fickle punters can be at times and desperate to have a go at their own players for the slightest reason etc. Which brings me to my point, was speaking to a colleague who was saying this is similar to Linlithgow where the fans seem to have a downer on their Centre Half Wilson who doesn't seem to be everyone's cup of tea. I found this surprising as on every occassion I have watched him,, he has oozed class, agree he isn't the typical kick your own grandmother type. But he is strong both on the ground and in the air. His defensive partner is the opposite all heart and aggression a real Mr 100% but this sometimes leads to him being easily dragged out and has left Wilson exposed or covering both positions.

Off course football is about opinions but I can never understand so called supporters need to always have a scape goat no matter what or how good that player is. This brought me to thinking who are the players out there that don't get the respect off their own fans and are undeservedly under rated.
cripple
people who yell at players usually couldnt kick their own behind i think every team has these so called fans
FuzzyBear
QUOTE (Auld Heid @ Oct 9 2008, 15:49) *
Was listening to Real Radio last night and the stick they were given to Darren Fletcher. This got me thinking how fickle punters can be at times and desperate to have a go at their own players for the slightest reason etc. Which brings me to my point, was speaking to a colleague who was saying this is similar to Linlithgow where the fans seem to have a downer on their Centre Half Wilson who doesn't seem to be everyone's cup of tea. I found this surprising as on every occassion I have watched him,, he has oozed class, agree he isn't the typical kick your own grandmother type. But he is strong both on the ground and in the air. His defensive partner is the opposite all heart and aggression a real Mr 100% but this sometimes leads to him being easily dragged out and has left Wilson exposed or covering both positions.

Off course football is about opinions but I can never understand so called supporters need to always have a scape goat no matter what or how good that player is. This brought me to thinking who are the players out there that don't get the respect off their own fans and are undeservedly under rated.

Please tell me when you have seen Scott Wilson "ooze class" for Linlithgow Rose. He is hopeless and makes 4 or 5 shocking errors every game. Without a doubt the worst of the centre halfs at the clubs.
the trialist
something tells me this sounds like the same guy who posts on the rose forum who cant see a bad thing in wilson
sponsorsladdie
QUOTE (the trialist @ Oct 9 2008, 16:33) *
something tells me this sounds like the same guy who posts on the rose forum who cant see a bad thing in wilson

Exactly what i was thinking.

Auld Heid sounds alot like Clean Sheet that is always arguing on the Rose Forum. He seems just as deluded on here as he does on there.
Bufty Boots
As Auld Heid correctly writes it is all about opinions in football and no-one will agree 100% on all players at a club that they pay their money to see.

For every person who thinks that Mr Wilson oozes class there will be many more that would disagree - I suspect a few of his former coaches/managers would agree with the latter. And I am sure that for every game where he has been good in the air and strong on the ground there will be others where you could not get a Daily Record under his feet when he jumped and kicking fresh air would be beyond him!

Welcome to Junior football Mr Wilson and welcome to a world where things are said that you may not like. Be rest assured that every supporter of every club will have players they just dont like and others they will praise no matter what the performance. I am sure that Darren Fletcher does not waste his time on worrying what is said or written about him but like the other centre half mentioned concentrates on giving 100%.

And surely respect for any player has to be earned? If you come with a big reputation and think that you are above the rest of the team, for it is a team game, then respect may be a long time coming!

lyt
QUOTE (cripple @ Oct 9 2008, 15:54) *
people who yell at players usually couldnt kick their own behind i think every team has these so called fans

sorry cripple.but this guy is spouting pish on here as he is probably banned from the rose fans forum.he has done nothing but antagonise rose fans for months now.the part about fans shouting down any player who plays in the maroon is shit.i go to every game and not once have i heard any of the guys that auldheid(cleen sheet.joethistle)is talking about.they have opinions on players on a forum but not during a match.well not to the extent of the player or players in question could hear.
ive also noticed that joethistle or his nemesis creamerypark fan hasnt been on for a while.
when the b/gate are down he goes into hiding and reapears trying to wind rose supporters up.dangerous game if he is.
lyt
PS AULD HEID you are a cock
sinnets ghost
QUOTE (FuzzyBear @ Oct 9 2008, 15:57) *
Please tell me when you have seen Scott Wilson "ooze class" for Linlithgow Rose. He is hopeless and makes 4 or 5 shocking errors every game. Without a doubt the worst of the centre halfs at the clubs.

See the same Rose Forum nonsense has now hit P and B,'Fuzzy' you should know better,you take him to score 1st every week.
With regards to the other centre half,i presume that its Gallagher,yes he does give 100% because he does not have the same abilty,Wilson is good on the ground and in the air and has the senior experience to show that.Some people come into Junior football for different reasons,the start that Lithgae have had show that he,s not a bad player.

Remember form is temporary class is permanent and opinions are only opinions,some of the guys posting on here and on the Rose forums only football experience is watching Junior football and kicking a ball round a small Astroturf park on a Monday so that they can watch their 'Heroes'.

Get real chaps all the players a'Rose' are there for a reason,wether it be for work/abiltity,just go round the team,Herdy[failed at senior] Big kev[same] Gall [Never been senior] Waugh[failed] Hoggy [ayr/hamilton] Wilson[well/airdrie/clyde/raith/brechin/stranraer]Grady[forfar back to junior] Geddes[same] Tank[never,likes a bevvy to much]Brads[tried it,didnt work] Spade [s/muir]
Pinnie[Celic,Plastic whistle] Robbo[never been senior] the list goes on.

Get behind the team and support them, on and off the park,the best start to the league in Years and still players are not good enough,wouldn,t like to see the comments if we started like last year,when some of those getting pelters were either out injured or not at the club.
Burnie_man
QUOTE (sinnets ghost @ Oct 9 2008, 19:06) *
some of the guys posting on here and on the Rose forums only football experience is watching Junior football and kicking a ball round a small Astroturf park on a Monday so that they can watch their 'Heroes'.

Are you saying that people who do not play the game cannot have a valid opinion on a player?
PtB
FWIW I didn't htink Fletcher got all that much "stick" they just said he's never done it for Scotland like he has for Man Utd, and they are right.

Oh, and there's nothing wrong with bawling at the occasional footballer laugh.gif
sinnets ghost
QUOTE (Burnie_man @ Oct 9 2008, 19:33) *
Are you saying that people who do not play the game cannot have a valid opinion on a player?

What im saying is, yes you can give an opinion,but valid no,if youve not played at Senior level,what credentials do you have to critcise those who have.
Senior football in run in a completely different way to juniors,ie football 1st,wheareas in Junior, work commitment comes 1st,wherby training is missed and an edge can fall off your play.
In saying that,im no financial wizard,but dont put yir money in Icelandic Banks. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Bufty Boots
What im saying is, yes you can give an opinion,but valid no,if youve not played at Senior level,what credentials do you have to critcise those who have.

I would suggest that if thats your way of thinking then this web site could be alot less visited than it is! The whole point of football forums is to allow fans to vent their frustrations, praise or just general thoughts that they have about players - regardless of what standard of football the poster may or may not have attained.

I do not subscribe to the view that you should not come on a forum and slag individual players off - if thats what you want to do then have your say.

Perhaps people would prefer that these thoughts were aired during a match when it would be heard by the player - and as far as I am aware no-one does that at games which is as it should be. I would never wish to hear discouraging words roared at the Rose by their own fans.

Support your team and use the forums as a place to air your thoughts - no matter what they are or what level of football you played at!
sponsorsladdie
QUOTE (sinnets ghost @ Oct 9 2008, 20:30) *
Senior football in run in a completely different way to juniors,ie football 1st,wheareas in Junior, work commitment comes 1st,wherby training is missed and an edge can fall off your play.
In saying that,im no financial wizard,but dont put yir money in Icelandic Banks. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

You are slavering pish if your argument is correct then Asrene Wenger knows nothing about top flight football as he never made it! I somehow don't believe that.

I agee that work will come first with junior players but i do not buy into the if you haven't done it you know nothing about it.

'With regards to the other centre half,i presume that its Gallagher,yes he does give 100% because he does not have the same abilty,Wilson is good on the ground and in the air and has the senior experience to show that.Some people come into Junior football for different reasons,the start that Lithgae have had show that he,s not a bad player.'

Gal has been a tremendous player for the Rose, the jury is still out on Wilson. I agree Wilson is a better passer of the ball than Gal but Gal is far better in the air and winning tackles he also knows whento clear his lines.
Burnie_man
What im saying is, yes you can give an opinion,but valid no

What a pile of nonsense laugh.gif
th1stleandr0se
QUOTE (Bufty Boots @ Oct 9 2008, 20:52) *

I would suggest that if thats your way of thinking then this web site could be alot less visited than it is! The whole point of football forums is to allow fans to vent their frustrations, praise or just general thoughts that they have about players - regardless of what standard of football the poster may or may not have attained.

I do not subscribe to the view that you should not come on a forum and slag individual players off - if thats what you want to do then have your say.

Perhaps people would prefer that these thoughts were aired during a match when it would be heard by the player - and as far as I am aware no-one does that at games which is as it should be. I would never wish to hear discouraging words roared at the Rose by their own fans.

Support your team and use the forums as a place to air your thoughts - no matter what they are or what level of football you played at!

At one stage I was almost embarrassed going to Rose matches because too many of the so-called supporters spent their time criticising Rose players. That seems to have stopped now and the opposition and the ref catch it, which is how it is with most other supporters. Still, isn't it amazing how some guys feel that they can shout abuse at players with impunity. Try the same thing with the very same person in the bar after the match and you can watch your nose change shape, deservedly.
th1stleandr0se
QUOTE (lyt @ Oct 9 2008, 18:41) *
sorry cripple.but this guy is spouting pish on here as he is probably banned from the rose fans forum.he has done nothing but antagonise rose fans for months now.the part about fans shouting down any player who plays in the maroon is shit.i go to every game and not once have i heard any of the guys that auldheid(cleen sheet.joethistle)is talking about.they have opinions on players on a forum but not during a match.well not to the extent of the player or players in question could hear.
ive also noticed that joethistle or his nemesis creamerypark fan hasnt been on for a while.
when the b/gate are down he goes into hiding and reapears trying to wind rose supporters up.dangerous game if he is.

Are you trying to tell me that Auld Heid (team - Rangers) and Joe Thistle (team - Celtic) are the same person as Cleen Sheet (team - Rose)? If so, the guy needs psychological counselling.
Jimmy MCcabe
Both opinions of Wilson could be right if his spell at Stranraer was anything to go by, MOM 2 weeks in a row then substituted after about 15 minutes the next. A player who when good is really good but he certainly has some howlers.
sponsorsladdie
QUOTE (Jimmy MCcabe @ Oct 10 2008, 04:06) *
Both opinions of Wilson could be right if his spell at Stranraer was anything to go by, MOM 2 weeks in a row then substituted after about 15 minutes the next. A player who when good is really good but he certainly has some howlers.

I kinda agree with that. It frustrates me more than anything that he has all the attributes but seems to switch off and make stupid mistakes. (seems to jump but duck out of the way of the ball when going for a header and also letting the ball bounce and then the striker nicking it off him)

At the end of last season he got a run in the team and you could see him improving every week then he goes and has a complete night mare. It would be great if he could find a steady level and play consistantly with out having great games and then howlers!
Specky
QUOTE (th1stleandr0se @ Oct 9 2008, 23:59) *
Are you trying to tell me that Auld Heid (team - Rangers) and Joe Thistle (team - Celtic) are the same person as Cleen Sheet (team - Rose)? If so, the guy needs psychological counselling.

I just think Auld Heid needs Psychological counselling anyway, full stop !!! tongue.gif biggrin.gif laugh.gif Are you out there Auld Heid, or are you too busy fishing ??....
coolio
QUOTE (sponsorsladdie @ Oct 9 2008, 20:59) *
You are slavering pish if your argument is correct then Asrene Wenger knows nothing about top flight football as he never made it! I somehow don't believe that.

I agee that work will come first with junior players but i do not buy into the if you haven't done it you know nothing about it.

'With regards to the other centre half,i presume that its Gallagher,yes he does give 100% because he does not have the same abilty,Wilson is good on the ground and in the air and has the senior experience to show that.Some people come into Junior football for different reasons,the start that Lithgae have had show that he,s not a bad player.'

Gal has been a tremendous player for the Rose, the jury is still out on Wilson. I agree Wilson is a better passer of the ball than Gal but Gal is far better in the air and winning tackles he also knows whento clear his lines.
Wenger played in the top division in France for Strasburg, not bad for someone who didnt make it? cool.gif
FuzzyBear

Quite possible the biggest lot of sh1t I have read on P & B and that is saying something.

The only people I have heard at Rose games criticising the players loudly enough for the players to hear are the committee in the back row of the stand. The rest of us do support the team and keep the criticism for an independent forum.

As for the point that we are winning so everything is OK - that is ostrich syndrome. It is only poor fininshing that has stopped the defence losing goals. We are doing OK but wait till we play Lochee, Whitburn or get Auchinleck or Pollok in the cup. The mistakes currently being made will be punished.

I notice nobody has been able to post any games when Wilson has "oozed class".
Auld Heid
Gosh certainly seem to have hit a nerve there. Firstly I can assure you that I am not clean sheet as have not been near any Linlithgow Forum.

I attend Linlithgow games when I not at Ibrox with a colleague as for my troubles I'm a Rangers Fan and not a junior regular. As I said football is about opinions, for me I think Wilson seems to be a player who wants to try and play football, not a crime in my opinion.

My original comments came based on a casual conversation with a colleague and having watched a few games of Linlithgow I voiced an honest opinion (my opinion) Sadly from some of the responses it's clear that I have hit a nerve. What I would say is that these forums although a genuine opportunity for fans to voice an opinion on footballing matters it seems that seem some have their own agenda to persecute players who are not their favourites. Personally I think this is a dangerous trends as can unsettle both a player and their team mates and surely that is off no benefit to any so called supporter of any team.

Bottom line a supporter can have his/her opinion, but for 90 minutes on a Saturday you have the Best Manager and Best Players in the World (regardless of your opinions) and should be getting behind one and all. Petty minded personal opinions can snowball into bigger things and cause untold grief. Forums should not be used to persecute players or single out individuals.
FuzzyBear
QUOTE (Auld Heid @ Oct 10 2008, 10:45) *
Gosh certainly seem to have hit a nerve there. Firstly I can assure you that I am not clean sheet as have not been near any Linlithgow Forum.

I attend Linlithgow games when I not at Ibrox with a colleague as for my troubles I'm a Rangers Fan and not a junior regular. As I said football is about opinions, for me I think Wilson seems to be a player who wants to try and play football, not a crime in my opinion.

My original comments came based on a casual conversation with a colleague and having watched a few games of Linlithgow I voiced an honest opinion (my opinion) Sadly from some of the responses it's clear that I have hit a nerve. What I would say is that these forums although a genuine opportunity for fans to voice an opinion on footballing matters it seems that seem some have their own agenda to persecute players who are not their favourites. Personally I think this is a dangerous trends as can unsettle both a player and their team mates and surely that is off no benefit to any so called supporter of any team.

Bottom line a supporter can have his/her opinion, but for 90 minutes on a Saturday you have the Best Manager and Best Players in the World (regardless of your opinions) and should be getting behind one and all. Petty minded personal opinions can snowball into bigger things and cause untold grief. Forums should not be used to persecute players or single out individuals.

In which of these few games that you have watched do you think Wilson "oozed class".
FuzzyBear
QUOTE (FuzzyBear @ Oct 10 2008, 10:50) *
In which of these few games that you have watched do you think Wilson "oozed class".

By the way. When we discuss the games are we supposed to lie if a player has had a bad game or be honest about it. As long as it does not get personal I see no problem in saying a player has had a bad game.
Bufty Boots

As previously stated I know of no-one going to the Rose games who gives their own players and management 100% backing during matches without exception.

Whether personal opinions are petty minded or have a sound basis is again down to personal opinion. Again this is surely the ideal place to air your opinions. If individuals do not like what is written about them on forums then they can also have their opinion - or take the more sensible route and ignore them altogether.

And on this thread I believe it was you that singled out a player individually. If your thread had remained based upon your thoughts of a radio station content on Darren Fletcher and left it at that then this may not have degenerated into people questioning the ability of a particular junior player.

HTG
Any player who plays his football in an environment where punters have paid to get in will cop some criticism at various times through his career/season/games. That's life. If they're not up to getting on with their own game and listening to what their manager tells them (rather than anyone else) they won't last. If the criticism is on an independent message board like this then it has even less relevance to the player involved.

Some supporters are arseholes who will complain about anything and everything - that's their nature. Some try to balance praise and criticism where they think it's due. And some are of the blind faith variety - as long as a player is wearing their colours they'll get behind them at games or anywhere else.

I think supporters are the life blood of clubs at this level. Many are passionate about their team. If there are players in that team whom they regard as lacking sufficient quality why should they not say so? That's been happening at every club since people started watching football. Whether they are "qualified" to comment or not is neither here nor there. Other people have different opinions. As far as the individual player in this thread is concerned, the matter has been exacerbated by the fact that every critical comment expressed about him has been responded to with an alternative view which is often just as critical of other players - but that's alright because they're not called Scott.

Personally, I think Scott Wilson is a good junior centre half. He's clearly got ability and he had some great games for the Rose towards the end of last season. He's been a bit in and out this season - neither as good nor as bad as he's been painted on the Rose forum by the conflicting posters. I also have doubts about the phrase "oozes class". He hits a great pass and on his game he's very competent. But he's neither better nor worse overall than many other junior players. The polarisation of opinion says more about posters than the player - I'm sure he'll just get on with doing what the Rose pay him to do.
lyt

think you will find that most of the rose fans on here stand at the covered enclosure on match days.when next time you are at a rose game could you watch from that area and then come on here and tell the p&b posters if the slagging of players during the game were heard.
lyt
another thing.i work with loads of rangers fans,(the worse kind)the ones who couldnt find the road to ibrox never mind pay the entrance fee.but they all seemed to be under the same assumption.that kirk broadfoot is a cock.if i was watching rangers every week laugh.gif i would feel that i was entitled to shout down any player who i thought was pish.but of course we are only junior supporters who dont have the same rights as the big boys ! rolleyes.gif
coolio
QUOTE (FuzzyBear @ Oct 10 2008, 11:13) *
By the way. When we discuss the games are we supposed to lie if a player has had a bad game or be honest about it. As long as it does not get personal I see no problem in saying a player has had a bad game.
I agree with you Fuzzy, If you dont rate someone or think somebody's had a bad game why should you not speak up and tell the truth. It doesnt matter if you have played coached or done anything at senior level that does not come into. As far as I'm concerned guys like yourself and other real fans know good and bad players when you see them,christ real fans have probably seen more games/players than half the coaches out there. I have played for some managers at senior level that when I look back you wonder how they got that far,yet I have worked under coaches at junior level who know more about football and have put on far better training sessions. cool.gif

"Junior fitba alive and kicking" PS you cant call a player who has played senior poor if you havnae played senior yourself. HA HA laugh.gif laugh.gif WHAT A LOAD O SHIT
Specky
QUOTE (lyt @ Oct 10 2008, 13:48) *
think you will find that most of the rose fans on here stand at the covered enclosure on match days.when next time you are at a rose game could you watch from that area and then come on here and tell the p&b posters if the slagging of players during the game were heard.

Under the shed !! huh.gif pah !! real fans stand out in the elements !.... laugh.gif wink.gif

Auld Heid, (or may i call you Heidless) you seems to have started off a debate that was done and dusted elsewhere ... maybe time now to call it a day on this one and worry about the wee team that you support ... Either that or switch allegance to a real team.. Get your colleague to bring you thru more often and then you can judge the team and players on a more consistent basis, you're welcome to stand with me . . . . cool.gif if you can spot my disguise ....
sponsorsladdie
QUOTE (coolio @ Oct 10 2008, 16:26) *
I agree with you Fuzzy, If you dont rate someone or think somebody's had a bad game why should you not speak up and tell the truth. It doesnt matter if you have played coached or done anything at senior level that does not come into. As far as I'm concerned guys like yourself and other real fans know good and bad players when you see them,christ real fans have probably seen more games/players than half the coaches out there. I have played for some managers at senior level that when I look back you wonder how they got that far,yet I have worked under coaches at junior level who know more about football and have put on far better training sessions. cool.gif

"Junior fitba alive and kicking" PS you cant call a player who has played senior poor if you havnae played senior yourself. HA HA laugh.gif laugh.gif WHAT A LOAD O SHIT

Coolio i wouldn't class Fuzzy as a real fan. There is normally a fuzzy shaped space next to me while he is away glory hunting at New Douglas Park!! biggrin.gif
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.