Full Version: Queens 6- 1 Livi
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3
twobitrunner
Credit to Livi they came and stuck to their passing game, had a good bit of possession first half without really ever threatening whereas every time we went forward we looked likely to score. Thought we pressed them well up the pitch and our passing and movement was excellent. You can see there is a lot of confidence in the side and when you look at guys on the sidelines then we really are serious title contenders.
If we really are serious about winning this league then Chis needs to get Sives fixed up either permanently or extend the loan (if this is possible) because he is really looking the part. Actually thought JT had one of his bombscare days but there were so many others on top of their games it didn't really matter.
veteran
Can't say I didn't expect the win but the margin was something of a surprise.
We pressured Livi from the start and scored two quick goals which is something we have not been doing in recent weeks.
I think we sat off a bit after that and could have been punished for it more severely than we were.
Livi are a good side,they pass the ball well and move well off the ball.Personally I thought it was a mistake by Livi not starting with Griffiths.He caused a bit of bother when he did appear but it was all too late then.
The third goal , just on HT , was a crucial one.That restored a two goal cushion at a time we were under a bit of pressure.
Second half there was only going to be one winner and the Livi heads went down after number four.
It was particularly good to see the goals coming from a variety of positions.
I don't think we had any poor performances today and we had some really good ones.For me McFarlane had a great game and held the mid-field together when we were under a bit of pressure.Tosh didn't have a bad game but he is not getting in as many passes as he wants.Time and again he picked out the right passes but they just failed to get there.
How long we can stay at the top only time will tell but it's pleasing to see that we have a lot more strength in depth and a lot of players beginning to show a bit of form.
andyk
QOS were excellent today and Livi were a shambles. Chisolm had his tactics right and exploited our lack of pace at central defence.
Playing with Quinn immediately starts us with a man down but it is not often that a team on form all go off form together on the same day.
Could easily have been double figures, Martini (third goal apart made a few good saves).

Bizarrely after that result I'm still happy with our position after the first quarter.
Tam
WAAHOO!

When was the last time a top of the table clash ended up so one-sided?

Fantastic stuff!

I hope wee Bob and the Dobbmeister are going to be OK.
When the Dobbster went off and we didn't bother to put on a sub, I thought Chis was taking the
p!ss until the guy next to me pointed out we had already used our three subs! rolleyes.gif

Great to see big Sean back on the pitch though. Feed the beast!

Great goal by the Livvi no 2; only bettered by Jamie McQ later. ONWARDS AND UPWARDS!
Mr X
QUOTE (Dorado @ Oct 4 2008, 19:38) *
I thought that for large parts of the first half we kept you penned in your own half, and some of our passing and movement was really positive. We took off our best midfielder early on in a stupid substitution and we went downhill from there. I think had we not conceded that goal right before half time the second might have been a different story. Still, im not taking anything away from Queens who played really well, especially in the second half. its really sad how our team can fall apart when missing one player sad.gif

I think "penned in" is stretching it a little too far wink.gif

Cant argue that you passed the ball around well and your movement looked good. However, it was all in the middle third, even at 2-1 it never really looked like Livy were going to get back into it. Although, you're right about the 3rd goal, the timing of it was absolutely crucial - the only mistake your keeper made really.

Was the number 4 not injured? Certainly a strange decision if he wasnt.
QUOTE (twobitrunner @ Oct 4 2008, 20:09) *
Credit to Livi they came and stuck to their passing game, had a good bit of possession first half without really ever threatening whereas every time we went forward we looked likely to score. Thought we pressed them well up the pitch and our passing and movement was excellent. You can see there is a lot of confidence in the side and when you look at guys on the sidelines then we really are serious title contenders.
If we really are serious about winning this league then Chis needs to get Sives fixed up either permanently or extend the loan (if this is possible) because he is really looking the part. Actually thought JT had one of his bombscare days but there were so many others on top of their games it didn't really matter.

Sives is too old to extend the loan and I'd be amazed if Hearts were to let him go sad.gif
Dr Koop
QUOTE (Stadio Delle Almondvale @ Oct 4 2008, 17:14) *
I hope you have a terrible hangover sad.gif

Sic transit gloria mundi. laugh.gif
StevenC
All credit to Queen of the South who were deadly up front and made full use of our complete and utter inability to defend.

It's been a while since I seen a game where a side scored so many goals so easily and kept looking for more.

As for why we were so crap, I can only point at McPakes absence, our 'keeper being shite and the QOS defence having Elliot in their back pocket.
Dr Koop
QUOTE (StevenC @ Oct 4 2008, 20:27) *
As for why we were so crap, I can only point at McPakes absence, our 'keeper being shite and the QOS defence having Elliot in their back pocket.

That doesn't strike me as an explantion for why your team was so completely and utterly horsed, Steven.
BigRubberFist
QUOTE (Dr Koop @ Oct 4 2008, 20:30) *
That doesn't strike me as an explantion for why your team was so completely and utterly horsed, Steven.

Elliot's attitude was wrong from the get go. In the end he had himself in his own back pocket (if that makes any sense.)

Is he really the poor man's Jamie Mole?
Mr X
QUOTE (Dr Koop @ Oct 4 2008, 20:30) *

Especially when the keeper gifted one goal but saved another two or three laugh.gif

Where are all the Livvy fans. They should be home by not, most of them left at 20 past 4 laugh.gif
da_no_1
delighted for queens. if we cant win the league biggrin.gif , would be happy to see you guys go up.

livi firmly put in their place. about time. pishy, plastic tin-pot, cheating scumbags.

good pars win, 7 points from 3 games.

AND my chinky was fucking EXCELLENT.

all in all a great saturday night!!!!!!!!!
19QOS19
QUOTE (BigRubberFist @ Oct 4 2008, 20:37) *
Elliot's attitude was wrong from the get go. In the end he had himself in his own back pocket (if that makes any sense.)

Is he really the poor man's Jamie Mole?

The last time I watched him he was awful, I watched him again today and he was again awful. Griffiths looked good when he came on, although he was never going to turn round the score.
19QOS19
Just to add the last time there was 7 goals scored between these two sides at Palmerston QoS were at the recieving end of every goal so it was nice to have 6 of the 7 this time :-)
RoryN
Don't forget the defensive disaster that was Cammy McDonald! What a donkey!

smile.gif smile.gif

Well done, Queens, what a game to watch- I've actually nearly lost my voice with all my shouting smile.gif smile.gif
queenslad
Just wondering why they were so bad today and cannot put my finger on it. Queens seemed to have time on the ball, space in midfield and defenders not being closed down as much and as a result not so many high aimless punts up the field. Maybe the pitch does not suit the passing style of Livvie and as a result they made more errors. They did make us look good.

Did ref complain about marking on pitch at half time with result they were remarked?
Tam
I thought Elliot got his deserved comeuppance. his challenge on our keeper in the opening minutes merited a booking.

Pretending to have a headknock ensured the referee didn't get the card pout - cheating bassa!
I don't like to see anybody get sent off but in his case I was delighted that his tongue got him a second yellow!
What a load of Tosh! wink.gif
The_Num
Dunno how the pitch could suit 1 side more than the other - I thought it looked immaculate. Well, before kick-off anyway!

As for the lines being redone at haft-time I've seen it done before when there's been a lot of rain in the first half - outside lines, halfway line and penalty areas are all referee's are really bothered about. Anyway, 1st Queens game since the cup final and first game at Palmerston since the quarter final, and what a game!

While it's certainly true that Livi dominated posession in the last 20 minutes of the first half they never really seemed to create anything clear-cut until their absolute belter of a goal (dunno if anybody was filming it, but if they were a link to the vid would be appreciated). Queens scoring right on half time was the killer really and after that I never really feared for Queens. McQuilken's goal was a peach as well, Elliott fully deserved to go and I just hope Dobbs hasn't done himself any serious damage with his attempted overhead.

Well done Queens, can't be often the 2nd place team beats the league leaders 6-1! ohmy.gif blink.gif
Hen Broon
Well done to the Queens today , we (McKays goal apart) were rarely in the game and indeed it could have been more than 6 . That aside we are still only goals behind. if you had said we would be second (on goal diff) after the 1st quarter I would be more than happy. Its going to be a tighter league than ever this season with any team that has a good run liable to go top.
andyk
QUOTE (StevenC @ Oct 4 2008, 20:27) *
our 'keeper being shite

He made less mistakes than anyone else did?
Distant Doonhamer
QUOTE (The_Num @ Oct 4 2008, 22:00) *
While it's certainly true that Livi dominated posession in the last 20 minutes of the first half they never really seemed to create anything clear-cut until their absolute belter of a goal (dunno if anybody was filming it, but if they were a link to the vid would be appreciated

Should be a link from "Mr Goo" on the QOSmad site within the next 30-60 mins.
andyk
QUOTE (Mr X @ Oct 4 2008, 20:23) *
Was the number 4 not injured? Certainly a strange decision if he wasnt.

Indeed it was. Davidson has been our best midfielder this season, but started (badly) as a makeshift centreback. When Landi decided to make the change and bring in McDonald (a centre back), someoen had to be sacrificed. Personally Fox or Quinn would have been my choice. Girazzo has only got his internationl clearance but has looked competant.
Dr. Name
Almost crashed on the M8 after hearing this result
strathbrock
Well done to Queens today. You were clinical in front of goal, excellent in defence and worked your socks off to get the ball back any time you lost it. We would probably have lost the game anyway but we did make it ridiculously easy for you to get that magnificent scoreline.

I'd say our manager was to blame because of the team he put out and for the players he took off when he saw it was all going pear shaped. Of course what makes it all the more embarrassing for Livi fans was that cringeworthy article in today's Daily Record.

You are top of the league at the end of the first quarter and having seen the rest of the teams in this league I see no reason why you can't be there at the end of the season given the decent squad you have put together. Unless Livi strengthen then we will be nowhere near it. We have a wafer thin squad of mainly inexperienced young guys who have done exceptionally well to get us into second at this point.

PS Elliot was an idiot!
EdinburghLivi
QUOTE (da_no_1 @ Oct 4 2008, 20:41) *
delighted for queens. if we cant win the league biggrin.gif , would be happy to see you guys go up.

livi firmly put in their place. about time. pishy, plastic tin-pot, cheating scumbags.

good pars win, 7 points from 3 games.

AND my chinky was fucking EXCELLENT.

all in all a great saturday night!!!!!!!!!

Away back to your slum.

QUOTE (Tam @ Oct 4 2008, 21:55) *
I thought Elliot got his deserved comeuppance. his challenge on our keeper in the opening minutes merited a booking.

Pretending to have a headknock ensured the referee didn't get the card pout - cheating bassa!
I don't like to see anybody get sent off but in his case I was delighted that his tongue got him a second yellow!
What a load of Tosh! wink.gif

He was quite entitled to go for that ball. It was a 50/50 where the keeper came off worst. Just unfortunate for Bell.

Disgrace. An utter shambles. I really can't pass any player because for every decent thing one of them did, they cocked up something else even more. I'd say Hamill was our best player because he seemed to make the least mistakes before I left at 5-1.

My main positives from the game (this and the chippy in Biggar were basically it) were the few "hate to say I told you so" moments. Cammy MacDonald is massively out of his depth without McPake to bail him out. Some of his defensive frailties were cringing. Finally, most pleasing for me was the fact that I don't think we'll see anymore people coming out to defend Martini punching when he should be catching. I was literally laughing when his piss-poor punch was volleyed in by Weatherston. Had an awful afternoon as well and I suspect Roddy will start next week.

Fox deserves his own paragraph because he was that bad. I was shocked in the first place when Landi took Giarrizzo off for MacDonald. Why on earth was Fox not taken off instead? Was it simply a coin-flip? Fox is a poor man's Barry Ferguson. He was literally going in circles when he should have been releasing the ball. Distribution was shocking. He's going to have to massively buck up his ideas or he will be looking for another club.

It’s quite apparent that the Davidson experiment didn’t work but I admire Landi for trying something different. He wasn’t bad after moving to midfield but totally sold our first goal. Innes and his incompetence in stopping to claim for the obvious Dobbie offside sold the second. He had a horrible afternoon against their pacey strikers.

Dave's goal was a rocket. It's a shame that his defensive work was subject in the second half. I'm all for wingbacks sprinting forward but he seems to trot back at times. You just can't do that with the lack of pace we have with McPake out.

What has happened to Talbot? He was really good at the start of the season but was really uninspired today. The opposite of Dave completely as he seemed to only want to pass backwards.

Did anyone else see how everyone seemed to have a really poor touch? This was evident in McParland quite a lot. He certainly wasn't the worst out there though so I'm not going to slag him off.

Quinn was meh. He showed what he really can do with his excellent dance through the Queens midfield but Elliot stupidly wasted the ball when Hamill was free on the left-wing. Should have taken a dig on three occasions but it’s quite evident that his confidence is low. I might be wrong but did the “E I E I EO” song have “shite!” on the end? Yep, good job encouraging him lads :orco:!

Elliot summed up a horrible afternoon by being sent off by the clown that is Chris Boyle. He can have no complaints but he really should have known that that guy is an arse and will send off back-chatters. I thought he played not bad up until that point.

Chris Boyle showed what an arrogant arse he is today with a completely bewildering performance as referee. My favourite moment was when he gave Queen of the South a throw-in that was quite clearly ours and then picks their guy up for a “foul-throw”, which really wasn’t one, to rectify his mistake. It’s clowns like him that are ruining the game. It wouldn’t have affected the result but the score may have been different with another ref. The opposite side linesman was so slow that he called for offside as guesses because he couldn’t catch the play. Poor show from the officials.

It was quite clear that it was us that lead to our own downfall but Queens certainly had a few decent players out there today. Burns impressed me particularly as did the front men but Harris was totally out of sorts in the first-half. We tore their left side apart.

Side-Notes

As much as Dobbie could have been seen as an arse for this, I actually laughed when he gave us the peace sign (for obvious reasons) when we were annoying him. Fan interaction is always good and shouldn’t be picked up by referees.

That pitch took some beating today. There were holes all over the place by half time which the young boy with the pitchfork did very well to fix.

Whats with the Shrek voice clip? Extremely random. Also, who made up that rubbish Queens song at half time. “We’ve got god on our side”?

Nice prices today. Good show to see that you can get cheap food and admission in the first division.

Anyway, quite simply, we were torn apart at the back today. Fair play to Queens for exploiting this but I’m sure most teams could have. No way would we have lost that bad if McPake was playing. At least three of the goals would have been dealt with by him. As much as people may wish to point and laugh at the result, the reality is that we have already beaten six teams in this league and are sitting proudly in second place. A much easier quarter awaits and I’m confident we can still finish in the top half. It seemed that everyone had an off day today and I’m sure there won’t be as bad a performance like that for the rest of the season.

‘Mon the Lions!!!

19QOS19
It made me giggle as well when I heard Dobbie getting ripped, I saw him put the two fingers up to you and I thought "Well you lot asked for it!"
chapelxnomore
19QOS19, I do apologise in advance for this, however I find you in this time of unbridled joy, as irritating as I have found you all season, having previously been in a position where I couldn't respond to your inane so called "banter". You are perhaps, one of the most insipid posters on here, and you have singlehandedly made me reach for a recepticle on many occasions which is commonly used for spewing. I thank you for this - only because I hope you wouldn't exist if it wasn't for our current upward trend.
el bawbag
fair play queens deserve to win, worst livi performance i've seen all season and i think it showed how much we lacked mcpakes pace at the back
Dunning1874
Now you know what it feels like eh?! 'Mon the Morton!

wink.gif
SheBoss
Lets not get carried away, think any fan would have settled for joint top of league (points wise) after 1st round of matches. Wasn't there today but agree with Landi that on a good day Livi are difficult to beat and today wasn't good day. 6-1 defeat and still same points as QoS - 'mon the livi!!!!
QOSQOS
Superb win by Queens, it was almost surreal by the end, we generally don't do 'comfortable' victories. I think what people need to know about this game is that the strong (and swirling) wind was against Queens in the first half and behind us in the second. They say its easier playing football against the wind because the ball holds up, but in reality players prefer the wind behind them as it makes defending easier and shooting from distance easier.
So we were ecstatic when we were 2-0 up in 15 minutes, against the wind, both courtesy of Dobbie. I expected Livi to come back into it, and they did, and for long spells we couldn't get out of our own half. Some of our clearances were landing about 5 yards further up the pitch, so frankly I would have been satisfied getting to HT still 2-1 up. As others have said, the third goal in injury time was the killer, because I couldn't see even Queens blowing a two goal advantage with a strong wind behind us.
The second half was all Queens, and once the fourth went in it was game over. Livi looked as if they didn't want to be there any more, and it was like 'shooting in' sometimes. Elliot foolishly getting himself sent off (for applauding the referee?) summed up Livi's day.
McQuilken's was a cracker, I said to someone that I wish we could save that sort of goal for when we needed it, like in a dour 0-0 situation, and the last thing Livi needed to see at that stage was O'Connor coming off the bench just to run them even more ragged for the last ten minutes. It was his knock-on which set up Burns for number 6.
Very enjoyable day, we'll bask in the glory for a few days but we now have a very tough quarter coming up. Its nice to be up at the right end of the table, but there is a long way to go, and frankly anyone from Ross County upwards are still in it. And I can guarantee we will have a very tough game when we next come to Livi....
strathbrock
I have seen Livi inflict similar scores on teams and it really does make for a great day and a brilliant feeling while you wait for the next game. The frustrating thing is that while you do your goal difference a power of good you still just get the same 3 points as a scrappy 1-0 win. I remember thinking at some games last season I wish we could have just one of those goals in the big wins to get a point or 3 in another where the ball would just not go into the net.

You have a fortnight of feel good over this Queens and I really don't begrudge it. I like your club and enjoy my visits to Palmerston (well yesterday excepted! wink.gif ).
Cannae wait for a bit of revenge at Almondvale though! smile.gif
gatehouseqos
HIGHLIGHTS
Tam
QUOTE (EdinburghLivi @ Oct 4 2008, 23:20) *
He was quite entitled to go for that ball. It was a 50/50 where the keeper came off worst. Just unfortunate for Bell.

Of course you are entitled to that opinion - and the ref did , on that occasion, agree with you 100%

In my defence, I was much closer and IMO his challenge slid in AFTER Bell gathered the ball. What really annoyed me though was the cowardly way that Elliot held his head as if he had been hurt. The ref didn't even speak to him.
Water under bridge and nobody died.

One result doesn't make Livi a bad side, or us Champions. Looking forward to my trip to Almondvale.
EdinburghLivi
QUOTE (Tam @ Oct 5 2008, 14:00) *
Of course you are entitled to that opinion - and the ref did , on that occasion, agree with you 100%

In my defence, I was much closer and IMO his challenge slid in AFTER Bell gathered the ball. What really annoyed me though was the cowardly way that Elliot held his head as if he had been hurt. The ref didn't even speak to him.
Water under bridge and nobody died.

One result doesn't make Livi a bad side, or us Champions. Looking forward to my trip to Almondvale.

Is that not a bit contradictory considering the referee was nearer than you laugh.gif ? Then again, it was Boyle rolleyes.gif .

I'd say about 90% of players do that my friend. It's simply part and parcel of the game unfortunately.

Agree entirely. It will be a much closer game at Almondvale with McPake back.
QosLoyal
Right my thoughts on the game are that it was the most one sided game i have ever seen. Should have even been more what with keano's miss and numerous other chances. The 3rd goal right on half time killed the game- stupid punch out from there keeper. We were absolutely awesome. I know that some people are saying that mcpakes absence was key, but surely yous are not just a 1 man team? we were missing o connor and still winning and we all know how key a player he is. Anyway 3 away games on the spin which will tell us if we really are ready for a serious title bid or not.

On a sidenote woke up this morning and didnt have a hangover!
19QOS19
QUOTE (chapelxnomore @ Oct 5 2008, 00:40) *
19QOS19, I do apologise in advance for this, however I find you in this time of unbridled joy, as irritating as I have found you all season, having previously been in a position where I couldn't respond to your inane so called "banter". You are perhaps, one of the most insipid posters on here, and you have singlehandedly made me reach for a recepticle on many occasions which is commonly used for spewing. I thank you for this - only because I hope you wouldn't exist if it wasn't for our current upward trend**.

laugh.gif What have I said now?! laugh.gif Nice post for your first I have to say!

EDITED to add. ** I hope you are not trying to imply I am a glory hunter?!
EdinburghLivi
QUOTE (QosLoyal @ Oct 5 2008, 15:00) *
Right my thoughts on the game are that it was the most one sided game i have ever seen. Should have even been more what with keano's miss and numerous other chances. The 3rd goal right on half time killed the game- stupid punch out from there keeper. We were absolutely awesome. I know that some people are saying that mcpakes absence was key, but surely yous are not just a 1 man team? we were missing o connor and still winning and we all know how key a player he is. Anyway 3 away games on the spin which will tell us if we really are ready for a serious title bid or not.

On a sidenote woke up this morning and didnt have a hangover!

The difference in those two situations is the quality of replacement. Kean is of a good standard where as MacDonald simply isn't at this moment.
MUSKYQOS
Queens were quite superb yesterday with every player doing well. The wind and rain was against us in the first half but it eased considerably after the break and even if there had been no wind and no rain the result would still have been the same.
The two early strikes from Dobbie and more crucially Weatherstons strike just before the interval were the main reasons why we got such a convincing victory. In the first half it was easy to see that Livi are a decent side and can play nice football and their goal was a real cracker but after the break we were the only team in it and once we got the 4th the stuffing was well and truly knocked out of Livi and with Elliots stupid sending off we were always likely to score more goals and Jamie McQuilkens strike was even better than Dave MacKays before Burnsy made it 6.
Our next 3 games are all away and it will be after them that we will really know whether we can still be at the top come April.
Although he did not score yesterday I had Stewart Kean as my man of the match but it could well have went to 6 or 7 others.
Craig Sives has been a great loan signing for us and will be sorely missed when he returns to Hearts, he has looked really solid at the back in his short spell at Palmerston.
Two weeks till the next league game so hope Dobbie and Harris have time to recover from the knocks they picked up yesterday.
Toby Fair
Well for what it's worth, that was a truly remarkable game. I was talking to a couple of older Livi fans in the pub beforehand and told them I'd settle for a point, so what followed really seemed outwith the realms of possibility.
I suppose we must concede that the freakish weather probably had some bearing on a freak result. It's probably no co-incidence that we last knocked six past someone in a league game in similar conditions, although the team we beat then were heading down and we managed to let in five.
I don't mean it disrespectfully when I say I just couldn't believe how bad Livi were, particularly after the break. The amount of time, space and options we seemed to have, makes it difficult to gauge how good we were. Our finishing was obviously decent, but not deadly as quite a few got away. The third goal, needlessly created, was clearly important, but it's hard to put such a lop-sided contest down to one incident.
If i was a Livi fan, I'd take solace in the idea that this game was extraordinary enough to be written off and moved on from. I can't see it happening again, because I don't think I've ever seen it before to quite that extent.
Woderful stuff of course, but if Livi can write it off, I don't suppose we can take much more than delight and three points from it either.
strathbrock
QUOTE (Toby Fair @ Oct 5 2008, 16:13) *
If i was a Livi fan, I'd take solace in the idea that this game was extraordinary enough to be written off and moved on from. I can't see it happening again, because I don't think I've ever seen it before to quite that extent.

Fair comment. I've seen it before though. We put Aberdeen out of the League Cup in our first SPL season with a similar score on a Wednesday night. The following Saturday they drew with us at Almondvale and were unlucky not to win. Yesterday was a freak score and tho I take nothing away from Queen's excellent approach to the game Livi's confidence dropped in direct relationship to Queen's rising and they just folded in the second half.

If our manager and players can put it behind them and learn from it then it will not have been a totally wasted afternoon.

Glad it was QOS that did it to us and not one of the teams with millions of fans who are always on about their 100's of years of history and who feel that this league is beneath them.
Livi

Well played Queens.

Hope you win the league this year (can't really see Livi winning it tbh) and hopefully Livi take a few lessons out of the match.

robqosfc
Thot the turning point of the game was when we went 3-1 up right before half time. to say we dominated would be an exaggeration. after we went 2 up we started doin the usual of sitting in and playin on the break. thot JT had one of his off days, along with wee boab. Kean was superb, best showing for him this season and as much as i love big sean, should be really break up kean and dobbs? why change a winning formula?
Nizzy
QUOTE (EdinburghLivi @ Oct 5 2008, 14:40) *
Agree entirely. It will be a much closer game at Almondvale with McPake back.

Any idea how McPake's contract talks are progressing? There's got to be a strong possibility of a PCA in January with an SPL, or SPL-bound, side
el bawbag
no concrete word but reading between the lines he seems happy here so can't see him signing for another SFL club(especially if we are there or there abouts come xmas) and i don't think he would sign for an SPL team who looked like they might be on their way down. I'm fairly optomistic we'll keep him smile.gif
Nizzy
QUOTE (el bawbag @ Oct 5 2008, 19:39) *
no concrete word but reading between the lines he seems happy here so can't see him signing for another SFL club(especially if we are there or there abouts come xmas) and i don't think he would sign for an SPL team who looked like they might be on their way down. I'm fairly optomistic we'll keep him smile.gif

Only one SPL side is destined for the drop. There are nine others who may show an interest in McPake at the turn of the year. Reading between the lines is all well and good, but a run of bad results could flip that on it's head.

Looking at Queens' squad, they look a tad light at the back. If they're running away with things come January and are looking for a centre half (could be likely given Sives, who played as a right back at Thistle, has been drafted in to play there) then the lure of a team who look destinied for promotion could prove too strong.

I predict a slide from Livingston coinciding with a resurgence from St Johnstone and Dunfermline's continued good form, Landi looking like a tit following his Champions League comments, your new owners spitting the dummy and the best of your players (Mackay, Griffiths, Davidson) departing for pastures new in the summer.
strathbrock
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Oct 5 2008, 19:47) *
I predict a slide from Livingston coinciding with a resurgence from St Johnstone and Dunfermline's continued good form, Landi looking like a tit following his Champions League comments, your new owners spitting the dummy and the best of your players (Mackay, Griffiths, Davidson) departing for pastures new in the summer.

Aye but apart from that we'll be fine though, eh?
Nizzy
QUOTE (strathbrock @ Oct 5 2008, 20:04) *
Aye but apart from that we'll be fine though, eh?

Who cares?
Hen Broon
you
Nizzy
QUOTE (Hen Broon @ Oct 5 2008, 21:00) *
you

Not really. I simply made an educated guess as to what may or may not occur in the near future. I really couldn't give two shits what happens to Livi in the long run.

Anyway, I'll let you guys get back to dissecting yesterday's pounding before larchfield boy calls me something clever like 'shitty arsed wank stain', the other twat (sorry, I can't remember his name) casts doubts on my sexuality and wowbagger delve into the darkest recesses of my personality (once he's sobered up).

Happy camping.

biggrin.gif
strathbrock
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Oct 5 2008, 21:05) *
. I really couldn't give two shits what happens to Livi in the long run.

Oh dear 6-1 hammerings pale into insignificance compared to Nizzy's indifference. How can we go on now? ohmy.gif