Full Version: South Division
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > Junior Football
Southie
Just seen the league table and it looks like it is going to be a tight one this year!
Which is great!
Probably back Haddington to be promoted as the other teams (edinburgh, Dalkeith, Stoneyburn and Broxburn) all seems to have problems.
Stoneyburn are a big surprise this year and I certainly fancy them to be there or there abouts. Dalkeith have too many problems at Kings Park and supposide team selection problems. I hear Hunter has went AWOL and only one Lynes brothe in the team on saturday.
Broxburn are a good side and the left winger is a joy to watch. Think his name is Young. Dont see them dropping points and signing the boy Dickov is a great move.
Edin are much better with a solid goal scorer in Martin, just Paties road seems to be a bit like Kings Park.
Haddington or Broxburn for my money.
jaggywaggy
QUOTE (Southie @ Oct 5 2008, 15:43) *
Dalkeith have too many problems at Kings Park and supposide team selection problems. I hear Hunter has went AWOL and only one Lynes brothe in the team on saturday.

Dunno where you are getting your info - Hunter is injured but was at the game yesterday and Fraser Lynes was on holiday - the two Lynes' this season are cousins. Stewart retired last season.
Sam_Jambo14
What happened to Armadale?
pumphy_man
Still fancy Broxburn myself.Aemadale looked good against us but havent done to we simce then.
GOALS!!
QUOTE (Sam_Jambo14 @ Oct 5 2008, 19:04) *
What happened to Armadale?

If they play like they did yesterday against Edinburgh then they'll be nowhere near!!!

Impressed with Edinburgh tho...Solid and experienced at the back and with pace out wide they will trouble teams
stevm
This division can be won by anyone as we are all capable of beating each other,its a good competitive league, only bad thing is that 14 teams are going for one promotion spot. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Cabbage
I think Edinburgh will surprise many a team this year, big John Martin will score an absolute barrowload in that league.
Southie
Agree about the boy Martin, as long as he stays fit he will score goals all day.

Jaggywaggy - sorry if my views rubbed you the wrong way it wasn't intended, If it helps I was very impressed with your performance against Burnie the other week. Your midfield 4 look like the will be to strong for anyone and I liked your small striker. Although I hear it was a completely different formation and system against the Hi-Hi.

Armadale will be there or there abouts, however when they are not on their game they seem to get really stuffed which I think will cost them. Broxburn and Haddington manage to grind out results when that is the case.

I think it a shame that there is only 1 promotion spot, there should at least be a play off place of some kind introduced.
Kayster
Think it is a tight league, as has been the case over the last few years. Think Borxburn have a good shout this year, but need to stay consistent, and not drop silly points at home as they seem to do every year.

We have taken an away point from Haddington this season, and also beat Armadale 4-1 away as well. Had an off day against dalkeith, but should surprise a few people this year...
Burnie_man
There's not going to be any mugs this year, like Stoneyburn were last season, so it's going to tighten up. There wont be any "easy" points.

1 promotion spot is ludicrous, they should be extending the Premier League to 14 clubs, bottom 3 down but the 4th bottom plays-off with the 3 runners-up in the district leagues.
Kayster
Agreed! Never understood why there is only one promotion spot?!?
tamthebam
Dunbar have three games in hand over the leaders! wink.gif
BIG HONKER
QUOTE (tamthebam @ Oct 6 2008, 11:35) *
Dunbar have three games in hand over the leaders! wink.gif

Yeah great point tam the bam. Dunbar sitting with 1 point from 2 games. Hardly promotion candidates at this stage as you say though 3 games in hand but the likes of Stoneyburn have played 3 won 3 and comfortbaly beaten Haddington. Good win away to Dalkeith and also beaten Harthill after going a goal down.

Where did Dunbar get their solitary point?
th1stleandr0se
QUOTE (Kayster @ Oct 6 2008, 11:07) *
Agreed! Never understood why there is only one promotion spot?!?

The reason is that relegation from the league above is already severe with 3 down out of 12. If you make that 4 (assuming play-off defeat) you have a third of the league relegated. Tell me another league with that percentage of teams relegated. I'm sure if you did get promoted you would want a decent chance to stay there.
heedthebaa
QUOTE (BIG HONKER @ Oct 6 2008, 12:55) *
Where did Dunbar get their solitary point?

2 2 tranent
Millfield Marksman
QUOTE (Burnie_man @ Oct 6 2008, 10:47) *
they should be extending the Premier League to 14 clubs

1 down, 3 up for one season only. Or 4 down, 6 up for a real nail-biter biggrin.gif
Burnie_man
QUOTE (th1stleandr0se @ Oct 6 2008, 15:41) *
The reason is that relegation from the league above is already severe with 3 down out of 12. If you make that 4 (assuming play-off defeat) you have a third of the league relegated. Tell me another league with that percentage of teams relegated. I'm sure if you did get promoted you would want a decent chance to stay there.

That's why you increase the league to 14 clubs.

Having 1 promotion spot for 14/15 clubs hardly encourages competiton.....
local-lad
I agree its a much tighter league this year. I think it is good that the teams in the league that usually struggle stoneyburns livingstons pumpherston etc are preforming better which shows that anyone in this league with a bit of consistancy can do well. I have watch Livingston this season and they did look a bit all over the place at times with a little affority on the pitch they still seemed to have a few good players. which has be rewarded with some good points so well done.
I have seen a couple of pumpherston games as well and they to have the making of a good side considering they lost all there players at the end of last season. the managemnet have done well bringing in new players. I think if they can bring in one or two players a left back, centre half and a striker how can score some goals then they would do well.
Stoneyburn i have not watched but they seem to be flying high which is a good thing as they have struggled in recent years so this is why the league will be much tighter this year.
guinness
what about the team fae the wee county?

no even a mention! crying.gif
Millfield Marksman
QUOTE (guinness @ Oct 7 2008, 13:02) *
what about the team fae the wee county?

no even a mention! crying.gif

I'll mention them. They were 3-1 up at half time at Haddington but lost 4-3 biggrin.gif. I missed the game sad.gif
guinness
QUOTE (Millfield Marksman @ Oct 7 2008, 15:57) *
I'll mention them. They were 3-1 up at half time at Haddington but lost 4-3 biggrin.gif . I missed the game sad.gif

aye i cannae argue wi that! early days yet in the league and scottish though, as long as you don't draw us in the cup i take it you will be happy? laugh.gif
Millfield Marksman
QUOTE (guinness @ Oct 7 2008, 20:33) *
aye i cannae argue wi that! early days yet in the league and scottish though, as long as you don't draw us in the cup i take it you will be happy? laugh.gif

Meaning this in the nicest possible way, it would be good to go further afield. The last few years we've been either drawn away in the Lothians/Clackmannanshire area or had 'new faces' visit us.

And, aye, the South Division season is young yet. I'm just glad we've shaken the League Cup rubble off our boots
guinness
QUOTE (Millfield Marksman @ Oct 8 2008, 13:47) *
Meaning this in the nicest possible way, it would be good to go further afield. The last few years we've been either drawn away in the Lothians/Clackmannanshire area or had 'new faces' visit us.

And, aye, the South Division season is young yet. I'm just glad we've shaken the League Cup rubble off our boots

one of the best parts of the cup is away ties, a wee change as you say, somewhere different as i dinae get out very often laugh.gif laugh.gif
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.