Just unlocked the pin seeker achievment on St Andrews, got an eagle with an amazing chip. Loving the game even more now, canna wait til i play you all.
StewartyMac
Oct 9 2008, 19:49
We should play it on TourPro level, so the 'power button' is disabled. I hate that feature anyway, and never use it. Enough practice at it, and you can hit drives well over 400 yards. And that's just not cricket...so to speak.
McMuffin
Oct 9 2008, 20:13
Sounds good, but will you cope without spin and putt preview?
Will definately make things more interesting and level, so if everyone's happy with that its a good shout. Could be some high scores.
StewartyMac
Oct 9 2008, 20:22
Not having the putt preview will be a pain, as the greens are fairly difficult to read otherwise. I didn't realise the spin was taken away on that setting too.
I'm not that bothered about the power button to be honest, just think it gives an unrealistic sheen to it.
No a bad idea Mr Mac, aint tried enough without the power, spin with be a bugger as well as the preview as I have been getting eagles alot today with pitches from 100 to 50 yards.
StewartyMac
Oct 10 2008, 15:25
Just got my first sub 60 round on the game (59), which was good enough to win my first tournament....and the game crashed before I got the chance to save it.
As the old saying goes, it's just as well there's bad luck, otherwise I'd have nae luck at all!!
Viva La Livi
Oct 10 2008, 18:25
are all the golfers available at the beginning?
minijc
Oct 10 2008, 19:35
Started a career after getting used to the golfers and the courses, very hard finisahed my first one +18 started well as well, tuned my pitching clubs and driver which has helped me big time, won pin seeker and 4 green trophy.
Viva La Livi
Oct 10 2008, 19:45
just started playing as Woods on TPC Sawgrass got a Eagle on the first hole and got two achievements
minijc
Oct 10 2008, 20:26
QUOTE (minijc @ Oct 10 2008, 20:35)

Started a career after getting used to the golfers and the courses, very hard finisahed my first one +18 started well as well, tuned my pitching clubs and driver which has helped me big time, won pin seeker and 4 green trophy.
Scrap that, finished 24th with +22 gutted but got over a grand for it.
McMuffin
Oct 10 2008, 22:48
So ladies. We've got 6 official registrations so far, if we can just get two more we can have a wee tournament to test the waters.
The event we're all looking forward to, however, is the Pieder Cup, with another 4 registrations on top the sporting event of the century can begin.
You know the keywords, use them.
xxxx
StewartyMac
Oct 10 2008, 22:53
QUOTE (StewartyMac @ Oct 10 2008, 16:25)

Just got my first sub 60 round on the game (59), which was good enough to win my first tournament....and the game crashed before I got the chance to save it.
As the old saying goes, it's just as well there's bad luck, otherwise I'd have nae luck at all!!
Replayed the final round and still won the tourney with a round of 63
Viva La Livi
Oct 10 2008, 23:14
stewarty up for a game?
Wilson2606
Oct 10 2008, 23:23
QUOTE (Viva La Livi @ Oct 11 2008, 00:14)

stewarty up for a game?
I'll play if you fancy it. I've still not played it online.
McMuffin
Oct 13 2008, 12:39
Bump.
Come on boys, just two more names into the fold and we're in business.
StewartyMac
Oct 13 2008, 15:06
Aye, c'mon, I'm champing at the bit to go round in 61 only to lose by around 13 strokes, ye canny beat it.
celtic_glasgow
Oct 13 2008, 17:00
QUOTE (McMuffin @ Oct 8 2008, 19:15)

With Woods, but nevertheless

Playing off the ladies tees???
McMuffin
Oct 13 2008, 18:03
I don't know which tees, I hit play now by accident and just went ahead with the round.
Stop bitching and sign up.
DB Cooper
Oct 14 2008, 11:39
QUOTE (McMuffin @ Oct 13 2008, 16:39)

Bump.
Come on boys, just two more names into the fold and we're in business.
I would but I'm on the PS3
KnightswoodBear
Oct 17 2008, 11:30
Bump.
What's the hampden with this then?
I'm sick of getting shagged at FIFA playing FIFA.
StewartyMac
Oct 17 2008, 13:41
We need two more for a tournament, and six more for a mini Ryder Cup.
minijc
Oct 17 2008, 14:35
I assume I am being counted not on live yet but shall be by next weekend.
Also just got my first hole in one on wolf Creek hole 3, great shot.
McMuffin
Oct 17 2008, 14:42
You're not being counted until you've said the magic words, and you'll need an xbox live login.
Hurry up.
Viva La Livi
Oct 17 2008, 15:59
i'll be in this gamertag - TwitchingSix
dinkle_man
Oct 17 2008, 18:35
all play to make up the numbers
gamertag: dinkleman87
McMuffin
Oct 17 2008, 20:31
Good evening gentlemen.
As there is a box of lager in the fridge that I'm currently engrossed in, I'm going to postpone the draw until sometime tomorrow and we can get cooking.
If anyone has any suggestions for rules, or preferred things I haven't thought of feel free to mention. At the moment, its best of 3 on Tour Pro Difficulty, each player chooses a course and the decider played at a common course - any objections to Carnoustie?
xxx
McMuffin
Oct 17 2008, 20:34
Tomorrows draw, numbers assigned in chronological order of registration:
McMuffin – Paffers25
KnightswoodBear – Currencyb0y
StewartyMac – MacZidane
Gaz – Gazcobain
Wilson2606 – Wilson11
Jambo Stu – Elstuartio
dinkle_man - dinkleman87
Viva La Livi - TwitchingSix
Viva La Livi
Oct 17 2008, 20:43
what about the good ol home of golf....St Andrews?
MP_MFC
Oct 17 2008, 20:55
I'd be interested in this, so will keep an eye out for when you need people for the Ryder Cup.
Tag is Malky91
StewartyMac
Oct 17 2008, 20:56
QUOTE (McMuffin @ Oct 17 2008, 21:31)

Good evening gentlemen.
As there is a box of lager in the fridge that I'm currently engrossed in, I'm going to postpone the draw until sometime tomorrow and we can get cooking.
If anyone has any suggestions for rules, or preferred things I haven't thought of feel free to mention. At the moment, its best of 3 on Tour Pro Difficulty, each player chooses a course and the decider played at a common course - any objections to Carnoustie?
xxx
Putting is miles too difficult on Tour Pro.
I suggest the normal difficulty but we have to pick a player in the game, not your own created player, as some will have stats miles higher than others.
And no-one is allowed Tiger Woods.
And we play from the back tees. Any level of pin difficulty, but we need to decide beforehand.
If we all choose a player before we start, it'll save arguments. If no-ones any objections to any of this, then I'll go Monty.
Viva La Livi
Oct 17 2008, 21:03
time for JB HOLMES, i bagsy him lol
DarkBlue62
Oct 17 2008, 23:49
Mmmmm cheese
Scotty Tunbridge
Oct 18 2008, 00:17
Is it too late to enter ?
StewartyMac
Oct 18 2008, 10:19
I love the way we suddenly get loads of people wanting to play after waiting ages to get the eight we needed.
The more the merrier.
McMuffin, if you can trail through the thread and see how many we've got now, maybe we could have a preliminary round before the last 8.
Jambo Stu
Oct 18 2008, 12:24
Ive only played one full round of this so I need a good player!
McMuffin
Oct 18 2008, 13:46
Everyone who wants in, weigh in with your gamertag. I've included both Scotty Tunbridge and MP_MFC which makes 10. I'll work out a preliminary round and byes if need be, so everyone sign up and we can get started tomorrow night.
REGISTRATION ENDS AT NOON SUNDAY.Also, if everyone (bar those who've done so) can give us your choice of golfer. No-one can be Woods, Rose, Poulter, Montgomerie or JB Holmes as they've gone and we're not including Woods, nor any of the special characters (but they're all shite anyway).
Finally, let us know your choice of golf course for the decider in all games which will remain common throughout the tournament. So far we've got one vote for Carnoustie and one for The Old Course. Most votes wins.
Back tees, medium pin placement, normal difficulty, everything else like wind and green speed and rough is left as it is.
Any objections? No? Good.
McMuffin
Oct 18 2008, 14:12
Something like this, using a randomiser on the net the first 6 numbers come out are straight into the quarters.
Of course this changes if more folk sign up. I'd like you to. Honest.
MP_MFC
Oct 18 2008, 14:19
I'll take Villegas, and a decider, I'd go for St Andrews.
QUOTE (McMuffin @ Oct 18 2008, 15:12)

Something like this, using a randomiser on the net the first 6 numbers come out are straight into the quarters.
Of course this changes if more folk sign up. I'd like you to. Honest.
You might want to block out your credit card number in the top right
StewartyMac
Oct 18 2008, 16:51
I'll vote Carnoustie for the decider, it's a bit more challenging than St Andrews.
Jambo Stu
Oct 18 2008, 17:24
Ill go Vijay
No preference for any decider.
Dinkleman with go Adam Scott.
No preference for any decider either.
McMuffin
Oct 19 2008, 01:53
QUOTE (Gaz @ Oct 18 2008, 17:26)

You might want to block out your credit card number in the top right

My cfredit card is just out of shot thank you mr smart arse.
Stillneed final course and player from KnightswoodBear, Wilson2606 and Scotty Tunbridge and also course from mr smart arse.
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.