Full Version: East Fife V Raith Tickets On Sale 10th October.......
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4
Michael W
QUOTE (the_russian @ Oct 20 2008, 18:49) *
Are there not other board members who voted for Anelka still at the club?

In hindsight, of course the Anelka era was a disaster, but I suppose you can't blame a small lower league club for giving him a go, it was potentially high profile and I suppose he must have talked a good game, the club weren't to know that his superstars that would make you the 3rd force in Scottish football were actually French five-aside league players and London sunday league players. He probably even claimed he'd sign his brother, who probably would have done okay in Div1...

No, they went out with Gray. I might be wrong, but I think one of them (McGowan) ploughed money into Hamilton.

I don't know the whole ins and outs of the situation, but I think the board seen the investment that was being offered and let that cloud judgement. I would not be surprised if he was deceptive about what he was offering though. Calderon had managed to keep us up that year against the odds, the way he was treated in the Anlka saga was nothing short of a disgrace.
the_russian
QUOTE (Rovers_Lad @ Oct 20 2008, 18:55) *
Yep,the Glaswegians whom WG invited into the club and like WG are no longer here.

Impeccable logic, they are still at the club and are no longer at the club.
lzreid
Not talking out your arse.Figure was 25/30k

Aye they were the figures I had in mind dry.gif .
lzreid
QUOTE (Michael W @ Oct 20 2008, 18:58) *
No, they went out with Gray. I might be wrong, but I think one of them (McGowan) ploughed money into Hamilton.

I don't know the whole ins and outs of the situation, but I think the board seen the investment that was being offered and let that cloud judgement. I would not be surprised if he was deceptive about what he was offering though. Calderon had managed to keep us up that year against the odds, the way he was treated in the Anlka saga was nothing short of a disgrace.

I don't see anything wrong with the Manager who won us our last title and succesfully kept us up being offered a coaching role dry.gif
King Kebab
QUOTE (lzreid @ Oct 20 2008, 19:03) *
I don't see anything wrong with the Manager who won us our last title and succesfully being offered a coaching role dry.gif

Does that mean he got the position???
lzreid
QUOTE (King Kebab @ Oct 20 2008, 19:05) *
Does that mean he got the position???

Damn it, I forgot to type the rest of the sentence laugh.gif

Fixed.
danelder89
QUOTE (H Wragg @ Oct 20 2008, 18:09) *
What did he do?

This dry.gif
King Kebab
QUOTE (jack_bauer @ Oct 20 2008, 19:06) *

I know!!!

How dare he sit there at a football ground watching his team and let himself be abused by assorted vagabonds, riff-raff and footpads!!!

The man's obviously a c**t!!!
the_russian
Raith fans should be thankful to Willie Gray, he's added a lot of spice to the derby games this season, and probably helped bring a few extra hundred paying punters in to Starks last month.
Gordon EF
QUOTE (Rovers_Lad @ Oct 20 2008, 18:52) *
Alert ,East Fife supporter in crowd slag laugh.gif

You lot could dismantle half your stand at present and sell it as unused scrap

Not a crowd slag. It was a 'your stadium is far too big slag'.

Seeing as we've already used more than half our stand this season, I doubt we could.
Rovers_Lad
QUOTE (the_russian @ Oct 20 2008, 18:58) *
Impeccable logic, they are still at the club and are no longer at the club.

rolleyes.gif

Don`t try to be smart twat.Where did I say they were still at the club?Fekin erse
the_russian
QUOTE (Rovers_Lad @ Oct 20 2008, 21:17) *
Don`t try to be smart twat.Where did I say they were still at the club?Fekin erse

QUOTE (the_russian @ Oct 20 2008, 18:49) *
Are there not other board members who voted for Anelka still at the club?

Yep,the Glaswegians whom WG invited into the club and like WG are no longer here.

whistling.gif
Rovers_Lad
QUOTE (Gordon EF @ Oct 20 2008, 19:27) *
Not a crowd slag. It was a 'your stadium is far too big slag'.

Much the same as the majority of clubs in scotland
Rovers_Lad
QUOTE (the_russian @ Oct 20 2008, 21:33) *
whistling.gif

Your still an erse
the_russian
QUOTE (Rovers_Lad @ Oct 20 2008, 21:50) *
A wiz right,your an erse

Right, i'm obviously an erse that speaks a different language from you though, but i'm glad we've cleared that up.
1320Lichtie
QUOTE (Gordon EF @ Oct 20 2008, 16:51) *
Raith took about 2,600 to their home game against us. Let's assume they'd take 2,000 max to Bayview if numbers were unlimited. 550 will get in anyway. You seriously think it would be worth our while to buy and erect a temporary stand just to accomodate 1,450 tops. Gate money would be £21,750 for the extra 1,450 fans, I doubt we'd be left with anything significant once costs were deducted, if anything.

Yes, it's a shame that some Rovers fans can't come to the game but it's not East Fife's responsibility to go out of their way to solve that problem.

Maybe Raith can dismantle one of their stands and set it up at Bayview so they can come to the game. They wouldn't even need it back really, I doubt there'll be many crowds over 5,000 at Stark's anytime soon.

Anyway, this is about a game between teams in the top half of the table, it's of no concern to Arbroath supporters.

rolleyes.gif

Sorry i should know i am not allowed a say here as I support Arbroath who are a full 9 points behind East Fife the team that beat us with an 88th minute free kick.
lzreid
QUOTE (1320Lichtie @ Oct 21 2008, 15:18) *
rolleyes.gif

Sorry i should know i am not allowed a say here as I support Arbroath who are a full 9 points behind East Fife the team that beat us with an 88th minute free kick.

Hey no, don't cede the ground to the soap dodging junkie, you may support Arbroath but you're also a Rovers fan this year smile.gif
1320Lichtie
QUOTE (lzreid @ Oct 21 2008, 16:02) *
Hey no, don't cede the ground to the soap dodging junkie, you may support Arbroath but you're also a Rovers fan this year smile.gif

Rovers are now my 2nd team FOREVER , i liked them before all this anyway laugh.gif wink.gif

See updated sig laugh.gif
lzreid
QUOTE (1320Lichtie @ Oct 21 2008, 16:33) *
Rovers are now my 2nd team FOREVER , i liked them before all this anyway laugh.gif wink.gif

biggrin.gif wub.gif
Gordon EF
rolleyes.gif

I'm glad you know your place now. rolleyes.gif
1320Lichtie
QUOTE (Gordon EF @ Oct 21 2008, 16:47) *
I'm glad you know your place now. rolleyes.gif

looking forward to us fishy b*****ds battering your team gordon wink.gif
CALDERON
QUOTE (Michael W @ Oct 20 2008, 18:58) *

Yep

Calderon was asked to do two things. Win the Second Division, and stay up the following year. He did both.

Ok, with hindsight, the Anelka thing was a blessing in disguise - got rid of a lot of dead wood. But the way Toni was treated was awful.

I dont know enough about Gray's involvment with this to hold that against him.

If he had gone to EF and kept his mouth shut, whilst building a tidy wee team then I would have nothing against the guy. However, the shite he has being saying in the press just incensed me and other Rovers fans I imagine.
Mon_The_Fife
rolleyes.gif

Eh? Was that meant to be a dig or an insult? Please clarify.
The American
QUOTE (1320Lichtie @ Oct 21 2008, 15:58) *

looking forward to us fishy b*****ds battering your team gordon wink.gif

your team couldn't batter fish my son wink.gif

see what i did there tongue.gif smile.gif
Whistle Blower
QUOTE (CALDERON @ Oct 21 2008, 22:26) *
Yep

Calderon was asked to do two things. Win the Second Division, and stay up the following year. He did both.
Ok, with hindsight, the Anelka thing was a blessing in disguise - got rid of a lot of dead wood. But the way Toni was treated was awful.

I dont know enough about Gray's involvment with this to hold that against him.

If he had gone to EF and kept his mouth shut, whilst building a tidy wee team then I would have nothing against the guy. However, the shite he has being saying in the press just incensed me and other Rovers fans I imagine.

In a style akin to Rangers run to the UEFA Cup final.
I could have manged that Raith team to the title, the quality we had that season far outshown any other side (as did the wage bill).

ARoverinLeeds
The Anelka fiasco nearly destroyed us and Gray was largely to blame for this, when that French f**k made those statement's in the Press about being the 3rd force in Scotland i knew we were doomed. Then we played our first match in the cup against Albion Rovers and totally annihilated, that told me everything i needed to know. I only started to go back when Dalziel got the job. At the end of the day he wasn't much better, but atleast we got some and i mean some respectability back.

I for one am glad Jabba has gone, and the west coast contingent.

Thank f**k for Quinny and all the people involved in the "Reclaim the Rovers" campaign, if it wasn't for them there would be no RRFC.

CALDERON
QUOTE (Whistle Blower @ Oct 22 2008, 10:46) *
I could have manged that Raith team to the title, the quality we had that season far outshown any other side (as did the wage bill).

I'd give anything to see Mglynn take us up in that fashion!

I agree to some extent, I dont know when we will ever see players of Paquito's standard back at SP.
1320Lichtie
QUOTE (Mon_The_Fife @ Oct 22 2008, 09:04) *
Eh? Was that meant to be a dig or an insult? Please clarify.

No that is a FACT tongue.gif

QUOTE (The American @ Oct 22 2008, 10:33) *
your team couldn't batter fish my son wink.gif

see what i did there tongue.gif smile.gif

Aye , well done pal very original laugh.gif wink.gif
Double Jack D
QUOTE (Whistle Blower @ Oct 22 2008, 10:46) *

Too right,

In addition, John McGlynn has twice surpassed the points total we got that season with a squad much more limited than we had then!
Wildrover
QUOTE (Double Jack D @ Oct 23 2008, 08:24) *
Too right,

In addition, John McGlynn has twice surpassed the points total we got that season with a squad much more limited than we had then!

Absolutely correct, Calderon was treated badly, but his management was dire, he stumbled over the line with a team head and shoulders above everyone else, playing one up front at home, it was utter crap.
MarvMarvSuperMarv
Got my ticket biggrin.gif!