Full Version: Watty Ready To Hand Over To The Cheeky Chappy?
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > Rangers v Celtic, Celtic v Rangers
seamus
I read in the paper today that Walter Smith is touting Ally McCoist for a future Rangers manager.How long do fans on here think that Watty has left before he moves upstairs or retires?
Who would they like to see as his successor? and does McCoist have it in him to be a manager.

I think the fact that he is talking about McCoist having the credentials to manage the club could mean that a move is on the cards.
I think it would be a positive step if McCoist was the next Rangers manager as he tries to hard to be everybody's pal and I dont think he would handle the pressure.In some ways I think he may want to be a success too much.

He would also find it a culture shock if the press turned on him as he has been a media darling for so long.
buttons22
QUOTE (seamus @ Oct 7 2008, 22:18) *
I read in the paper today that Walter Smith is touting Ally McCoist for a future Rangers manager.How long do fans on here think that Watty has left before he moves upstairs or retires?
Who would they like to see as his successor? and does McCoist have it in him to be a manager.

I think the fact that he is talking about McCoist having the credentials to manage the club could mean that a move is on the cards.
I think it would be a positive step if McCoist was the next Rangers manager as he tries to hard to be everybody's pal and I dont think he would handle the pressure.In some ways I think he may want to be a success too much.

He would also find it a culture shock if the press turned on him as he has been a media darling for so long.

Thought you had more understanding of media hype. You tend to get this on international week when they struggle for old firm news. Don't think Walter will be giving it up in the near future.
WeAreThePeople
I believe Ally is being groomed this season, and could from here on in slowly get a bigger and bigger Managerial Role, until he's in control of the lot.

Smith will then move up-stairs. smile.gif
seamus
QUOTE (buttons22 @ Oct 7 2008, 22:22) *
Thought you had more understanding of media hype. You tend to get this on international week when they struggle for old firm news. Don't think Walter will be giving it up in the near future.

Its hardly been a slow week news wise for Rangers considering the result on Sunday.It could be well timed to provide the fans with a much needed boost.Do you think McCoist has it in him to manage Rangers?
seamus
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 7 2008, 22:48) *
I believe Ally is being groomed this season, and could from here on in slowly get a bigger and bigger Managerial Role, until he's in control of the lot.

How long do you think he will be groomed that will depend on Celtic winning four ina row IMO.
Do you think he has the ability to manage Rangers successfully?
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (seamus @ Oct 7 2008, 22:50) *
Its hardly been a slow week news wise for Rangers considering the result on Sunday.It could be well timed to provide the fans with a much needed boost.Do you think McCoist has it in him to manage Rangers?

I think Ally has it in him to become a manager yes, but I am worried about him being thrown in at the deep end by taking charge of one of the OF. We all know the need for success every year, anything else is deemed a failure and fans want change. I'd have liked him to start off at smaller clubs with less pressure, but if Smith can teach him right, and no doubt Kenny McDowell will get to be Ally's assistant, then they could do well at our club. Ally and Kenny certainly have the heart towards the club, so that is always a bonus.

But as I said, I'm not sure if he will be able to cope with the demands, even though he knows all about them. I'd give him a shot though. smile.gif
buttons22

Much needed boost...LOL!!!

It's a hard one...My heart says he would do a job. Would he be better to manage another club before he manages Rangers though.
buttons22
If he did get the job I think it would be a 3 man team of Ally, Kenny and Durrant.
seamus
QUOTE (buttons22 @ Oct 7 2008, 22:55) *
Much needed boost...LOL!!!

It's a hard one...My heart says he would do a job. Would he be better to manage another club before he manages Rangers though.

Look at this way if Rangers lose the league this season which is probable they will not persevere with Watty and I cannot see them employiong an outsider after coming out with this in the press.If they did he would be on a hiding to nothing if McCoist was overlooked.
seamus
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 7 2008, 22:54) *
I think Ally has it in him to become a manager yes, but I am worried about him being thrown in at the deep end by taking charge of one of the OF. We all know the need for success every year, anything else is deemed a failure and fans want change. I'd have liked him to start off at smaller clubs with less pressure, but if Smith can teach him right, and no doubt Kenny McDowell will get to be Ally's assistant, then they could do well at our club. Ally and Kenny certainly have the heart towards the club, so that is always a bonus.

But as I said, I'm not sure if he will be able to cope with the demands, even though he knows all about them. I'd give him a shot though. smile.gif

He may be love the club too much to do the job effectivley.
buttons22
QUOTE (seamus @ Oct 7 2008, 22:58) *
Look at this way if Rangers lose the league this season which is probable they will not persevere with Watty and I cannot see them employiong an outsider after coming out with this in the press.If they did he would be on a hiding to nothing if McCoist was overlooked.

Didn't realise Rangers called a big press conference today...Think you need to go on media course. The papers released the story not Rangers.
seamus
QUOTE (buttons22 @ Oct 7 2008, 23:04) *
Didn't realise Rangers called a big press conference today...Think you need to go on media course. The papers released the story not Rangers.

McCoist and Smith were quoted they are not that daft to know that the press would not publish it.
buttons22
QUOTE (seamus @ Oct 7 2008, 23:07) *
McCoist and Smith were quoted they are not that daft to know that the press would not publish it.

When were they quoted??? When did the interview take place?
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (seamus @ Oct 7 2008, 23:04) *
He may be love the club too much to do the job effectivley.

As long as he can pick up tactics, and can get good defence/midfield/goalkeeping coaches, he should be fine, as he will be able to help the Strikers and take them for their main part. While still overall supervising.

Durrant would be a prime contender to teach the central midfielders, but he would need to get in someone who can take sessions with the wide men (which we scream for, but doesn't seem like coming).

Thomson should be able to take Shagger/Alexander fine, so theres no bother there.

Bring in a Defensive coach (not sure if we have one specifically for this, not checked) a good one and that would be the training side sorted.

And as long as Rangers can sort out some sort of scouts, other than Ewank Chester then we would be in a decent position, the fact Ewank just seems in-capable of doing his job is something that really annoys me every season, but thats for another thread.
buttons22
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 7 2008, 23:08) *
As long as he can pick up tactics, and can get good defence/midfield/goalkeeping coaches, he should be fine, as he will be able to help the Strikers and take them for their main part. While still overall supervising.

Durrant would be a prime contender to teach the central midfielders, but he would need to get in someone who can take sessions with the wide men (which we scream for, but doesn't seem like coming).

Thomson should be able to take Shagger/Alexander fine, so theres no bother there.

Bring in a Defensive coach (not sure if we have one specifically for this, not checked) a good one and that would be the training side sorted.

And as long as Rangers can sort out some sort of scouts, other than Ewank Chester then we would be in a decent position, the fact Ewank just seems in-capable of doing his job is something that really annoys me every season, but thats for another thread.

The way your talking we'll have more coaches than players...LOL. Kenny does a lot of the defensive work. Don't think we need anyone other Ally, Kenny, Durrant and the fitness coaches.

Ewan Chester has done a lot of work behindthe scenes.

seamus
QUOTE (buttons22 @ Oct 7 2008, 23:08) *
When were they quoted??? When did the interview take place?

theryarr
http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/sport/displa...o_boss_club.php
buttons22
QUOTE (seamus @ Oct 7 2008, 23:19) *

Were they interviewd today, yesterday, last week... cause it doesn't say???
seamus
QUOTE (buttons22 @ Oct 7 2008, 23:22) *
Were they interviewd today, yesterday, last week... cause it doesn't say???

Do you think Walter Smith will still be in charge if Rangers lose the league yet again?
buttons22
QUOTE (seamus @ Oct 7 2008, 23:25) *
Do you think Walter Smith will still be in charge if Rangers lose the league yet again?

I take it you are round to my way of thinking since you didn't answer my last question.

No need to even think it cause it ain't going to happen. Rangers have a strong enough team to win the league. Celtic are going to drop points when they start playing more away games and also when they come back of euro games.
soti14
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 7 2008, 23:08) *

Billy Thompson is at Kilmarnock now i think? Jim Stewart coaches the goalkeepers.
seamus
QUOTE (buttons22 @ Oct 7 2008, 23:29) *
I take it you are round to my way of thinking since you didn't answer my last question.

No need to even think it cause it ain't going to happen. Rangers have a strong enough team to win the league. Celtic are going to drop points when they start playing more away games and also when they come back of euro games.

Whats your way of thinking?

Rangers lack of Euro games stood them in good stead this week,I did not think watching the Bill was so tiring.
buttons22
QUOTE (seamus @ Oct 7 2008, 23:36) *
Whats your way of thinking?

Rangers lack of Euro games stood them in good stead this week,I did not think watching the Bill was so tiring.

I thought this was international week!!!

To be honest I've never really been a fan of the Bill but you obviously are. Don't worry you won't need to record it on Sky+ in a few weeks.
seamus
QUOTE (buttons22 @ Oct 7 2008, 23:40) *
I thought this was international week!!!

To be honest I've never really been a fan of the Bill but you obviously are. Don't worry you won't need to record it on Sky+ in a few weeks.

There is a lot of unrest in the Rangers support due to Watty's choice not to pick Kris Boyd as well as bringing McGregor back too soon.

I dont think many fans would be disapointed to see Walter move upstairs at the end of the season and there is only one man to fill his shoes.

The papers have been full of Rangers all week for some reason.
buttons22
QUOTE (seamus @ Oct 7 2008, 23:46) *
There is a lot of unrest in the Rangers support due to Watty's choice not to pick Kris Boyd as well as bringing McGregor back too soon.

I dont think many fans would be disapointed to see Walter move upstairs at the end of the season and there is only one man to fill his shoes.

The papers have been full of Rangers all week for some reason.

You won't get a reaction from me, so no point in trying. Think you need to come back to the real world. You don't get unrest after one league defeat especially when u've just humped your closet rivals at their own patch.

Walter Smith will move upstairs when he finally gets the knighthood he truely deserves. Walter is still popular even though he hasn't won the league. Wee Chezney has won 3 and still a large amount of fans dislike him.
ChampionsElect
He is not good enough to be their manager yet imo.

And if he has it looks like he might go into his first managerial position having a record of 0/2 SPL titles as assistant at that club, not the best start.

Probably pish anyway.
shaft
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 7 2008, 22:48) *

Do you really think Celtic,Man Utd or even Newcastle would have him as a boss tho? tongue.gif biggrin.gif
calum_gers
QUOTE (seamus @ Oct 7 2008, 22:52) *
How long do you think he will be groomed that will depend on Celtic winning four ina row IMO.
Do you think he has the ability to manage Rangers successfully?

no.
*PeTeH-FiFeR*
I hope Ally dussny manage Rangers ... as i will probably Hate them alot less .. McCoist is a legend!
great man, great football .... just an all round character.
He will have what it takes to be a manager ..especially is hes being groomed by Watty.
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (shaft @ Oct 8 2008, 14:48) *
Do you really think Celtic,Man Utd or even Newcastle would have him as a boss tho? tongue.gif biggrin.gif

The only club in that list he would step up in, is Manchester Utd.

We're on the same level as Celtic, and Newcastle are just a club who think they are big because they are in the Premiership, and, other than 2 years. They have done nothing to show why they should think they are a big club, 2 finishes in the top 4 (IIRC).

As for my statement, you know, and I know that you took it out in context, but to spell it out for others who won't have noticed.

Ally will slowly be given more control this season over the goings on as Manager at Rangers, Smith will give him more and more control, until he is in charge of the full team on his own. With Smith just watching to make sure he's doing OK. Come the end of the season, Ally will be left on his own to see how he goes, no doubt Smith will still keep an eye on him and help him when needed, but he will make the decisions on his own. With Smith getting a cushy job up in the hierarchy within Ibrox.
shaft
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 8 2008, 23:39) *
The only club in that list he would step up in, is Manchester Utd.

We're on the same level as Celtic, and Newcastle are just a club who think they are big because they are in the Premiership, and, other than 2 years. They have done nothing to show why they should think they are a big club, 2 finishes in the top 4 (IIRC).

As for my statement, you know, and I know that you took it out in context, but to spell it out for others who won't have noticed.

Ally will slowly be given more control this season over the goings on as Manager at Rangers, Smith will give him more and more control, until he is in charge of the full team on his own. With Smith just watching to make sure he's doing OK. Come the end of the season, Ally will be left on his own to see how he goes, no doubt Smith will still keep an eye on him and help him when needed, but he will make the decisions on his own. With Smith getting a cushy job up in the hierarchy within Ibrox.

never takes long for a dirty hun to bite....
fatman76
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 8 2008, 23:39) *
T

I think what you are saying is in the main correct but I dont think he will be given as much control this season as you think. This season is far to important to let Ally take the control Wattie would probably like to give him. I think Ally will have control of all the cup competitions but the league will still be mainly Walters thing. I dont think we will see Ally take the reigns by himself until at the earliest the final third of next season, if we are in a strong position to win our second title in a row. wink.gif
fitbin

It's classic Dodge 'n' Deflect news management.

Every time the Huns get beat, they'll release something in the press to take attention away from the game. After their next defeat, expect some big media hype about their new Super Casino etc

To be fair, all big clubs do it, to some extent, it's just that some have more friends in the press (who'll allow them to distract people from a defeat) than others...
seamus
QUOTE (Mr Cadbury's Parrot @ Oct 9 2008, 13:35) *
It's classic Dodge 'n' Deflect news management.

Every time the Huns get beat, they'll release something in the press to take attention away from the game. After their next defeat, expect some big media hype about their new Super Casino etc

To be fair, all big clubs do it, to some extent, it's just that some have more friends in the press (who'll allow them to distract people from a defeat) than others...

I agree but I cant beleive that Rangers would throw McCoist into the job without being tried at another club .However the signs are that its going to happen why else would Watty and McCoist be talking about it.

The reaction of the Rangers fans of such an appointment is indifference me thinks.
khenny
QUOTE (seamus @ Oct 9 2008, 14:24) *
I agree but I cant beleive that Rangers would throw McCoist into the job qwithout being tried at another club .However the signs are that its going to happen why else would Watty and McCoist be talking about it.

The reaction of the Rnagers fans of such an appointment is indifference me thinks.

McCoist seems destined to be the rankers manager.

It seems quite logical to me that they would put a joker in charge of a laughing stock.

seamus
QUOTE (khenny @ Oct 9 2008, 14:31) *

It seems quite logical to me that they would put a joker in charge of a laughing stock.

I think nobody else would offer him a job as he is unproven and he has his heart set one one thing I canny see anyone taking ita fter watty now either if McCoist is still in the backroom staff.
fatman76
QUOTE (khenny @ Oct 9 2008, 14:31) *

Ally plays the happy cheeky chappy for the media but I think if you were to have word with anybody that has been coached or played with him they will tell you he is a hardy wee bazza that disnae take any sh*t.
seamus
QUOTE (fatman76 @ Oct 9 2008, 15:22) *
Ally plays the happy cheeky chappy for the media but I think if you were to have word with anybody that has been coached or played with him they will tell you he is a hardy wee bazza that disnae take any sh*t.

would you be happy with a novice as a manager?
fatman76
QUOTE (seamus @ Oct 9 2008, 15:30) *
would you be happy with a novice as a manager?

If he has been groomed and the reigns are handed over to him gradually would he be a novice? It looks as though he is serving a good old fashioned apprenticeship to me and that surely cant be a bad thing. He should have a sounder footing in management than the like of John Greig had.
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (shaft @ Oct 9 2008, 12:24) *
never takes long for a dirty hun to bite....

I knew you were trying to get a dig in, and I let you have it. Most times I would have just let your comment slide. wink.gif
seamus
QUOTE (fatman76 @ Oct 9 2008, 15:42) *
If he has been groomed and the reigns are handed over to him gradually would he be a novice? It looks as though he is serving a good old fashioned apprenticeship to me and that surely cant be a bad thing. He should have a sounder footing in management than the like of John Greig had.

Your next manager Ally McCoist will be a novice but at least he will be brung up with the traditions of the club unlike Paul le Guen.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.