Full Version: Bennett Not Taking Over Dundee!
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3
dee4life
QUOTE (VitalDees @ Oct 7 2008, 14:06) *
Someone from our playing staff that's on a fair wage won't be on it for long anyway. biggrin.gif Bennett isn't taken over Dundee but he will be investing some money, I was told 300k maybe it won't be as much as that but relying on investment to keep the club alive is a joke and it was only last week I said someone put in money to keep the club ticking over but that someone doesn't want the publicity - it's not the first time he's invested and he said no more, now what do we do? Stop relying on investment for a start.

You change your tune like the weather,1st bennett wont be taking over then it was on dundee mad he was so you change your mind yesterday when you posted and said there would be a press conference early next week,now you are quoting something different.I dont believe a word you say.I offered to have a private discussion about this as I know people in the know and you refused and continue to post utter garbage.I wont reply to you again as you will have changed your opinion tomorrow.
Deesign For Life
why is a falkirk fan stressing himself out over his own speculation at dens? dry.gif
Fife Saint
Has to be said it was hardly a surprise. Bennett said he will be interested in being involved with the club at some level and he is a the kind of guy they need behind the scenes.
VitalDees
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Oct 7 2008, 17:38) *
All it means is the fans will have to make Rae walk.

No. Rae will be 'punted' before the Morton game at the latest. Bennett is not taking over as we all know but he is still involved and it's a little more that offering his expertise. Although, he has purchased no shares he still has a 'say' for some odd reason oh and we have money to sign a player or maybe two (probably after Rae disappears) don't ask where it came from - the tooth fairy must have left it.

As for changing my story, I now know what source has the more accurate information.

EDIT: Spot on, Fife Saint.
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (VitalDees @ Oct 7 2008, 18:22) *
No. Rae will be 'punted' before the Morton game at the latest. Bennett is taking over as we all know but he is still involved and it's a little more that offering his expertise. Although, he has purchased no shares he still has a 'say' for some odd reason oh and we have money to sign a player or maybe two (probably after Rae disappears) don't ask where it came from - the tooth fairy must have left it.

As for changing my story, I now know what source has the more accurate information.

What's this pish your spouting now.
VitalDees
QUOTE (The ghost of Jim Morton @ Oct 7 2008, 19:17) *
What's this pish your spouting now.

My apologies The ghost of Jim Morton, it should have read, "Bennett is not taking over as we all know" I shall edit that now. smile.gif
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (VitalDees @ Oct 7 2008, 19:26) *
My apologies The ghost of Jim Morton, it should have read, "Bennett is not taking over as we all know" I shall edit that now. smile.gif

That's what I thought you meant laugh.gif
Juan Sara
QUOTE (VitalDees @ Oct 7 2008, 18:22) *
No. Rae will be 'punted' before the Morton game at the latest. Bennett is not taking over as we all know but he is still involved and it's a little more that offering his expertise. Although, he has purchased no shares he still has a 'say' for some odd reason oh and we have money to sign a player or maybe two (probably after Rae disappears) don't ask where it came from - the tooth fairy must have left it.

Source?
kristov
QUOTE (H_B @ Oct 7 2008, 13:12) *
So was I right or wrong pre season?

Were the Dundee fans totally and utterly incorrect when they denied that their board was taking a financial gamble to secure an unlikely promotion and that everything was going to be fine no matter what?

What has changed in this master plan?

Which fan(s) said we weren't taking a gamble? Everyone was well aware of the situation and was happy for another "push" to be attempted. If we fail to make up the short fall at the season's end come back to us.

QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Oct 7 2008, 18:03) *
How can the teams performances get any worse? We don't score and have barely made any chances in the past weeks.

Some fans wanted duffy sacked no questions asked and we ended up with kerno. Sacking Rae would be a big mistake.
Juan Sara
QUOTE (kristov @ Oct 7 2008, 21:06) *
Sacking Rae would be a big mistake.

GTF laugh.gif
kristov
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Oct 7 2008, 21:13) *
GTF laugh.gif

Ah, I stand corrected. That is a valid arguement. Tell me, which international class manager is waiting in the wings just dying for Rae to be given his jotters?
Juan Sara
QUOTE (kristov @ Oct 7 2008, 21:18) *
Ah, I stand corrected. That is a valid arguement. Tell me, which international class manager is waiting in the wings just dying for Rae to be given his jotters?

Couldn't tell you but I'd rather have a 2nd class manager than Rae.
zupa
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Oct 7 2008, 21:19) *
Couldn't tell you but I'd rather have a 2nd class manager than Rae.

But Irons is at Morton.
H_B
Which fan(s) said we weren't taking a gamble? Everyone was well aware of the situation and was happy for another "push" to be attempted. If we fail to make up the short fall at the season's end come back to us.

Cough, splutter. You are having a giraffe!

Some of the Dundee fans (not all as can be seen from this thread) rivalled Gretna fans in their ostrichness and complete unwillingness to accept reality.

When MacKinnon came out with his statements pre season that set alarm bells off for many of us who had seen this sort of thing before. No need to worry we were told - the money for this season's "push" had already been accounted for!!!!

There is no danger Dundee are winning the league. This is now obvious to those in charge hence the begging to all and sundry to stump up some "investment" cash.

It's simple - devise a budget in line with the income! What a novel approach. One perhaps the Dundee hierarchy will at some point adopt, if it isn't too late by then!

H_B
Here's a quote or two for you http://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/index.ph...86458&st=25 :-

"If we don't get a good cup run the MacDonald fee will cover the deficit. So whats the problem?"

"We have no overdraft and we have people willing to invest like last year if we need to cover the costs. This year we don't need investment as McDonald's fee has covered it. Can't really see the problem, we have money coming in to cover the money going out. "

"We're pushing the boat out a bit last year and this year but nothing that will get us into serious trouble. The budget has been set accordenly and had already been covered by the sale of McDonald. "

and my particular favourite :-

"Does you honestly think Dundee don't have a plan and we're just guessing what will happen every year?" laugh.gif
Deesign For Life
QUOTE (H_B @ Oct 8 2008, 15:11) *
Here's a quote or two for you http://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/index.ph...86458&st=25 :-

"If we don't get a good cup run the MacDonald fee will cover the deficit. So whats the problem?"

"We have no overdraft and we have people willing to invest like last year if we need to cover the costs. This year we don't need investment as McDonald's fee has covered it. Can't really see the problem, we have money coming in to cover the money going out. "

"We're pushing the boat out a bit last year and this year but nothing that will get us into serious trouble. The budget has been set accordenly and had already been covered by the sale of McDonald. "

"Does you honestly think Dundee don't have a plan and we're just guessing what will happen every year?" laugh.gif

why do you care? let the dundee board deal with dundee and stop your stupid shit stirring.
kristov
QUOTE (H_B @ Oct 8 2008, 15:11) *

Again, no-one was really doubting what the board is doing. We did the same last season. And how did you enlighten us to our predicament? Was it along the lines of "your doomed", "going bust" etc, etc, thereby immediately putting the Dundee fans on the defensive? It wouldn't surprise me.

The situation we're in at the moment means we're damned if we do and damned if we don't. What you're effectively saying is that you were right in your statement that Dundee FC is in, erm, a financial pickle. Are you really that desperate for affirmation?

See you next season.
Deesign For Life
QUOTE (H_B @ Oct 8 2008, 15:07) *
Cough, splutter. You are having a giraffe!

Some of the Dundee fans (not all as can be seen from this thread) rivalled Gretna fans in their ostrichness and complete unwillingness to accept reality.

When MacKinnon came out with his statements pre season that set alarm bells off for many of us who had seen this sort of thing before. No need to worry we were told - the money for this season's "push" had already been accounted for!!!!

There is no danger Dundee are winning the league. This is now obvious to those in charge hence the begging to all and sundry to stump up some "investment" cash.

It's simple - devise a budget in line with the income! What a novel approach. One perhaps the Dundee hierarchy will at some point adopt, if it isn't too late by then!

f**k off you stupid idiot!! dundee have regular meetings to show how money is being used and where money has come from, do falkirk? get off your crazy high horse, what is happening at dens happens at every ground unless you have a sheikh as your owner. don't tell me this pish flakirk is making money and you have a money making scheme it just isn't happening in scotland! you sold your ground, well done where will YOUR money come from next? not as if the punters are steaming in!!
H_B
QUOTE (kristov @ Oct 8 2008, 19:01) *
Again, no-one was really doubting what the board is doing. We did the same last season. And how did you enlighten us to our predicament? Was it along the lines of "your doomed", "going bust" etc, etc, thereby immediately putting the Dundee fans on the defensive? It wouldn't surprise me.

Umm, no. Actually I tipped you for the title, not realising that you made the mistake of speculating too much money on a shite squad of players that couldn't outperform Hamilton.

The situation we're in at the moment means we're damned if we do and damned if we don't.

Umm, in what way? huh.gif

Are you suggesting if you have outgoings that match income you are damned in some way? It's really not that difficult!

What you're effectively saying is that you were right in your statement that Dundee FC is in, erm, a financial pickle.

That is correct, and an obvious statement. What makes it amusing is the hilarious Comical Ali style denials from the Dundee fans pre season.

I am bemused as to exactly how a club who we are told have no debt and cannot incur more debt have a huge black hole in their finances again. It is to the credit of at least one of your fans earlier in the thread that they acknowledge this and are furious about it.

See you next season.

I don't think Dundee will be anywhere near the SPL I'm afraid. Possibly ever again.
H_B
QUOTE (Deesign For Life @ Oct 9 2008, 01:47) *
f**k off you stupid idiot!! dundee have regular meetings to show how money is being used and where money has come from, do falkirk?

Yes genius. They are called AGMs! Falkirk, as I'm sure you know, are in the black to the tune of almost 1 million pounds as at the last set of accounts.

get off your crazy high horse, what is happening at dens happens at every ground unless you have a sheikh as your owner.

Pishflaps. Several SPL clubs made a profit last season.

don't tell me this pish flakirk is making money

Whether I tell you it or not, it is a fact. Falkirk have made a 6 figure profit in our last two seasons.

you sold your ground, well done where will YOUR money come from next?

See here is the Dundee fans problem ultimately in a nutshell. Falkirk have an icome every year, as most households do. We also have outgoings. Now, I'm going to make this simple :-

If the money you bring in exceeds the money you put out, you make a profit.

Therefore, if your wage bill and repayments (that's money going OUT) are less than (and here is the cunning bit) the money coming IN (do you see where this is going?) good things happen.

When this isn't the case, baad things happen!
HulltoonPehShop
Falkirk make a profit with half a stadium and 5000 crowds, amazing. Should Dundee knock half of Dens down ? cool.gif
The Arch
QUOTE (HulltoonPehShop @ Oct 9 2008, 11:53) *
Falkirk make a profit with half a stadium and 5000 crowds, amazing. Should Dundee knock half of Dens down ? cool.gif

You never fill it, so you might as well. Hopefully you're in it, when it's getting knocked down.

and yes, this could be said for any team in the division.
HulltoonPehShop
QUOTE (The Arch @ Oct 9 2008, 12:03) *
You never fill it, so you might as well. Hopefully you're in it, when it's getting knocked down.

and yes, this could be said for any team in the division.
Apart from the Old Firm no one in Scotland fills their ground. cool.gif
The Arch
QUOTE (HulltoonPehShop @ Oct 9 2008, 13:02) *
Apart from the Old Firm no one in Scotland fills their ground. cool.gif

What's your point? I just said that nobody in this division fills out their ground.
HulltoonPehShop
QUOTE (The Arch @ Oct 9 2008, 13:14) *
What's your point? I just said that nobody in this division fills out their ground.
This division, division two, division three, and SPL except Old Firm. What does this say about Scottish football ?
Juan Sara

Those two monstrosities in your avatar should be knocked down.
Muggy
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Oct 9 2008, 17:13) *
Those two monstrosities in your avatar should be knocked down.

I used to live in one of those. ph34r.gif
H_B
Falkirk make a profit with half a stadium and 5000 crowds, amazing.

It's not that amazing. It just involves a sensible financial plan, something that has eluded successive Dundee boards for years.

Should Dundee knock half of Dens down ? cool.gif

I think bulldozing the lot of it and moving in with Dundee Utd would be a decent move. Dens is a shithole of a stadium.
Deesign For Life
QUOTE (H_B @ Oct 9 2008, 11:12) *
Yes genius. They are called AGMs! Falkirk, as I'm sure you know, are in the black to the tune of almost 1 million pounds as at the last set of accounts.

agms are agms genius! dundee have to have more regular meetings with bank to show finances are sound.

Pishflaps. Several SPL clubs made a profit last season.

pishflaps-you and st mirren made profits after selling your grounds

Whether I tell you it or not, it is a fact. Falkirk have made a 6 figure profit in our last two seasons.

from sale of your ground!

See here is the Dundee fans problem ultimately in a nutshell. Falkirk have an icome every year, as most households do. We also have outgoings. Now, I'm going to make this simple :-

If the money you bring in exceeds the money you put out, you make a profit.

Therefore, if your wage bill and repayments (that's money going OUT) are less than (and here is the cunning bit) the money coming IN (do you see where this is going?) good things happen.

When this isn't the case, baad things happen!-really? is this why the dees are trying to balance books and seek investment like EVERY OTHER FUCKING CLUB YOU MORON.

next time please come with some facts or actual knowledge of dundee's financial status and then we can talk, in the mean time i'd lay off the coke and crisps for tea if i were you.
H_B
QUOTE (Deesign For Life @ Oct 9 2008, 18:17) *
next time please come with some facts or actual knowledge of dundee's financial status and then we can talk,

Dear oh dear. Are you sure you haven't just moved from supporting Gretna to Dundee?

When you start the season with a projected 6 figure loss, as Dundee have, that is a disasterous state of affairs, only recoverable by winning the league, something you aren't going to do.

Ask yourself, is the squad of players you have at the moment a collection of talent sufficient to justify the gamble? In other words, if this lot are beyond your means, what are you going to end up with next season when the gamble has failed?
H_B
One of your main problems, and one I have seen on your own fans website, is the delusional view expressed that Dundee are an SPL club, in the First division.

Whilst this is the mentality (it's one familiar to the likes of St Johnstone, St Mirren and Falkirk fans also) you are going nowhere.
Fife Saint
QUOTE (H_B @ Oct 9 2008, 18:39) *
One of your main problems, and one I have seen on your own fans website, is the delusional view expressed that Dundee are an SPL club, in the First division.

Whilst this is the mentality (it's one familiar to the likes of St Johnstone, St Mirren and Falkirk fans also) you are going nowhere.

No no, i accept we are 100% diddy league material.
kristov
QUOTE (H_B @ Oct 9 2008, 18:39) *

Yes but you see, it's that fan expectation and huge debt (accrued by previous boards, no the current one) that needs serviced that makes any long term plan quite possibly unworkable, McKinnon has said as much. Given that 250k of the shortfall has already been accounted for then I feel it was a reasonable gamble to take.

Other than being able to change Dundee fans' expectations and therefore keep attendances up at 4k plus for the long term the board really don't have much options.

However, given that neither me nor you know jack shit about the true financial situation (although the current BOD are more transparent thn previous ones) then neither of us can relly debate this issue with much authority. What I can say is, is that this shortfall business is not an issue as far as i'm concerned.

Oh, and I agree we won't be going up this season, but we'll still see you next season. tongue.gif
Deesign For Life
QUOTE (kristov @ Oct 9 2008, 20:14) *
Yes but you see, it's that fan expectation and huge debt (accrued by previous boards, no the current one) that needs serviced that makes any long term plan quite possibly unworkable, McKinnon has said as much. Given that 250k of the shortfall has already been accounted for then I feel it was a reasonable gamble to take.

Other than being able to change Dundee fans' expectations and therefore keep attendances up at 4k plus for the long term the board really don't have much options.

However, given that neither me nor you know jack shit about the true financial situation (although the current BOD are more transparent thn previous ones) then neither of us can relly debate this issue with much authority. What I can say is, is that this shortfall business is not an issue as far as i'm concerned.

Oh, and I agree we won't be going up this season, but we'll still see you next season. tongue.gif

no you're wrong, HB knows everything about our books!!

btw hb the only shortfall we have to deal with is the 300,000 overdraft facility which every other club (along with their acrued debt) are allowed to fall back on!
we have balanced this through investment, sale of big kev and cis cup v celtic and scots cup run. surely a dees fan is going to know more about their own club than one stinky shit stirring individual on a fan's forum website no? dry.gif
please as i have said to you before worry about yourself and let us worry about us!!
HardingsHamstring
Fucking hell. Too many Dundee fans are kicking and screaming in denial like a bunch of weans that don't want to go for a bath. HB, while good at winding you up seems to be very accurate in his summaries, whereas the stock reply of "NAW IT ISNY, YOUR JUST OBSESSED!!" is not quite as convincing.

It looks like Dundee are fucked and one or two (or 17) on here should perhaps look a few realities, none of which are good for Dundee FC in the near future, by the sounds of things.
H_B
QUOTE (kristov @ Oct 9 2008, 20:14) *
Given that 250k of the shortfall has already been accounted for then I feel it was a reasonable gamble to take.

Has it though? That seems to be the question, doesn't it. Are Dundee effectively 250K up already, with this season's losses to be accounted for, or are you sitting at £0, with this season's losses still to come.

It would seem by the desire for further investment this season, that there are losses piling up from this campaign, which require an injection of capital to meet.

But that is exactly the job of the board. Ultimately they have to set a budget based on a very low break even point for Dundee. That may be 2,000 a week.

Clubs like Dundee and Falkirk's crowds will never drop below a certain number because there are enough die hard fans that would go if you were playing in the East of Scotland league.

In time your fans will forget about the SPL and realise it will be a bonus to get out of Division One, not an entitlement. Even with a more frugal budget, with the right management team Dundee can still compete at the top end of the league, and will eventually go up. Why take 6 figure losses and still fail?
kristov
QUOTE (H_B @ Oct 10 2008, 11:12) *
Has it though? That seems to be the question, doesn't it. Are Dundee effectively 250K up already, with this season's losses to be accounted for, or are you sitting at £0, with this season's losses still to come.

It would seem by the desire for further investment this season, that there are losses piling up from this campaign, which require an injection of capital to meet.

All conjecture and supposition. McKinnon has already publicly said what he's done with the Kev Mac money.
Also, it is the sole purpose of the current BOD to seek investment so they can gtf out and leave. Of course, any investment to cover any shortfall would be welcome.

But that is exactly the job of the board. Ultimately they have to set a budget based on a very low break even point for Dundee. That may be 2,000 a week.

Clubs like Dundee and Falkirk's crowds will never drop below a certain number because there are enough die hard fans that would go if you were playing in the East of Scotland league.

In time your fans will forget about the SPL and realise it will be a bonus to get out of Division One, not an entitlement. Even with a more frugal budget, with the right management team Dundee can still compete at the top end of the league, and will eventually go up. Why take 6 figure losses and still fail?

Yet you say you tipped us for promotion pre-season? Didn't seem such silly plan then. Hindsight's a wonderful thing.
kristov
QUOTE (HardingsHamstring @ Oct 10 2008, 09:12) *
It looks like Dundee are fucked and one or two (or 17) on here should perhaps look a few realities, none of which are good for Dundee FC in the near future, by the sounds of things.

At which point did the near future look good for DFC? Admin? Relegation? This whole "I told you it was folly to make a title push again" while at the same time admitting thinking DFC look good for promotion pre season is just plain hypocrisy. The whole "ooh, doesn't look good for you guys" that follows is just plain stating the bloody obvious.
HardingsHamstring
QUOTE (kristov @ Oct 11 2008, 00:28) *
At which point did the near future look good for DFC? Admin? Relegation? This whole "I told you it was folly to make a title push again" while at the same time admitting thinking DFC look good for promotion pre season is just plain hypocrisy. The whole "ooh, doesn't look good for you guys" that follows is just plain stating the bloody obvious.

I never tipped Dundee for promotion. I never commented on a 'folly title push'.

I was, however, commenting that several Dundee fans seem to ignoring the bloody obvious.
H_B
QUOTE (kristov @ Oct 11 2008, 00:16) *
Yet you say you tipped us for promotion pre-season?

Err, last season yes. I thought Dundee would be nowhere near promotion this season.

And the two aren't related. If St Johnstone spent £4.5 million on players in the summer I would have tipped them for promotion as well. Wouldn't mean it was a good idea to spend £4.5 million on players!
Dr Koop
So, when's Chis off to Dens Park? rolleyes.gif
Exuberant
QUOTE (alberto @ Oct 16 2008, 16:45) *

*cough* thread already discussing this *cough*

http://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=93704
alberto
QUOTE (Exuberant @ Oct 16 2008, 16:49) *
*cough* thread already discussing this *cough*

http://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=93704

cough cough i thought a few who had a good old laugh on this thread might want to back track a little cough cough
BigAl024
QUOTE (Fife Saint @ Oct 9 2008, 19:06) *
No no, i accept we are 100% diddy league material.

I concur.
Fife Saint
QUOTE (alberto @ Oct 16 2008, 18:47) *
cough cough i thought a few who had a good old laugh on this thread might want to back track a little cough cough

I don't think depending on a local businessman to plug 2/3 of any projected loss in ONE season is anything to be proud about.

Cough, cough.
Exuberant
QUOTE (alberto @ Oct 16 2008, 18:47) *

but the thread is right. Bennett is not taking over Dundee.

you fucking clown.
alberto
QUOTE (Exuberant @ Oct 16 2008, 20:51) *
but the thread is right. Bennett is not taking over Dundee.

you fucking clown.

jesus , your obviously no getting any at the moment are you .... mr touchy laugh.gif
Exuberant
QUOTE (alberto @ Oct 16 2008, 21:28) *
jesus , your obviously no getting any at the moment are you .... mr touchy laugh.gif

rather not get it than get it from my sister.

a Dundee fan on this very site did actually own up to wanting to pump his imaginary sister. fact.
Muggy
QUOTE (Exuberant @ Oct 16 2008, 22:04) *
rather not get it than get it from my sister.

a Dundee fan on this very site did actually own up to wanting to pump his imaginary sister. fact.

I can verify that.