Full Version: Pubs Before The Game
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > Tartan Army Ramblings
Pages: 1, 2
Macca SAFC
Im traveling up friday night to meet my Brother on saturday for the game any suggestions on good pubs to soak up the atmosphere in before the game.
BRAVELANEY
We usually head to the counthouse (just off queens station) for a couple, always a good wee start to the day and packed with fans, then we usually head to either mcneils, bar buddha or coronas, all pretty good, prob opt for mcneils or coronas if i had to choose

cant wait cool.gif
glasnost
Unfortunately I will be in Glasgow city centre on Saturday afternoon partaking in a few sherries. It’s been ages since I have been there and doing that when Scotland are playing at home so could anyone please advise on where the best place is to go which will ensure I’ll avoid most, if not all, of the tartan army trumpets?
stevenston saint
QUOTE (glasnost @ Oct 6 2008, 13:17) *
Unfortunately I will be in Glasgow city centre on Saturday afternoon partaking in a few sherries. It's been ages since I have been there and doing that when Scotland are playing at home so could anyone please advise on where the best place is to go which will ensure I'll avoid most, if not all, of the tartan army trumpets?

I think you could find the feeling might be mutual. wink.gif
drs
Unfortunately I will be in Glasgow city centre on Saturday afternoon partaking in a few sherries. It's been ages since I have been there and doing that when Scotland are playing at home so could anyone please advise on where the best place is to go which will ensure I'll avoid most, if not all, of the tartan army trumpets?

Bars around Ibrox and Parkhead. There is off course a set of Junior fixtures on so you can take in a game as well.
Frank Booth
Unfortunately I will be in Glasgow city centre on Saturday afternoon partaking in a few sherries. It’s been ages since I have been there and doing that when Scotland are playing at home so could anyone please advise on where the best place is to go which will ensure I’ll avoid most, if not all, of the tartan army trumpets?

I hear the Bristol has reopened...you'd be made most welcome there.
Convenor

Just go to your usual park bench and you should be OK
glasnost
QUOTE (drs @ Oct 6 2008, 13:54) *
Bars around Ibrox and Parkhead.

Please note what I said: "I will be in Glasgow city centre ..........."

doulikefish
QUOTE (glasnost @ Oct 6 2008, 14:12) *

iron horse
glasnost
QUOTE (doulikefish @ Oct 6 2008, 14:21) *
iron horse

Please note what I said: "....on where the best place is to go which will ensure I'll avoid most, if not all, of the tartan army trumpets."
diamonds2002
QUOTE (glasnost @ Oct 6 2008, 14:26) *
Please note what I said: "....on where the best place is to go which will ensure I'll avoid most, if not all, of the tartan army trumpets."

Some of the boozers in Bath Street will probably be football fan free on Saturday given the distance Central Station
doulikefish

och they would love to hear your views etc etc

you might even enjoy it wink.gif
stevenston saint

All jokes aside,the Horseshoe is within walking distance of Central Station.
drs

Ibrox is less than 10 minutes by Subway from the city centre.
glasnost
QUOTE (drs @ Oct 6 2008, 15:22) *

Yes I know. Thanks for that piece of irrelevant information.
korphaeron
Solid Rock Cafe is not likely to be showing the football.
pidmoondo
get ursel up to pandoras for a wee laff
you never no you might enjoy it rolleyes.gif
vince sinclair
We'll be in the Shed
FFCinthearea

Bar 91 or The Beer Cafe on Candleriggs. They're not right in the City Centre but we've gone there before the last few Scotland home games and there's been very few Scotland fans in that part of town.
marf-1870
QUOTE (pidmoondo @ Oct 6 2008, 14:58) *
get ursel up to pandoras for a wee laff
you never no you might enjoy it rolleyes.gif

I'll be there and can't wait.
glasnost
QUOTE (FFCinthearea @ Oct 6 2008, 20:45) *
Bar 91 or The Beer Cafe on Candleriggs. They're not right in the City Centre but we've gone there before the last few Scotland home games and there's been very few Scotland fans in that part of town.

Well the Merchant City is good enough. That's where I thought there would be tartan army free pubs.
Father Barrys Sign (Top Half)
Its 1 Saturday in the whole year, sure you can put up with a few Scotland fans.

Usual haunt is The Mission for me, but may go for a change of scenery this time round, maybe Queens Park Cafe.
doulikefish
QUOTE (glasnost @ Oct 6 2008, 21:37) *
Well the Merchant City is good enough. That's where I thought there would be tartan army free pubs.

you seem to no glasgow quite well,so why did you ask about scotland fan free bars??
did you just have to post to look contraversial???
stevenston saint
QUOTE (doulikefish @ Oct 7 2008, 06:39) *
you seem to no glasgow quite well,so why did you ask about scotland fan free bars??
did you just have to post to look contraversial???

What do you think? rolleyes.gif .Irish bars would be a good option
wearealldoomed
QUOTE (Father Barrys Sign (Top Half) @ Oct 6 2008, 22:06) *
Its 1 Saturday in the whole year, sure you can put up with a few Scotland fans.

Usual haunt is The Mission for me, but may go for a change of scenery this time round, maybe Queens Park Cafe.

You'll definitely be having a change of scenery as the Mission shut some months back "for refurbishment".

Given the lack of activity since, I imagine the refurbishment will consist of a completely accidental and by no means suspicious fire.

QPC is a decent shout, though I've no idea how busy it gets when Scotland are at home.

korphaeron
Florida Park still open? Been there a few times, quite good.
wearealldoomed
QUOTE (korphaeron @ Oct 7 2008, 11:58) *
Florida Park still open? Been there a few times, quite good.

Aye.

It's not the best pub in the world, but should be fine on Saturday.
Shengus Khan
Normally head to that Corona Bar early doors for a few pints before it gets hoaching then head along the road to an old man's bar where it's pretty quiet.
ClydeNewcomer

I recommend you go to Southern Botswana if you dont want to see any scotland fans.

Glasgow the biggest city in the country will have fans absolutely everywhere from first thing in the morning to last thing at night. There is no where for you to go.

Even your wee manky celtic pubs will have scotland fans in them.

This is scotland after all. Why don't you leave
korphaeron
QUOTE (wearealldoomed @ Oct 7 2008, 12:17) *
Aye.

It's not the best pub in the world, but should be fine on Saturday.

Aye. Obviously it's murder to get served everywhere, but it just seems like more of a task at the FP.
Just means it'll be a triple order every time, good times! biggrin.gif
central staggie
Counting house till around 12:30/1ish, then on to Mount Florida and the Beechwood!
Michael W
What pub near Mount Florida would be good before the game? I'd like to get to that general area quite soon so I don't miss kick off.

Cheers in advance guys.
central staggie
QUOTE (Michael W @ Oct 7 2008, 16:54) *
What pub near Mount Florida would be good before the game? I'd like to get to that general area quite soon so I don't miss kick off.

Cheers in advance guys.

Think there is a couple of pubs on the main street as you walk out of Mount Florida, but if you walk round to the South Stand at Hampden, and follow the road taking you out of the car park, behind the Vicky Wine and Chippy building on your right there is a pub called 'The Beechwood' The sign is on the main road so you should see it.
Michael W
QUOTE (central staggie @ Oct 7 2008, 16:58) *
Think there is a couple of pubs on the main street as you walk out of Mount Florida, but if you walk round to the South Stand at Hampden, and follow the road taking you out of the car park, behind the Vicky Wine and Chippy building on your right there is a pub called 'The Beechwood' The sign is on the main road so you should see it.

Cheers mate.

I'll pop in for a couple before the game.
marf-1870
QUOTE (central staggie @ Oct 7 2008, 15:50) *
Counting house till around 12:30/1ish, then on to Mount Florida and the Beechwood!

Is the Beachwood ok for getting in at that time?

Think a couple of the guys are planning on going there instead of Pandoras.
Padayr
QUOTE (drs @ Oct 6 2008, 15:22) *

Thought the Ingerland game was later laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
smithers-jones
QUOTE (central staggie @ Oct 7 2008, 16:50) *

The Counting House is a soulless shithole. Like drinking in a railway station concourse.
music from big pink

you could always go to the Louden and if you survive that you will be able to see the spudome fae the pavement laugh.gif
Convenor
Unfortunately I will be in the Gallowgate area of the city on the evening of Tuesday 21st partaking in a few sherries before the Seasick Steve gig at the Barrowlands. It’s been ages since I have been there and doing that when Celtic are playing a Champions League match on the telly so could anyone please advise on where the best place is to go which will ensure I’ll avoid most, if not all, of the Celtic supporting trumpets?
Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth
QUOTE (Convenor @ Oct 7 2008, 21:06) *
Unfortunately I will be in the Gallowgate area of the city on the evening of Tuesday 21st partaking in a few sherries before the Seasick Steve gig at the Barrowlands. It's been ages since I have been there and doing that when Celtic are playing a Champions League match on the telly so could anyone please advise on where the best place is to go which will ensure I'll avoid most, if not all, of the Celtic supporting trumpets?

I wouldnt think there would be anywhere like that on a Champions League night. As you reach The Gallowgate turn right down towards Glasgow Green - pubs down there might be a bit quieter.
Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth
QUOTE (smithers-jones @ Oct 7 2008, 19:36) *
The Counting House is a soulless shithole. Like drinking in a railway station concourse.

Not on Scotland game days. Thousands of people screaming their heads off more like. I can only stay for 1 or 2 on match days - too busy. Youre waiting forever to get served.
Convenor
QUOTE (Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth @ Oct 7 2008, 23:05) *
I wouldnt think there would be anywhere like that on a Champions League night.

I know that mate, that was my point.
DancingInTheStreets

There are plenty of expensive pubs in Dublin who will be happy for your trade.
BRAVELANEY
QUOTE (marf-1870 @ Oct 7 2008, 17:14) *
Is the Beachwood ok for getting in at that time?

Think a couple of the guys are planning on going there instead of Pandoras.

Beachwood is murder to get served in before a mid week scotland friendly.......
BRAVELANEY
QUOTE (smithers-jones @ Oct 7 2008, 20:36) *

I dont think thats the case on matchdays, its crammed and full of singing.....
the jambo-rocker
unfortunately for me there will be no pub before the game as i have a game on. We tried to get it cancelled but the Lothian and Edinburgh AFA wouldnt budge. Will be rushing back to catch whatever of the game i can though as at least it is an early kick-off!
chics bunnet

Bit like going to London on the day of the marathon and complaining there's too many people wearing shorts.

Why don't you go to the same bar (Bomber McGhee's) where you will be watching the Irish Republic play Cyprus on Wednesday night?
KingBeastie

Right, might just take the 7 lads crashing at mine this weekend down the merchant city before the game. Not a bad shout, better chance of getting served and the chance to annoying an old firm trumpet. Carry on.
clyde til we die
QUOTE (Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth @ Oct 7 2008, 23:07) *
Not on Scotland game days. Thousands of people screaming their heads off more like. I can only stay for 1 or 2 on match days - too busy. Youre waiting forever to get served.

Well cross over the road and i'm sure you'll get served no bother wink.gif
stuartsmfc
I'm supposed to be going up to some bowling club or social club near Hampden with my dads mate before going to the game, think they go up about 11ish, anyone know where it is? Hopefully it's got a good atmosphere with the songs blaring!!
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.