Full Version: Boxing
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > All Other Sports
Deco
As well as going to the gym 3/4 times per week to work on upper-body and also playing football a few times a week - I am planning on going to my local amateur boxing club on a Thursday and Sunday.

Just curious to find out if anyone has participated in boxing as a sport and enjoyed it? Furthermore, have you boxed at a good level?

I reckon I am more than capable of handling the fitness part of the sport, and my strength is also good due to the fact I am always working on my shoulders, arms etc. Main reason I am going is to do a bit of sparring in the ring - I reckon it will be good fun and will also make me sharper for the football.

Andy.C
I went to Kingdom Boxing Club in Kirkcaldy when I was younger and quite enjoyed it until the Randolph Park pikeys started going. These guys were abnormally strong, hard and mental into the bargain probably through ripping piping off walls with their bare hands and stuff.
Get stuck in though and strive to be better than the pikeys and you'll do no' bad.
Deco
QUOTE (Andy.C @ Oct 7 2008, 14:28) *
I went to Kingdom Boxing Club in Kirkcaldy when I was younger and quite enjoyed it until the Randolph Park pikeys started going. These guys were abnormally strong, hard and mental into the bargain probably through ripping piping off walls with their bare hands and stuff.
Get stuck in though and strive to be better than the pikeys and you'll do no' bad.

I'm not caring what kind of folk attend, to be honest. With it being based in Greenock I realise there is always likely to be a few hard lads in amongst it but that what it's all about. I relish the challenge.

I throw a mean right dig. rolleyes.gif
lyt
dont expect to just turn up and get into the ring for sparring.you will have a lot of ground work to go through first.(no matter how good you think you are)if the club is any good you will be doing a lot of skipping etc.(no just for girls you know)i went into the ring after a few months thinking i was the dogs bollocks and got the shit knocked oot me by a 14 year old. huh.gif
that was about ten years ago tho.still going to tournaments yet. enjoy.
Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth
QUOTE (Deco @ Oct 7 2008, 13:17) *
As well as going to the gym 3/4 times per week to work on upper-body and also playing football a few times a week - I am planning on going to my local amateur boxing club on a Thursday and Sunday.

Just curious to find out if anyone has participated in boxing as a sport and enjoyed it? Furthermore, have you boxed at a good level?

I reckon I am more than capable of handling the fitness part of the sport, and my strength is also good due to the fact I am always working on my shoulders, arms etc. Main reason I am going is to do a bit of sparring in the ring - I reckon it will be good fun and will also make me sharper for the football.

I had a few fights when I was younger. I only go to the club occasionally for the training now because I cant devote as much time.

Boxing training is very hard going. I have seen guys who appear physically fit and obviously spend time at the gym breathing out their arses after a tough session hitting the bags. It all comes with experience in that respect. A couple of days a week in there will definetely get you fitter. If you were to take competitive boxing seriously though then you would probably have to push football to the side.

And they probably wont let you spar for at least a couple of months - until you have a solid grasp of the basics and technique. Shadow Boxing and Skipping aplenty at first.
MonTheRovers!!
I did a bit of sparring just before i broke my wrist and never got back into it after i recovered. It's a shame 'cause I really enjoyed it. Took a couple of shiners, mind you.
clyde til we die
I used to box many many many many years ago, great way of keeping fit, wish i had kept it up but other things just got in the way of it, as has been said Deco it will be a while before they even let you near the ring, so be prepared to put in a lot of hard work, but it is very enjoyable.
Gaz
Something I've always been keen to take up. I do kickboxing through Uni but it's more a fitness class with maybe about 75% fitness and technique and 25% sparring.

Like Andy the worry that there will be people there who are more interested in causing pain and fighting rather than the sport and fitness side of things puts me off slightly.
Trotter
Never actually had a boxing fight but done the trainin wi ma fitba team for 3 years. Great but tough training. It made me sharper on the pitch as well as some upper body strength. Also gave me some discipline that i badly needed (always moanin) and also a bit more confidence to do things.

Would definately recommend Boxing to any footballer or anyone.