Full Version: Qp V Binos
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Rinky Sidebottom
Looking forward to seeing the Albion at Hampden. I wonder though, why are Queens Park allowed to play at Hampden Park when I understand that they have no legal rights to it or the surrounding area?
I know they use Lesser Hampden for training and some games, but shouldn't they be moved completely away from the area and perhaps try and share with Pollok or other clubs that would be able to accomodate their 500 or so average gate?
Prediction for game: QP 1 sad.gif V Stirling 2. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Andyboy
Looking forward to the game. We were shit last week against Alloa but managed to scrape the win in the end, hope that gives the players the confidence to put on a better performance. Can see it being a tight game, and I think it will end a draw.

Queen's 1 - 1 Stirling.
The Phoenix
QUOTE (Rinky Sidebottom @ Oct 3 2008, 21:27) *
Looking forward to seeing the Albion at Hampden. I wonder though, why are Queens Park allowed to play at Hampden Park when I understand that they have no legal rights to it or the surrounding area?

It's their home ground, perhaps?

They've probably got more right to play at Hampden than we have to play at Forthbank.
Rinky Sidebottom
QUOTE (The Phoenix @ Oct 3 2008, 21:36) *
It's their home ground, perhaps?

They've probably got more right to play at Hampden than we have to play at Forthbank.

I understand they sold their rights to Hampden when it was upgraded and they don't even get payments anymore for its use. The SFA own Hampden and I therefore don't understand why they are allowed to play there. Perhaps the local council or authority have agreed for them to stay for 25 years or so, but I can't find any information/legal notice to suggest that.
Still to be honest, who cares, it's going to be great seeing the Albion at Hampden. biggrin.gif
Andyboy
QPFC lease Hampden to the SFA.

One of the conditions of the lease is that we have the right to play our home matches at Hampden.
Hampden Diehard
QUOTE (Rinky Sidebottom @ Oct 3 2008, 21:41) *
I understand they sold their rights to Hampden when it was upgraded and they don't even get payments anymore for its use. The SFA own Hampden and I therefore don't understand why they are allowed to play there. Perhaps the local council or authority have agreed for them to stay for 25 years or so, but I can't find any information/legal notice to suggest that.
Still to be honest, who cares, it's going to be great seeing the Albion at Hampden. biggrin.gif

I take it you're a very young person.
StewartyMac
QUOTE (Hampden Diehard @ Oct 3 2008, 22:22) *
I take it you're a very young person.

He's in his 40's.
Convenor
QUOTE (StewartyMac @ Oct 3 2008, 23:35) *
He's in his 40's.

Aye, his IQ is.
Spiders For Life
QUOTE (Convenor @ Oct 4 2008, 00:15) *
Aye, his IQ is.

I reckon we will win 2-0...
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
My heart says Mon the Spiders smile.gif

But my head says Albion huh.gif
Rinky Sidebottom
QUOTE (Convenor @ Oct 4 2008, 00:15) *
Aye, his IQ is.

Mature response! Actually if you listen to the vast amount of sport journalists in Glasgow, they all say Queens Park no longer have the right to play at Hampden, yet the SFA continue to allow them to. I have no idea why there is a discrepancy, perhaps the press know things we average punters don't.
dc albion man
we need a win so im going for 2-1 albion. get grehan up front with harty and bench mckenna
Convenor
QUOTE (Rinky Sidebottom @ Oct 4 2008, 09:44) *
Mature response! Actually if you listen to the vast amount of sport journalists in Glasgow, they all say Queens Park no longer have the right to play at Hampden, yet the SFA continue to allow them to. I have no idea why there is a discrepancy, perhaps the press know things we average punters don't.

If you're going to talk sh*te then expect sh*te in response.

Good fishing attempt anyway. Watty would be proud.
dicky gibbs tash
QUOTE (dc albion man @ Oct 4 2008, 11:00) *
we need a win so im going for 2-1 albion. get grehan up front with harty and bench mckenna

I know Greek well (Grehan) - he was f*ckin outstanding with Dundonal Bluebell - think he scored 32 goals in 33 games for them, I hear he normally plays left mid for you guys. How has the big man looked this season??
dc albion man
grehan puts in a shift so not going to criticise him, moore seems to put him out left to use his height as an outlet for the long ball, our midfield outwith him are very small. id just like to see him get a run in his favoured position to see what he can do, the guy is never going to beat a defender for pace and put in a cross so moore should select someone who can do this (taggart, hamilton, corr) and let the big man get on the end of these crosses
Spiders For Life
What an unbelievably bad game.

I'm am genuinely astounded that Queens got a draw out of that...

I don't know what else to say about it mellow.gif
Rinky Sidebottom
QUOTE (Spiders For Life @ Oct 4 2008, 17:27) *

I'm am genuinely astounded that Queens got a draw out of that...

I don't know what else to say about it mellow.gif

I do and it aint nice, dire game and one which sums up why Scottish Football in League Two is no better than Sunday League stuff. No quality in either team and a lack of desire means watching this drivel can at times be painful.
Stirling yet again appear to think a football game lasts 45 minutes. We have no midfield just now capable of taking hold of the game and carving out chances, in fact we have no midfield!
I'm fed up watching other teams rejects with no muscle or real quality, getting a game for Stirling. Molloy and Docherty were both shocking today, not even good enough for my sons under 13 team.
Moore may soon be out the door, not by the chairman, but by the fact he knows his time is up.
As for Queens Park, what a poor team they are, by far the worst in the league I have seen so far.
Not one player in their team showed anything and I would imagine that between themselves and Alloa, the bottom of the league will be a constant figure.
RedWeb
QUOTE (Spiders For Life @ Oct 4 2008, 17:27) *

Aye it was pish. Stirling should have put the game to bed in the first half and ended up paying the price for not doing so. Still not sure what happened at the Queen's leveller but it's academic I suppose. Absolute shite from the Beanos and Moore needs to get a rocket up that team or draws are going to kill our play-off hopes.
The Phoenix
I watched us draw a game against the most inept side I've seen in years.

Guess that must say something about us as well. sad.gif
Zanetti
How the fuck we've managed to take 4 points from our past 2 games I'll never know. Totally incredible.
Gnash
Thought we did ok in the first half and should have been a couple of goals up. We were terrible in the second and Queen's goal was inevitable despite the fact they weren't really creating chances. Docherty really needs to be put on the bench and Grehan.... either benched or put back on the left - he was poor up front.

Question to QP fans - any idea how many Albion fans were there today? From where I was sitting it looked like we had at least a half the QP support meaning around 250, but when you're in the crowd it can sometimes be deceptive.
qpsnapper
QUOTE (Convenor @ Oct 4 2008, 12:52) *
If you're going to talk sh*te then expect sh*te in response.

Good fishing attempt anyway. Watty would be proud.

Rinky Sidebottom = The poor man's Watty.
QUOTE (Gnash @ Oct 4 2008, 19:36) *
Question to QP fans - any idea how many Albion fans were there today? From where I was sitting it looked like we had at least a half the QP support meaning around 250, but when you're in the crowd it can sometimes be deceptive.

Didn't hear what the crowd was today, but I was quite suprised by the size of the Albion support today, far more than I remember coming through in the past, at least a couple of hundred I would say.
Gnash
QUOTE (qpsnapper @ Oct 4 2008, 19:48) *
Didn't hear what the crowd was today, but I was quite suprised by the size of the Albion support today, far more than I remember coming through in the past, at least a couple of hundred I would say.

I think he said 713.
Zanetti
QUOTE (Gnash @ Oct 4 2008, 19:53) *
I think he said 713.

He did, and it looked like there was at least 250 Stirling fans to me.
Gnash
QUOTE (Valentinik1+8 @ Oct 4 2008, 20:23) *
He did, and it looked like there was at least 250 Stirling fans to me.

Cheers, that's an excellent away support for us, considering our home support has nose-dived to less than 500.
The Phoenix
QUOTE (Gnash @ Oct 4 2008, 20:53) *
Cheers, that's an excellent away support for us, considering our home support has nose-dived to less than 500.

Not putting away sides like QP will soon take care of that. sad.gif

Without being disrespectful, I thought Queens were pretty much the worst side I've seen in years.

TBF for all our possession and slick passing we didn't really look that threatening in front of goal.

The Pacey Winger
QUOTE (Gnash @ Oct 4 2008, 20:53) *

I think our home support is also our away support nowadays sad.gif
bridgeofweirdo
They say that the mark of a good side is that they can play pish (which we did) and still come away with points ( 1 today/3 last week). Although it is not exactly pleasing on the eyes to watch games like today's we can only get better (please God!) as the team starts to gel after the close season exodus.
Albion should have had the game all wrapped up in the first half but seemed to run out of steam in the second half (fitness levels?) and let QP get back in ----- this is a carbon copy of all the games where we have picked up points so far this season.
So many draws so far this season by all 2nd division teams should make for a close finish at both ends of the table if this continues!.
The Phoenix
QUOTE (bridgeofweirdo @ Oct 4 2008, 21:15) *
Albion should have had the game all wrapped up in the first half but seemed to run out of steam in the second half (fitness levels?)

Don't think so - more a case of slack defending and awful goalkeeping for your equaliser, on a day when your lads wouldn't have scored in a brothel.
Spider From Mars
Awful, awful game. Painful to watch, really. Easily the worst game I've ever seen.

Starting with one forward on the park at home is a fucking nonsense. mad.gif

Movement and passing from QP was shockingly bad. The players just didn't have a clue. Absolute pish the last two games. It's beyond a miracle that we've taken 4 points. Needs to be sorted though, that kind of spawniness can't last forever.
miketheheadlesschicken
QUOTE (bridgeofweirdo @ Oct 4 2008, 21:15) *
They say that the mark of a good side is that they can play pish (which we did) and still come away with points ( 1 today/3 last week).

We've been pish all season and we have 11 points. We're definitely not a good side.
an86
If there was a way both teams could have lost that game it would have been deserved. I thought our performance level today was unacceptable, dont like being critical of the team, but a few of them need to get the finger out before our luck starts to run out.
Rinky Sidebottom
Fair play to Queens Park today, took my son and his friend and it only cost £15 to get in, seems a fair charge to me. Wish the same could apply to Stirling Albion, £19 for two of us and an extra £7 for each kid. mad.gif
Spidersmad
There's no point in being diplomatic about that performance, Queen's were utterly dire. That's three games at Hampden in a row in which Queen's have been pish. Yet somehow we've salvaged a win and a draw. Our equalizer came from the only attempt on goal that we had on target all afternoon.

Queen's lost half a team at the end of last season and had to bring in a bunch of new players. Yet even after allowing for that I'm getting a very uneasy feeling watching a Speirs coached side compared to Billy Stark's team.
froggybinos
QUOTE (an86 @ Oct 4 2008, 23:01) *
If there was a way both teams could have lost that game it would have been deserved. I thought our performance level today was unacceptable, dont like being critical of the team, but a few of them need to get the finger out before our luck starts to run out.

I actually made the same comment to a QP supporting mate last night at a 21st. Indeed, i think some Japanese people at the party were a bit confused as we were apparently in a heated debate as to whose team was worse. Certainly not a normal footballing conversation.

We should have had the game wrapped up at half time, yet i don't think too many Albion fans were surprised when QP equalised, even more so i certainly didnt feel robbed like numerous QP fans seem to think we should feel.

Ridiculous Albion away support, even more so with so many die hard Albion fans not there. Must have been at least 250, which isn't much short of our home support. Perhaps helped by such a sensible pricing strucutre...
Gall09
QUOTE (Rinky Sidebottom @ Oct 4 2008, 18:00) *
Stirling yet again appear to think a football game lasts 45 minutes. We have no midfield just now capable of taking hold of the game and carving out chances, in fact we have no midfield!

You do realise Stirling were the team in red?

How dare you try to moan about your team's midfield. I don't like being critical of Queen's, but our midfield has been abysmal. We create nothing, and too much pressure is put on the defence and the strikers to do something with f**k all service. Throughout the team though just simple things like passing the ball 5/10 yards is being made to look difficult.

I'm delighted we've still been picking up points and i realise it is a young team we have but we'll drive people away if we keep churning out performances like the last 3 home games.

By the way, good Stirling support through but please, can somebody teach the guy wi the drum 1 tune at least?
Shibuya
Can somebody tell me where I can find the breakdown of attendances at Forthbank? I found it once on a Beanos website but can't seem to find it this morning.
an86
The thing is, we are pretty much stuck with what we've got being an amateur team, we are limited to what we can do in January, I'd imagine we'll probably bring more Thistle youths in on loan. I cannot believe John Neill was ever on the books of an SPL football team. If we continue to play like this, we wont be so lucky, and I'm sure it's fair to say we'd be relegated.
StirlingScott
QUOTE (Shibuya @ Oct 5 2008, 12:01) *
Can somebody tell me where I can find the breakdown of attendances at Forthbank? I found it once on a Beanos website but can't seem to find it this morning.

Here you go....
Convenor
QUOTE (Spider From Mars @ Oct 4 2008, 21:34) *
Starting with one forward on the park at home is a fucking nonsense. mad.gif

I thought we had 2 up front. We all know Quinn is really a midfielder but he's been playing up front.

Good to have you back on the board anyway mate. We've missed you're irreverent musings

I'm going to try to be positive here. Rather than be totallly pissed off with the last 2 games we should all be absolutely delighted at coming away with 4 pts, albeit in the style of the dandy highwayman. We've all watched Queen's dominate games in the past and come away with f*** all

I think our defence is solid and we have a good keeper. The strikers will run around and try hard all day but they need service and that is the crux - the midfield is not performing at all and this puts constant pressure on the defence (as Gall said). It's not really surprising given we lost key players from there in the summer. We don't have the same energy, dig or creativity in the midfield that our success of the last 2 seasons was built on and we no longer dominate that area. I think our style of play this season is more suited to playing away from home ..our performances on the road have been much better yet we've still got more points at home!

We have shown that we are hard to beat. That could be what keeps us up. If Gardner does manage this then it will be as good an achievement as any coach we've had

Keep the faith troops. Already looking forward to the trip to Stranraer
Convenor
QUOTE (Spidersmad @ Oct 5 2008, 00:23) *
Queen's lost half a team at the end of last season and had to bring in a bunch of new players. Yet even after allowing for that I'm getting a very uneasy feeling watching a Speirs coached side compared to Billy Stark's team.

That's pretty unfair. He just doesn't have the same calibre of player to coach that Stark had. Anyway, I seem to remember Stark coming in for unfair criticism from folk the season we failed to reach the play-offs and lost to Spartans in the cup
Hampden Diehard
We've lost the quality players that we've enjoyed watching over the past couple of years and replaced them with very young lads and guys who have only played at a level below the league structure. We're only a few games into the campaign and a scratch side have clocked up more points than anyone thought that we would at this stage in the season.

The young guys will get better, and you can see that some of the other lads such as Harkins are starting to come onto a game. The situation will be better judged after another 10 or 15 games.

We've played badly in the last two games and picked up 4 points against two teams in the bottom half of the league. How many times did we absolutely tan teams last year on the park, and end up with nothing?

When we can play so badly and get points, it can only be a good thing. When the wee-est guy ever to play Scottish football can score with a header, ditto.

I don't think Gardner Speirs is under any illusion as to the size of the job he's got, but everyone knows the limitations he's under. I was listening to guys on the radio yesterday worrying about the problems that injuries are causing at Chelsea. I also read in the paper that Berbatov (at something like £30million) was being seen as a "stop-gap" until another big star came along. That sort of puts our situation in perspective.

As long as we're picking up points, I'll patiently wait for the sparkly fitba' to return.
Shibuya
QUOTE (StirlingScott @ Oct 5 2008, 12:38) *

Good work, thanks dude.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.