Full Version: Jeff Winter - The Refs Fight Back - Report On Rangers Vs Hibernian
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > Rangers v Celtic, Celtic v Rangers
Pages: 1, 2
WeAreThePeople
HIBERNIAN v RANGERS 2-10-08

Having been denied opportunities to come up to Glasgow this season for European football, I managed to drag myself out of bed on Sunday morning for a trip to Edinburgh to watch my first live Rangers game of the season.

To be quite honest, after Saturday's football, I had just about had enough of the game for a few days.

Could Rangers restore my faith in football?

Less than twenty-four hours earlier, I had watched Boro huff and puff against West Brom. They wouldn't have scored in a brothel.

The day got off to a bad start when my mate Steve, who I was introducing to Rangers, got lost on his way to pick me up. He then insisted on playing some heavy metal shite on the car radio.

The A1 is a long and boring road, not made any more desirable by the lack of Little Chefs and the worrying signs stating how many people have died on certain sections in recent years.

That and the annoying number of tractors and combine harvesters that use the road to dawdle along. They say “Keep orf my land” but I say “Keep off our f**king roads”. They quickly earned the title of “agricultural twats”.

We eventually found a LC just outside Musselborough. Whilst a breakfast bap would probably have been sufficient, the Olympic Breakfast was a unanimous choice.

As we were eating, in walked one of the Boro’s chief scouts, David Mills. He ordered a toasted teacake and commented on our breakfasts with a skitty “See you are off your food lads”.

He too was off to Easter Road but looking at no one in particular. I wish I had known as we could have jumped in the car with him and saved the petrol money.

Arriving in Edinburgh, thanks to sat nav we did not make the easy mistake of heading for the floodlights, otherwise a quite boring afternoon at Meadowbank would have ensued.

Every pub near the ground was full of Rangers fans and it was a welcome sight. However, ignorance took us past the ground until we found a parking spot. This was a mistake, as we were to learn later on.

A meeting with my mate Scott, collection of tickets and a million handshakes later eventually saw us in the back row of the lower section.

My vastly travelled friend was already very impressed with the numbers and the local support. All seater stadia in England have led to a rapid decline in the atmosphere but this is not so in Scotland.

The banter with the juvenile home fan was made all the more amusing by the appearance of, shall we say a rather large home supporter who has obviously never had to worry about famine or any other anorexic problems.

It was food and drink to the Rangers fans who tore into him from the start. By half time, he had had enough and went home - probably for another pie.

It seems strange to pay £27 to watch a game and clear off at half time, even if several thousand Rangers fans have taken the piss out of you for forty-five minutes.

However, it was not as if he was missing much. Fat boy and his mates had spent the first half totally focused and impressed with the Rangers support and had not even watched a moment's action!!

I was surprised at how narrow the pitch was and in the early stages, everybody was on top of one other.

I am often asked if I miss refereeing. Well, if it involves wearing a terrible kit like your refs do, then I certainly don’t. I would have looked like a pregnant canary in one of those fluorescent yellow kits.

Rangers won at a canter and the fantastic vocal support throughout meant that it was a great day out.

At Boro, our main two songs are “You’re not fit to referee” and “You don’t know what your doing”. This is certainly not the case with Rangers - I will have to learn the words.

The one disappointing aspect for me was my old adversary, David Weir, obviously impressed and satisfied with the comfort of a three goal lead, decided to save his old legs and not head upfield for the string of attacking free kicks and corners in the last twenty minutes.

Sensible some might say, but no f**king good to the visitor from England who has had a spread bet on him for goal minutes.

In an attempt to cover the petrol money, I had invested in another outcome, the correct score. I had Hibs to score late on and if they had, you might have seen an unusual occurrence of a visiting supporter celebrating a home goal. 3-1 was my punt, wasn't going to happen was it?

After the match, our parking was proved to be a problem as even though it was in the opposite direction, we were marched out of the ground with everyone else. Those days ended a long time ago in England.

It was a long journey home but my faith in football had been restored. We will be back as Kilmarnock in November is already in the diary.

I am currently receiving a lot of enquiries to speak at Rangers functions. If you are interested, contact me.

Enjoy your football and here’s to “One in a Row”

Best Wishes

Jeff Winter

http://www.jeffwinterentertainmentandmedia...rs/0809010.html

Read a couple of pieces by him, seems a good lad.

Interesting read to see the views of someone from outside the support go to the game and enjoy it.
Frank Booth
We eventually found a LC just outside Musselborough.

Close but no cigar English boy...we don't use the "borough" suffix, just "burgh" does for us.

Rangers won at a canter and the fantastic vocal support throughout meant that it was a great day out.

the fantastic vocal support sing hate filled bigoted shite

At Boro, our main two songs are “You’re not fit to referee” and “You don’t know what your doing”. This is certainly not the case with Rangers - I will have to learn the words.

See above...you'll learn the words and then, if you're of a fair mind, will be revulsed by them as the rest of us are.

I am currently receiving a lot of enquiries to speak at Rangers functions. If you are interested, contact me.

Blue bigot apololgist.
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (Frank Booth @ Oct 3 2008, 00:03) *
Close but no cigar English boy...we don't use the "borough" suffix, just "burgh" does for us.

the fantastic vocal support sing hate filled bigoted shite

See above...you'll learn the words and then, if you're of a fair mind, will be revulsed by them as the rest of us are.

Blue bigot apololgist.

The hatred I sense coming from you is unbelievable.

That is the opinion of a former ref, and one who has (up to now) had no connection to supporting Rangers FC.

I even linked his website, feel free to e-mail him all you like. I just like the reads.
Frank Booth
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 3 2008, 00:08) *
The hatred I sense coming from you is unbelievable.

That is the opinion of a former ref, and one who has (up to now) had no connection to supporting Rangers FC.

He's a naive Englishmen who has no concept of the typical Rangers awayday songbook.

Tell you what, YOU email him with the lyrics to the songs and see what reply you get.
Kincardine
QUOTE (Frank Booth @ Oct 3 2008, 00:10) *
He's a naive Englishmen who has no concept of the typical Rangers awayday songbook.

The banter with the juvenile home fan was made all the more amusing by the appearance of, shall we say a rather large home supporter who has obviously never had to worry about famine or any other anorexic problems.

It was food and drink to the Rangers fans who tore into him from the start. By half time, he had had enough and went home - probably for another pie.

I'd wager he at least knows one song wink.gif
fatman76
QUOTE (Kincardine @ Oct 3 2008, 10:55) *
I'd wager he at least knows one song wink.gif

I bet he sings it on his way home! wink.gif laugh.gif
youroldda
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 2 2008, 23:55) *

http://www.jeffwinterentertainmentandmedia...rs/0809010.html

Read a couple of pieces by him, seems a good lad.

Interesting read to see the views of someone from outside the support go to the game and enjoy it.

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif jeff( the bitter orange b*****d who hates Celtic )Winters , this guy refers to himself as the AngloHun ..Do you have anymore "OUTSIDE "views from other impartial wankers like..Daryl king, Derek Jonstone, Proteus!! laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (youroldda @ Oct 3 2008, 11:16) *
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif jeff( the bitter orange b*****d who hates Celtic )Winters , this guy refers to himself as the AngloHun ..Do you have anymore "OUTSIDE "views from other impartial wankers like..Daryl king, Derek Jonstone, Proteus!! laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

I've honestly never really heard of the guy other than read a few of his pieces.

Also please edit the "orange" part of your post as this is extremely offensive as well as sectarian. I'm not going to sit and call you the F word, so I'd quite like to see the same curtosy for our beliefs and not see orange bas in posts. smile.gif
Stewie Griffin
Jeff Winter was, is and always will be an utterly obnoxious self agrandising c*n*
deky
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 3 2008, 15:15) *

Also please edit the "orange" part of your post as this is extremely offensive as well as sectarian. I'm not going to sit and call you the F word, so I'd quite like to see the same curtosy for our beliefs and not see orange bas in posts. smile.gif

fatman76
QUOTE (Frank Booth @ Oct 3 2008, 00:10) *

I think he is a fan of Rangers that enjoys the colourful atmosphere of scottish football. As he said in his blog he finds english football sterile and lacking atmosphere. I think we should (as fans of scottish football no matter which team it is we support) enjoy the spectacle and try our best to protect this.
youroldda
I've honestly never really heard of the guy other than read a few of his pieces.

never called you "orange" I called jeff(the anglo hun)Winters it! and he is! this guy is scum , A shit ref in his day who now tries to sell himself as an after dinner speaker, He is well known to celtic fans as a self confessed proud rangers supporting protestant anglo hun!!!
fatman76
QUOTE (youroldda @ Oct 3 2008, 16:53) *
A shit ref in his day who now tries to sell himself as an after dinner speaker, He is well known to celtic fans as a self confessed proud rangers supporting protestant anglo hun!!!

And your point is?
youroldda
QUOTE (fatman76 @ Oct 3 2008, 16:58) *
And your point is?

eh...that he supports rangers! ..that he's not an "outside view" of Rangers games as was suggested at the start
WeAreThePeople
never called you "orange" I called jeff(the anglo hun)Winters it! and he is! this guy is scum , A shit ref in his day who now tries to sell himself as an after dinner speaker, He is well known to celtic fans as a self confessed proud rangers supporting protestant anglo hun!!!

It still is an extremely offensive (sectarian) comment, and I am a member of said organisation.

I now await the pelters for stating this.
Frank Booth
QUOTE (fatman76 @ Oct 3 2008, 15:28) *
I think he is a fan of Rangers that enjoys the colourful atmosphere of scottish football. As he said in his blog he finds english football sterile and lacking atmosphere. I think we should (as fans of scottish football no matter which team it is we support) enjoy the spectacle and try our best to protect this.

As I said, sent him the lyrics of the Famine Song, No Pope of Rome, 3 cheers for the Red White and Blue etc and see how he feels after that
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (Frank Booth @ Oct 3 2008, 22:43) *
As I said, sent him the lyrics of the Famine Song, No Pope of Rome, 3 cheers for the Red White and Blue etc and see how he feels after that

Considering he made a comment about the fans not having any "famines to worry about" obviously he knows that song.

We don't sing "No Pope of Rome"
Frank Booth
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 3 2008, 22:49) *

It was sung on numerous occasions at away games last season.
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (Frank Booth @ Oct 3 2008, 22:50) *
It was sung on numerous occasions at away games last season.

Rubbish, didn't miss an away game in the SPL last season, and I didn't sing "No Pope of Rome", nor do I remember any fans singing it for this matter.
Frank Booth
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 3 2008, 22:59) *
Rubbish, didn't miss an away game in the SPL last season, and I didn't sing "No Pope of Rome", nor do I remember any fans singing it for this matter.

Then your memory is "rubbish"...typical bigot apologist.
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (Frank Booth @ Oct 3 2008, 23:05) *
Then your memory is "rubbish"...typical bigot apologist.

No it's not, typical diddy "we hate Rangers so if I say something the rest will agree" attitude.

Your statement was complete fabrication and you are now unhappy that someone who goes to the games is there and can say it.

Although you can use the "ah hes a hun he would say that" line, but the fact is I am speaking the truth.
sev
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 3 2008, 22:39) *
It still is an extremely offensive (sectarian) comment, and I am a member of said organisation.

I now await the pelters for stating this.

Let me get this right. You are offended by yourolda's remark but you are a member of an organisation where sectarianism oozes out of its pours by whistling your garbage down everyones street offending them as you
go by?? Am i on the right track??
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (sev @ Oct 3 2008, 23:38) *
Let me get this right. You are offended by yourolda's remark but you are a member of an organisation where sectarianism oozes out of its pours by whistling your garbage down everyones street offending them as you
go by?? Am i on the right track??

I don't believe it is a Sectarian organisation, we have no problems with Catholics and show no bitterness to them. We do not offend anyone, we parade to celebrate our heritige, so the Irish Parades, can I call them Sectarian?

I certainly do not.

I also stated on another thread I don't want to get into an argument about the OO, it is for another day and in another place.

It has nothing to do with Football, just like my religion has nothing to do with it.
sev
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 3 2008, 23:41) *
I don't believe it is a Sectarian organisation, we have no problems with Catholics and show no bitterness to them. We do not offend anyone, we parade to celebrate our heritige, so the Irish Parades, can I call them Sectarian?

I certainly do not.

I also stated on another thread I don't want to get into an argument about the OO, it is for another day and in another place.

It has nothing to do with Football, just like my religion has nothing to do with it.

Call them what you want, they have no meaning to my life whatsoever.

Bit of a contradiction as ( i know you dont want to go into it but) i feel the songs you parade are sectarian, so i dont know how that cant offend people

Serious question. What made you want to join the OO?

WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (sev @ Oct 3 2008, 23:47) *
Call them what you want, they have no meaning to my life whatsoever.

Bit of a contradiction as ( i know you dont want to go into it but) i feel the songs you parade are sectarian, so i dont know how that cant offend people

Serious question. What made you want to join the OO?

I believe in the things that it stands for. I don't want to dwell into what these are as that will be what starts a whole new debate.
sev
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 3 2008, 23:54) *
I believe in the things that it stands for. I don't want to dwell into what these are as that will be what starts a whole new debate.

Fair enough. Just thought i would ask. The reason i ask is because i am a drummer and a guy i used to work with asked me if i wanted to join his band only to find out it was a "hibs" band. Promptly told him where to go
Frank Booth
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 3 2008, 23:31) *
No it's not, typical diddy "we hate Rangers so if I say something the rest will agree" attitude.

Your statement was complete fabrication and you are now unhappy that someone who goes to the games is there and can say it.

Although you can use the "ah hes a hun he would say that" line, but the fact is I am speaking the truth.

No, your claim is rubbish.

For you see there is this invention called "television" and as well as providing moving pictures, it also provides sound...the sound of Rangers fans singing bigoted songs like "No Pope of Rome"
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (Frank Booth @ Oct 4 2008, 00:03) *
No, your claim is rubbish.

For you see there is this invention called "television" and as well as providing moving pictures, it also provides sound...the sound of Rangers fans singing bigoted songs like "No Pope of Rome"

I think you are hearing things my friend, do you have this imaginary channel which plays songs of its own and you can say "see those big huns are singing bad things"

I can assure you, we sang nothing of the sort.
Frank Booth
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 4 2008, 00:19) *
I think you are hearing things my friend, do you have this imaginary channel which plays songs of its own and you can say "see those big huns are singing bad things"

I can assure you, we sang nothing of the sort.

You might not have but your bigoted brethren were giving it loud and clear for Setanta ( a REAL channel) to pick up and broadcast to the world.
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (Frank Booth @ Oct 4 2008, 00:22) *
You might not have but your bigoted brethren were giving it loud and clear for Setanta ( a REAL channel) to pick up and broadcast to the world.

Could you tell me which game this was? As I am at a loss, and I know that alot of Rangers fans are like me and discourage this song, as isn't an appropriate song for a Football game and can land us in the brown stuff.

I for one have never had a problem with the Pope, infact I find he is actually a useful figurehead, as now and again he comes out with statements with good knowledge for all, and not just about religion, it also tends to help calm down alot of people during tough times.
The Dog

I wonder if the Orange Order find it offensive as well as the people who frequent their local Orange lodge. In fact if you email the man from del monte to change his fruits name he may say yes.

Get a life FFS
killieman

why bring religion into your post it only highlights your ignorance and intolerance for other religous faiths ... oh i am basically describing the actions of a bigot ..... so yes you must be a bigot .. shock horror ohmy.gif
fatman76
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 3 2008, 22:49) *

I miss singing "No Pope of Rome", its a party classic. Feckin PC brigade feck everything!

Everybody sing along now!

Oh give me a home................................................

Happy days!
the igzter
QUOTE (killieman @ Oct 4 2008, 09:40) *
why bring religion into your post it only highlights your ignorance and intolerance for other religous faiths ... oh i am basically describing the actions of a bigot ..... so yes you must be a bigot .. shock horror ohmy.gif

Indulge me Kllieman, Why are Celtic Maggie Thatcher's 11 ?

I am genuinely intrigued.
Top Cat
QUOTE (fatman76 @ Oct 4 2008, 19:14) *
I miss singing "No Pope of Rome", its a party classic. Feckin PC brigade feck everything!

Everybody sing along now!

Oh give me a home................................................

Happy days!

Btw, there is nothing to stop you singing that song! If you wish to publicly decry a corrupt organisation which has been proven many times to be less than a clean potato in it's workings, then living in a democracy, you can freely make your feelings known.
fatman76
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Oct 4 2008, 20:23) *
Proven many times to be less than a clean potato

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif I nearly fell off ma chair!!

thumbup2.gif
killieman
QUOTE (the igzter @ Oct 4 2008, 19:56) *
Indulge me Kllieman, Why are Celtic Maggie Thatcher's 11 ?

I am genuinely intrigued.

their owner/main shareholder Dermott desmond is a member of a exclusive group of conservative backers that must invest at least £50,000 a year to become a member and i believe up until a few years ago Maggie Thatcher was the honorary president of said exclusive group ... so i now class them as maggie thatcher's 11 ... plus their fans vote en masse for a unionist party that is identical to the real tories .... so the tag will stay biggrin.gif
The Dog
Btw, there is nothing to stop you singing that song! If you wish to publicly decry a corrupt organisation which has been proven many times to be less than a clean potato in it's workings, then living in a democracy, you can freely make your feelings known.

Im sure you wont bother your shirt about Celtic fans singing "Go On Home British Soldiers " then.
fatman76
QUOTE (The Dog @ Oct 5 2008, 21:57) *
Im sure you wont bother your shirt about Celtic fans singing "Go On Home British Soldiers " then.

Hmmmmmmm did think about that before you typed it? Please do sing that song, I would love the irony of yer fans singing that at the piggery!
findis89

so singing "f**k the Queen is acceptable then?
fatman76
QUOTE (findis89 @ Oct 6 2008, 12:02) *
so singing "f**k the Queen is acceptable then?

Sing what you want. I am sure it that was to be sung at a game where there was a Rangers support we would not find the need for any public outcry and we certainly would not be calling for some form of public investigation. We would simply pick a song and sing it twice as loud. I believe it would create a very atmospheric game. smile.gif
findis89
QUOTE (fatman76 @ Oct 6 2008, 13:26) *
Sing what you want. I am sure it that was to be sung at a game where there was a Rangers support we would not find the need for any public outcry and we certainly would not be calling for some form of public investigation. We would simply pick a song and sing it twice as loud. I believe it would create a very atmospheric game. smile.gif

you lot made a public outcry about sonething a fictional character siad on Coronation street FFS
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (findis89 @ Oct 6 2008, 13:53) *
you lot made a public outcry about sonething a fictional character siad on Coronation street FFS

Aye, and then you had every other fan in Scotland greeting re a few Rangers fans doing it.

findis89
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 6 2008, 15:22) *
Aye, and then you had every other fan in Scotland greeting re a few Rangers fans doing it.

the other fans were laughing at you ,not greeting about it.
Rangers fans =MOPES
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (findis89 @ Oct 6 2008, 15:42) *
the other fans were laughing at you ,not greeting about it.
Rangers fans =MOPES

Laughing?

more like moaning at how a few and I'll say that again A FEW rangers fans complaint, 2 dozen max. You lot were moaning like feck that they complained.

You lot are more obsessed with us than your own clubs.

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
findis89
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 6 2008, 15:48) *
Laughing?

more like moaning at how a few and I'll say that again A FEW rangers fans complaint, 2 dozen max. You lot were moaning like feck that they complained.

You lot are more obsessed with us than your own clubs.

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

and you know this for a fact do you?
As i said,laughing at the mope Rangers fans
fatman76
QUOTE (findis89 @ Oct 6 2008, 13:53) *

Where was this public outcry? I have been in the country for the past week and I dont remember any outcry. Why would we bothered about what a cock-eyed mhanky pape has to say.
No8.
NAISMITH...GIRFUY!! laugh.gif laugh.gif
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (findis89 @ Oct 6 2008, 15:54) *
and you know this for a fact do you?
As i said,laughing at the mope Rangers fans

In every papers, and one of my mates is friendly with said actor. wink.gif

Still a dirty wee w*nk of a guy though.
findis89
QUOTE (fatman76 @ Oct 6 2008, 16:59) *
Where was this public outcry? I have been in the country for the past week and I dont remember any outcry. Why would we bothered about what a cock-eyed mhanky pape has to say.

So you never read any of the papers while you were here then?
How about the foaming at the mouth threads on fascist fascist?
QUOTE (No8. @ Oct 6 2008, 17:02) *
NAISMITH...GIRFUY!! laugh.gif laugh.gif

£2m for a cripple laugh.gif

QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 6 2008, 17:13) *
In every papers, and one of my mates is friendly with said actor. wink.gif

Still a dirty wee w*nk of a guy though.

Ah,the old "my mates a pal" line