Full Version: 4 In A Row Spectre Begins To Haunt Rangers
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > Rangers v Celtic, Celtic v Rangers
Pages: 1, 2
SirRogerCasement
After the ignominy of being beaten by the league's worst team Rangers must be thinking of the spectre of 4 in a row ,the end of the Smith regime and financial meltdown.

Good eh!

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
StandFree03
OF forum for this pish
SirRogerCasement
QUOTE (StandFree03 @ Oct 6 2008, 13:30) *
OF forum for this pish

Looking forward to posting in the Div1 section next year are we.

stevenston saint
QUOTE (SirRogerCasement @ Oct 6 2008, 13:29) *
After the ignominy of being beaten by the league's worst team Rangers must be thinking of the spectre of 4 in a row ,the end of the Smith regime and financial meltdown.

QUOTE (SirRogerCasement @ Oct 6 2008, 13:31) *
Looking forward to posting in the Div1 section next year are we.

These two statements contradict each other. huh.gif laugh.gif
glasnost
QUOTE (stevenston saint @ Oct 6 2008, 13:35) *
These two statements contradict each other. huh.gif laugh.gif

No they don’t.
Ric
QUOTE (glasnost @ Oct 6 2008, 13:38) *
No they don't.

Either way, it's a sh*te thread.

8 games in and you are level on points, yet SRC comes out with the sort of taunting threads I thought we were trying to get away from on here.

C'est la vie, maybe I am being overly critical on a fair thread, just seems gloating over nothing imo. The win that the Celtic fans seem to be gleefully happy about had nothing to do with them.
glasnost
QUOTE (Ric @ Oct 6 2008, 13:45) *
C'est la vie, maybe I am being overly critical on a fair thread, just seems gloating over nothing imo. The win that the Celtic fans seem to be gleefully happy about had nothing to do with them.

Juts like the win for Kaunas over the huns had nothing to do with fans of other clubs in Scotland. That didn’t stop a mass of ‘gloating posts’ over it.
Ric
QUOTE (glasnost @ Oct 6 2008, 13:47) *
Juts like the win for Kaunas over the huns had nothing to do with fans of other clubs in Scotland. That didn't stop a mass of 'gloating posts' over it.

Indeed. I found that equally distasteful.

Personally I wanted both you and Rangers (as well as Motherwell and Queens) to progress in order to help our coefficient. Celtic are the only team left and it's only the start of October, compared to 3 clubs past Christmas last season, and even then it's looking like a tight game over in Denmark that will decide your UEFA cup fate or not.

For a "diddy" club supporter, laughing at OF failures in Europe is cutting our nose off to spite our face, imo.
glasnost
QUOTE (Ric @ Oct 6 2008, 13:50) *
Indeed. I found that equally distasteful.

Personally I wanted both you and Rangers (as well as Motherwell and Queens) to progress in order to help our coefficient. Celtic are the only team left and it's only the start of October, compared to 3 clubs past Christmas last season, and even then it's looking like a tight game over in Denmark that will decide your UEFA cup fate or not.

For a "diddy" club supporter, laughing at OF failures in Europe is cutting our nose off to spite our face, imo.

I have no interest in seeing the huns do well in Europe or numerous other clubs for that matter.

I was happy to see Aberdeen do well last season.
stevenston saint
QUOTE (glasnost @ Oct 6 2008, 13:38) *
No they don't.

Yes they do.In one instance he says St Mirren are the worse team in the league so why will Aberdeen be playing div1 football next season? laugh.gif

1eye.gif
No8.

Good eh!

Do you remember how well Celtic played at home against the 'worst' team in the league? rolleyes.gif In fact do you remember the last time you were at Love Street and how well you played against them? If it wasn't for 1 particular man you would have been lucky to take anything from those games!!

Leagues are usually won in May.

youroldda

Good eh!

YES good old walter(TRAITOR)smith tactical fox huh.gif
glasnost
QUOTE (stevenston saint @ Oct 6 2008, 13:55) *
Yes they do.

No they don't. Aberdeen could end up bottom of the league as a result of being cheated out of a point/points in every game from now until the end of the season i.e. like what happened on Saturday and not due to their own performances.

Beren
QUOTE (stevenston saint @ Oct 6 2008, 13:55) *
Yes they do.In one instance he says St Mirren are the worse team in the league so why will Aberdeen be playing div1 football next season? laugh.gif

1eye.gif

Hidden hands? unsure.gif
stevenston saint
QUOTE (glasnost @ Oct 6 2008, 14:01) *
No they don't. Aberdeen could end up bottom of the league as a result of being cheated out of a point/points in every game from now until the end of the season i.e. like what happened on Saturday and not due to their own performances.

laugh.gif Nice try!!! Just admit you made a tit of yourself glasnost.
Ric
QUOTE (glasnost @ Oct 6 2008, 13:54) *
I have no interest in seeing the huns do well in Europe or numerous other clubs for that matter.

I was happy to see Aberdeen do well last season.

I can understand the situation regarding the CL money and the way it's split. To not wish them well when it could benefit you (ie: co-efficient) is just a bit churlish, imo.
glasnost
QUOTE (Ric @ Oct 6 2008, 14:04) *
I can understand the situation regarding the CL money and the way it's split. To not wish them well when it could benefit you (ie: co-efficient) is just a bit churlish, imo.

It is not churlish at all. Whilst it is good to go straight into the CL group stages, I have no problem playing qualifiers. If we cannot beat the opponents placed in front of us, then we don’t deserve to be in the tournament. Similarly, if it’s down to one CL spot then if we don’t win the league we don’t deserve to be in it.

There is nothing at all which would want me to support the huns in Europe.
Ric
QUOTE (glasnost @ Oct 6 2008, 14:10) *
It is not churlish at all. Whilst it is good to go straight into the CL group stages, I have no problem playing qualifiers. If we cannot beat the opponents placed in front of us, then we don't deserve to be in the tournament. Similarly, if it's down to one CL spot then if we don't win the league we don't deserve to be in it.

What you seem to miss is the fact that Scottish clubs competing in Europe is good for Scottish football in general. That's the point I am trying to make.
WeAreThePeople
Sadly for us, referees wont bail us out of embarassing results like they do over your way.

If they did, we'd have gotten a dodgy penalty ala Parkhead.
glasnost
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 6 2008, 15:17) *
Sadly for us, referees wont bail us out of embarassing results like they do over your way.

What’s so special this year?
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (glasnost @ Oct 6 2008, 15:18) *
What's so special this year?

We had a couple last year, you lot had them in the droves.

And, surprise surprise, have had quite a few blushes saved this season by them.
glasnost
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 6 2008, 15:21) *
We had a couple last year, you lot had them in the droves.

Hardly.

QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 6 2008, 15:21) *
And, surprise surprise, have had quite a few blushes saved this season by them.

Quite correct. We had a dubious penalty given to us against St Mirren at home. What you fail to mention is the one which we should have got prior to that which was brushed away by the referee.

WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (glasnost @ Oct 6 2008, 15:26) *
Hardly.

Quite correct. We had a dubious penalty given to us against St Mirren at home. What you fail to mention is the one which we should have got prior to that which was brushed away by the referee.

Considering the non OF fans can't agree, even with TV evidence wither your statement is correct, it kind of tells you something. wink.gif

As for my take on it, if JVOH was getting to it and hadn't hit the ball that hard even if the keeper ran to the halfway line he wouldn't have scored, then you have something, but with the position of the ref and a split second to decide, it's hardly surprising his decision. Lots of people, even with TV evidence as I said, would have said no penalty.
glasnost
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 6 2008, 15:30) *
Considering the non OF fans can't agree, even with TV evidence wither your statement is correct, it kind of tells you something. wink.gif

It certainly does.

QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 6 2008, 15:30) *
As for my take on it, if JVOH was getting to it and hadn't hit the ball that hard even if the keeper ran to the halfway line he wouldn't have scored, then you have something, but with the position of the ref and a split second to decide, it's hardly surprising his decision. Lots of people, even with TV evidence as I said, would have said no penalty.

.....and as we have established that tells you something.
It was a clear penalty.

But that's by the by now.
Pink Freud
QUOTE (Ric @ Oct 6 2008, 14:40) *
What you seem to miss is the fact that Scottish clubs competing in Europe is good for Scottish football in general. That's the point I am trying to make.

I doubt if either he or his hun equivalents would care. dry.gif
No8.
QUOTE (Ric @ Oct 6 2008, 14:40) *

What you miss is the fact if they are more successful in Europe means they have more money therefore will be stronger..They will become better known across the continent and become more appealing to prospective signings. I would never want them to be more successful than us in Europe...NEVER!! Where i might differ from Glasnost on this is as long as Rangers are more successful i don't mind them being involved as well..But the important thing is being ahead of them.

Last season i had Bayern Munich on my coupon but still cheered on Aberdeen at Pittodrie..the reason for this is i don't see Aberdeen as a direct threat to Rangers and want them to do as well as they can because if they improve it improves our league and our standing across the continent. In the long term it will also help them generate extra income and in time they might get back up there competing again.
wagner
4 in a row-given the poor state of Rangers fear is 10 in a row. laugh.gif
Ric
QUOTE (No8. @ Oct 6 2008, 19:15) *
What you miss is the fact if they are more successful in Europe means they have more money therefore will be stronger..

And that probably underlines the differences between the diddy club supporters and the OF. There's a fair percentage of us who know that if we can't win the league then we want whoever else wins the league to do well so it benefits us all in the coefficient, and in turn bring the possibility of us to get European qualification and all the things that that brings us.
glasnost
QUOTE (Ric @ Oct 6 2008, 20:41) *
And that probably underlines the differences between the diddy club supporters and the OF.

A hefty generalisation there. I used to work with a few Hibs fans and they certainly were not wanting the diet huns to do well in Europe when they reached the CL qualifiers or the UEFA group stages. I'd be amazed if this wasn't the general feeling amongst Hibs fans...........and vice versa if the roles were reversed. Similarly, I can't imagine anything other than a handful of Aberdeen fans wanting the huns to do well. It's natural football rivalry and there is nothing wrong with it.
seamus
Rangers look like they are going to implode.The great thing is if they had bought Steve Davis a couple of weeks earlier they may have been in the champions league.

Does anybody really think that Kyle Lafferty is worth £3.5m.I dont think Wattie even thinks he is worth that if Darcheville is on before him.Another couple of bad results and that comedian McCoist will be in charge.
Ric
QUOTE (glasnost @ Oct 6 2008, 20:51) *
A hefty generalisation there.

Actually that's fair enough it is a generalisation.

"I would like to think that.." was probably the way I should have put that.
Pride Of The Clyde
QUOTE (No8. @ Oct 6 2008, 13:56) *
Do you remember how well Celtic played at home against the 'worst' team in the league? rolleyes.gif In fact do you remember the last time you were at Love Street and how well you played against them? If it wasn't for 1 particular man you would have been lucky to take anything from those games!!

Leagues are usually won in May.

Or in Rangers case, lost in May, at Pitodrie. Oh how i laughed laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
No8.
QUOTE (Pride Of The Clyde @ Oct 6 2008, 20:57) *
Or in Rangers case, lost in May, at Pitodrie. Oh how i laughed laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Aye it was fucking hilarious but really you are about 4 months too late tongue.gif
buttons22
QUOTE (seamus @ Oct 6 2008, 20:52) *
Rangers look like they are going to implode.The great thing is if they had bought Steve Davis a couple of weeks earlier they may have been in the champions league.

Does anybody really think that Kyle Lafferty is worth £3.5m.I dont think Wattie even thinks he is worth that if Darcheville is on before him.Another couple of bad results and that comedian McCoist will be in charge.

Just remeber ur only ahead on goal difference. U've played more games at home so we'll need to see what ur away record will be like in a few weeks.
seamus
QUOTE (buttons22 @ Oct 6 2008, 21:03) *
Just remeber ur only ahead on goal difference. U've played more games at home so we'll need to see what ur away record will be like in a few weeks.

You have to say your fans have got a wee bit carried away prior to Sunday. I thought the team may hve been tired on Sunday after watching the Bill during the week tongue.gif
buttons22
QUOTE (seamus @ Oct 6 2008, 21:20) *
You have to say your fans have got a wee bit carried away prior to Sunday. I thought the team may hve been tired on Sunday after watching the Bill during the week tongue.gif

Don't know many fans who have got carried away. Media yes but not the fans.
The Dog
QUOTE (buttons22 @ Oct 6 2008, 21:03) *

We were only ahead on goal difference going into last seasons final game too.

Ahead is ahead regardless of how.
seamus
QUOTE (buttons22 @ Oct 6 2008, 22:18) *

The Scottish media are all Rangers fans.
buttons22
QUOTE (seamus @ Oct 6 2008, 22:46) *

Get a life and change the record.
WeAreThePeople

patto
QUOTE (buttons22 @ Oct 6 2008, 22:18) *

What ? I lurked rangers msg boards and you did get carried away, especially in regards to world beater eyyy pedro the saviour.
bewlay
By the Motherwell away game on Nov 12th Rangers will have played 8/13 SPL games away from home.If we still level on points with Celtic by that stage then I will be a happy man.
The Hun's Ghost

My dear Seamus, I think we did this before but to save you going down the route of tarring the press as all Rangers fans, allow me to tell you who has leanings to who. If you don't believe me, may I suggest you go and ask them.

Mark Guidi - Celtic
Hugh Keevins - Celtic
Peter Martin (McGuire) - Celtic
Ronnie Cully - Celtic
Neil Cameron - Celtic
Anthony Haggerty - Celtic
Keredine Issedane - Celtic
Ian King - Rangers
Darryl King - Rangers
Graham Speirs - Rangers
David McCarthy - Rangers
Alan McMillan - Partick Thistle
Gordon Waddell - Falkirk

These are more well known journalists but I could go further.

Media bias towards Rangers is a myth.
Beren
I think we're diversing here rolleyes.gif
calum_gers
Graham Spiers - Rangers? huh.gif After seeing his face tripping him on the way back from florence last season. I highly doubt it.

No8.
Speirs claimed on air that he USED to support Rangers laugh.gif He is without doubt the most anti Rangers journalist.. 'Hell hath no fury like a poofy corduroy wearer scorned'.
calum_gers
And for the record, 3 of the best talking heads are Murdo Macleod, Andy Walker and Pat Nevin. It isnt an issue who you follow or played for. Its about not hiding it in my book.
H_B
QUOTE (No8. @ Oct 7 2008, 08:25) *
Speirs claimed on air that he USED to support Rangers laugh.gif He is without doubt the most anti Rangers journalist.. 'Hell hath no fury like a poofy corduroy wearer scorned'.

I suggest you propose another campaign against him biggrin.gif

I've heard he could do with a payrise and a new Ferrari!!
No8.
QUOTE (H_B @ Oct 7 2008, 10:30) *
I suggest you propose another campaign against him biggrin.gif

I've heard he could do with a payrise and a new Ferrari!!

Are you still pushing this 'promotion line'.. biggrin.gif

Going from the Herald to the Scottish Times is not a promotion. I hear the Scottish Times has lost nearly a quarter of it's readership since he joined. laugh.gif

An absolute little shit of a man.
wagner
pat nevin?