Full Version: Queens 6- 1 Livi
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3
LIVIFOREVER
Well that was painful to watch, just have to put it down to a bad day and hope to feck we don't repeat it.

Credit goes to Queens for punishing us with precise finishing, you exploited our frailties in defence wonderfuly and have to be congratulated on a great win. Too many times fans blame everything on their own teams performance and completely overlook the winning team, right enough of this praise pish and down to my thoughts on the game.

We are painfuly relying on McPake, that's 3 games he's missed and 3 defeats, the first two goals were just too easy, though the first goal did fall with a bit of luck behind Murray and perfect for Dobbie to run onto it, getting a free shot at goal, which he took well, 2nd goal our defence were completely flat footed, Innes stuck his arm up for offside without even attempting to get a tackle in, again leaving their player with just the keeper to beat, MacKays goal was a screamer, only thing i'd say though is Queens completely kept us from have clear shots on their goal and we had to hit this from distance. It settled us down though, till Martini's punch to the edge of the box in the last second of the first half, bang 3 goals and game over.

The 2nd half was just an exhibition time for Queens to rack up the goals, once the 4th went in it was one way traffic, Queens pressed us all game too, a combination of this and a bad defence contributed to a gubbing, up till that game we'd not conceded more than 2 goals in the league, hard one to take but it really did just go Queens way, was just there day and sometimes that happens, their fans must've really enjoyed it anyway.

Before the game i thought worse case scenario, we're level points but behind on GD, i'd have bit your hand of if we were offered that before the season kicked off, a heavy defeat is hard to take but in the cold light of day it amounts to the same thing, 2nd in the league and all to play for.
nick007
QUOTE (kirkyblue2 @ Oct 4 2008, 18:47) *
Was expecting a tight match today, not sure if the weather played a part but Livi's defence was shocking.
Hope Dobbie is ok after his daft attempt at an overhead kick and I'd like to thank Chisholm for playing 4-4-2, what a difference it makes.

you sure looked more like a 3-4-3 weatherson kean an dobs up front?
19QOS19
QUOTE (nick007 @ Oct 6 2008, 00:14) *
you sure looked more like a 3-4-3 weatherson kean an dobs up front?

McGowan, Harris, Sives and Thomson were definately a back 4. Weatherston was out on the left and did well going forward. Definately a 4-4-2 and it worked well as the previous poster said.
Stadio Delle Almondvale
QUOTE (Dr Koop @ Oct 4 2008, 20:25) *
Sic transit gloria mundi. laugh.gif

Aye, very good.

QUOTE (Nizzy @ Oct 5 2008, 19:47) *
Only one SPL side is destined for the drop. There are nine others who may show an interest in McPake at the turn of the year. Reading between the lines is all well and good, but a run of bad results could flip that on it's head.

Looking at Queens' squad, they look a tad light at the back. If they're running away with things come January and are looking for a centre half (could be likely given Sives, who played as a right back at Thistle, has been drafted in to play there) then the lure of a team who look destinied for promotion could prove too strong.

I predict a slide from Livingston coinciding with a resurgence from St Johnstone and Dunfermline's continued good form, Landi looking like a tit following his Champions League comments, your new owners spitting the dummy and the best of your players (Mackay, Griffiths, Davidson) departing for pastures new in the summer.

I would be astonished if McPake is here beyond summer 09. He is just too good a defender to stay with us. Harsh but true. Incidentally, has your slide started yet?

As regards, Saturday, it could well be the defining point of our season. Clearly we are in a position at the moment that nobody expected us to be in. After being pumped royally, our next game will be vital in terms of how our season continues. Against a St Johnstone team that have picked up 10 points in their last 4 games, we have a tough match. It will be a measure of the team without a doubt.
Nizzy
QUOTE (Stadio Delle Almondvale @ Oct 6 2008, 10:13) *
Incidentally, has your slide started yet?

Slide? Results conspired to send us second-top, but I never truly believed we'd maintain that, we're just not good enough. Anything above fifth is a bonus, anything less and you can talk about a slide.
KingfaetheSooth
Forza Lavvie il mio culo… gli ottiene alto di destra voi le fiche di plastica della schiuma di concessione!

Or alternatively GIRUY plastic franchise c***s!

laugh.gif biggrin.gif
TeeMan
QUOTE (KingfaetheSooth @ Oct 6 2008, 10:52) *
Forza Lavvie il mio culo… gli ottiene alto di destra voi le fiche di plastica della schiuma di concessione!

laugh.gif biggrin.gif

laugh.gif laugh.gif
Thought you might enjoy that one!
Stadio Delle Almondvale
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Oct 6 2008, 10:17) *
Slide? Results conspired to send us second-top, but I never truly believed we'd maintain that, we're just not good enough. Anything above fifth is a bonus, anything less and you can talk about a slide.

Results conspired to get us where we are. Or have we actually earnt our position on merit?
Nizzy
QUOTE (Stadio Delle Almondvale @ Oct 6 2008, 11:21) *
Results conspired to get us where we are. Or have we actually earnt our position on merit?

That's up to you to decide. By that I meant other teams' results, not our own.

From what I've seen of us this season I don't believe we're the second-best team in the division, rather it was the failings of other, more capable teams (who are only now beginning to find their form) that elevated us to that position.
palmy_cammy
That was fun! biggrin.gif laugh.gif

I had a feeling that it was going to be a good day when I walked into Ladbrokes on Bank St. and they were offering 6/1 for Dobbie to score first - mugs. I must've spent too long in the bookies because we were nearly at the Ice Bowl when we heard the first whistle being blown, and at the turnstyle just in time to hear the cheer for the opening goal, and the "Steve Dobbie, Dobbie" chant erupting from the terracing. thumbup2.gif

Mikey McGowan was immense. This season we have tried; Reid, Barr and Parratt at right-back, none with as much success as that. It would be too easy to make comparisons with Harris but I'm going to do it anyway. He looks like a right-footed Harris - willing to get forward, get stuck in, and play a killer pass. Pretty sure he was signed as a winger, but he says in todays paper that right-back is his preferred position - it showed!

Great team spirit shown by Dobbs to square it to Kean when through on goal himself, to say he was annoyed with Burnsy for not returning the favour later on in the match would be an understatement! Good finish by Burnsy though.

Landi seems to want to make a name for himself as this unorthodox character (moving training, not going into the dressing room at half-time, introducing a more continental style of play) but it was a good old fashioned British footballing performance that tore his team a new arsehole on Saturday. Livi made some lovely passing triangles in the first half without going anywhere (to be fair we copied them in the last five minutes but that sort of olé passing is surely more suitable when you have a 5 goal lead wink.gif). Instead we got the ball into the channels for our excellent wingers to chase, and they then provided some telling passes that the attacking players in our team reveled in. Although the Livi 'keeper looks like a big jessy, as well as throwing, kicking and catching like one, in the end some poor finishing by us probably saved him from collecting his p45 this morning.

As as been said this result won't really change the views of any long standing Queens fan. We know fine well we are capable of this kind of performance, but there is a long way to go, and we also know we are more than capable of being as inept as we were good on Saturday. For Queens to be the top scorers, and also have the best defensive record at this stage is just fantastic though.

The international break gives us a great chance to milk this result for an extra week, and also get the squad back to almost full strength I'd imagine. It also gives Livi a chance to lick their wounds. It will be back business away to Airdrie though where we will need to grind out a hard-fought results I'd imagine.

Edited to add -

Someone has Chris Boyle, worst ref in Scotland as his sig. got to say I'd disagree with that on Saturdays performance, (and the fact the last game I was at Conroy was in charge dry.gif). I thought he got all the big decisions correct, and didn't slow play down blowing every two seconds for niggly fouls. The only other time I have seen him mentioned in this thread is for giving a throw-in the wrong way. Compared to some of the jokers I have seen recently saying that is all he got wrong is almost a compliment!

Keano didn't get any change out of the linesman second half, always flagging for offside, but as I was behind the goals I couldn't comment.
strathbrock
QUOTE (KingfaetheSooth @ Oct 6 2008, 10:52) *

laugh.gif biggrin.gif

Jeez you took so long to come on site I was beginning to think you were deid!

Fair doos though we were royally shafted.
QC Casual
Wow! What a result, couldn't have predicted that at the start, although when we went 1-0 up I turned to my mate and said "We are going to hump this mob today" biggrin.gif

To be honest, as has already been said by some posters the 1st half was relatively competative, but 2nd half we simply turned Livi over.

My man of the match was Stevie Tosh, best performance I have seen from him in a Queens shirt, was at the heart of everything. McFarlane also had a good game and both wingers were excellent!

Defence was solid, Bell had no chance for the goal, reminded me of Ronaldo's goal against Everton last season, top drawer! Special mention to McGowan, he is coming on leaps and bounds and may even make the right back spot his own? ... Although there is plenty of competition for that spot!

Dobbie's first goal was a great finish and I thought Kean was outstanding, worked his socks off and took a few knocks! He deserved a goal for me, who says the pair of them can't play together?! Now that big Sean is back, Chis has a selection headache but what a dilema to have!

Shame Scotland are playing next week!

Dorado
QUOTE (QC Casual @ Oct 6 2008, 20:09) *
Wow! What a result, couldn't have predicted that at the start, although when we went 1-0 up I turned to my mate and said "We are going to hump this mob today" biggrin.gif

To be honest, as has already been said by some posters the 1st half was relatively competative, but 2nd half we simply turned Livi over.

My man of the match was Stevie Tosh, best performance I have seen from him in a Queens shirt, was at the heart of everything. McFarlane also had a good game and both wingers were excellent!

Defence was solid, Bell had no chance for the goal, reminded me of Ronaldo's goal against Everton last season, top drawer! Special mention to McGowan, he is coming on leaps and bounds and may even make the right back spot his own? ... Although there is plenty of competition for that spot!

Dobbie's first goal was a great finish and I thought Kean was outstanding, worked his socks off and took a few knocks! He deserved a goal for me, who says the pair of them can't play together?! Now that big Sean is back, Chis has a selection headache but what a dilema to have!

Shame Scotland are playing next week!

He does indeed. whether he should play Deasley or Courier to partner mcmenamin wink.gif
veteran
QUOTE (Dorado @ Oct 6 2008, 20:26) *
He does indeed. whether he should play Deasley or Courier to partner mcmenamin wink.gif

To get a suitable partner for McMenamin you'd need to look in Div 3.
torpedo
QUOTE (veteran @ Oct 6 2008, 21:48) *
To get a suitable partner for McMenamin you'd need to look in Div 3.

mcmenamin is injured and will be out for three months then an op on his knee tongue.gif
I work with his brother tongue.gif
veteran
QUOTE (torpedo @ Oct 6 2008, 22:03) *
mcmenamin is injured and will be out for three months then an op on his knee tongue.gif

If he's as dangerous on the ward as he was at Palmerston the nurses are safe - he'll no score there either.
19QOS19
QUOTE (veteran @ Oct 7 2008, 01:04) *
If he's as dangerous on the ward as he was at Palmerston the nurses are safe - he'll no score there either.

Don't think he'll be wanting to, he's just had a bairn as I'm aware tongue.gif .
Scott_L
QUOTE (torpedo @ Oct 6 2008, 22:03) *

What's Gary up to these days? He was a decent player but I think he left Annan didn't he?
zupa
QUOTE (Scott_L @ Oct 8 2008, 01:06) *
What's Gary up to these days? He was a decent player but I think he left Annan didn't he?

If brains were taxed ,he would be due a rebate.
MONKMAN
He had a fall out at annan and left, then signed sunday league for the ninja's. He works at the prison now i think