BRAVELANEY
Oct 7 2008, 07:26
Heard on the news and also read on bbc this morning that Miller is almost def out after suffering a hamstring injury and it is likely mccormack will get a call up.
Think thats a big dent for the scots, bearing in mind his performances and work rate for us and that he is on form this season.....
who will start up top now?....
Scotland4euros
Oct 7 2008, 08:33
just been confirmed by SSN.
Would like to see Boyd get his chance.
---------------Gordon--------------
Broadfoot--Caldwell--Weir--Naysmith
-Brown--fletcher--Robson--Maloney-
---------McFadden--Boyd-----------
Not sure if he might throw Maloney upfront and put hartley into the centre of midfield, move robson to the left and Boyd to the bench.
Scotland4euros
Oct 7 2008, 08:40
Just to add:
With Thomson, commons, miller all now confirmed by Sky sports news of being out l would like to see McCormack, Riordan and Stewart all get a call up.
Been desperate for riordan to leave celtic for the last couple of seasons as l think he would be great for scotland and obviously was never going to get a look in as not playing first team football.
Put him in squad for this game to get the routine back. Play him against the argies in november.
a_n_d_o
Oct 7 2008, 09:14
QUOTE (Scotland4euros @ Oct 7 2008, 09:33)

Not sure if he might throw Maloney upfront and put hartley into the centre of midfield, move robson to the left and Boyd to the bench.
hartley will play. guessing maloney or robson will be dropped, but who knows as boyd has not been considered often for starting. at least if boyd plays there will be somebody in the box...
IXI THE ONE IXI
Oct 7 2008, 09:22
Miller is average anyway, can be replaced easily. Stick Iwelumo up front, and tell McFadden to try and pass the ball, the twat thinks he is Ronaldo sometimes.
the jambo-rocker
Oct 7 2008, 09:35
i ll not be shedding any tears about miller being out. hopefully this will open up a chance for iwelumo a shot who has proved to be a proven goalscorer in the championship.
A rangers player pulls out of the squad what a suprise!
Jim Pansy
Oct 7 2008, 09:50
I'd imagine McFadden will play through the middle, with Maloney wide left, and Morrison wide right. I'd go with Boyd personally.
........Gordon
Klubfoot Weir Caldwell Naysmith
...........Brown.............
Fletcher.........Robson
Morrison..................Maloney
..............McFadden.......
Gin and Juice
Oct 7 2008, 11:41
I would have Boyd and Faddy up front.
Here we go, rangers players dropping like flies before a Scotland game, shockerooni.
Really should put Boyd in, but he needs a partner up there, maybe just dropping off and Faddy is the most obvious person for that.
BigBadSaint
Oct 7 2008, 12:59
Did he tweak his hamstring in the rush to get off Love St on Sunday 'cause he appeared to play the full 90 minutes + 4 minutes of the 3 minutes added on time.
BRAVELANEY
Oct 7 2008, 13:06
Kenny Miller will be missed purely becuase he stretches the defences with his energy like no other foward we have and is capable of giving centre halfs a torrid time, the norwegians fear him after the last time we played norway and he scored the two goals, they will be delighted he is out...
Logic would state Boyd will step up to partner mcfadden and if he gets the chance hopefully he can take it.
It wouldnt surprise me if the big wolves hit man gets the nod though, although he hasnt be playing of late boyd has hardly been a starter in recent weeks...
Michael W
Oct 7 2008, 13:34
Don't see this as much cause for concern really, not like he's been banging them in is it? I'd have personally started Boyd in his place anyway.
I'd go:
Gordon
Broadfoot/Alexander
Naysmith/Alexander
Weir
Caldwell
Morrison
Fletcher
Brown
Maloney
Boyd
McFadden
We don't really have many options. The only player I've ommited that I feel may deserve a start is Barry Robson. Paul Hartley is shite. I really hope he is kept away from the starting lineup. Full back is a problem area. Not overjoyed with our options there.
central staggie
Oct 7 2008, 15:02
QUOTE (Jim Pansy @ Oct 7 2008, 10:50)

........Gordon
Fletcher.........Robson

I agree!
Perhaps the only difference, I think Burley will play Hartley. Probably at the expense of Barry Robson and play him in that holding midfield role. I'd personally like to see us play 4-4-2 with Boyd and McFadden up front, but I wouldn't be too bothered if it was a 4-3-3/4-5-1 formation.
I'm actually pretty happy that Miller has withdrawn from the squad...ok, not happy, but I'm not over concerned about it. With Miller out it gives Burley the chance to play Boyd with Fletcher or Maloney and give Mcfadden the 'free' role off the front 2. That, in my opinion, is where we get the most out of McFadden, when he gets to roam about, picking up loose balls in and around the opposition half.
Fuctifano
Oct 7 2008, 17:41
I agree with Jim Pansy's team but I suspect Burley will play 4-4-2 with Boyd and McFadden up front.
Given that McFadden has been very average in this campaign so far, and his form for Birmingham is pish, losing Miller is a pretty sore one.
Don't count on Rangers' Boyd, there's a good chance he'll pull out with a pinky strain or something.
Michael W
Oct 7 2008, 17:51
QUOTE (banana @ Oct 7 2008, 18:49)

Given that McFadden has been very average in this campaign so far, and his form for Birmingham is pish, losing Miller is a pretty sore one.
Don't count on Rangers' Boyd, there's a good chance he'll pull out with a pinky strain or something.
Miller has hardly set the heather alight for club or country this campaign so far either.
QUOTE (Scotland4euros @ Oct 7 2008, 09:40)

With Thomson, commons, miller all now confirmed by Sky sports news of being out l would like to see McCormack, Riordan and Stewart all get a call up.
Is that the same Stewart that was pished on two weeks ago by Scott Robertson and almost got himself sent off, again? I'm not suggesting Robertson for Scotland, but Stewart for Scotland.... come come.
QUOTE (Michael W @ Oct 7 2008, 18:51)

Miller has hardly set the heather alight for club or country this campaign so far either.
At least he's in a bit of form, McFadden, who the TA can't see past, has been borderline-pish recently. Don't get me wrong, I hope he scores a hat-trick on Saturday and sets up 2 more, but I can't see it.
Michael W
Oct 7 2008, 17:59
QUOTE (banana @ Oct 7 2008, 18:54)

At least he's in a bit of form, McFadden, who the TA can't see past, has been borderline-pish recently. Don't get me wrong, I hope he scores a hat-trick on Saturday and sets up 2 more, but I can't see it.
Depends what you class as form really. It's fair to say that neither has done much this season. Six and half a dozen I reckon.
craigkillie
Oct 7 2008, 18:19
QUOTE (Jim Pansy @ Oct 7 2008, 10:50)

I'd imagine McFadden will play through the middle, with Maloney wide left, and Morrison wide right. I'd go with Boyd personally.
........Gordon
Fletcher.........Robson
That's the team I'd pick too.
I would have had Miller instead of Maloney, but I'm not sure the quality is affected too much by bringing Maloney in. Somebody needs to tell him to learn another trick though.
Miller didn't start the Iceland game anyway, so I don't think it was a guarantee he'd have started this one.
QUOTE (Scotland4euros @ Oct 7 2008, 09:33)

That's the team I'd go with but maybe Iwelumo not Boyd as he adds a bit of height and physicality which will be needed because Norway are a big team.
Millartime
Oct 8 2008, 11:30
I'd go with.
Gordan
RB.Broadfoot
LB.Naysmith
CB.Weir
CB.Caldwell
RM.Maloney
LM.McFadden
CM.Robson
CM.Fleatcher
ST.Iwelumo
ST.Boyd
KingBeastie
Oct 8 2008, 12:48
------------------Gordon-----------------
Klubfoot - Caldwell - Wier - Alexander
-------------------Hartley----------------
---Brown ---- Fletcher ----- Robson---
----------------------McFadden
-----------Iwelumo----------------------
palmy_cammy
Oct 8 2008, 14:22
Can we expect Miller to start Rangers' next game?
BRAVELANEY
Oct 8 2008, 15:14
QUOTE (palmy_cammy @ Oct 8 2008, 15:22)

Can we expect Miller to start Rangers' next game?
I think comments like that are a bit harsh, he's never turned his back on his country on purpose and seems genuinley gutted he cant play
Larbert_Par
Oct 9 2008, 08:28
Miller is always desperate to play. You've never seen him pull out of friendly games, even when we were getting pumped under Vogts.
Blow he's out, expect it to be Boyd and McFadden.
forres grump
Oct 9 2008, 13:18
QUOTE (KingBeastie @ Oct 8 2008, 13:48)

------------------Gordon-----------------
Klubfoot - Caldwell - Wier - Alexander
-------------------Hartley----------------
---Brown ---- Fletcher ----- Robson---
----------------------McFadden
-----------Iwelumo----------------------
Pretty close too the mark but boyd will start ! Too big a game for Iwelumo to get the nod, He will come on though if things are a bit dicey..............
2-1 Scotland wi pish running doon oor legs towards the end
Scotty Tunbridge
Oct 10 2008, 23:54
Gordon
Broadfoot

(We need Hutton back)
Naysmith
Weir
Caldwell
Maloney
Robson
Fletcher
Morrison
Faddy
Iwelumo
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.