Full Version: Chisholm To Be Dundee Boss Before Ross County Match
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4
peteqos
QUOTE (The ghost of Jim Morton @ Oct 6 2008, 16:48) *
I can confidently confirm the Gordon Chisholm will be the next Manager of Aberdeen F.C.
Tango man will be appointed at Dens and the new QoS manager will be Billy Dodds.

Meanwhile Davie Irons will get the bullet from Morton and will be replaced by Rowan (Mad as a Hatter ) Alexander who will turn around their fortunes and secure an 8th place finish.

I've heard that Spurs are after Chis! ph34r.gif whistling.gif
EastFootball
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Oct 6 2008, 17:23) *
The Bennett deal? And whats your source?

He doesn't have one.

Last week, the deal was dead. But conveniently, a "source" has told him it's now back on...and it just so happens there's something in tonight's Tully about it.
Juan Sara
QUOTE (EastFootball @ Oct 6 2008, 17:48) *
He doesn't have one.

Last week, the deal was dead. But conveniently, a "source" has told him it's now back on...and it just so happens there's something in tonight's Tully about it.

His source was DundeeMad, I seen it on there just after I posted that comment.
qos_75
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Oct 6 2008, 18:11) *

Which also states Dobbie will sign in January. laugh.gif
Juan Sara
QUOTE (qos_75 @ Oct 6 2008, 18:22) *

Some of the stuff on Dundee mad is usually genuine but you usually do get the odd bit of tripe on it.
The Pole
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Oct 6 2008, 18:11) *

Give the guy a break...I've read morganboys comments on mad too and for the record he's usually spot on,I've also heard the bennett deal is near completion from a seperate source.Anyway heres hoping,Chis in,Dodds in(coach the misfiring strikers!!) and who knows maybe a certain mr dobbie might sign in jan,(you never know),way I look at it we're due some good fortune,it starts wi telling Rae to get tae phuck..... wink.gif cool.gif oh and he can take darren 'i've broke a nail' young wi him...
Fife Saint
Asset stripping would normally require assets would it not?
Ade Eyemond
To all the knowalls banging on about "not accepting resignations" and "holding Chisholm to the contract / notice period" and all that - this is one of those situations where football is very atypical to most other forms of employment.

As has been proven many times previously - Brian Little at Leicester for instance - If Gordon Chisholm if offered and decides he wants the Dundee job, he will get it, and start it, whenever he decides. All he has to do is walk into Mr Rae's office and tell him "I resign with immediate effect, it is not my intention to work any notice period - goodbye"

He won't even need to add "Whatcha going to do about it ?" As he, and sorry to be the one who breaks the news QoS fans, and Rae will already know the answer is "f*** all".

The two teams boards can argue the toss, spit the dummy and all that and may even come to some sort of financial arrangement, but, ultimately the is nothing QOS can do if Chisholm decides to walk.

Do I think that's fair ? Not really, but it is the way things are.
The Pole
QUOTE (Ade Eyemond @ Oct 6 2008, 19:55) *
To all the knowalls banging on about "not accepting resignations" and "holding Chisholm to the contract / notice period" and all that - this is one of those situations where football is very atypical to most other forms of employment.

As has been proven many times previously - Brian Little at Leicester for instance - If Gordon Chisholm if offered and decides he wants the Dundee job, he will get it, and start it, whenever he decides. All he has to do is walk into Mr Rae's office and tell him "I resign with immediate effect, it is not my intention to work any notice period - goodbye"

He won't even need to add "Whatcha going to do about it ?" As he, and sorry to be the one who breaks the news QoS fans, and Rae will already know the answer is "f*** all".

The two teams boards can argue the toss, spit the dummy and all that and may even come to some sort of financial arrangement, but, ultimately the is nothing QOS can do if Chisholm decides to walk.

Do I think that's fair ? Not really, but it is the way things are.

Yep,your spot on son,think there's going to be some seriously upset queens fans this time next week...... tongue.gif
Deeboy
Gordon Chisholm - No thanks.

MORTEN WEIGHORST - The way forward.
Muggy
The takeover is almost as good as completed. All that awaits is, Gordon Chisolm handing in his resignation.
JRS LEFT PEG
QUOTE (Stainrod's Fedora @ Oct 6 2008, 00:50) *
Er... reality check needed here. Dundee or QoS?? Despite our well publicised financial problems, Chisholm would jump at the chance of managing a proper football club. Not that we particularly want him.
We have far better fans,far better players and a chairman of the standard ,Dundee have not got.Oh ,and it is a nicer part of the country down here.He would have to be mad to go.
The Arch
Skyline Drifter's not been on yet to denounce this as bullshit, so I'd imagine there could be a grain of truth in this one.
Nizzy
QUOTE (JRS LEFT PEG @ Oct 6 2008, 20:08) *
We have far better fans,far better players and a chairman of the standard ,Dundee have not got.Oh ,and it is a nicer part of the country down here.He would have to be mad to go.

Maybe Chis is sick of all the huns masquerading as home supporters and is heading to Dundee to, erm, ah, wait...
Toby Fair
QUOTE (The Pole @ Oct 6 2008, 20:01) *
Yep,your spot on son,think there's going to be some seriously upset queens fans this time next week...... tongue.gif

Nope, quite relaxed about this story, whether nonsense or otherwise.
My mood this time next week is likely to reflect the fact that I'll be on holiday and may be affected by how Scotland have performed.
Boardroom events at Dundee won't upset this Queens fan - I promise.
Yellow Army Faithful
QUOTE (da_no_1 @ Oct 5 2008, 20:00) *
it was the same for us went Tango Man went to Aberdeen, we had finished 4th, qualified for Europe & got to the Cup Final. we tried to convince ourselves he would stay with the lure of EUrope etc but the lure of the "bigger club" in Aberdeen proved too strong, plus the feeling that he couldnt take us any further.

That was like us With coyle, We sat there and said he wouldn't risk the move, We love him and the players back him, Then he left before the cup final, Now Mcinnes is starting to (Maybe) show his managerial credentials
Muggy
QUOTE (The Arch @ Oct 6 2008, 20:09) *
Skyline Drifter's not been on yet to denounce this as bullshit, so I'd imagine there could be a grain of truth in this one.

Nor has Super Tommy been on to deny any of these revelations, and with him being an employee of Dundee FC, you would think he would have. It all adds up.
Muggy
QUOTE (JRS LEFT PEG @ Oct 6 2008, 20:08) *
(1) We have far better fans, (2) far better players and a chairman of the standard ,Dundee have not got.Oh ,and it is a nicer part of the country down here.He would have to be mad to go.

(1) Better behaved, yes.

(2) No, far better team.
Exuberant
QUOTE (Muggy :) @ Oct 6 2008, 20:26) *
Nor has Super Tommy been on to deny any of these revelations, and with him being an employee of Dundee FC, you would think he would have. It all adds up.

It would be improper for him to say anything regarding a potential take-over of which he is, presumably not being given detailed information. Unless he was a Board Member, he wouldn't know much about it, and if he was a board member, he wouldn't say anthing about it because of his position!
veteran

Why would Dundee want to sign Dobbie when they have the greatest strike partnership , Curier and McMenamin'
Well they were at the start of the season , according to reports emanating from Dundee fans.

Come to think about it , they also had the top manager last season.Has that changed as well?
QosLoyal
dundee fans are so fucking delusional. dobbie to dundee in january laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
The Pole
QUOTE (QosLoyal @ Oct 6 2008, 21:41) *
dundee fans are so fucking delusional. dobbie to dundee in january laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Roll on january!!!! And next week for your gaffer!!! tongue.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif cool.gif
Muggy
QUOTE (Exuberant @ Oct 6 2008, 20:53) *
It would be improper for him to say anything regarding a potential take-over of which he is, presumably not being given detailed information. Unless he was a Board Member, he wouldn't know much about it, and if he was a board member, he wouldn't say anthing about it because of his position!

Super Tommy knows the insides of all going on's at Dens Park, no doubt about it. cool.gif
The Pole
QUOTE (Muggy :) @ Oct 6 2008, 22:25) *
Super Tommy knows the insides of all going on's at Dens Park, no doubt about it. cool.gif

Yes he does,can't wait till a press conference is called........ cool.gif
Fife Saint
I like Supertommy. He makes me warm and fuzzy inside.
torpedo

and there taking oor big floodlights tae laugh.gif
Queensthroughandthrough
QUOTE (The Arch @ Oct 6 2008, 19:09) *

Haven't yous all noticed that the Skyline Drifter is in the huff?

He is not very popular among the Queens fans and people are now calling him Cloughie ohmy.gif

I like you though Euan biggrin.gif
The Pole
QUOTE (torpedo @ Oct 6 2008, 22:36) *
and there taking oor big floodlights tae laugh.gif

No,got floodlights huh.gif ,dobbie will do,might have that big donkey he carries,o'conner is that right?
19QOS19
QUOTE (The Pole @ Oct 6 2008, 22:40) *
No,got floodlights huh.gif ,dobbie will do,might have that big donkey he carries,o'conner is that right?

Why do you need another one? You have Curier. blink.gif
The Pole
QUOTE (19QOS19 @ Oct 6 2008, 22:45) *
Why do you need another one? You have Curier. blink.gif

Good point rolleyes.gif ,dobbie would do,stick him wi davidson or mcmenamin when fit,mind you Mac might come good yet,with a decent gaffer,chis got o'conner doin the biz eh? wink.gif
QosLoyal
o connor would WALK into dundees team. the only decent player they have is eric paton.
19QOS19
QUOTE (The Pole @ Oct 6 2008, 22:50) *
Good point rolleyes.gif ,dobbie would do,stick him wi davidson or mcmenamin when fit,mind you Mac might come good yet,with a decent gaffer,chis got o'conner doin the biz eh? wink.gif

No. O'Connor's always been good. smile.gif
Exuberant
QUOTE (QosLoyal @ Oct 6 2008, 22:56) *
o connor would WALK into dundees team. the only decent player they have is eric paton.

Can we have him please? sad.gif
QosLoyal
no smile.gif
The Pole
QUOTE (QosLoyal @ Oct 6 2008, 22:59) *
no smile.gif

Does he not come wi dobbie,buy one get one free,said buy one,get one free!!! laugh.gif
Dr Koop
QUOTE (Muggy :) @ Oct 6 2008, 20:06) *
The takeover is almost as good as completed. All that awaits is, Gordon Chisolm handing in his resignation.

Bennett will not be taking Dundee over. He's pulled the deal.
The Arch
QUOTE (Queensthroughandthrough @ Oct 6 2008, 22:38) *

He is not very popular among the Queens fans and people are now calling him Cloughie ohmy.gif

Why have people fallen out with him?

My names not Euan.
JRS LEFT PEG
QUOTE (Muggy :) @ Oct 6 2008, 20:29) *
(1) Better behaved, yes.

(2) No, far better team.
1. Just as passionate and better behaved = better 2.I was right the first time,better players and better team
qos_75
QUOTE (The Pole @ Oct 6 2008, 22:29) *
Yes he does,can't wait till a press conference is called........ cool.gif

And here is the news. There is no news today. biggrin.gif
Skyline Drifter
QUOTE (Queensthroughandthrough @ Oct 6 2008, 22:38) *

Bollocks.

I'm consciously posting less but I'm not in the huff. Some halfwits have been calling me 'Cloughie' for years. It's neither new nor especially annoying as Clough was in fact a genius. biggrin.gif

And it's Ewan.
JRS LEFT PEG
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Oct 7 2008, 08:59) *
Bollocks.

I'm consciously posting less but I'm not in the huff. Some halfwits have been calling me 'Cloughie' for years. It's neither new nor especially annoying as Clough was in fact a genius. biggrin.gif

And it's Ewan.
Why are you posting less ,if you dont mind me asking?
KingfaetheSooth
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Oct 7 2008, 08:59) *
Bollocks.

And it's Ewan.

Ewan, if you haven't read it, read The Damned Utd, an absolutely superb fiction account of Clough's 44 days at Leeds United.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Damned-Utd-David-Peace/dp/0571224261

Stuart Cash the assistant manager at AFC Wimbledon played under Clough and told me recently a story that sums up the man. He was scouting at Burton Albion with Terry Brown a few years ago for Aldershot and a quite ill Clough Senior was in the crowd as his son was manager. At half-time Terry Brown persuaded Cash to go over and say hello to Clough as he wanted to be introduced to him. Cash went up to Clough and said "good evening Mr Clough, you may not remember me but I'm Stuart Cash and I played left back for you at Nottingham Forest." Clough, quick as a flash said, "oh yes Cash, I remember you...you were the worst left back I ever signed!" laugh.gif

Anyway, as someone who doesn't get up to many games, I must say I miss your analysis and comments on the Queens games. I don't know why you're not posting on the game threads so much...but your posts on the match threads were always fair, thorough and interesting.
Muggy
QUOTE (JRS LEFT PEG @ Oct 7 2008, 08:48) *
1. Just as passionate = better 2.I was right the first time,better players and better team

1. That's a lot of shite.

2. You seem to be conducting a comparative analysis after the first quarter of the league, not a sensible thing to do. 6 points behind with 3/4 of the season to go. I'm not worried. wink.gif
Mak QOSFC
laugh.gif .
Adamski
QUOTE (Muggy :) @ Oct 7 2008, 11:44) *
6 points behind with 3/4 of the season to go. I'm not worried. ;)

Is this the side that have scored less goals in the entire league season than we did in our last game? Neither am I.
JRS LEFT PEG
QUOTE (Muggy :) @ Oct 7 2008, 11:44) *
1. That's a lot of shite.

2. You seem to be conducting a comparative analysis after the first quarter of the league, not a sensible thing to do. 6 points behind with 3/4 of the season to go. I'm not worried. ;)
Why did you edit the first point made.Just as passionate and better behaved ,I said.What part of that do you not agree with.
Muggy
QUOTE (JRS LEFT PEG @ Oct 7 2008, 12:35) *
Why did you edit the first point made.Just as passionate and better behaved ,I said.What part of that do you not agree with.

All of it, apart from Queens being the better team, which they are, at the moment.
Muggy
QUOTE (Adamski @ Oct 7 2008, 12:20) *
Is this the side that have scored less goals in the entire league season than we did in our last game? Neither am I.

Queens have had a lot of home fixtures recently, which have aided them to first place. There's no denying, Queens are an excellent side, but we'll see their true resolve in the next few months.

...and, I wouldn't write us off yet!

Queens are everyone's wee team, and it will always be like that. Not a real football club... cool.gif
qos_75
QUOTE (Muggy :) @ Oct 7 2008, 13:57) *
I wouldn't write us off yet!

Not a real football club... cool.gif

biggrin.gif laugh.gif
Muggy
QUOTE (qos_75 @ Oct 7 2008, 14:00) *
biggrin.gif laugh.gif

A real football club are not everyone's "wee team"!