Full Version: Chisholm To Be Dundee Boss Before Ross County Match
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4
darkblue1893
QUOTE (Fast_Action @ Oct 6 2008, 09:05) *
An excellent post, and though I might take issue as far as size of support is concerned (I believe that Partick might be bigger, but happy to be proved wrong - not least where they are concerned). The truth is that the league structure sucks, and currently discriminates against teams like Dundee (I am well aware that your club did not vote for this disgrace), and leaves the entire game in Scotland wounded.

I don't buy into what has been said by Dunfermline fans on another thread, that they would rather be a good team in the first than a bad one in the SPL - there is something wrong with their reasoning if they really believe that.

But truth be told, despite your bad run, I doubt if your ability is any better/worse than Kilmarnock, Dundee United et al. It is that they have managed to screw the rest of us by voting in a league structure that makes it very difficult for them to be relegated, and very difficult for you to be promoted.

I was not just saying that we are largest supported club because i support them. We do. Thistle would love to have our support and for what it is worth i would rather play your team than the 'MANKY MOB FAE MARYHILL'
Stainrod's Fedora
QUOTE (Fast_Action @ Oct 6 2008, 08:30) *
Amazing the arrogance of some of the Dundee fans on this thread. What is a proper football club? Some of us might have cause to argue that Queens are more of a real football club than Dundee will ever be.

FCUnited
id actually believe this if this was brought up at the end of this season and queens had not won the league.

facts are that dundee are a bigger club than us there can be no denying that, but they are a club that has been on the downward spiral for some time now where as queens are now on the up, chisholm has built a squad he believes in he has the full backing of the board and the full backing of the fans, he brought in 2 players (Arbuckle and simmons) who werent exactly highly rated by there former fans and queens fans trusted him and backed him 100% and these players have turned out pretty decent although simmons hasnt been with us too long. i think at queens chisholm has the full backing of the board to run the team at his own free will and at dundee i dont think he'd have that! im under no illusions that if a spl club came along he would probably be tempted away but i think we can be confident enough to say that chis will not be at dundee this season and the fact he has just signed a new contract on the basis he is extremely happy at queens suggests hes going nowhere at the moment!

also i doubt dundee will pay dodds more money that the bbc are to be an assistant manager!
Stainrod's Fedora
It now looks unlikely that Bennet will take control, so this is all hypothetical.
qos_75
QUOTE (Stainrod's Fedora @ Oct 6 2008, 09:52) *
It now looks unlikely that Bennet will take control, so this is all hypothetical.

Surely it was hypothetical even if he did take over?

Nizzy
QUOTE (darkblue1893 @ Oct 6 2008, 09:14) *
Thistle would love to have our support

Having read the contributions made by your fans on this very site, I can categorically state that's a load of nonsense.
Stainrod's Fedora
QUOTE (qos_75 @ Oct 6 2008, 09:57) *
Surely it was hypothetical even if he did take over?

Probably. In any case, I don't see how Chisholm becoming manager would solve our short term problems. Given the mess he made at United, it could be argued he would do even more damage.
alberto
QUOTE (qos_75 @ Oct 6 2008, 08:15) *
A couple of questions here Alberto. What are the chances of Bennett joining Dundee in the near future? And does he have the cash to solve the club's financial plight?

i know that he's done the deal and wants to take over and run a football club himself,it's always been his dream too,but he knows it will take over his life and use up alot of his hard earned cash!!!!! so apparently he's still undecided if he wants to take the gamble. He has withdrawn a huge amount of dosh from United and is willing to put it straight into Dens,which Eddie Thompson is furious about laugh.gif . His friendship with Chis goes way back and seemingly he has always said that if he ever bought a club Chissy would be his man !!!!! and word is that GC is willing to jump ship.
Financial wise Bennett has alot of cash, but is he willing to lump it all into Dens ....i'd doubt it.

Personally i would like to see Chisholm back at Dens as i think he's a decent manager but i would rather this was done sooner than later...also if this does happen i would have every sympathy for Queens fans as this would be a real kick in the teeth as they have every right to believe their team is as big/better a club than as us in the present climate as proven by their recent record !!!!

Muggy
QUOTE (alberto @ Oct 6 2008, 10:23) *
i know that he's done the deal and wants to take over and run a football club himself,it's always been his dream too,but he knows it will take over his life and use up alot of his hard earned cash!!!!! so apparently he's still undecided if he wants to take the gamble. He has withdrawn a huge amount of dosh from United and is willing to put it straight into Dens,which Eddie Thompson is furious about laugh.gif . His friendship with Chis goes way back and seemingly he has always said that if he ever bought a club Chissy would be his man !!!!! and word is that GC is willing to jump ship.
Financial wise Bennett has alot of cash, but is he willing to lump it all into Dens ....i'd doubt it.

Personally i would like to see Chisholm back at Dens as i think he's a decent manager but i would rather this was done sooner than later...also if this does happen i would have every sympathy for Queens fans as this would be a real kick in the teeth as they have every right to believe their team is as big/better a club than as us in the present climate as proven by their recent record !!!!

It seems this scenario is more likely than people think. Davie Farell pleading in a national newspaper for Alex Rae to be allowed to continue as manager of Dundee FC. It is also said that, John Bennet will take over in the next few days. It is ofcourse, the Daily Record, but If I was a Q.O.S. fan, I'd be worried at the moment. It looks, to me, that Gordon Chisolm is on his way to Dens Park. smile.gif

Daily Record
qos_75
QUOTE (Muggy :) @ Oct 6 2008, 11:54) *
It seems this scenario is more likely than people think. Davie Farell pleading in a national newspaper for Alex Rae to be allowed to continue as manager of Dundee FC. It is also said that, John Bennet will take over in the next few days. It is ofcourse, the Daily Record, but If I was a Q.O.S. fan, I'd be worried at the moment. It looks, to me, that Gordon Chisolm is on his way to Dens Park. smile.gif

Daily Record

I would of course expect Queens to look for huge amount of compensation for Chis if this was the case. Perhaps £100K+?

Tapping up is out of order and should be addressed in compensation.
Muggy
QUOTE (qos_75 @ Oct 6 2008, 12:10) *
I would of course expect Queens to look for huge amount of compensation for Chis if this was the case. Perhaps £100K+?

Tapping up is out of order and should be addressed in compensation.

How long is Chis contracted to Queens?
qos_75
QUOTE (Muggy :) @ Oct 6 2008, 12:16) *
How long is Chis contracted to Queens?

Until May 2010.
qos_75
Anyway, who will Dundee go for when they are told to beat it by Chis and Queens?
Muggy
QUOTE (qos_75 @ Oct 6 2008, 12:27) *
Until May 2010.

Ok, so your compensation price will most likely be as you quoted, but do you think, Queens chairman would hold Chisolm back and demand a ludicrous compensation fee, if that's what Chisolm wanted?

I think the lure of Dundee FC would be too much for Chisolm to resist, and the fact he knows he will be able to strengthen the squad a bit, aswell as working with a chairman of whom he has a great relationship.

The fact this news is all materialising during the International break, suggests to me that this is no coincidence and a takeover is very much imminent, with a further aim of bringing Gordon Chisolm to Dens Park, in time for Dundee's home game against Ross County, on Saturday week.
Muggy
QUOTE (qos_75 @ Oct 6 2008, 12:28) *
Anyway, who will Dundee go for when they are told to beat it by Chis and Queens?

I think you are hoping, more than expecting Chisolm to tell us to "beat it". Queens will tell us where to go, no doubt, but I think Chisolm wouldn't be able to resist a move to his former club, for the reasons mentioned in my previous post.
WendyWho?
Pie in the sky.
Muggy
QUOTE (WendyWho? @ Oct 6 2008, 12:47) *
Pie in the sky.

In that case, you'll be surprised.
KingfaetheSooth
QUOTE (Stainrod's Fedora @ Oct 6 2008, 01:06) *
Not by my criteria....

QUOTE (Muggy :) @ Oct 6 2008, 01:08) *
Nor mine...

;)

What criteria might that be then? rolleyes.gif

QUOTE (darkblue1893 @ Oct 6 2008, 08:47) *
There is a certain arrogance amongst some of our fans that think we have a devine right to be back in the ess pee hell (we don't). We have frankly not been good enough neither in the three previous seasons or this season up until now. Having the biggest attendances and carrying a larger than most teams do travelling support gaurantees you feck all. Getting your fecking fingers out and starting to actually score goals will help
DARK BLUE PROMOTION PUSH 2008-2009

Quite a few of them on this thread too. ;)

QUOTE (Muggy :) @ Oct 6 2008, 12:32) *
Ok, so your compensation price will most likely be as you quoted, but do you think, Queens chairman would hold Chisolm back and demand a ludicrous compensation fee, if that's what Chisolm wanted?

I think the lure of Dundee FC would be too much for Chisolm to resist, and the fact he knows he will be able to strengthen the squad a bit, aswell as working with a chairman of whom he has a great relationship.

The fact this news is all materialising during the International break, suggests to me that this is no coincidence and a takeover is very much imminent, with a further aim of bringing Gordon Chisolm to Dens Park, in time for Dundee's home game against Ross County, on Saturday week.

The Queen's Board would do whatever was in the interests of Queen of the South. If Gordon Chisholm wanted to join Dundee they'd need to pay the right level of compensation. ;)

Who knows if Gordon Chisholm would want to join Dundee if the takeover happens. Friendships tend to fickle in football...and their is no certainty that Dundee after any takeover will be a much-improved proposition for him. Chisholm would want his own players and it would take time to mould his squad as he has at Queens. The Board at Queens also lets Chisholm have a pretty free hand in how he runs the team and allow him to drive decisions like where the team train. It's unlikely he'd get such freedom at Dundee.
qos_75
QUOTE (Muggy :) @ Oct 6 2008, 12:32) *

I think he already has a great relationship with our chairman and arguably Queens require less recruits to strengthen the squad in January. Then of course we have to consider his stock would rise more having a good season at Queens than it would at Dundee. That being the case I am sure there would be no shortage of potential suitors from the SPL.

I am of the believe that Rae will have to look out the shitty stick to fend off clubs trying to take Chis away. Ultimately this will prove futile, however I don't think he should go to the first club that show any interest and I also believe we should get a large fee for his services. Remember we don't want to offload him, so anybody that wants his serivices should be happy to pay through the nose.

Muggy
QUOTE (qos_75 @ Oct 6 2008, 12:59) *
I think he already has a great relationship with our chairman and arguably Queens require less recruits to strengthen the squad in January. Then of course we have to consider his stock would rise more having a good season at Queens than it would at Dundee. That being the case I am sure there would be no shortage of potential suitors from the SPL.

I am of the believe that Rae will have to look out the shitty stick to fend off clubs trying to take Chis away. Ultimately this will prove futile, however I don't think he should go to the first club that show any interest and I also believe we should get a large fee for his services. Remember we don't want to offload him, so anybody that wants his serivices should be happy to pay through the nose.

If he achieved promtion with Dundee this season, then I'd say his stock would rise just as much, if not more.
WendyWho?
QUOTE (Muggy :) @ Oct 6 2008, 12:48) *
In that case, you'll be surprised.

Truth be told, Messrs MacKinnon and Brannan have made an absolute mug of Mr Rae over the last wee while and it's surprising he hasn't told them to stuff it yet.

There's no doubt that Rae's a marked man at Dens and changes are imminent. There's a fair bit of animosity behind the scenes and Rae's on-record comment that he'd been told there was "no money" was simply his way of publicly putting the boot in. It'll all be over soon one way or the other.

The Bennett deal's still not confirmed, but if it does go through then he's going to have to plunge a hell of a lot of money into the club even without splashing out a six-figure sum for Chisholm. That's the bit that's pie in the sky.

Chisholm? Bollocks!
QosLoyal
QUOTE (Stainrod's Fedora @ Oct 6 2008, 08:24) *

whats your definition of a real football club?
Dublinjag
QUOTE (darkblue1893 @ Oct 6 2008, 09:14) *
I was not just saying we are largest supported club because i support them. We do. Thistle would love to have our support and for what it is worth i would rather play your team than the 'MANKY MOB FAE MARYHILL'

It is strongly reputed Thistle have upwards of 20,000 armchair fans in and around Glasgow who come out of the woodwork in varying numbers from time to time (12,000 plus at Hampden for cup semi v the Huns a few years ago) -- yet we only attract 2,500/3,000 (including away fans!) to home games these days.     That's why we're the Mediocres -- always at our best ...  

Potential investors please note ...      
Juan Sara
Did Bennett not say he wanted Billy Dodds as Dundee manager if he took over?
clyde til we die
QUOTE (Dublinjag @ Oct 6 2008, 13:54) *
It is strongly reputed Thistle have upwards of 20,000 armchair fans in and around Glasgow who come out of the woodwork in varying numbers from time to time (12,000 plus at Hampden for cup semi v the Huns a few years ago) -- yet we only attract 2,500/3,000 (including away fans!) to home games these days.     That's why we're the Mediocres -- always at our best ...  

Potential investors please note ...      

Aye right laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

And every taxi driver in Glasgow used to support the Clyde laugh.gif
FCUnited
QUOTE (Muggy :) @ Oct 6 2008, 12:34) *
I think you are hoping, more than expecting Chisolm to tell us to "beat it". Queens will tell us where to go, no doubt, but I think Chisolm wouldn't be able to resist a move to his former club, for the reasons mentioned in my previous post.

even if chisholm wants to go (which i know for a fact he doesnt) if our club doesnt get a sufficiant compensation package then he wont be going anywhere he has just signed a new contract, what is he actually going to do if davie rae doesnt let him go?
palmy_cammy

That is all.
qos_75
Out of interest did we get anything for McCall or was he sacked? I thought he had been tapped up, although in fairness I think it was him tapping Partick to advise of his interest.
Mr X
QUOTE (qos_75 @ Oct 6 2008, 15:03) *
Out of interest did we get anything for McCall or was he sacked? I thought he had been tapped up, although in fairness I think it was him tapping Partick to advise of his interest.

Who cares, we got rid of the little waster. I'd be more than happy if we'd had to pay for that privelige!
FCUnited
QUOTE (qos_75 @ Oct 6 2008, 14:03) *

ian mccall was sacked.
jimmydfc1893
QUOTE (FCUnited @ Oct 6 2008, 14:29) *
even if chisholm wants to go (which i know for a fact he doesnt) if our club doesnt get a sufficiant compensation package then he wont be going anywhere he has just signed a new contract, what is he actually going to do if davie rae doesnt let him go?

resign simple as that. then let a compensation board decide what dundee will pay.
MB
QUOTE (FCUnited @ Oct 6 2008, 15:44) *
ian mccall was sacked.

I think it's very important we never forget that. McCall may tell a different story, but he was indeed sacked. For that, I will remain eternally grateful to Davie Rae.
palmy_cammy
QUOTE (MB @ Oct 6 2008, 16:02) *
I think it's very important we never forget that. McCall may tell a different story, but he was indeed sacked. For that, I will remain eternally grateful to Davie Rae.

Don't be silly. He took the huff because we weren't ambitious enough. rolleyes.gif
wearealldoomed
QUOTE (jimmydfc1893 @ Oct 6 2008, 15:53) *
resign simple as that. then let a compensation board decide what dundee will pay.

Davie Rae doesn't have to accept any resignation, you eejit.

Dundee fans' wind up efforts are invariably holed below the waterline owing to most Dundee P&Bers being teenagers with a combined IQ of around 6.
Mr X
QUOTE (jimmydfc1893 @ Oct 6 2008, 15:53) *

Yes very simple. The you can wait untill February for him to start while we hold him to his notice period and put him on 'garden leave' rolleyes.gif
dee4life
QUOTE (FCUnited @ Oct 6 2008, 14:29) *

I have been told chisolm would accept the dundee job and you state different,my source is a friend of chis who played with him at dens and who talks to him regularly.It is totally dependant on the takeover of course.Of course compensation would need to be paid but nowhere near the quoted 100k.
Man with the dancing feet
Seems as if the Bennett deal could be finalised by Wednesday.

Rumour was that he would only invest if he got to bring in his own man

That is all wink.gif
jimmydfc1893
QUOTE (Mr X @ Oct 6 2008, 16:10) *
Yes very simple. The you can wait untill February for him to start while we hold him to his notice period and put him on 'garden leave' rolleyes.gif

Do you actually know of any clauses that may be added in his contract.
Mr X
QUOTE (jimmydfc1893 @ Oct 6 2008, 16:23) *
Do you actually know of any clauses that may be added in his contract.

No, of course not. But clauses in the contract have nothing to do with him resigning.

However, that doesnt stop me from knowing that there will be some sort of notice period in it. Its also a reasonable assumption that it will be of a reasonable length. No business would give a key employee a contract with a notice period of a week or a month. Clauses or not, we would be well within our rights to hold him to any notice period in the contract. Obviously he wouldnt be able to actually manage the team, but then he wouldnt be able to be employed by Dundee either. Its a no-win situation all round which is why no one ever finds themselves in it.
qos_75
QUOTE (dee4life @ Oct 6 2008, 16:17) *
I have been told chisolm would accept the dundee job and you state different,my source is a friend of chis who played with him at dens and who talks to him regularly.It is totally dependant on the takeover of course.Of course compensation would need to be paid but nowhere near the quoted 100k.

Name him then.

Why not?
jimmydfc1893
QUOTE (qos_75 @ Oct 6 2008, 16:36) *
Name him then.

Why not?

he might be referring to stevie campbell. coach at tannadice played alongside and was good friends with chisholm.
The ghost of Jim Morton
I can confidently confirm the Gordon Chisholm will be the next Manager of Aberdeen F.C.
Tango man will be appointed at Dens and the new QoS manager will be Billy Dodds.

Meanwhile Davie Irons will get the bullet from Morton and will be replaced by Rowan (Mad as a Hatter ) Alexander who will turn around their fortunes and secure an 8th place finish.
Mr X
QUOTE (Mr X @ Oct 6 2008, 16:07) *
I can absolutely guarantee that Chisholm will go to Dundee, Davie Irons will come to Queens, McCall will go to Morton and Alex Rae to Thistle. Leaving no-one happy laugh.gif

QUOTE (The ghost of Jim Morton @ Oct 6 2008, 16:48) *
I can confidently confirm the Gordon Chisholm will be the next Manager of Aberdeen F.C.
Tango man will be appointed at Dens and the new QoS manager will be Billy Dodds.

Meanwhile Davie Irons will get the bullet from Morton and will be replaced by Rowan (Mad as a Hatter ) Alexander who will turn around their fortunes and secure an 8th place finish.

Nice try, but mine was better wink.gif
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (Mr X @ Oct 6 2008, 16:50) *
Nice try, but mine was better wink.gif

Yes, Yes yours was...

But I was serious. wink.gif Just you wait n see
Mr X
QUOTE (The ghost of Jim Morton @ Oct 6 2008, 16:53) *
Yes, Yes yours was...

But I was serious. wink.gif Just you wait n see

I wasnt serious wink.gif
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (Mr X @ Oct 6 2008, 16:55) *

I wasnt serious wink.gif

I know wink.gif
Web
The pair of you are very special.
VitalDees
Was told the deal was back on today and it nearly done but there won't be a press conference until the end of the week or beginning of next week.
Juan Sara
QUOTE (VitalDees @ Oct 6 2008, 17:16) *
Was told the deal was back on today and it nearly done but there won't be a press conference until the end of the week or beginning of next week.

The Bennett deal? And whats your source?
qos_75
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Oct 6 2008, 17:23) *
The Bennett deal? And whats your source?

A bloke at work.