latapythelegend
Oct 5 2008, 19:50
hopefully an improvement from the last time we welcomed oir highland friends.
bit ambitious but since its the cup im going for a 4-0 win
lovell to score twice and higdon and barrett to score.
ICTChris
Oct 25 2008, 12:35
We have lost our three league cup quarter finals 5-1 (v Ayr Utd 2001), 2-1 (v Livingston 2005) and 4-1 (v Aberdeen 2007). Hopefully we can improve on this.
Apparently there is no supporters bus running for thsi game, which I think is shocking. I will be there though.
staggy4life
Oct 25 2008, 13:02
Being at Edin Uni me and my flatmates are going to pop through to watch the game.
Falkirk end ofcourse.
ICTChris
Oct 25 2008, 13:09
QUOTE (staggy4life @ Oct 25 2008, 14:02)

Being at Edin Uni me and my flatmates are going to pop through to watch the game.
Falkirk end ofcourse.

Cheers for the cash. Do County have any decent players left for us to sign with it in the transfer window?
staggy4life
Oct 25 2008, 14:08
QUOTE (ICTChris @ Oct 25 2008, 14:09)

Cheers for the cash. Do County have any decent players left for us to sign with it in the transfer window?
Free tickets through a contract
Yeah,Danny Griffen is an up and coming talent.
Kenny_Jnr
Oct 26 2008, 13:17
Think the game should be close, possibly extra time or penalties.
Admission prices are quite good so there should be a decent crowd there, hopefully to see a Bairns win.
Same as team as saturday and we will win 2-1 I think.
If Lovell is suspended, Higdon will come back in.
Dani G
Oct 27 2008, 18:46
Will likly need to come along and see this game since im currently lodging in Polmont with Sam Ward who was released by Caley in the summer; by f**k he hates them
keithgy
Oct 27 2008, 21:10
Shock horror i am actually getting to the game.
Thundermonkey
Oct 28 2008, 08:29
What's the deal with the North Stand? ICT only or will half be open to Bairns?
Highland1
Oct 28 2008, 09:53
QUOTE (Dani G @ Oct 27 2008, 19:46)

Will likly need to come along and see this game since im currently lodging in Polmont with Sam Ward who was released by Caley in the summer; by f**k he hates them

Who is Sam Ward? Never heard of him, is he a youth team player?
I think ICT will do the business tonight although it may come down to extra time. I think we are better away as our home form is shocking (as usual). There are quite a few ICT fans travelling down to this game even though there is no supporters bus on.
Bairn 4 Life
Oct 28 2008, 14:20
think we'll sneak it 2-1. hopefully we'll get a good crowd tonight with it being £12 & £6 to get in
Doubt there will be many down from Sneck considering the snow on the A9. Wonder if the team came down earlier.
QUOTE (kiddy @ Oct 28 2008, 17:57)

Doubt there will be many down from Sneck considering the snow on the A9. Wonder if the team came down earlier.
My Dad is on the train back up to Inverness from Edinburgh and the points have frozen at the Slochd Summit so conditions won't be nice!
Neil McCann has scored for Falkirk. Apparently we have been pretty wasteful in front of goal so far in the game.
skinnyjean
Oct 28 2008, 20:46
QUOTE (RiG @ Oct 28 2008, 20:38)

Neil McCann has scored for Falkirk. Apparently we have been pretty wasteful in front of goal so far in the game.
Our new keeper seems to be turning out pretty decent thankfully.
QUOTE (RiG @ Oct 28 2008, 20:38)

McCann's goal was a f**k up by Esson apparently.The Falkirk goal was offside aswell.
skinnyjean
Oct 28 2008, 21:42
Woo hoo! Our name's on the cup.
Just cracked a Semi.
keithgy
Oct 28 2008, 22:32
Well we rode our luck again tonight,Inverness had a stick on penalty turned down.
Fuck me that was freezing tonight.
The game itself was ok but nothing special really. Both teams had chances but I don't think either 'keeper actually had a save to make during the whole game with Inverness shooting wide at every opportunity and aside from scoring we also hit the post and the bar and had a shot cleared off the line.
I don't understand Brewster's reaction after the game when he was adamant they should have had a penalty for Gerard's tackle on Rooney. I thought it was a fantastic tackle from Gerard and he clearly won the ball.
Darren Barr was back to his brilliant best tonight was solid in defence, won every single ball in the air and didn't make any stupid mistakes. Gerard also had a very good game beside him and it's no coincidence that with Gerard in defence in place of Bullen we look much, much better. However my MoM would have been Kev McBride who I thought was fantastic in midfield he won every ball, never wasted possession, defended well and also done to well to start some attacks.
Michael Higdon was fucking brutal however. He seemed unable to jump at times, he couldn't be arsed moving and he had the first touch of a rapist. Based on that form Steve Lovell will have no trouble at all securing his place in the team and will certainly be back in on Saturday in place of Higdon.
Middleton Mouse
Oct 28 2008, 22:37
Wasn't as bad a game as I thought it'd be but it wasn't exactly exciting either. Think Falkirk did just enough to deserve the win though there was no way we or the Inverness fans could tell if the goal was offside from the North stand (anyone in the main stand see it?). Higdon should really have scored with the chance anyway and there was another chance in the second half that went wide when it looked easier to score. Couldn't see the ICT penalty decision properly either and I don't understand all this stuff on the radio about Brewster claiming the referee apologised for not awarding the penalty before he'd seen video footage.
The defence coped well late on but there was a couple of funny moments before the last Caley onslaught.
Inverness were absolutely rank and I can't remember them having a shot on target in the second half. Ross Tokley was especially mince, his balls out of defence were murder. All in all a pretty forgettable fixture which Falkirk did
just enough to deserve the win.
Forgot to say my MOTM would have been McBride too, thought he passed the ball well in midfield.
Anyone know when the semi final draw is?
Feels good asking that
Back Post Misses
Oct 28 2008, 23:05
QUOTE (Ceske Bairn @ Oct 28 2008, 22:45)

Anyone know when the semi final draw is?
Feels good asking that

Radio said January
QUOTE (Back Post Misses @ Oct 28 2008, 23:05)

Radio said January
That's when the ties are due to be played.
Kenny_Jnr
Oct 28 2008, 23:09
What a difference a couple of wins make, so much happier than I was a couple of weeks ago.
Thought Barr played extremely well tonight, his best game of the season probably. Was also pleased with Gerard, think the place is now his to lose, McCann also had a good game, there was a lot of good individual displays but as a team we did well, passed it really well at times.
Personally I think the ref had a decent game, Maybe i am biased but i think Aafjess got the ball for the penalty shout and I am absolutely positive Higdon was onside for the goal. Brewster, quit whinging and accept your team were easily second best.
Hopefully Dundee United at Tynecastle for the semi, theres no way they can be lucky enough to get to the final two years in a row.
Thundermonkey
Oct 28 2008, 23:11
I thought ICT were pretty brutal tonight. We really gave them every chance in the 2nd half and never once looked in danger of losing a goal.
For me, Aafjes cleanly tackled the ball. Time will tell when we see the replay. Brewster better be crossing his fingers. I can only think the 4th official has deemed it a penalty and spoke to the ref at full time.
Higdon was poor but I'm not sure anyone else would have looked any better given the way we haltedanywhere the Inverness box.
The patter in the North Stand is rotten by the way. How many times can you dress up the phrase 'hospital pass'? A few time apparently.
"That was a hospital pass McCann"
"That was an infirmary pass, McCann"
"Higdon, that was a Royal Infirmary pass"
Nice to go home with a semi though.
MrDust
Oct 28 2008, 23:17
First half we won and played well.....Apart from Barr hitting the post, I cant think of us doing much at all apart from playing the clock down......Subs on the bench a little strange and subs used stranger. Higdon wasnt having one of his better games and Barrett was doing his best at dragging players out, chasing etc and having a some success with it...
So sub time and we take of the weakest link on the nite and leave us with totally no attack threat at all, watching Latapy and Higdon being played into space is not a good joke on feckin cold nite, I really cant understand the Latapy sub....all good things must come to an end and I think Latapy in a FFC shirt is at that point
Back on to sub options tonite, 1x defender 3x centre midfielders and of course a goalie....doesnt fire me with tatical awareness, the game was well suited for Mark Stewart, a few long balls played into the space for Latapy and Higdon wouldve been better food for him than it was for the pacey two we left on. Inverness were leaving a high back line too and all we were doing was playing into there hands.......
That said, happy first half.....scratching and shivering second half......result first....but we couldve had more of a gloss over a poor Inverness side......
QUOTE (MrDust @ Oct 28 2008, 23:17)

So sub time and we take of the weakest link on the nite and leave us with totally no attack threat at all, watching Latapy and Higdon being played into space is not a good joke on feckin cold nite, I really cant understand the Latapy sub....all good things must come to an end and I think Latapy in a FFC shirt is at that point
Yep I was completely bemused about Latapy coming on as well. He is finished as a player at this level.
Despite how shit Higdon was because we didn't have a striker on the bench we couldn't really take Higdon off.
Kenny_Jnr
Oct 28 2008, 23:57
Brewster thought his side were "excellent"
I wouldn't like to see Calley on a bad day, I thought they looked really poor at times.
alternative maryhill
Oct 29 2008, 00:03
That was brutal. There were a few chances for both sides in the first half, but we were as bad in the second half as I've seen us for a long time and I don't think Falkirk did anything at all either. Mind you, they didn't have to. Without Ian Black we had no presence or composure in midfield at all. Was suprised to hear a Falkirk supporter saying we had a stick-on penalty turned down - from where I was sitting it looked like Rooney had played for it and gone down too late and too easily. Don't know if the Falkirk goal was offside or not, but Brewster's reaction was telling - he was going mental at the officials and that really isn't like him. We certainly didn't deserve anything, but on the basis of tonight I don't think supporters of either side have much to be confident about this season.
gav-ffc
Oct 29 2008, 00:23
I liked the great passing game from inverness tonight.
Bloody cold, just in bed
Thundermonkey
Oct 29 2008, 08:21
QUOTE (alternative maryhill @ Oct 29 2008, 00:03)

but on the basis of tonight I don't think supporters of either side have much to be confident about this season.
I think playing the way we did but still reaching the semi finals is not to bad. We weren't great but we were easily doing enouigh. Tells me that there is still plenty room for improvement so I've got lots to be confident in.
McBride had a great game, Aafjes showed why he should have been starting before Bullen, Holden has solved this season's left back problem and will only get stronger and Barr was superb. I can't think of one of Darren's defensive headers that didn't find a FFC shirt. The clean sheet will hopefully do wonders for our defence.
Hopefully we can get on a wee run from now until January and set ourselves up for the semi final.
MattBairn
Oct 29 2008, 09:45
QUOTE (Thundermonkey @ Oct 29 2008, 08:21)

McBride had a great game, Aafjes showed why he should have been starting before Bullen, Holden has solved this season's left back problem and will only get stronger and Barr was superb. I can't think of one of Darren's defensive headers that didn't find a FFC shirt. The clean sheet will hopefully do wonders for our defence.
Pretty much sums my feelings up on it. With Holden back and Aafjes in for Bullen, we looked much more solid and composed at the back.
They were even covering for each other when someone was dragged out of position, something weve been missing this season.
I also thought that McBride had a very good game, always available for a pass and even throwing a few tackles in for good measure!
Fans managed to piss me off again, at 1-0 up Arfield was turning and trying to go past a man. When it didnt work out some auld cunt at the back of me was moaning.
He moaned when we didnt go forward and when we try to beat a man to go forward he moans when it doesnt work. Fucking arsehole.
Thundermonkey
Oct 29 2008, 10:45
QUOTE (MattBairn @ Oct 29 2008, 09:45)

Pretty much sums my feelings up on it. With Holden back and Aafjes in for Bullen, we looked much more solid and composed at the back.
They were even covering for each other when someone was dragged out of position, something weve been missing this season.
I also thought that McBride had a very good game, always available for a pass and even throwing a few tackles in for good measure!
Fans managed to piss me off again, at 1-0 up Arfield was turning and trying to go past a man. When it didnt work out some auld c**t at the back of me was moaning.
He moaned when we didnt go forward and when we try to beat a man to go forward he moans when it doesnt work. Fucking arsehole.
There was a boy on McCann's back all night behind me. Shouting at him to pass more, beat his man more, screaming at him to get more involved and shut up with his arms folded when he scored. Was quite quiet when he was given MOM as well.
There are some serious fannies in the home support.
MrDust
Oct 29 2008, 12:06
QUOTE (Thundermonkey @ Oct 29 2008, 11:45)

There was a boy on McCann's back all night behind me. Shouting at him to pass more, beat his man more, screaming at him to get more involved and shut up with his arms folded when he scored. Was quite quiet when he was given MOM as well.
I was closer last nite to the guy who has moan tourettes.......
You can see why knifecrime is up tho......
bairnPunter
Oct 29 2008, 12:54
First time I've managed to get along to Falkirk Stadium this year, tried the North stand for a change. Enjoyed it, albeit very very cold in the 2nd half. Good to see a good number of catering staff btw, didn't wait too long for my bovril.
Anyway, the game itself, I thought McCann was immense, the quality of his crossing was excellent, and always dangerous, without him, it'd have been the same old Falkirk I watched every week last season. In the second half a half decent team would have scored against us. We gave up all the space and possession in the midfield. I would have brought on a midfielder instead of Latapy, someone who could run box to box (does he exist?), and match up to Caley's midfield numbers with McCann so wide up against Tokely.
Caley were only really dangerous at setpieces and cross balls. We still look bombscare-ish at the back. A better team would have scored against us. Only Holden (special mention, he was immense) and Barr managed to clear any crosses. I've not seen Bullen yet and I although I did think Aarfjes made some good tackles, he's not dominant in the air (actually think Scobbie is more dominant in the air) we need to improve our organisation defending set pieces. Higdon, a big guy I never saw him clear anything for instance.
On the positives, I did think McCann deserved his MoM, with Barr, Holden, McNamara, McBride the other postives. Arfield seems to be a bit flashy, in and out the game, but he looks very promising. Has he put on a couple of lbs?
Highland1
Oct 29 2008, 14:28
QUOTE (keithgy @ Oct 28 2008, 23:32)

Well we rode our luck again tonight,Inverness had a stick on penalty turned down.
Did the Falkirk goal not look offside as well? Maybe it is time the Fourth official was able to carry out TV replay evidence on contentious decisions and advise the referee.
keithgy
Oct 29 2008, 15:18
QUOTE (Highland1 @ Oct 29 2008, 14:28)

Did the Falkirk goal not look offside as well? Maybe it is time the Fourth official was able to carry out TV replay evidence on contentious decisions and advise the referee.
No Higdon was onside was that ball was played
QUOTE (Thundermonkey @ Oct 29 2008, 11:45)

If this was in the North Stand was it the clown who kept shouting 'get in the game McCann' Afr he had scored.
ARE THESE TYPE OF PEOPLE GENUINE SUPPORTERS
I think not, do they not realise that this type of negative input does NOTHING to encourage the players
BUT I am sure it has the opposite affect
I don't think anyone will work better with this sort grating,unwarranted criticism.
Hughsie
Oct 29 2008, 17:46
What a poor game.
I think we just about shaded it though, using the logic that if a team can't beat us on this form they deserve everything they get. Hard to say about the Inverness penalty shout before seeing it on TV, although it didn't look like Aafjes was anywhere near the ball from where I was sitting, but I could be wrong.
Roll on the semi's.
Future-SM-Keeper-Ere
Oct 29 2008, 20:50
Just seen the highlights. Looked a clear penalty to Inverness.
Middleton Mouse
Oct 29 2008, 20:56
Stonewaller that but given how bad ICT were in front of goal the ball from the spot would probably have ended up in the stand (most likely the North stand)!
Impossible to tell if the goal was offside though.
Super Tuesday
Oct 29 2008, 21:16
I quite enjoyed the match and thought we played some decent stuff
That was the stupidest subs bench I have seen, I would love to hear Yogi explain that one!
Thundermonkey
Oct 29 2008, 21:29
QUOTE (STUL @ Oct 29 2008, 17:00)

If this was in the North Stand was it the clown who kept shouting 'get in the game McCann' Afr he had scored.
ARE THESE TYPE OF PEOPLE GENUINE SUPPORTERS
I think not, do they not realise that this type of negative input does NOTHING to encourage the players
BUT I am sure it has the opposite affect
I don't think anyone will work better with this sort grating,unwarranted criticism.
Sounds like the same guy.
I was hoping when McCann slid the ball wide at the end that he had scored and jumped into the stand to welly the twat.
keithgy
Oct 29 2008, 21:45
QUOTE (Thundermonkey @ Oct 29 2008, 21:29)

Sounds like the same guy.
I was hoping when McCann slid the ball wide at the end that he had scored and jumped into the stand to welly the twat.
I had an old guy behind me screaming at McCann to run for the ball when he was at least 10yds offside
Butterfield
Oct 29 2008, 21:47
Stonewall penalty.
Lovely - get it right up you Brewster, you moaning cunt!
Sam68+1
Oct 29 2008, 22:23
Looked a fair shout for a penalty although for the goal McCann was behind Higdon when he shot so couldn't be offside and earlier in the move Tokely was a week late coming out to play Higdon onside.
FFCinthearea
Oct 29 2008, 22:25
QUOTE (Ziegler @ Oct 29 2008, 21:47)

Stonewall penalty.
Lovely - get it right up you Brewster, you moaning c**t!

You'll never see Brewster going down in a box
Brewsters more into Basketball these days.....or is it netball?
Either way im sure it involves a hoop......
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.