Full Version: Rangers Vs Celtic, Head To Head Travelling Support Size
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > Rangers v Celtic, Celtic v Rangers
WeAreThePeople
Rangers attendances at away SPL fixtures (excluding games at Parkhead v Cel*ic) season 07/08

7711 v Inverness
11544 v Kilmarnock
15948 v Hearts
10009 v Motherwell
12129 v Dundee Utd
6627 v Falkirk
17798 v Aberdeen
16217 v Hibs
6137 v Gretna
7753 v Inverness
10546 v Kilmarnock
16173 v Hearts
11214 v Dundee Utd
16872 v Hibs
10445 v Motherwell
7439 v St Mirren
17509 v Aberdeen

Total

Celtic attendances at away SPL fixtures (excluding games at Ibrox v Rangers) season 07/08

6329 v Falkirk
16232 v Aberdeen
7840 v St Mirren
16125 v Hibs
6011 v Gretna
8260 v Kilmarnock
16454 v Hearts
7004 v Inverness
12357 v Dundee Utd
6803 v Falkirk
14651 v Aberdeen
7213 v St Mirren
15735 v Hibs
3561 v Gretna
9771 v Motherwell
9158 v Motherwell
13613 v Dundee Utd

Total

Difference - Over 18,000 in favour of Rangers.

Shouldn't TGFITW, with the bigger fan base be taking more fans to away grounds in the SPL than their rivals?

Makes for interesting comparison between Rangers and Celtic.

If Celtic were "the big club" shouldn't the crowds at their games be the big one as everyone wants to be at that?

Obviously all of Scotland know that Rangers are big fish in this pond. biggrin.gif

And this is the last thread I will post, feeling like I am getting like Maximus the Sectarianism lover.
sev
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 3 2008, 00:06) *
Rangers attendances at away SPL fixtures (excluding games at Parkhead v Cel*ic) season 07/08

7711 v Inverness
11544 v Kilmarnock
15948 v Hearts
10009 v Motherwell
12129 v Dundee Utd
6627 v Falkirk
17798 v Aberdeen
16217 v Hibs
6137 v Gretna
7753 v Inverness
10546 v Kilmarnock
16173 v Hearts
11214 v Dundee Utd
16872 v Hibs
10445 v Motherwell
7439 v St Mirren
17509 v Aberdeen

Total

Celtic attendances at away SPL fixtures (excluding games at Ibrox v Rangers) season 07/08

6329 v Falkirk
16232 v Aberdeen
7840 v St Mirren
16125 v Hibs
6011 v Gretna
8260 v Kilmarnock
16454 v Hearts
7004 v Inverness
12357 v Dundee Utd
6803 v Falkirk
14651 v Aberdeen
7213 v St Mirren
15735 v Hibs
3561 v Gretna
9771 v Motherwell
9158 v Motherwell
13613 v Dundee Utd

Total

Shouldn't TGFITW, with the bigger fan base be taking more fans to away grounds in the SPL than their rivals?

If Celtic were "the big club" shouldn't the crowds at their games be the big one as everyone wants to be at that?

Obviously all of Scotland know that Rangers are big fish in this pond. biggrin.gif

And this is the last thread I will post, feeling like I am getting like Maximus the Sectarianism lover.

Bye bye
khenny
QUOTE (sev @ Oct 3 2008, 02:56) *
Bye bye

What he said. rolleyes.gif
findis89
oohh,somones been on fascist fascist laugh.gif
HeartsparkDollarsign
As those figures don't actually show the respective away supports, only the overall attendances at those games, they are utterly meaningless.

Sorry. huh.gif
Jim Pansy
QUOTE (HeartsparkDollarsign @ Oct 3 2008, 10:19) *
As those figures don't actually show the respective away supports, only the overall attendances at those games, they are utterly meaningless.

Sorry. huh.gif

Don't you know we are all secretly OF fans, just without the bus fare. Ergo, seems fair enough to me.
WeAreThePeople

Sorry. huh.gif

It shows Rangers are a bigger pull for games than Celtic, as more fans turn up to watch the teams when Rangers play than they do when Celtic play. Kind of kicks back the statement of "celtic are Scotland best club" eh?
glasnost
There can be a whole host of factors which make such a simple comparison as this unreliable i.e. when games are played and even where (ie our 2nd game vs Gretna played at Livingston) In addition, we didn’t play at the same grounds the same number of times.

Of course how clubs arrive at attendance figures can also be a factor. This is important in relation to how both clubs allocate away tickets.

Lastly, who the hell gives a feck?!
fitbin

Sorry. huh.gif

QUOTE (Jim Pansy @ Oct 3 2008, 10:27) *
Don't you know we are all secretly OF fans, just without the bus fare. Ergo, seems fair enough to me.

Also, how do you calculate those "behind enemy lines"? ph34r.gif
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (glasnost @ Oct 3 2008, 14:03) *
There can be a whole host of factors which make such a simple comparison as this unreliable i.e. when games are played and even where (ie our 2nd game vs Gretna played at Livingston) In addition, we didn't play at the same grounds the same number of times.

Of course how clubs arrive at attendance figures can also be a factor. This is important in relation to how both clubs allocate away tickets.

When it was played doesn't matter much, considering a couple of games of ours in december seen a higher number than your mob during the better weather times.

And it is more of a post to try and take away from the Sectarian sh*te which is in every other thread on here.
glasnost
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 3 2008, 14:14) *
When it was played doesn't matter much, considering a couple of games of ours in december seen a higher number than your mob during the better weather times.

And it is more of a post to try and take away from the Sectarian sh*te which is in every other thread on here.

Re when they were played - games being played on a Saturday for instance are perhaps generally more likely to attract wavering punters than games on a Sunday. There are a whole host of factors as I said which make such a basic comparison as you laid out very flawed.
zenith st.petersburg
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 3 2008, 13:58) *
It shows Rangers are a bigger pull for games than Celtic, as more fans turn up to watch the teams when Rangers play than they do when Celtic play. Kind of kicks back the statement of "celtic are Scotland best club" eh?

There are more at Rangers games cos most diddy teams fans 2nd team is Rangers.
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (zenith st.petersburg @ Oct 3 2008, 15:00) *
There are more at Rangers games cos most diddy teams fans 2nd team is Rangers.

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

I now await the mass of diddy teams fans with their "f*ck Rangers, hun b*stards" comments after that. biggrin.gif
celtic_glasgow

7711 v Inverness
11544 v Kilmarnock
15948 v Hearts
10009 v Motherwell
12129 v Dundee Utd
6627 v Falkirk
17798 v Aberdeen
16217 v Hibs
6137 v Gretna
7753 v Inverness
10546 v Kilmarnock
16173 v Hearts
11214 v Dundee Utd
16872 v Hibs
10445 v Motherwell
7439 v St Mirren
17509 v Aberdeen

Total

6329 v Falkirk
16232 v Aberdeen
7840 v St Mirren
16125 v Hibs
6011 v Gretna
8260 v Kilmarnock
16454 v Hearts
7004 v Inverness
12357 v Dundee Utd
6803 v Falkirk
14651 v Aberdeen
7213 v St Mirren
15735 v Hibs
3561 v Gretna
9771 v Motherwell
9158 v Motherwell
13613 v Dundee Utd

Total

we only played hearts once so add 16,000 to ours please...........................

pedantic fud!
Eönwë
I think it's more to do with the home fans knowing they're more likely to see a win against Rangers than Celtic, so they turn up in their droves wink.gif
zenith st.petersburg
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 3 2008, 15:12) *

I now await the mass of diddy teams fans with their "f*ck Rangers, hun b*stards" comments after that. biggrin.gif

tongue.gif
findis89

QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 3 2008, 15:12) *

Lying b*****d
youroldda
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 3 2008, 13:58) *

huh.gif eh .considering that due to the split, we don't play the same teams twice huh.gif huh.gif huh.gif
JUMPURS
QUOTE (celtic_glasgow @ Oct 3 2008, 16:43) *
we only played hearts once so add 16,000 to ours please...........................

pedantic fud!

We played them 3 times at home and once away last season, and also note we got Gretna away twice to the huns once. So they get 2 trips to Hearts and we get 2 to Gretna. Yeah those numbers are a fair representation.

Also as Celtic's total attendance at home was 153,726 more than Rangers last season.
Our average attendance was 8,091 more than at Ibrox.
Rangers lowest home attendance was 14707 lower than celtics home attendance.

And i shall cite my source wink.gif

http://www.scotprem.com/content/default.as...home_Statistics

Take that back to follow follow and see what they make of it wink.gif
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (findis89 @ Oct 3 2008, 19:21) *
Lying b*****d

Posted the other ones before this one you silly fud.
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Oct 3 2008, 20:44) *
Also as Celtic's total attendance at home was 153,726 more than Rangers last season.

Well considering you have a stadium which houses 60,000 which is 10,000 more than ours, your averagely should be higher.

Our average % of attendance is higher than the average % at Celtic. (Compared to stadium size)
H Wragg
We played them 3 times at home and once away last season, and also note we got Gretna away twice to the huns once. So they get 2 trips to Hearts and we get 2 to Gretna. Yeah those numbers are a fair representation.

WeAreThePeople should close this thread to avoid further embarrassment.

On the subject of Celtic's home attendances though, was there not some 'confusion' over some of the official attendance figures. The one I recall specifically was their 1-1 draw with St. Mirren on 8th December. I'm pretty sure the attendance given was almost a full house despite there being thousands of empty seats around the ground. Is the official attendance for games supposed to include season ticket holders who couldn't be arsed turning up? As far as I'm concerned the attendance should be the number of fans in the ground.
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (H Wragg @ Oct 3 2008, 22:39) *

WeAreThePeople should close this thread to avoid further embarrassment.

On the subject of Celtic's home attendances though, was there not some 'confusion' over some of the official attendance figures. The one I recall specifically was their 1-1 draw with St. Mirren on 8th December. I'm pretty sure the attendance given was almost a full house despite their being thousands of empty seats around the ground. Is the official attendance for games supposed to include season ticket holders who couldn't be arsed turning up? As far as I'm concerned the attendance should be the number of fans in the ground.

I am not being embarrased, you can't make excuses like "the day it was played" or "time of month" as if the fans were loyal they would follow no matter what

As for the Hearts/Gretna thing, take them away and Rangers games still have a higher attendance on away days.

And they do indeed take into account all ST holders, as they have paid for tickets and the attendance goes by the number of tickets sold.
H Wragg
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 3 2008, 22:41) *
And they do indeed take into account all ST holders, as they have paid for tickets and the attendance goes by the number of tickets sold.

So, how come (according to the scotprem link above) Rangers only managed 30293 against St. Mirren. Rangers surely have more season ticket holders than that?

WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (H Wragg @ Oct 3 2008, 22:54) *
So, how come (according to the scotprem link above) Rangers only managed 30293 against St. Mirren. Rangers surely have more season ticket holders than that?

No idea, we have more ST holders than 30k, yes.

I don't remember having heard an official attendance at Ibrox in the league of 30k, it is usually at least 37k.

Probably wrong on behalf of who made up said stats.
H Wragg
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 3 2008, 22:58) *
I don't remember having heard an official attendance at Ibrox in the league of 30k, it is usually at least 37k.

Probably wrong on behalf of who made up said stats.

Agreed. On reflection it does look like a mistake.30k does look particularly low for a Rangers home league game but furthermore, according to the scotprem site every SPL team had their lowest home attendance of the season in August. ie. right at the start of the season, before the novelty has worn off for some. huh.gif

On the general point of attendance figures, I definitely prefer the attendance given to relate to those actually at the game. It helps with the willy size comparing contests that these figures produce (a la this thread)!!

WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (H Wragg @ Oct 3 2008, 23:36) *
Agreed. On reflection it does look like a mistake.30k does look particularly low for a Rangers home league game but furthermore, according to the scotprem site every SPL team had their lowest home attendance of the season in August. ie. right at the start of the season, before the novelty has worn off for some. huh.gif

On the general point of attendance figures, I definitely prefer the attendance given to relate to those actually at the game. It helps with the willy size comparing contests that these figures produce (a la this thread)!!

I would prefer a ST to go back to the ticket book, and only count someone if the turnstyle is clicked, but it seems ST's are counted now. I prefered the old ticket books to the new card system.

I enjoy away days as I like to keep the part of the ticket I get back, I've got tickets stretching back years lying in this very house.

Away in the SPL as well as Europe.
H Wragg
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 3 2008, 23:44) *
I enjoy away days as I like to keep the part of the ticket I get back, I've got tickets stretching back years lying in this very house.

Away in the SPL as well as Europe.

Being a Thistle fan, all ticket games have been relatively few and far between but I've been to quite a few Scotland home games and a handful of away games. I'm pretty sure I have the stub from every all ticket football match I've ever attended.
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (H Wragg @ Oct 4 2008, 00:23) *
Being a Thistle fan, all ticket games have been relatively few and far between but I've been to quite a few Scotland home games and a handful of away games. I'm pretty sure I have the stub from every all ticket football match I've ever attended.

I've got stubs from all the away games I have attended, also have 3 swipe cards given out by Rangers over the years. I'm sure that Airdrie Utd use a ticket season book, which is better than these daft cards we get, as without fail, every 1st game of the season a couple of thounsand aren't working. Happened to me last season, missed the first 25 minutes.
bernie
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 3 2008, 22:37) *
Well considering you have a stadium which houses 60,000 which is 10,000 more than ours, your averagely should be higher.

Our average % of attendance is higher than the average % at Celtic. (Compared to stadium size)

I do think WATP has lost the debate on this one- never mind- Stand up for the champions!!

Hang on maybe there is some credence to his arguement as all the Huns , in the last few weeks of the season thought they were winning the league and all the big game supporters came out of the woodwork... Again.

Alas it was not to be in the end.

WATP , you could be right
glasnost
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 3 2008, 23:44) *
I would prefer a ST to go back to the ticket book, and only count someone if the turnstyle is clicked, but it seems ST's are counted now. I prefered the old ticket books to the new card system.

Clubs can give the actual numbers through the gate if they so desire with new cards, even easier of course. They choose not to.

I liked old books as well when I was younger. Now I couldn’t give a shit. The cards are easier not to lose.
ChampionsElect
What do you want here? An apology.

The amount of fans you bring is based on your supporters love of rioting. Plus like Manchester how do you not know these away fans are actually 'Chelsea' fans again rolleyes.gif

WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (ChampionsElect @ Oct 4 2008, 23:09) *
What do you want here? An apology.

The amount of fans you bring is based on your supporters love of rioting. Plus like Manchester how do you not know these away fans are actually 'Chelsea' fans again rolleyes.gif

Eh? huh.gif

Any time a Rangers fan says something that you don't like it's "Manchester".

Very good, a bad day for us, I'll mention my usual reply to it, BLACKBURN.

Oh and the guy who does the tours at Chelsea tells everyone that Chelsea were founded by a Rangers player, which is why they play in Blue.

So who knows, maybe they all are just "Rangers fans without busfair" laugh.gif
patto
YouAreTheInbreds
baggio333
QUOTE (glasnost @ Oct 3 2008, 14:03) *
There can be a whole host of factors which make such a simple comparison as this unreliable i.e. when games are played and even where (ie our 2nd game vs Gretna played at Livingston) In addition, we didn't play at the same grounds the same number of times.

If you don't give a feck, why post on this thread let alone try and answer the threads question, ya nugget!!!! biggrin.gif
paul-r-cfc

7711 v Inverness
11544 v Kilmarnock
15948 v Hearts
10009 v Motherwell
12129 v Dundee Utd
6627 v Falkirk
17798 v Aberdeen
16217 v Hibs
6137 v Gretna
7753 v Inverness
10546 v Kilmarnock
16173 v Hearts
11214 v Dundee Utd
16872 v Hibs
10445 v Motherwell
7439 v St Mirren
17509 v Aberdeen

Total

6329 v Falkirk
16232 v Aberdeen
7840 v St Mirren
16125 v Hibs
6011 v Gretna
8260 v Kilmarnock
16454 v Hearts
7004 v Inverness
12357 v Dundee Utd
6803 v Falkirk
14651 v Aberdeen
7213 v St Mirren
15735 v Hibs
3561 v Gretna
9771 v Motherwell
9158 v Motherwell
13613 v Dundee Utd

Total

do you want a medal or something?
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (patto @ Oct 6 2008, 00:56) *
YouAreTheInbreds

YouAreTheMuttonMollesters.
Paddy Flannery
RFC - PRIDE OF SCOTLAND AND ULSTER
Rory89

I was having a wee look on that link and came across an interesting fact. Our highest attendance of the 03/04 season was 15060, against Hearts on 17/08/03. Our lowest attendance that year was 5447, also against Hearts, on the same day. huh.gif

I also don't really remember the ground being packed to the rafters for our highest attended game of the season last year against Gretna either.
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (Rory89 @ Oct 14 2008, 13:41) *
I was having a wee look on that link and came across an interesting fact. Our highest attendance of the 03/04 season was 15060, against Hearts on 17/08/03. Our lowest attendance that year was 5447, also against Hearts, on the same day. huh.gif

I also don't really remember the ground being packed to the rafters for our highest attended game of the season last year against Gretna either.

laugh.gif laugh.gif

Great website is it not?

Wikipedia is more reliable.
ChampionsElect
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 16 2008, 16:30) *
laugh.gif laugh.gif

Great website is it not?

Wikipedia is more reliable.

laugh.gif Yeh at least on Wikipedia people can't go in and edit anything they like. rolleyes.gif
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (ChampionsElect @ Oct 16 2008, 19:30) *
laugh.gif Yeh at least on Wikipedia people can't go in and edit anything they like. rolleyes.gif

WHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOSH.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.