Full Version: Kirkcaldy
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3
Shibuya
Hi spunkmeisters.

Me and a few other high quality Ayr fans are going for a night out in the lang toun after the game next week.

Where can you recommend for some drinking and dancing??

Preferably somewhere full of filth for my single mates, or even somewhere nice smile.gif
rw89
Go to Edinburgh or Glasgow. Krikcaldy is utter shite for nights out. cool.gif dry.gif
Shibuya
"From: Glasgow"

We're staying in Burntisland, could consider Dunfermline too then i guess.
The Phoenix
QUOTE (Shibuya @ Oct 8 2008, 21:10) *
We're staying in Burntisland.

Fife's answer to Magaluf. laugh.gif
rw89
"From: Glasgow"

We're staying in Burntisland, could consider Dunfermline too then i guess.

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif If i see a bunch of drunken Ayr nutters outside the Port in Burntisland i'll be sure to say hello then! Dunfermline isn't as bad as Kirkcaldy but isn't much better. I'll let the rest of the masses give their expert advice.
Shibuya
QUOTE (The Phoenix @ Oct 8 2008, 21:14) *

Will we find a foam party at the Sands?!
lzreid
QUOTE (rw89 @ Oct 8 2008, 21:08) *
Go to Edinburgh or Glasgow. Krikcaldy is utter shite for nights out. cool.gif dry.gif

This is sound advice.

If you're staying in Burntisland then Edinburgh is your best bet.
vikingTON
I heard the residents of Kirkcaldy are attending a family wedding next Saturday so I wouldn't bother.
lzreid
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Oct 8 2008, 21:18) *
I heard the residents of Kirkcaldy are attending a family wedding next Saturday so I wouldn't bother.

You can do better than that.
diege
lol I dont tend to venture into Burntisland high street when it gets dark! The Sands is close enough for a quick pintage. Only place ive been to in Kirkcaldy so far is the spoons and thunder road. Oh and of course Kittys
Shibuya
I've been out in Edinbo a few times, but only during the fringe, where even the shady clubs are busy. Cavendish and the dodgy one across the road to name a few! smile.gif
The Phoenix
QUOTE (Shibuya @ Oct 8 2008, 21:17) *

Others might say you wouldn't find a bar of soap, let alone foam.

Having many Fife friends, I wouldn't dream of saying it.
Frank Booth
Find an old dears club that does lino dancing
pantene proV
Only thing of any note in Kirkcaldy next Saturday is the White Riot night @Ocean featuring Sergeant, Apple Scruffs, Tango In The Attic

That's if you like live music

Otherwise Kitty's I suppose. You'll be spoiled for choice for places featuring kebab-stained silly bints!
Shibuya
QUOTE (pantene proV @ Oct 8 2008, 21:24) *
You'll be spoiled for choice for places featuring kebab-stained silly bints!

Tell me more........
rw89
QUOTE (The Phoenix @ Oct 8 2008, 21:14) *

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Very much so. Especially in the summer when the Links market arrives.
QUOTE (Shibuya @ Oct 8 2008, 21:17) *

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
In fairness, the sands is a cracking wee pub/hotel. They do excellent food there and the price of beer is ok. Albeit watch out for one or two of the locals, extreme stereotype of Fifers.

QUOTE (diege @ Oct 8 2008, 21:20) *
lol I dont tend to venture into Burntisland high street when it gets dark! The Sands is close enough for a quick pintage. Only place ive been to in Kirkcaldy so far is the spoons and thunder road. Oh and of course Kittys

laugh.gif The only things decent about the high street are romanos, the co-op and the road out. Serge at Romanos is a good laugh, will go on at a rant about how smoking is bad for you and how he doesn't want you to smoke and then happily takes the money for any fried foods you wish to buy.
pantene proV
QUOTE (Shibuya @ Oct 8 2008, 21:25) *
Tell me more........

*deep breath*

Kitty's, Harlem, Candle Rooms, Thunder Road, Blue Monday (yes there is actually a club called that)
Styx
Scary Bear
QUOTE (pantene proV @ Oct 8 2008, 21:24) *
Only thing of any note in Kirkcaldy next Saturday is the White Riot night @Ocean featuring Sergeant, Apple Scruffs, Tango In The Attic

That's if you like live music

Otherwise Kitty's I suppose. You'll be spoiled for choice for places featuring kebab-stained silly bints!

Is Ocean what they're calling Caesars these days? I miss Oscars.

Harlem was ok last time I was out...that was 2 or 3 years ago.

Styx is good for early evening beers and games of pool.

In general though, Kirkcaldy seemed better 15-20 years ago than it is now.
Gordon EF
What's happened to Ceasers/After Dark?
Gaz_Laad
QUOTE (Gordon EF @ Oct 8 2008, 21:42) *
What's happened to Ceasers/After Dark?

That is now Ocean
vikingTON
QUOTE (lzreid @ Oct 8 2008, 21:20) *
You can do better than that.

Meh. Effort.
Michael W
Kirkcaldy is pretty poor for a night out really. I'll give you a quick guide anyway:

Pubs: You'll find you're usual selection of "traditional" pubs near the high street, although I've never been in any of them. On the High Street itself, I quite like The Exchequer and Bar Itza (although this is quite small and can end up crowded). There is also The Robert Nairn, a Wetherspoons pub just off the High Street.

Clubs:

Kittys - I don't think I've ever been in this place on a Saturday, so I can't comment. From going on Thursdays, I find it attracts a mixed crowd age wise (despite being a student night).

Ocean - A poster above mentioned White Riot. It will be full of Indie Rockers that night. I went to see Sergeant a while ago on a Saturday. It was too busy and I got pissed off waiting ages for drink, so I left and went to Candlerooms.

Candlerooms - Quite a lot of underagers get in here, can attract quite a rough crowd at the best of times, so I'd probably avoid here. That said, the girls in here are generally quite easy, so you're single mates should enjoy it tongue.gif
Michael W
QUOTE (pantene proV @ Oct 8 2008, 21:40) *
*deep breath*

Kitty's, Harlem, Candle Rooms, Thunder Road, Blue Monday (yes there is actually a club called that)
Styx

Thunder Road is now being made into a new club which will bejoined onto Kittys. Scott Brown is doing the opening night biggrin.gif

QUOTE (Scary Bear @ Oct 8 2008, 21:41) *
Is Ocean what they're calling Caesars these days? I miss Oscars.

Yep. I miss Afterdark sad.gif
lzreid
QUOTE (Michael W @ Oct 8 2008, 21:48) *
Kirkcaldy is pretty poor for a night out really. I'll give you a quick guide anyway:

Pubs: You'll find you're usual selection of "traditional" pubs near the high street, although I've never been in any of them. On the High Street itself, I quite like The Exchequer and Bar Itza (although this is quite small and can end up crowded). There is also The Robert Nairn, a Wetherspoons pub just off the High Street.

Clubs:

Kittys - I don't think I've ever been in this place on a Saturday, so I can't comment. From going on Thursdays, I find it attracts a mixed crowd age wise (despite being a student night).

Ocean - A poster above mentioned White Riot. It will be full of Indie Rockers that night. I went to see Sergeant a while ago on a Saturday. It was too busy and I got pissed off waiting ages for drink, so I left and went to Candlerooms.

Candlerooms - Quite a lot of underagers get in here, can attract quite a rough crowd at the best of times, so I'd probably avoid here. That said, the girls in here are generally quite easy, so you're single mates should enjoy it tongue.gif

That said, Candlerooms is probably worth a miss due to the possibility of mixing the two in a Graham Rix stylee.
Michael W
QUOTE (lzreid @ Oct 8 2008, 21:51) *
That said, Candlerooms is probably worth a miss due to the possibility of mixing the two in a Graham Rix stylee.

Aye true laugh.gif
Shibuya
Cheers dudes, good info!

So Candlerooms it is then.

Acht....anybody playing for Geordie Munrovers in the morning?
King Kebab
Why don't you do a crawl???

Start off at The Templehall Tavern and then the World's your oyster!!! wink.gif
Michael W
QUOTE (King Kebab @ Oct 8 2008, 23:40) *
Why don't you do a crawl???

Start off at The Templehall Tavern and then the World's your oyster!!! wink.gif

Thats closed now wink.gif
King Kebab
QUOTE (Michael W @ Oct 8 2008, 23:45) *

ohmy.gif

Where does Big Quinny go to drink now???

Surely there must be others of a similar calibre for our Ayr friends!!!

Is the Alpha Bar still open???
MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE (Shibuya @ Oct 8 2008, 22:48) *
Acht....anybody playing for Geordie Munrovers in the morning?

I am, Shib. I look forward to scoring against you again tongue.gif
Mon_The_Fife
Kirkcaldy is getting worse for a night out now.

The robbing gits at Kittys charge £6 entry unless you go to Styx before hand.

Was told that Candlerooms was closing down pretty soon too.

Ocean/Afterdark or whatever you want to call it this week is dead but Blue Monday's seems to have picked up a bit now that it's open until 2am.

If you haven't been to Kirkcaldy before you might enjoy it as it is... 'something different'.
WullieBroonIsGod
QUOTE (Michael W @ Oct 8 2008, 23:45) *

Ach well, the Buchaneer it is then! wink.gif
Rovers_Lad
QUOTE (Shibuya @ Oct 8 2008, 20:58) *
Preferably somewhere full of filth for my single mates, or even somewhere nice smile.gif

Theres only one place,Styx.Quiet up till about 9ish then absolutely hoaching after.
Whistle Blower
QUOTE (Shibuya @ Oct 8 2008, 20:58) *

Stay in Ayr for dirty skanks, they tend to be slimmer.
Ever the Optimist
Styx

So is this a New Order tribute pub, or just a rampant Gay Bar???

Shibuya if you're the Kaisayr team and Grammy is there, he could always tell you about a pub called Tickety Boos in Dundee that we were in on a Kaisayr night/day/weekend out. Ask him all about his Uncle Jim!!!
centralparker
We're staying in Burntisland

You could nip into the Crown for a quick one before heading off to the bright lights.
WullieBroonIsGod
QUOTE (Ever the Optimist @ Oct 9 2008, 09:39) *
So is this a New Order tribute pub, or just a rampant Gay Bar???

Shibuya if you're the Kaisayr team and Grammy is there, he could always tell you about a pub called Tickety Boos in Dundee that we were in on a Kaisayr night/day/weekend out. Ask him all about his Uncle Jim!!!

pmsl

80's bar/club on the high St, sleazy as f**k mate!!
gogsyboy
QUOTE (WullieBroonIsGod @ Oct 9 2008, 10:53) *
pmsl

80's bar/club on the high St, sleazy as f**k mate!!

What he said!!!
keyser_soze
QUOTE (gogsyboy @ Oct 9 2008, 13:46) *
What he said!!!

agreed laugh.gif
Saor_Alba_1314
Good music, shite bitches though............
bobbykdy
If you are game for a laugh, are up for getting really pished and aint a nightclub snob then Blue Monday will deffo be for you. Way I see it its what you make of it. Kittys while it was pointed out has birds that are a bit better to look at a lot of them are a right pain in the arse as their noses are stuck firmly up their ring piece in a lot of cases. When you come across that you got to laugh, it leaves ye thinkin to yerself, "for fucks sake, its Kirkcaldy, no California luv, get oer yerself."

So if you are looking for a one off night just for a laugh, get pished and some cheesy tunes I would deffo say Blue Monday will be up yer street. Ye will see some weird and wonderful folk in there should you choose to go, but its all part of the night out if ye ask me.
Michael W
QUOTE (bobbykdy @ Oct 9 2008, 19:26) *
If you are game for a laugh, are up for getting really pished and aint a nightclub snob then Blue Monday will deffo be for you. Way I see it its what you make of it. Kittys while it was pointed out has birds that are a bit better to look at a lot of them are a right pain in the arse as their noses are stuck firmly up their ring piece in a lot of cases. When you come across that you got to laugh, it leaves ye thinkin to yerself, "for fucks sake, its Kirkcaldy, no California luv, get oer yerself."

So if you are looking for a one off night just for a laugh, get pished and some cheesy tunes I would deffo say Blue Monday will be up yer street. Ye will see some weird and wonderful folk in there should you choose to go, but its all part of the night out if ye ask me.

I've been in Blue Mondays once, as I was given some flyer that gave me free entry. I went in, took a pish and left. It was shite.
bobbykdy
QUOTE (Michael W @ Oct 9 2008, 19:31) *
I've been in Blue Mondays once, as I was given some flyer that gave me free entry. I went in, took a pish and left. It was shite.

I suspect then there is either the aformentioned nightclub snob in you as I previously mentioned it wouldnt suit or it was quiet and you were in too early. It dont generally get busy in there before 12. smile.gif
Michael W
QUOTE (bobbykdy @ Oct 9 2008, 19:38) *
I suspect then there is either the aformentioned nightclub snob in you as I previously mentioned it wouldnt suit or it was quiet and you were in too early. It dont generally get busy in there before 12. smile.gif

Probably more the fact it was full of people in their 30's and I was 18. The music was rubbish too. Just not my thing really, although I rarely go out in Kirkcaldy. I only tend to head out if theres a DJ playing.
WullieBroonIsGod
To be fair, Ive had a couple of great nights out in Blue Monday. There are a few sleazy b*****ds in there like, but if ye dinny mind dancin to the cheesy shite, then it's a good laugh

Dear drink if I mind right
bobbykdy
QUOTE (WullieBroonIsGod @ Oct 9 2008, 19:46) *
To be fair, Ive had a couple of great nights out in Blue Monday. There are a few sleazy b*****ds in there like, but if ye dinny mind dancin to the cheesy shite, then it's a good laugh

Dear drink if I mind right

Perfect summary and aye the booze is dear. IMO its like most things, just what you make of it.
Saor_Alba_1314
QUOTE (Michael W @ Oct 9 2008, 19:42) *
Probably more the fact it was full of people in their 30's and I was 18. The music was rubbish too. Just not my thing really, although I rarely go out in Kirkcaldy. I only tend to head out if theres a DJ playing.

The clue is in the name '80's bar'...................... Not likely to get shitty 90's, or even worse 00's stuff played now, eh? cool.gif
Michael W
QUOTE (Crazy_Horse @ Oct 9 2008, 20:55) *
The clue is in the name '80's bar'...................... Not likely to get shitty 90's, or even worse 00's stuff played now, eh? cool.gif

I know, but even by 80's standards it was bad tongue.gif
WullieBroonIsGod
Dinny tell me ye were oot withoot yer shoulder pads on?

Ye canny dance to Rick Astley withoot them min! biggrin.gif
BIGQ FAE KDY
styx till 11pm then down to harlem dry.gif
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.