Full Version: Novo Does What He Does Best
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > Rangers v Celtic, Celtic v Rangers
Pages: 1, 2
No8.
QUOTE (Millfield Marksman @ Oct 7 2008, 15:53) *
That's not particularly true now, is it?

Well yes...it pretty much is. Rangers are the World Champions at winning domestic Titles tongue.gif
fatman76
QUOTE (No8. @ Oct 7 2008, 17:01) *
Well yes...it pretty much is. Rangers are the World Champions at winning domestic Titles tongue.gif

Yes we certainly are the best in the world at winning our domestic league title. Many have tried copy our style, but have all failed miserably! beerchug.gif
ChampionsElect
Was it not 2 seasons ago the wanted rid of this wee sack? Then he scored a goal and he was their saviour again. Whats his tally for this season? laugh.gif
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (ChampionsElect @ Oct 7 2008, 19:59) *
Was it not 2 seasons ago the wanted rid of this wee sack? Then he scored a goal and he was their saviour again. Whats his tally for this season? laugh.gif

How many full games has he played this season dhim?

How many goals had Jan Venegoor of Donkeykong scored this season?

Whats that? The same number as Novo? ohmy.gif
Bluetone 72
It is well known the world over (apart from the persecuted Dhims land of Mordor) that Novo did what is termed

" A Mo Jo"

fatman76
QUOTE (Bluetone 72 @ Oct 9 2008, 03:07) *
It is well known the world over (apart from the persecuted Dhims land of Mordor) that Novo did what is termed

" A Mo Jo"

Well said that man. I dont understand why the Mhanky mob hold grudges against players for such a long time, just because they decide to turn their back on a move to sellick. I dont see any posts on here from Rangers fans moaning and wingeing about the fact Glen Loovens turned his back on the Gers. I think all things being equal Rangers fans have been proven to show more class in victory and defeat.
No8.
QUOTE (fatman76 @ Oct 9 2008, 10:28) *
Well said that man. I dont understand why the Mhanky mob hold grudges against players for such a long time, just because they decide to turn their back on a move to sellick. I dont see any posts on here from Rangers fans moaning and wingeing about the fact Glen Loovens turned his back on the Gers. I think all things being equal Rangers fans have been proven to show more class in victory and defeat.

I agree. I would think 'Wee Broony' would be another example. 1 of our own promising to sign and shaking on it only to be tempted away to the dark side. Do we hold a grudge? Not at £4.5 million we don't laugh.gif
fatman76
QUOTE (No8. @ Oct 9 2008, 10:32) *
I agree. I would think 'Wee Broony' would be another example. 1 of our own promising to sign and shaking on it only to be tempted away to the dark side. Do we hold a grudge? Not at £4.5 million we don't laugh.gif

Another fine example. I personally think he must feel some regret over that move. He would have been an ideal long term replacement for Ferguson as captain. I personally think we would have been able to develop his game a lot better than Celtic have. I think Strachan has been forced to throw the lad in at the deep end just because of the price tag attached to his head. I think Wattie would have brought him into the team gradually and would have helped the lad control his temper. I think he is about the only Celtic player I would have in my team if I was the manager.
H_B
QUOTE (fatman76 @ Oct 9 2008, 10:46) *
Another fine example. I personally think he must feel some regret over that move.

I think you are correct. He looks a little out of place in Celtic's midfield, and at the highest levels in Europe.

He'd have been far better learning his trade a rung down at Rangers, amongst lesser players and without the pressures of being with the Champions, and competing only at the elite European levels.
No8.
QUOTE (H_B @ Oct 9 2008, 11:20) *
I think you are correct. He looks a little out of place in Celtic's midfield, and at the highest levels in Europe.

He'd have been far better learning his trade a rung down at Rangers, amongst lesser players and without the pressures of being with the Champions, and competing only at the elite European levels.

This will have to be some 'Holiday' come May! tongue.gif

Anyway on 'Wee Broony'. I agree FM at the time i thought he would be ideal for the right hand side of our midfield but given the choice between Steve Davis or Brown there is only 1 winner!! Davis is a far better player..he has got the temperament to handle playing for a 'Big' Club and they are of similar age. Of course the fact we got Davis for over a million less is just an added bonus wink.gif
fatman76
QUOTE (No8. @ Oct 9 2008, 11:36) *
This will have to be some 'Holiday' come May! tongue.gif

Anyway on 'Wee Broony'. I agree FM at the time i thought he would be ideal for the right hand side of our midfield but given the choice between Steve Davis or Brown there is only 1 winner!! Davis is a far better player..he has got the temperament to handle playing for a 'Big' Club and they are of similar age. Of course the fact we got Davis for over a million less is just an added bonus wink.gif

Agreed I wouldn't swap him for Davis now. We got a much better deal on that front. I think Brown will be moved on from Celtic in the not too distant future. Most of the Celtic fans I talk to gave up on him over a year ago and think he only gets a game because he is scottish and his price tag. There may be other opinions on here but thats what my mates say to me.
No8.
I think Brown moving on would be best moving on for both Celtic and the player...especially as they have already knocked back a £9,000,000 offer. If they get that kind of money they could buy players like Gravesen,Jarosik and another Donati laugh.gif
fatman76
QUOTE (No8. @ Oct 9 2008, 12:43) *
I think Brown moving on would be best moving on for both Celtic and the player...especially as they have already knocked back a £9,000,000 offer. If they get that kind of money they could buy players like Gravesen,Jarosik and another Donati laugh.gif

They might even be able to get in another few players like Sno,Loovens and Doumbe on top of those guys for that sort of cash. laugh.gif laugh.gif
No8.
QUOTE (fatman76 @ Oct 9 2008, 12:51) *
They might even be able to get in another few players like Sno,Loovens and Doumbe on top of those guys for that sort of cash. laugh.gif laugh.gif

Another Mark Brown to put pressure on the 'holly goaly' is needed laugh.gif
fatman76
QUOTE (No8. @ Oct 9 2008, 13:30) *
Another Mark Brown to put pressure on the 'holly goaly' is needed laugh.gif

Maybe they should also look into bringing another "next big thing" like Paddy McDisnaegetagame or Mizuno. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

I think we may have have to start a new thread about Strachans signing policy.

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
No8.
Beyesmystic and No8. in agreement shocker laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Got to hand it to Strachan he has done well outta Hibs..Gary Caldwell,Scott Brown,Derek Riordan and Chris Killen biggrin.gif
fatman76
QUOTE (No8. @ Oct 9 2008, 16:26) *
Beyesmystic and No8. in agreement shocker laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Got to hand it to Strachan he has done well outta Hibs..Gary Caldwell,Scott Brown,Derek Riordan and Chris Killen biggrin.gif

After seeing the list we have put together here today I am surprised Fanta still has a job!! laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif crying.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

I am glad for the dhims sake the ship has such steady hands in control of it. laugh.gif
ChampionsElect
Brown has performed well this season and is getting better, Davis on the other hand has been invisible since he came back to you lot.

Plus McCourt and Mizuno do get a game...They played against Derry on Tuesday night tongue.gif
fatman76
QUOTE (ChampionsElect @ Oct 9 2008, 16:42) *
Plus McCourt and Mizuno do get a game...They played against Derry on Tuesday night tongue.gif

ChampionsElect
QUOTE (fatman76 @ Oct 9 2008, 16:44) *

He was captain aswell laugh.gif
No8.
Davis on the other hand has been invisible since he came back to you lot.

Was he not part of the midfield that totally DOMINATED the Celtic midfield in their own midden? laugh.gif
fatman76
QUOTE (ChampionsElect @ Oct 9 2008, 16:46) *
He was captain aswell laugh.gif

That is quality. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
H_B
Davis on the other hand has been invisible since he came back to you lot.

He is a total imposter of a player. Really limited. That Smith continued to chase him in the summer after his insipid displays at the end of last season summed up Rangers' lack of ambition.

The Rangers midfield looks really short of creativity.
No8.
QUOTE (H_B @ Oct 9 2008, 18:16) *
He is a total imposter of a player. Really limited. That Smith continued to chase him in the summer after his insipid displays at the end of last season summed up Rangers' lack of ambition.

The Rangers midfield looks really short of creativity.

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Taxi for Bosch!
H_B
QUOTE (No8. @ Oct 9 2008, 18:37) *
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Taxi for Bosch!

Which part of that is incorrect?

It was embarrassing seeing that midfield lumbering about against both Partick and St Mirren recently. Rangers have real problems until a fully fit Ferguson returns, whenever that may be.
fatman76
QUOTE (H_B @ Oct 9 2008, 18:41) *
Which part of that is incorrect?

It was embarrassing seeing that midfield lumbering about against both Partick and St Mirren recently. Rangers have real problems until a fully fit Ferguson returns, whenever that may be.

Excuse me! But we are takin the piss out of Strachans signings here laugh.gif laugh.gif Even ChampionsElect is getting in on the action. Sit back and enjoy, plenty time for the serious stuff the morra. Paddy McCourt wiz captain the other night laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif , ffs if you cannae find something in there tae laugh at yer a lost cause.
H_B
QUOTE (fatman76 @ Oct 9 2008, 19:11) *
Excuse me! But we are takin the piss out of Strachans signings here laugh.gif laugh.gif Even ChampionsElect is getting in on the action. Sit back and enjoy, plenty time for the serious stuff the morra. Paddy McCourt wiz captain the other night laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif , ffs if you cannae find something in there tae laugh at yer a lost cause.

I'm just widening the playing field biggrin.gif

Laughing at the likes of Brown, McCourt and co is perfectly understandable. As is laughing at Davis, Laugherty and Kenny Miller biggrin.gif
fatman76
QUOTE (H_B @ Oct 9 2008, 19:15) *
I'm just widening the playing field biggrin.gif

Laughing at the likes of Brown, McCourt and co is perfectly understandable. As is laughing at Davis, Laugherty and Kenny Miller biggrin.gif

Go on admit it you are, aren't you, cm'on just admit you like Celtic. wink.gif wink.gif nudge, nudge, say no more.
No8.
QUOTE (fatman76 @ Oct 9 2008, 19:18) *
Go on admit it you are, aren't you, cm'on just admit you like Celtic. wink.gif wink.gif nudge, nudge, say no more.

big boy once called him a 'Fenian' and i think it has scarred him for life.

Before you accuse him of being a Tim ask what he believes was the major contributing factor to Celtic winning the league last season.. laugh.gif

fatman76
QUOTE (No8. @ Oct 9 2008, 19:58) *
big boy once called him a 'Fenian' and i think it has scarred him for life.

Before you accuse him of being a Tim ask what he believes was the major contributing factor to Celtic winning the league last season.. laugh.gif

Well HB what was the major contributor to Celtic winning the league? I bet it's good. laugh.gif laugh.gif
No8.
He comes in here and tries to wind us up against each other... A poor mans/ Falkirk Captain Sensible wannabe laugh.gif

Celtic won the league solely because of cheating referees...according to H_B. Now he is trying to get us wound up about our poor squad...a better squad than the one we had last season which he thought was good enough to win the league.

Bluetone 72
They really do hate us and our players (especially one's who do a Mo Jo on them) than they support there own!!!

Only in a Dhims mind.
H_B
QUOTE (fatman76 @ Oct 9 2008, 20:06) *
Well HB what was the major contributor to Celtic winning the league?

There were many contributory factors. Ultimately down the stretch it proved to be Scott Brown being replaced by Barry Robson in central midfield. This made a huge difference and allowed Celtic to win out in the last few weeks.

Also Rangers selling Alan Hutton when they did, and more dodgy refereeing decisions going their way than the Huns, were contributory factors. As was Walter Smith's bemusing selections in key games.

Ultimately though, Rangers just weren't good enough. An outcome which is really the norm now. As I said before, I wouldn't have believed 10 years ago Rangers would be the little fish in Glasgow. Now, it's not even a topic for debate.
No8.
At least the Good Capn is consistent with his pish. You are chopping and changing every week!! wink.gif
baggio333
My opinion of players that kiss the badge etc is pretty low.
They are playing up to the fans and to be honest treating them like morons. Look at me I'll kiss the badge and all the muppets will think I would die for their team, which should bode well for me when I am playing shit and still expecting a bumper pay-day of a new contract.
This isn't directed at either of the OF but at all teams in general. I know there are players playing for teams in their hometown or teams they have supported since they were kids but that isn't usually the case with "badge kissers".
Nothing against players celebrating a goal but all this badge kissing is only to placate the more fanatical fans, IMO.
millabhoy
QUOTE (baggio333 @ Oct 10 2008, 16:33) *
My opinion of players that kiss the badge etc is pretty low.
They are playing up to the fans and to be honest treating them like morons. Look at me I'll kiss the badge and all the muppets will think I would die for their team, which should bode well for me when I am playing shit and still expecting a bumper pay-day of a new contract.
This isn't directed at either of the OF but at all teams in general. I know there are players playing for teams in their hometown or teams they have supported since they were kids but that isn't usually the case with "badge kissers".
Nothing against players celebrating a goal but all this badge kissing is only to placate the more fanatical fans, IMO.

Agreed, by all means they should celebrate as we fans do but don't try to dupe me in to thinking you have supported the club all your life and would turn down a larger pay packet to stay at the club I support. Obviously there is the odd exception.
Novo for example, my mates a rangers fan and told me so. whistling.gif
baggio333
QUOTE (millabhoy @ Oct 10 2008, 18:17) *
Agreed, by all means they should celebrate as we fans do but don't try to dupe me in to thinking you have supported the club all your life and would turn down a larger pay packet to stay at the club I support. Obviously there is the odd exception.
Novo for example, my mates a rangers fan and told me so. whistling.gif

Aye, apart from Novo obviously. The Rangers fans wouldn't get suckered into thinking some wee Spanish ned had dreamt of the day he would be scoring for them instead of say Real Madrid or Barcelona. In fact I am sure the first Spanish words he said when he was an infant were "Rangeerzz eez the only team I want to play for, que!!!"