Full Version: Chisholm To Be Dundee Boss Before Ross County Match
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4
Kazanski
Gordon Chisholm will be the new manager of Dundee before their next match against Ross County. Billy Dodds will be his assistant and it is on that condition that Bennett will invest in the club.

PS, Trialist yesterday was Steven Notman, ex-Hibs.
QosLoyal
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif
Juan Sara
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Aye and his first signing will be Stephen Dobbie.
Only 1 Mad Martin
jerry.gif
be interesting if that happened as i though dundee were skint and can they afford to pay Rae off and give QOS compensation

if it does happen though there will be a lot of unhappy QOS fans crying.gif and they will want to completely nail Dundees promotion hopes the next time they play if this proposed move goes ahead AR15firing.gif
or am i talking a whole load of shite, please tell me oops.gif
SuperTommy
QUOTE (Kazanski @ Oct 5 2008, 17:15) *

No it wasn't. Which to me suggest this...

Gordon Chisholm will be the new manager of Dundee before their next match against Ross County. Billy Dodds will be his assistant and it is on that condition that Bennett will invest in the club.

is pish aswell.

Juan Sara
Who was he Tommy?
SuperTommy
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Oct 5 2008, 17:49) *
Who was he Tommy?

Can't say mate.

I have to stick with the line that davidy gave on Dundee-Mad

"I know who it was although I wasn't told by the club and I don't know if they would be happy with me naming him so I won't"

It wasn't anyone who has been mentioned by anyone though.
The ghost of Jim Morton

I cannae believe that Chis would be stupid enough to move to Dundee, especially as Queens are going so well and the Dees have so many injuries that their title asperations may well be fucked before they get their best players back.But then again nothing surprises me in football so....??

From a Saints point of view I would be delighted if it was to happen.
robqosfc
What a silly move that would be! At this moment it would be a step down. Chis has guided the team to scottish cup glory, europe and now top of the league. he'll want to see the job through!

qos_75

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

The comedy hour is in full swing I see.
larchfield boy
dundee do not have the money, billy dodds is more than happy doing his punditry, why dont you go and ask jobbie mccall he usually likes to jump ship at ne givin chance.
EastFootball
I must admit, I have heard something similar...
Toby Fair
QUOTE (robqosfc @ Oct 5 2008, 18:44) *
What a silly move that would be! At this moment it would be a step down. Chis has guided the team to scottish cup glory, europe and now top of the league. he'll want to see the job through!

Not sure about that. The lure of a bigger club with aspirations towards being a fixture in the top flight, is often too much for a manager to resist, even if his current employer happens to be in the ascendancy at the time.
Even if it were to happen, and I'm far from convinced by this latest rumour, I think we could cope. That may seem strange given that an argument could be constructed to cite Chisholm as the most successful boss in our history.
Where he's excelled is in identifying the players he's wanted to bring in, ably supported by the board. However, there's been enough baffling selections and formations to suggest he's not irreplaceable in the fans' affections.
I'd much rather he stayed, but the future without him wouldn't necessarily look too gloomy.
da_no_1
unfortunately for queens, dundee are always going to be the "bigger" club. no matter where the teams currently sit in the league.

it was the same for us went Tango Man went to Aberdeen, we had finished 4th, qualified for Europe & got to the Cup Final. we tried to convince ourselves he would stay with the lure of EUrope etc but the lure of the "bigger club" in Aberdeen proved too strong, plus the feeling that he couldnt take us any further.

for the sheer novelty of seeing Queens in the SPL I hoep this doesnt happen, but I fear it may end up being reality.

QosLoyal
QUOTE (EastFootball @ Oct 5 2008, 19:47) *

you lot are going to end up with egg on your faces laugh.gif laugh.gif
Mon The Clyde
Clyde will win the league
veteran
QUOTE (EastFootball @ Oct 5 2008, 19:47) *

No doubt the sound of a flushing toilet!
EastFootball
QUOTE (QosLoyal @ Oct 5 2008, 20:10) *
you lot are going to end up with egg on your faces laugh.gif laugh.gif

huh.gif

I didn't say what I'd heard was true. I just said I'd heard similar.

It could well be the same person spreading pish. On the other hand, it could be someone who is a close friend of Chisholm...we don't know. And the way things are looking, we may never know (i.e. Bennett probably isn't going to invest).
19QOS19
This one has been floating around for a while now.

If they wanted to could Dundee afford to pay off Rae and pay the compensation required for Chisholm? I don't know if they would have to pay compensation for Dodds as I'm not sure what sort of contract he is on.

Can't see it happening TBH, it would be the wrong move for Chis as well.
dee4life
QUOTE (19QOS19 @ Oct 5 2008, 21:16) *
This one has been floating around for a while now.

If they wanted to could Dundee afford to pay off Rae and pay the compensation required for Chisholm? I don't know if they would have to pay compensation for Dodds as I'm not sure what sort of contract he is on.

Can't see it happening TBH, it would be the wrong move for Chis as well.

At the moment we are skint,if bennett takes over he will want his own boss in and the target is chisolm and would obviously know he would have to pay some comp to get him.From what I have heard he would be keen on a return to dens.It really depends on the takeover happening we should know more soon.Queens are doing better at the moment but if a bigger club comes calling players/managers usually move.
Doink
What manager of sane mind would leave QOS after the year they have had to join Dundee. QOS are a far better club from the BOD to the fans and players.
19QOS19
QUOTE (dee4life @ Oct 5 2008, 21:29) *
At the moment we are skint,if bennett takes over he will want his own boss in and the target is chisolm and would obviously know he would have to pay some comp to get him.From what I have heard he would be keen on a return to dens.It really depends on the takeover happening we should know more soon.Queens are doing better at the moment but if a bigger club comes calling players/managers usually move.

Thanks for the info.

QoS are doing better just now but it would be a brave man to claim in the long term QoS will be better off. I think at this time it would be wrong for Chis to move (career wise) as he is doing really well with QoS. If he did move and Dundee continued to under achieve and he was sacked then he would probably disappear off the face of the earth. Chis should have a talk with Connolly and I'm sure he'd stay put! smile.gif .

I don't know how I'd feel if he left. He is doing really well and has helped us to the most successful period in our history, but he isn't irreplaceable.
Juan Sara
QUOTE (larchfield boy @ Oct 5 2008, 19:40) *
dundee do not have the money, billy dodds is more than happy doing his punditry, why dont you go and ask jobbie mccall he usually likes to jump ship at ne givin chance.

If McCall was appointed Dundee manager I wouldn't go back.
Queensthroughandthrough
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Oct 5 2008, 22:00) *
If McCall was appointed Dundee manager I wouldn't go back.

If Chisholm leaves Queens, it most certainly wont be with Dundee FC. They have no decent players and are flat broke and with no real sign of any real investment coming in to the club.

If a shyte manager like Owen Coyle can get a job with a top English Championship side, then Chisholm should place his ambitions at least on a level par with him.

Take Queens to the SPL and you will get almost any job in the country Chris.
BIGdavieT
QUOTE (Queensthroughandthrough @ Oct 5 2008, 22:12) *

Agree with that. With the current squad at palmerston Chis' work will be done if/when we win the first division. Of course, if the club has the facilities in place then surely he would want to have a crack with queens in the spl. I dont realistically think we can aim for any higher and if he wanted to move on after that then so be it, and I think that would be the most sensible option for him careerwise.

Dee-funked
QUOTE (Queensthroughandthrough @ Oct 5 2008, 21:12) *
If Chisholm leaves Queens, it most certainly wont be with Dundee FC. They have no decent players and are flat broke and with no real sign of any real investment coming in to the club.

If a shyte manager like Owen Coyle can get a job with a top English Championship side, then Chisholm should place his ambitions at least on a level par with him.

Who's Chris?? wink.gif

I know, pedantic p***k. laugh.gif

Back on topic, you say that we have no real sign of any real investment coming in. The whole reason why Chis is being linked with us is because of the chance of some investment coming in in the shape of John Bennett. Apparently he and Chis are close friends from their time at United.
nick007
QUOTE (da_no_1 @ Oct 5 2008, 20:00) *
unfortunately for queens, dundee are always going to be the "bigger" club. no matter where the teams currently sit in the league.

it was the same for us went Tango Man went to Aberdeen, we had finished 4th, qualified for Europe & got to the Cup Final. we tried to convince ourselves he would stay with the lure of EUrope etc but the lure of the "bigger club" in Aberdeen proved too strong, plus the feeling that he couldnt take us any further.

for the sheer novelty of seeing Queens in the SPL I hoep this doesnt happen, but I fear it may end up being reality.

am sorry pal but a cant see how dundee are any bigger than any team in the first division. they play in the same league and get beat just like every1 else. what bout east fife? 1 of the oldest teams in scotland they where top flight 1 time where are they now? dundee 'where' a big team when they where in the spl now they are down and still down!?
Fast_Action
Forgive me if this has been asked already. Why would GC leave a stable club who are flying high in the league, for one that is in freefall, skint due to years of cheating, and whose fans indulge a sectarian legacy?

Would not this be a no-brainer?
Garrowhillclyde
QUOTE (Fast_Action @ Oct 5 2008, 23:53) *
Forgive me if this has been asked already. Why would GC leave a stable club who are flying high in the league, for one that is in freefall, skint due to years of cheating, and whose fans indulge a sectarian legacy?

Would not this be a no-brainer?

No way I'm going to the Dundee Derry Boys. biggrin.gif
Fast_Action
QUOTE (Garrowhillclyde @ Oct 6 2008, 00:03) *
No way I'm going to the Dundee Derry Boys. biggrin.gif

ohmy.gif
Muggy
QUOTE (Fast_Action @ Oct 6 2008, 00:06) *
ohmy.gif

biggrin.gif
Stainrod's Fedora
QUOTE (robqosfc @ Oct 5 2008, 18:44) *
What a silly move that would be! At this moment it would be a step down.

Er... reality check needed here. Dundee or QoS?? Despite our well publicised financial problems, Chisholm would jump at the chance of managing a proper football club. Not that we particularly want him.
Exuberant
QUOTE (Stainrod's Fedora @ Oct 6 2008, 00:50) *
Er... reality check needed here. Dundee or QoS?? Despite our well publicised financial problems, Chisholm would jump at the chance of managing a proper football club. Not that we particularly want him.

Queen of the South are a proper football club...

They are financially sound, own their ground, have a strong team and as good a chance of winning the league as Dundee. Chisholm has it cushty there and would have no good reason to leave for Dundee.
Stainrod's Fedora
QUOTE (Exuberant @ Oct 6 2008, 01:02) *
Queen of the South are a proper football club...

Not by my criteria....
Muggy
QUOTE (Stainrod's Fedora @ Oct 6 2008, 01:06) *
Not by my criteria....

Nor mine...

wink.gif
19QOS19

If what you think if true then at least we can be sure Chis will not be going to Dundee! cool.gif
zupa
QUOTE (dee4life @ Oct 5 2008, 21:29) *

but Levin is under contract ?
zupa
All this speculation would turn a man to drink.
Stainrod's Fedora
QUOTE (19QOS19 @ Oct 6 2008, 01:09) *
If what you think if true then at least we can be sure Chis will not be going to Dundee! cool.gif

In English please?
QosLoyal

1) no he wouldnt.

2) yes you do
parsboi
If Chisholm goes to Dundee, then the Pars will win the league.

He won't though, hence my bet above biggrin.gif
silvery tay
QUOTE (parsboi @ Oct 6 2008, 02:11) *
If Chisholm goes to Dundee, then the Pars will win the league.

He won't though, hence my bet above biggrin.gif

biggrin.gif laugh.gif biggrin.gif laugh.gif biggrin.gif laugh.gif You are very funny
qos_75
If Chisholm was to leave it would be for an SPL club and not an other 1st division club. So look elsewhere Dundee fans.

Have I mentioned Malpas at Swindon?
alberto
IF Bennett takes over Chisholm WILL be the next Dundee boss......that's what Bennett wants. whether Chis wants to or not is the question
qos_75
QUOTE (alberto @ Oct 6 2008, 08:03) *
IF Bennett takes over

A couple of questions here Alberto. What are the chances of Bennett joining Dundee in the near future? And does he have the cash to solve the club's financial plight?
Fast_Action
Amazing the arrogance of some of the Dundee fans on this thread. What is a proper football club? Some of us might have cause to argue that Queens are more of a real football club than Dundee will ever be.
darkblue1893
QUOTE (Fast_Action @ Oct 6 2008, 08:30) *
Amazing the arrogance of some of the Dundee fans on this thread. What is a proper football club? Some of us might have cause to argue that Queens are more of a real football club than Dundee will ever be.

There is a certain arrogance amongst some of our fans that think we have a devine right to be back in the ess pee hell (we don't). We have frankly not been good enough neither in the three previous seasons or this season up until now. Having the biggest attendances and carrying a larger than most teams do travelling support gaurantees you feck all. Getting your fecking fingers out and starting to actually score goals will help
DARK BLUE PROMOTION PUSH 2008-2009
EastFootball
QUOTE (Queensthroughandthrough @ Oct 5 2008, 22:12) *

Good grief...

What part of "ON CONDITION THAT BENNETT WILL INVEST IN THE CLUB" don't you understand?

The intelligence of people from Dumfries is slowly creeping down to the levels found around Ibrox and Parkhead. It started at the end of August and is continuing...
Fast_Action
QUOTE (darkblue1893 @ Oct 6 2008, 08:47) *
There is a certain arrogance amongst some of our fans that think we have a devine right to be back in the ess pee hell (we don't). We have frankly not been good enough neither in the three previous seasons or this season up until now. Having the biggest attendances and carrying a larger than most teams do travelling support gaurantees you feck all. Getting your fecking fingers out and starting to actually score goals will help
DARK BLUE PROMOTION PUSH 2008-2009

An excellent post, and though I might take issue as far as size of support is concerned (I believe that Partick might be bigger, but happy to be proved wrong - not least where they are concerned). The truth is that the league structure sucks, and currently discriminates against teams like Dundee (I am well aware that your club did not vote for this disgrace), and leaves the entire game in Scotland wounded.

I don't buy into what has been said by Dunfermline fans on another thread, that they would rather be a good team in the first than a bad one in the SPL - there is something wrong with their reasoning if they really believe that.

But truth be told, despite your bad run, I doubt if your ability is any better/worse than Kilmarnock, Dundee United et al. It is that they have managed to screw the rest of us by voting in a league structure that makes it very difficult for them to be relegated, and very difficult for you to be promoted.
qos_75
QUOTE (EastFootball @ Oct 6 2008, 08:48) *
Good grief...

What part of "ON CONDITION THAT BENNETT WILL INVEST IN THE CLUB" don't you understand?

The intelligence of people from Dumfries is slowly creeping down to the levels found around Ibrox and Parkhead. It started at the end of August and is continuing...

I don't think intelligence has anything to do with it EF. I think we are speculating on some fan in the pub's wish regarding Chisholm rather than any fact. Rumours have a habit of sprouting legs and I think this is one of them.