Full Version: No Scoop On The Trains
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > Tartan Army Ramblings
glasnost
No doubt emprty threats. The tartan army get away with murder on matchdays. It's about time they were treated as other football fans are.
FFCinthearea
You have a serious problem if you can't sit on a train for a short time without a drink.
Burnie_man
QUOTE (glasnost @ Oct 6 2008, 20:53) *
No doubt emprty threats. The tartan army get away with murder on matchdays. It's about time they were treated as other football fans are.

rolleyes.gif

Having witnessed OF fans at Cup Semi's/Final's, I would be gobsmacked if it is humanely possible to get away with anything more.

The TA are positively saint-like in and around Hampden when compared to the so called big two, I would suggest that perhaps the OF get away with a lot more in my experiences. The irony of course being that a certain OF Cup Final in 1980 lead to many of these draconian laws.
glasnost
QUOTE (Burnie_man @ Oct 6 2008, 21:27) *
rolleyes.gif

Having witnessed OF fans at Cup Semi's/Final's, I would be gobsmacked if it is humanely possible to get away with anything more.

The TA are positively saint-like in and around Hampden when compared to the so called big two, I would suggest that perhaps the OF get away with a lot more in my experiences.

I wouldn't know about around Hampden. I certainly know that if I acted the way they do on trains and in the city centre of Glasgow going to a Celtic game I'd be arrested quick style. Of course, I wouldn't dream of acting in such a way.
Burnie_man
QUOTE (glasnost @ Oct 6 2008, 21:30) *
I wouldn't know about around Hampden. I certainly know that if I acted the way they do on trains and in the city centre of Glasgow going to a Celtic game I'd be arrested quick style. Of course, I wouldn't dream of acting in such a way.

"They"? what, the whole TA?

I had the misfortune to be on a train going to Glasgow when Celtic were playing, I think, Dunfermline in the Cup Final a few years back. I wont go into specifics but the behaviour of so called Celtic fans on that train were absolutely disgusting, there were women and kids coming off the train in tears and the Transport Police done nothing, "no evidence" apparently.

Now, I know that is a very small minority of the Celtic support that behave in this manner, therefore I dont make the mistake of vilifying a whole support like you do regularly on here when it comes to the Tartan Army.
lyt
why arent the trains equiped with cameras like most buses.oh forgot that would cost money
Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth
Meh big talk from Strathclydes finest. I will challenge this law just like I do at every other Scotland game. Me being such a tough guy and all.
Convenor

Do you ever comment on Scotland supporters without resorting to sweeping generalisations or lazy stereotypes?
Yer mate fae Falkirk is just as bad.

For the record, I grew up in the 70s and 80s in the street next to Hampden. Every big game (cup final or international) attracted a certain amount of nobs with no respect for the local area or residents and they just pissed and drank wherever they wanted.

I still live locally and the behaviour now is f*** all like it used to be and the few that do act like tossers get dealt with swiftly by the rozzers
doulikefish

i get the train quite a lot on saturdays and i hate it if any of you lot are playing were i have to pass through

ps memo to sellick fans if people are wearing a blue strip it doesnt mean we are hun bastards
a_n_d_o
QUOTE (doulikefish @ Oct 7 2008, 06:37) *
i get the train quite a lot on saturdays and i hate it if any of you lot are playing were i have to pass through

ps memo to sellick fans if people are wearing a blue strip it doesnt mean we are hun b*****ds

train from aberdeen to montrose, a few seasons ago, police with machine guns on the train due to one of the old firm playing in aberdeen and the other playing in dundee... i want to know would they actually shoot someone? and was that really necessary precaution to take? football fans on a train are no more annoying than loud teenagers or screaming children though.
wearealldoomed

I've lived a few hundred yards from Hampden for the last 18 months or so, and have never had any problem with Scotland fans on the occasions when I've not been at the game.

Aye, there are a few drunk fans and some emtry cans and bottles left on the street, but having had the misfortune to share Sunnyside to Queen St trains with Celtic fans on many occasions and the subway with the other lot, I know who I'd rather be in the company of.

QUOTE (lyt @ Oct 6 2008, 22:04) *
why arent the trains equiped with cameras like most buses.oh forgot that would cost money

They are.
korphaeron
I was on a train once, and one Celtic fan was being a drunken idiot. I now think all Celtic fans on trains with drink are arseholes.
BRAVELANEY
anyone heard any news about the rail strikes, knock on effects and signal men maybe targetting sat to go on strike? i know they are on today and thurs but was hoping this would clear for saturday mad.gif
Jordo1872
QUOTE (BRAVELANEY @ Oct 7 2008, 12:52) *
anyone heard any news about the rail strikes, knock on effects and signal men maybe targetting sat to go on strike? i know they are on today and thurs but was hoping this would clear for saturday mad.gif

Trains will be back to normal by Sat mate so no worries there.
yogisbairns
Bit of a pisser if they enforce it by the book. I've been travelling through by train from Livingston for the last few campaigns by train, and as yet have saw no trouble to justify there actions. Yes, I realise that it's against the law, but everyone that I have seen with drink has been reasonably discrete and haven't made arses of themselves. I don't really know what's brought this move on. I dare say the rozzers couldn't be seen to send out a wishy washy signal as regards this, but I'd hope that common sense prevails on the day by both sides. We shall see. sad.gif
korphaeron
So they're making drinking, or even transporting, alcohol on trains illegal for the day?
Fernando Torres
QUOTE (a_n_d_o @ Oct 7 2008, 07:38) *
train from aberdeen to montrose, a few seasons ago, police with machine guns on the train due to one of the old firm playing in aberdeen and the other playing in dundee... i want to know would they actually shoot someone? and was that really necessary precaution to take? football fans on a train are no more annoying than loud teenagers or screaming children though.

laugh.gif Machine guns? Fuck off.
Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth
QUOTE (BRAVELANEY @ Oct 7 2008, 11:52) *

You will be fine coming from Stirling. I believe due to work taking place however that services from Edinburgh will be reduced.
stuartsmfc
QUOTE (glasnost @ Oct 6 2008, 20:53) *

Well if we are talking old firm fans then then the tartan army could sing sectarian songs, glorify terrorism and various other forms of verbal diarrhea!
The Mongoose
QUOTE (korphaeron @ Oct 9 2008, 22:46) *
So they're making drinking, or even transporting, alcohol on trains illegal for the day?

Seems like the minority are making a Jim Delahunt of it for the rest of us!!
BerwickMad
I went to a Newcastle-Celtic friendly and the Celtic fans were a disgrace. A load of them thought it would be funny to piss on restaurant windows when woman and kids were on the other side eating meals before the game. There were smashed bottles all over the place and IRA songs. They took over the Irish bars and the Irish centre next to the ground and acted like they were some kind of safe haven they had been sent down to protect from the evil English, despite the fact Newcastle fans usually drink in these bars and the supporters club is based in one. Then the best of it, a load of them were fighting with each other in the ground. Quite a few bottles came flying down from the top tier as well when an injury ravaged Newcastle started to destroy their pish team.

Not saying they are worse than any other club their size, but they can hardly take the moral high ground.
BUD77
QUOTE (korphaeron @ Oct 9 2008, 22:46) *

No, It has been illegal to drink on any form of public transport being used to attend a sporting event for over 13 years under section 19(1) of the Criminal Law (Consolidation) Scotland Act 1995.
The Dry trains legislation goes back ever further.

PS I work on the railways and I have spoken too a few of the BTP and they are out to hammer any one found with drink on the trains, they are going to search bags at ALL stations for drink and if you are caught on the train with drink don't expect to see the game. mad.gif
H Wragg
QUOTE (BUD77 @ Oct 10 2008, 11:10) *
PS I work on the railways and I have spoken too a few of the BTP and they are out to hammer any one found with drink on the trains, they are going to search bags at ALL stations for drink and if you are caught on the train with drink don't expect to see the game. mad.gif

So do I. I'm a bit confused about what's going on here. It is NOT illegal to drink on a train (unlike a public service bus) and on days such as tomorrow it is customary for railway bye-laws to be used to prohibit alcohol on certain trains eg. all trains between Glasgow Central and Mount Florida between the hours of 10am and 8pm and posters saying so are displyed at the local stations. The way this has been reported seems to suggest that alcohol has suddenly been barred across the entire network for the day but I haven't seen or heard anything to say so.
Perhaps they are just cracking down on violation of the usual bye-laws where they haven't really bothered in the past.
a_n_d_o
QUOTE (Fernando Torres @ Oct 10 2008, 00:17) *
laugh.gif Machine guns? f**k off.

i think that was your response as well when i told you straight after it happened... ok it may have been a submachine gun, something like a MP5, still scary enough.
Fernando Torres
Jie Bie
QUOTE (BUD77 @ Oct 10 2008, 11:10) *
No, It has been illegal to drink on any form of public transport being used to attend a sporting event for over 13 years under section 19(1) of the Criminal Law (Consolidation) Scotland Act 1995.
The Dry trains legislation goes back ever further.

What? Are you suggesting I could get lifted for having a few cans of tennents in my bag when getting the train to a flat near hampden?
wearealldoomed
QUOTE (Jie Bie @ Oct 10 2008, 14:19) *
What? Are you suggesting I could get lifted for having a few cans of tennents in my bag when getting the train to a flat near hampden?

That's a good point actually.

I believe that the alcohol ban is on all trains between Central and Mount Florida/King's Park between 10am-3pm then 4pm-7pm.

Best not go to the offie before getting the train back from the city centre then.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.