Full Version: The Defining Image Of Rangers Vs. Cska...
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > Rangers v Celtic, Celtic v Rangers
Swampy
As the final whistle went, a close-up of Alex McLeish appearing on millions of TV screens nationwide.

He was checking his watch, and seemingly disputing that 93 minutes of football had taken place.

Short of ideas, short of talent, short of skill - that's Rangers in Europe.

What a shame they couldn't boost our UEFA coefficient for "diddy" clubs.
Butterfield
QUOTE (nach0king @ Aug 25 2004, 09:51 PM)
As the final whistle went, a close-up of Alex McLeish appearing on millions of TV screens nationwide.

He was checking his watch, and seemingly disputing that 93 minutes of football had taken place.

Short of ideas, short of talent, short of skill - that's Rangers in Europe.

What a shame they couldn't boost our UEFA coefficient for "diddy" clubs.

Now I'm no lip reader, but I'm pretty certain he said, "There's no way that was an extra three"

Gettitupthem! Great to see them get a bit of hope and have it shattered! biggrin.gif

However, part of me for a millisecond actually hoped they'd score and take it to extra time (to get humped there of course) just to GET IT RIGHT UP the fannies that leave games early! biggrin.gif

They were pish! Wait till you hear big red moan about the goal that was chopped off. laugh.gif
Swampy
In fairness, the whistle-happy referee certainly did the game no favours. Advantage should have been played.

However, jeers all round for the lack of invention Rangers showed. And in this case, as the commentators were so keen to point out, hoofing the ball up the park *is* showing invention, as it's not their regular style of play.

CSKA were decent, though, and no more. Very physical.
Bhoys67
QUOTE (nach0king @ Aug 25 2004, 05:58 PM)
In fairness, the whistle-happy referee certainly did the game no favours. Advantage should have been played.

However, jeers all round for the lack of invention Rangers showed. And in this case, as the commentators were so keen to point out, hoofing the ball up the park *is* showing invention, as it's not their regular style of play.

CSKA were decent, though, and no more. Very physical.

The image of the Rangers supporters leaving the park with 7 - 8 minutes to go was priceless, there must have been a mad ruch back through the turnstiles
once the Huns scored, only to be deflated at the final whistle yet again in
europe. there's always the UEFA Cup laugh.gif

PS.....has anyone heard from Malky laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Ruggy Bairn @ Aug 25 2004, 09:55 PM)
he said, "There's no way that was an extra three"

I thought he said that too, although I thought an expletive was in there too. It really did sum the night up for me also. Poor Shrek.
Bhoys67
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Aug 25 2004, 07:25 PM)
I thought he said that too, although I thought an expletive was in there too. It really did sum the night up for me also. Poor Shrek.

I think he was waiting for his penalty of the week. laugh.gif