Full Version: So Celtic Have Dominated Scottish Football For The Last 10 Years....
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > Rangers v Celtic, Celtic v Rangers
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (findis89 @ Oct 17 2008, 23:03) *
What has that got to do with anything?
The guys opinion differs from yours so he must be a tim.
Typical OF pish

He acts like one all the time, I have yet to see him really take a go at Celtic FC, and show he isn't just a closet dhim.
findis89
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 17 2008, 23:34) *
He acts like one all the time, I have yet to see him really take a go at Celtic FC, and show he isn't just a closet dhim.

so what does what school he went to have to do with anything?
It is such a typical hun thing to ask rolleyes.gif
H_B
QUOTE (fatman76 @ Oct 17 2008, 22:49) *
Can I just ask what denomination of school you went to?

Of course you can, and it was R.C. biggrin.gif

Perhaps you will now exaplin the relevance of the question?
fatman76
QUOTE (H_B @ Oct 18 2008, 10:50) *

Ok, the only reason I asked that question is because I wanted to gain some understanding as to why you favour one side of the old firm so heavily . I now understand why you do so much Bear baiting. wink.gif

Whats your opinion on your second teams injury woes in the run in to what should prove to be a hectic time with a lack of a first choice strike force. Will this influence the destination of the title, their european hopes and the domination of the SPL for a further arbitrary 20 years?
No8.
Just don't call him a 'Fenian b*****d'... wink.gif
fatman76
QUOTE (No8. @ Oct 18 2008, 17:05) *
Just don't call him a 'Fenian b*****d'... wink.gif

Who would do a thing like that. The boy is cleary just a mixed up lad.
lzreid
QUOTE (fatman76 @ Oct 16 2008, 12:43) *
Any chance you could use your crystal ball to help me with my coupon for the weekend? wink.gif

QUOTE (H_B @ Oct 16 2008, 12:44) *
Certainly.

Try Falkirk 0 - Aberdeen 1.

Perhaps the argument has now been laid to rest?
Beren
QUOTE (fatman76 @ Oct 17 2008, 22:49) *
Hmmmmmmmm...................................................
. a feeble atempt to do what ? All I am doing is questioning your logic, about the theory Celtic will dominate scottish football for a further 20 years. Lets face it your argument can be easily turned around and we could see Rangers again dominating scottish football for the forseeable future.

I dont know why you dont just admit that you are a (closet) tim.

Can I just ask what denomination of school you went to?

Not really. It has been shown that when Celtic only played one tie in Europe, their turnover is around £3 or £4m less than Rangers who took all the CL moolah. In reversed circumstances (except Rnagers played several UEFA CUP ties), Rangers turnover was £30m less than Celtic's.

Despite their greatest ever year in Europe (financially), Rangers turnover was a whopping £12m less than Celtc's last season. This season I'm willing to guess that their income will be at least £30m less than Celtic's.

Celtic are a much bigger club than Rangers.
H_B
QUOTE (lzreid @ Oct 19 2008, 15:17) *
Perhaps the argument has now been laid to rest?

Indeed, can there be any further doubt about my predictions? Though predicting Falkirk would lose to Aberdeen without scoring is akin to predicting bears creating brown stuff in wooded areas.

I now understand why you do so much Bear baiting.

It's not difficult to grasp. I can't stand Celtic PLC. However, that pales into insignificance compared to how much I utterly despise Rangers football club and everything they stand for. The decades of bigotry and sectarianism, the Nazi salutes, and the triumphalist, white Protestant supremacist (and now racist) attitudes of the fanbase.

I am absolutely loving the fact that this arrogance has come back to haunt Rangers, as they are now very much Scotland's second team. It's great biggrin.gif
fatman76
QUOTE (H_B @ Oct 20 2008, 09:44) *
Indeed, can there be any further doubt about my predictions? Though predicting Falkirk would lose to Aberdeen without scoring is akin to predicting bears creating brown stuff in wooded areas.

It's not difficult to grasp. I can't stand Celtic PLC. However, that pales into insignificance compared to how much I utterly despise Rangers football club and everything they stand for. The decades of bigotry and sectarianism, the Nazi salutes, and the triumphalist, white Protestant supremacist (and now racist) attitudes of the fanbase.

I am absolutely loving the fact that this arrogance has come back to haunt Rangers, as they are now very much Scotland's second team. It's great biggrin.gif </FONT>

Seems as though your agenda is political rather than being based within the realms of football. I take it your beliefs have allowed you to overlook the stark similarities to the attitude of the fans in green and white hoops.
H_B
QUOTE (fatman76 @ Oct 20 2008, 10:35) *
Seems as though your agenda is political rather than being based within the realms of football. I take it your beliefs have allowed you to overlook the stark similarities to the attitude of the fans in green and white hoops.

So did you win 7 houses by putting the mortgage on my prediction for Saturday? Just imagine how many steak bakes you'll be able to get with your winnings!

Some Celtic fans have problems to address, namely the disgusting support for murdering terrorist scum, and the bigotry they have exhibited towards their manager because of his religion, but their problems are far less evidenced than Rangers.

Celtic really do have a minority problem, whereas Rangers have a majority problem. I would hate to associate myself with either club however.
fatman76
QUOTE (H_B @ Oct 20 2008, 10:39) *
So did you win 7 houses by putting the mortgage on my prediction for Saturday? Just imagine how many steak bakes you'll be able to get with your winnings!

Some Celtic fans have problems to address, namely the disgusting support for murdering terrorist scum, and the bigotry they have exhibited towards their manager because of his religion, but their problems are far less evidenced than Rangers.

Celtic really do have a minority problem, whereas Rangers have a majority problem. I would hate to associate myself with either club however.

Well I never actually won with the Sheep this weekend, I never managed to get a line on for saturday at all. I did however get over£60 back for a wee £3 accy on Hull,Galatasaray, AC Milan, Inter and Genoa.

I would say you have hit the nail on the head when you say the incidents of Celtic fans behaving badly is less well evidenced. I have personally found the Celtic support to be less gracious in defeat as well as when they have been victorious. If you are looking for evidence of poorly behaved Celtic fans please feel free to search you tube for the evidence you require.
H_B
QUOTE (fatman76 @ Oct 20 2008, 10:57) *
I would say you have hit the nail on the head when you say the incidents of Celtic fans behaving badly is less well evidenced. I have personally found the Celtic support to be less gracious in defeat as well as when they have been victorious. If you are looking for evidence of poorly behaved Celtic fans please feel free to search you tube for the evidence you require.

Oh, I quite agree. I think they are helped by their more militant scumbag fans being too poor to actually go to the games, so the standard of fan inside the stadium is much higher. That's why the party songs don't get sung at games, apart from the odd few at away matches.
Disraeli
QUOTE (Fëanáro @ Oct 20 2008, 07:20) *
Not really. It has been shown that when Celtic only played one tie in Europe, their turnover is around £3 or £4m less than Rangers who took all the CL moolah. In reversed circumstances (except Rnagers played several UEFA CUP ties), Rangers turnover was £30m less than Celtic's.

Despite their greatest ever year in Europe (financially), Rangers turnover was a whopping £12m less than Celtc's last season. This season I'm willing to guess that their income will be at least £30m less than Celtic's.

Celtic are a much bigger club than Rangers.

The size of a club is not measured merely by finance. That's not to say finance does not dictate other measures of "size", such as amount of domestic honours won, but it's not the overriding factor in determing how "big" a club is.

Also, Rangers have made a lot of progress (especially over the last fifteen years) in combating bigotry.
These people are Scottish citizens primarily (being a Rangers fan, or the fan of any football club, is not a valid way to stratify society), it's a Scottish problem, not a Rangers problem - yet Rangers, and many supporters, have attempted to tackle the problem, largely unaided.

The added difficulty Rangers face (in comparison to other clubs) is that they need to combat an organised group of right-wing thugs who have associated themselves with the club for years - we call them Heart of Midlothian laugh.gif *Boom, tish*.
H_B
QUOTE (Disraeli @ Oct 20 2008, 11:15) *
The size of a club is not measured merely by finance. That's not to say finance does not dictate other measures of "size", such as amount of domestic honours won, but it's not the overriding factor in determing how "big" a club is.

I don't think there are any criteria which would suggest Rangers are Scotland's biggest club any more. Celtic dominate on the park, have a bigger stadium, more money coming in, spend more on wages and do better in Europe.

it's a Scottish problem, not a Rangers problem - yet Rangers, and many supporters, have attempted to tackle the problem, largely unaided.

It's just unfortunate for you that the dregs of Scottish society gravitate towards Rangers FC.
Disraeli
QUOTE (H_B @ Oct 20 2008, 11:25) *
I don't think there are any criteria which would suggest Rangers are Scotland's biggest club any more. Celtic dominate on the park, have a bigger stadium, more money coming in, spend more on wages and do better in Europe.

It's just unfortunate for you that the dregs of Scottish society gravitate towards Rangers FC.

I gave you a hint in my last post. Rangers are by far the most domestically successful team in Scotland. By which I mean they've won the most domestic football honours in Scotland, not that David Murray is particularly adept at cooking or cleaning.
H_B
QUOTE (Disraeli @ Oct 20 2008, 11:49) *
I gave you a hint in my last post. Rangers are by far the most domestically successful team in Scotland. By which I mean they've won the most domestic football honours in Scotland, not that David Murray is particularly adept at cooking or cleaning.

Historically speaking Queens Park were a big club. They aren't any more.

Celtic are Scotland's number 1 club at present. There can be no doubt about that, on the field and off it.

All that can change this is huge investment into Rangers, which in the current financial climate looks very unlikely.
fatman76
QUOTE (H_B @ Oct 20 2008, 11:03) *
Oh, I quite agree. I think they are helped by their more militant scumbag fans being too poor to actually go to the games, so the standard of fan inside the stadium is much higher. That's why the party songs don't get sung at games, apart from the odd few at away matches.

I have said this before on several previous threads that the singing of party songs is in no way a problem for me. Thats why I dont really get involved in all the hooha that surrounds that type of song on this board. I believe it's the party songs that give a game a great atmosphere. The real problem at the moment is the fact that Uefa and Fifa are trying to make football into a Disneyesque sterile vacuum of good clean family fun.

Disraeli
QUOTE (H_B @ Oct 20 2008, 12:02) *

Celtic are Scotland's number 1 club at present. There can be no doubt about that, on the field and off it.

All that can change this is huge investment into Rangers, which in the current financial climate looks very unlikely.

Celtic may be Scotland's current "number 1 club" (what with being the champions n'all) but I'm referring to how big a club is in general, not how successful it's been over a ten season (or shorter) period.
H_B
QUOTE (Disraeli @ Oct 20 2008, 16:12) *
Celtic may be Scotland's current "number 1 club" (what with being the champions n'all) but I'm referring to how big a club is in general,

So am I.

Chelsea are a bigger club than Liverpool at present, although they lack Liverpool's history. Arsenal are likewise bigger than Liverpool though again with a less storied past.

The difference with Chelsea v Liverpool of course is that Chelsea are arbitrarily boosted by Abramovich's billions,otherwise they would not be. Celtic don't have a sugar daddy, just amuch more successful business plan and income streams. That's why Celtic's domination is absolute and will continue unless Rangers find an Abramovich Mark II.
Beren
QUOTE (Disraeli @ Oct 20 2008, 11:15) *

I agree.

The finances part of my post was in response to Fatman76's suggestion that there is an equal likelihood that Rangers could dominate Scottish football in a manner that H_B sees Celtic in the future.

My last sentence was a general observation.
Disraeli
QUOTE (H_B @ Oct 20 2008, 16:17) *
So am I.

Chelsea are a bigger club than Liverpool at present, although they lack Liverpool's history. Arsenal are likewise bigger than Liverpool though again with a less storied past.

The difference with Chelsea v Liverpool of course is that Chelsea are arbitrarily boosted by Abramovich's billions,otherwise they would not be. Celtic don't have a sugar daddy, just amuch more successful business plan and income streams. That's why Celtic's domination is absolute and will continue unless Rangers find an Abramovich Mark II.

Celtic do seem to hold a financial lead over Rangers at the moment and, assuming ceteris paribus, this could very well continue.
But, bearing all this in mind, we still have no idea whether Celtic will dominate Scottish football for the near future and it's of limited relevance to what I'm suggesting anyway.

Celtic's (relative) financial security at this particular period of time is not an indicator of Celtic being a "bigger" club than Rangers in a general sense. Likewise, for Celtic's current success on the pitch.
In terms of domestic trophies won, they are still in Rangers' shadow. This suggests Rangers are a "bigger" club, in a general sense; although I'm sure there are ways to argue that Celtic are a "bigger" club.

Fair enough, Feanaro . (as I note above) I still disagree with the assertion that Celtic are a "bigger" club than Rangers.
H_B
QUOTE (Disraeli @ Oct 20 2008, 16:32) *
Celtic do seem to hold a financial lead over Rangers at the moment and, assuming ceteris paribus, this could very well continue.
But, bearing all this in mind, we still have no idea whether Celtic will dominate Scottish football for the near future and it's of limited relevance to what I'm suggesting anyway.

By the same token, there is no guarantee the "Big 4" in England will continue to dominate the CL positions, and indeed the "Big 2" will fight out the title between them, however it is a pretty likely scenario.

Nothing Rangers can do can bridge the financial gap.

Celtic's (relative) financial security at this particular period of time is not an indicator of Celtic being a "bigger" club than Rangers in a general sense. Likewise, for Celtic's current success on the pitch.

Well, yes, it is. They have a bigger ground, and much more fans every fortnight watching them, even igoring their domestic and European success. They are a bigger club at present.

Fair enough, Feanaro . (as I note above) I still disagree with the assertion that Celtic are a "bigger" club than Rangers.

I think you will find little support for this view outwith the Rangers fanbase.
Disraeli
QUOTE (H_B @ Oct 20 2008, 16:37) *
By the same token, there is no guarantee the "Big 4" in England will continue to dominate the CL positions, and indeed the "Big 2" will fight out the title between them, however it is a pretty likely scenario.

Nothing Rangers can do can bridge the financial gap.

Well, yes, it is. They have a bigger ground, and much more fans every fortnight watching them, even igoring their domestic and European success. They are a bigger club at present.

I think you will find little support for this view outwith the Rangers fanbase.

The "big 4" very rarely change. The Old Firm tend to alternate between positions of power.

They're still considerably less successful than Rangers, in a domestic sense. When determinig the size of a club in general, you can't "cut off" large amounts of its history. You haven't even specified from which point you started measuring this "domestic and European success" laugh.gif . Since the inception of the club? Since 1967? Since last Tuesday, at lunchtime?

I'm not sure that's true. Even if it was, that wouldn't make my view any less valid.
H_B
QUOTE (Disraeli @ Oct 20 2008, 16:53) *
They're still considerably less successful than Rangers, in a domestic sense. When determinig the size of a club in general, you can't "cut off" large amounts of its history.

Well, you can really.

Ask Nottingham Forest or Leeds fans. The fact Forest ruled Europe for a time is irrelevant when looking at their current status, which is that of a struggling Championship club.

I'm not saying Rangers aren't still a big club, but they are not as big a club as Celtic.
calum_gers
QUOTE (H_B @ Oct 20 2008, 17:01) *
Well, you can really.

Ask Nottingham Forest or Leeds fans. The fact Forest ruled Europe for a time is irrelevant when looking at their current status, which is that of a struggling Championship club.

I'm not saying Rangers aren't still a big club, but they are not as big a club as Celtic.

I would say to be honest in the grand scheme of things (i mean including all teams europe/) Rangers are big, Celtic are ever so slightly bigger at the moment. But as has been highlighted so OFTEN on this thread it is interchangable, as recently as 2001, Rangers were bigger imo. But consistant CL football swings it. But no matter what anyone says there bigger together than apart.
Pink Freud
QUOTE (H_B @ Oct 18 2008, 10:50) *

QUOTE (fatman76 @ Oct 18 2008, 16:56) *
Ok, the only reason I asked that question is because I wanted to gain some understanding as to why you favour one side of the old firm so heavily . I now understand why you do so much Bear baiting. wink.gif

I literally spat out a mouthful of coffee. biggrin.gif

HB, you'd better make sure that Beyemystic sees this. You have succeeded in succesfull OF baiting par excellence. I worship at your feet. B)
Disraeli
QUOTE (H_B @ Oct 20 2008, 17:01) *
Well, you can really.

Rangers are certainly Scotland's most successful club, in terms of domestic honours.That's a fact, I suppose people could interpret one factor (such as attendance, for example) as being more important - and this is viable when dealing with two clubs from separate leagues.
The Old Firm have been competing in the same domestic competitons for years, Rangers have come out on top more often than Celtic.
That, for me, is the overriding factor when comparing two clubs from the same league.

The examples are dodgy as Rangers have been consistently successful and have never suffered a drop in fortune anywhere close to the level of the two aforementioned clubs.
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (H_B @ Oct 20 2008, 12:02) *

Off it, care to prove how they are the biggest club in Scotland off the field? What have they done which makes them this?
glasnost
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 20 2008, 17:39) *
Off it, care to prove how they are the biggest club in Scotland off the field? What have they done which makes them this?

Ah 'WeAreThePeople', care to respond to my earlier post towards claims you made on page 3 of this thread (which you made again the other day) which I have repeated below along with my response which you have ignored.

QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 9 2008, 00:24) *
(outwith our run to the semi-final of the Champions League, where we were cheated by a Marseille side who had paid the ref to throw that game and the final and which were prosecuted, and the trophy going to AC Milan, without us getting to play them for it sad.gif

QUOTE (glasnost @ Oct 10 2008, 13:55) *
Marseille were not stripped of their 92/93 CL win. They were stripped of their French title that season, demoted a division and banned from defending the European Cup after it had emerged that they had fixed a league game against Valenciennes.

Where do you get it that the trophy went to AC Milan and that they were prosecuted for getting the referee to throw a group game against your lot (note: not a semi-final) and did likewise in the final?

lzreid
I'm just gonna chuck this in.

In the above, Glasnost is 100% correct.

However, what is interesting is that IIRC that season Valenciennes were relegated from Ligue 1 that season. They have never actually recovered fully.
glasnost
QUOTE (lzreid @ Oct 20 2008, 18:56) *

However, what is interesting is that IIRC that season Valenciennes were relegated from Ligue 1 that season. They have never actually recovered fully.

Yeah they were. Actually Marseille were stripped of the title they won that season (92/93) but didn't get demoted until the 94/95 season.
calum_gers
QUOTE (lzreid @ Oct 20 2008, 18:56) *

It was a game marseille would have won easily.

There is no record of marseille bribing anyone in the Champions league. However rumours surround their game against CSKA Moscow which they won 6-0.

Also if Rangers had won in the velodrome, they would have been in the final. So to me that is pretty much a semi-final. A game in which the winner is in the final, is a semi to all intensive purposes.
Beren
QUOTE (Fëanáro @ Oct 10 2008, 10:30) *
Celtic are absolutely streets ahead of Rangers in terms of finances...

When Celtic never qualified for the Champions League 3 seasons ago, their turnover was £4m less than Rangers (who had all that lovely CL money to themselves).

Fast forward one year and this time it was Rangers who didn't qualify for the Champions League, but had an otherwise decent campaign in the Uefa Cup. Their turnover was £33m less than Celtic's £75m (who now had all that lovely CL money to themselves).

Rangers most successful year in Europe for many years has seen them take in a record (for them) £64.5m compared to Celtic's £73m.

It should also be noted that for such a record figure, Rangers debt increased by marginally over £5m to £21.6m, whereas despite a drop in turnover of around £2m, Celtic's debt decreased by almost £1.5m.

This season Celtic will once again receive all the CL market pool money whilst Rangers will have no money coming in from Europe. Ok, they had a home tie against Kaunas, so that aint strictly true, but you get the jist of it.

I'd be very surprised if the Old Firm's financial results in 2009 don't show Celtic having a turnover of at least £30m more than Rangers.

Streets ahead.

QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 20 2008, 17:39) *

See above.
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (Fëanáro @ Oct 20 2008, 19:24) *
See above.

You get these figures from where?

Who is your "source" with all these figures, I'd quite like to know.
loyalbluebear
QUOTE (Fëanáro @ Oct 20 2008, 19:24) *
See above.

so chelski pull in more money from football than liverpool did but doesnt mean they are bigger off the field

imo liverpool are 2nd biggest english club behind man utd OFF the field in terms of history, club name etc

just earning more money doesnt mean you are a bigger club off the field.

and as for on the field, celtic are top by 3 points while we have a home game in hand to try and win by 3 to go top (might be wrong about goals scored)

plus we also have a home game advantage over celtic, and have also thumped them on their own turf this year so currently theres nothing splitting the old firm on field imo
Beren
QUOTE (loyalbluebear @ Oct 21 2008, 00:01) *
so chelski pull in more money from football than liverpool did but doesnt mean they are bigger off the field

imo liverpool are 2nd biggest english club behind man utd OFF the field in terms of history, club name etc

and as for on the field, celtic are top by 3 points while we have a home game in hand to try and win by 3 to go top (might be wrong about goals scored)

plus we also have a home game advantage over celtic, and have also thumped them on their own turf this year so currently theres nothing splitting the old firm on field imo

Surely the club name and history are dictated directly by what a club does on the field? I would deem 'off the field' to be factors such as merchandising, income, debt (which Rangers do manage to beat Celtic on, lol etc) and so on.

WATP: you'll find all you need to know about each clubs finances here
H_B
QUOTE (loyalbluebear @ Oct 21 2008, 00:01) *

Yes it does.
lzreid
QUOTE (calum_gers @ Oct 20 2008, 19:05) *
1. It was a game marseille would have won easily.

2. There is no record of marseille bribing anyone in the Champions league. However rumours surround their game against CSKA Moscow which they won 6-0.

Also if Rangers had won in the velodrome, they would have been in the final. So to me that is pretty much a semi-final. A game in which the winner is in the final, is a semi to all intensive purposes.

1. Why did they pay out bribes then? Marseilles should have won it comfortably but they decided to make sure of the win by chucking money at the problem. They cheated, Valenciennes got fucked.

2. There were 'rumours' about Liverpools recent 8-0 win in the CL but there was also no proof. Therefore, the result stands and we have to believe the game was fair.
Millfield Marksman
QUOTE (calum_gers @ Oct 20 2008, 19:05) *

Because you want it to have been a semi-final does not make it so. The above quote is, for all intents and purposes, bollox.
calum_gers
QUOTE (Millfield Marksman @ Oct 21 2008, 11:08) *
Because you want it to have been a semi-final does not make it so. The above quote is, for all intents and purposes, bollox.

Let me re-phrase then.

Rangers were one game away from the european cup final.
No8.
Hately was sent off against Brugges and was suspended for the game at the Velodrome...i don't doubt for a minute that Rangers would have won jad he played!! That sending off is still to this day 1 of the softest i have ever seen!! dry.gif
H_B
QUOTE (No8. @ Oct 21 2008, 13:51) *
i don't doubt for a minute that Rangers would have won jad he played!!

The Dog
QUOTE (No8. @ Oct 21 2008, 13:51) *
Hately was sent off against Brugges and was suspended for the game at the Velodrome...i don't doubt for a minute that Rangers would have won jad he played!! That sending off is still to this day 1 of the softest i have ever seen!! dry.gif

He raised his hands to the oppostion player. The big gypo deserved to walk.
glasnost
QUOTE (lzreid @ Oct 21 2008, 10:20) *
2. There were 'rumours' about Liverpools recent 8-0 win in the CL but there was also no proof. Therefore, the result stands and we have to believe the game was fair.

Indeed.

Anyway, it's a shame 'WeAreThePeople' is too cowardly to respond but then given he was the one going on about fabrications earlier it is hardly a surprise.

It's amazing the way the hun mind works.
H_B
QUOTE (glasnost @ Oct 23 2008, 09:55) *
Anyway, it's a shame 'WeAreThePeople' is too cowardly to respond

Even a simple "I was completely wrong. Oops" would suffice.