Full Version: Pro Evo Demo
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > The e-chat forum
Pages: 1, 2, 3
Markoos
I can only really comment on PES2008 on the Ps3 but it is dreadful.

Sadly it sounds like PES2009 will be the patch we all wanted that never came for 2008.

Been playing ISS/Pro Evo since the PS1 and I won't be rushing out to buy this time round.

I'll get the demo and take it from there but even now I may end up purchasing FIFA as the demo was excellent.
StandFree03
QUOTE (Ric @ Oct 2 2008, 14:16) *
http://www.pesgaming.com/showthread.php?t=58648

Quote from the thread..

Now you can stop asking that question, as you've mentioned it at least 3 or 4 times and I have explained to you how to do it each and every time.

I wanted 1999 boy to tell me but thanks anyway biggrin.gif
Ric
I think we'll just have to agree to disagree, SF. I feel you are being overly negative while you probably think I am being overly positive. C'est la vie. There's not much I can do to change people's opinion (..and in truth do I have any right to change them?). I've given my take on what is different from 2008, and I would expect the 360 version to be nigh on identical.

I think FIFA will still have more fans, because lots of people like the official branding (although it will be interesting to see what FIFA do with the Champions League now it's been licensed to PES.) and on the consoles FIFA isn't that far from PES anyway. I would argue it will get more fans because of the actual game engine though, and more to do with marketing. P&B for example are marketing the game both subliminally (through the favicon of the site) and more blatantly on the P&B TV player.
StandFree03
QUOTE (Ric @ Oct 2 2008, 14:30) *
I think we'll just have to agree to disagree, SF. I feel you are being overly negative while you probably think I am being overly positive. C'est la vie. There's not much I can do to change people's opinion (..and in truth do I have any right to change them?). I've given my take on what is different from 2008, and I would expect the 360 version to be nigh on identical.

I think FIFA will still have more fans, because lots of people like the official branding (although it will be interesting to see what FIFA do with the Champions League now it's been licensed to PES.) and on the consoles FIFA isn't that far from PES anyway. I would argue it will get more fans because of the actual game engine though, and more to do with marketing. P&B for example are marketing the game both subliminally (through the favicon of the site) and more blatantly on the P&B TV player.

I reckon I'm just annoyed at the way the series has gone. As I said before, I've bought Pro Evo every year but it looks like this year I won't be. We will never agree on it but I do understand what you are saying, I used to argue blind that Pro Evo was the better game up until last year.

You just need to read some of things people have said about the two games in this forum on the various threads, it's frightning how much more popular Fifa has become lately.
StandFree03
Want a hug? Lets get the love flowing in E-chat again tongue.gif
Gaz
I'm just downloading the demo the now.

I'll be very disappointed if the series has gone backwards yet again. After the genius that was Pro Ev 5, 6 was a shambles and 2008 just didn't feel right. If 2009 is worse than 2008 I won't bother.
Ric
QUOTE (StandFree03 @ Oct 2 2008, 14:37) *
I reckon I'm just annoyed at the way the series has gone. As I said before, I've bought Pro Evo every year but it looks like this year I won't be. We will never agree on it but I do understand what you are saying, I used to argue blind that Pro Evo was the better game up until last year.

I can understand that frustration.

You just need to read some of things people have said about the two games in this forum on the various threads, it's frightning how much more popular Fifa has become lately.

With the next gen improvement with FIFA on the consoles I can understand why. Before that I think we will all agree FIFA was next to unplayable in comparison to PES. Now that gap is lower, far more people are willing to forgive EA for any mistakes in FIFA and while Konami insist on having such a poor online experience they only have themselves to blame for poor take up of PES in comparison.

QUOTE (StandFree03 @ Oct 2 2008, 14:38) *
Want a hug? Lets get the love flowing in E-chat again tongue.gif

Careful now... I'm no pooooove. wink.gif
Mr X

Have there been any threads about FIFA on here lately? I must have missed them rolleyes.gif

How about a manly group hug?
StandFree03
QUOTE (Ric @ Oct 2 2008, 14:43) *
I can understand that frustration.

With the next gen improvement with FIFA on the consoles I can understand why. Before that I think we will all agree FIFA was next to unplayable in comparison to PES. Now that gap is lower, far more people are willing to forgive EA for any mistakes in FIFA and while Konami insist on having such a poor online experience they only have themselves to blame for poor take up of PES in comparison.

I have a few mates who I play online pretty regularly and the online problems in the last PES were what made me try Fifa. Every single game of PES we played was horribly laggy and was impossible to have a decent 90 mins on it. After playing a bit of Fifa at someones house I went and bought it and so did my mates, now we are all buying Fifa this year and I think only one is buying PES too.

Konami shooting themselves in the foot, basically. Needlessly losing fans because of silly things like that. The fact that we tried to have a game 6 months later and it was still fucked was telling. It's their loss though.

Careful now... I'm no pooooove. wink.gif

Do you not have a very suspicious goatee? wink.gif
StandFree03
QUOTE (Mr X @ Oct 2 2008, 14:51) *
Have there been any threads about FIFA on here lately? I must have missed them rolleyes.gif

How about a manly group hug?

Wise guy eh? wink.gif

Aye, group hug is fine with me. Dinnae tell Bloobell though or he will scratch your eyes out.

Montrose Moron
Currently waiting for this to download at 60% the now hopefully shouldnt be to long. It doesnt sound to good for Pes just now but as im a Pes diehard i will make my own mind up but no matter what ill be purchasing it for the master league as that is my crack! laugh.gif but with that said i will also be purching fifa purely for the online aspect so i feel like i am cheating on a long time partner!
IXI THE ONE IXI
QUOTE (StandFree03 @ Oct 2 2008, 14:08) *
I didn't see any mention of it being marked down for stuttering online. Maybe you should go read it again. "I couldn't care less about online games".......aye, must be rare to be stuck in 1999 with Sensi soccer like you.

You mean 12 year olds like:

Creaming your pants over Rooeny, Henry, Ronaldo et al 1eye.gif

Pray tell how I get said option file on my 360 please.

Even the best online games (COD4 etc) lag online. If you want to make a big deal out of online play, go play a PC which is a million times better for it than Xbox Live, which is ruined by cheating, and gamesharking anyway.

As for the option file on your 360, I've been doing it since the PS2 days of using an AR Max dongle and transferring it. It takes the 'magic' of a USB flash drive, assuming they have reached Aberdeen, or a memory unit and a dongle.
StandFree03
QUOTE (IXI THE ONE IXI @ Oct 2 2008, 17:32) *
Even the best online games (COD4 etc) lag online. If you want to make a big deal out of online play, go play a PC which is a million times better for it than Xbox Live, which is ruined by cheating, and gamesharking anyway.

I've had lag on COD once or twice in the last few months, Pro Evo was every single game. I have never had a problem with Fifa nor any other game I have played online, bar the odd rare bit of lag. I haven't come across any cheating or gamesharking either. I think you are talking absolute pish again huh.gif

As for the option file on your 360, I've been doing it since the PS2 days of using an AR Max dongle and transferring it. It takes the 'magic' of a USB flash drive, assuming they have reached Aberdeen, or a memory unit and a dongle.

Assume away, whether they have reached Aberdeen or not doesn't really affect me because I don't live there anymore huh.gif

Ignorant twat.
Cabbage
QUOTE (IXI THE ONE IXI @ Oct 2 2008, 13:51) *
The game was harshly marked due to stuttering online, but I couldn't care less about online games.

I'd probably say that the majority of gamers are focussed on the online side, and PES2008 was quite frankly embarrassingly bad online.

FIFA is for 12 year olds that want the players to look exactly like Rooney, or do 'mad skillz!!!1' with Ronaldo. The licences with PES can be solved by an option file, and it just plays better than FIFA. PES doesn't need a massive overhaul with every game, the core gameplay is more important than having the La Liga licence. The only part of the FIFA demo I liked was the 1vs1 before the game kicked off, the actual game was a damp squib.

NO NO NO NO NO.

That '12 year old ololz' argument is just shite. It really would suggest that you havent actually played FIFA08 to any sort of degree. Fifa is now the superior game, I honestly do not see how this can be argued. I'm not surprised at Ric since he is the epitomy of the PES fanboy (I hope this gets a bite). biggrin.gif
Ric
QUOTE (Cabbage @ Oct 2 2008, 18:55) *
I'm not surprised at Ric since he is the epitomy of the PES fanboy (I hope this gets a bite). biggrin.gif

*chomp*

Yup, but I'll happily hold my hands up to that. smile.gif

QUOTE (Cabbage @ Oct 2 2008, 18:55) *
I'd probably say that the majority of gamers are focussed on the online side, and PES2008 was quite frankly embarrassingly bad online.

Not sure if the majority do, but pedantry aside, you are entirely right. While Konami persist with the way they do the online side of PES, it's no wonder why people choose FIFA.
MarreZ
QUOTE (Ric @ Oct 2 2008, 19:30) *
*chomp*

Yup, but I'll happily hold my hands up to that. smile.gif

Not sure if the majority do, but pedantry aside, you are entirely right. While Konami persist with the way they do the online side of PES, it's no wonder why people choose FIFA.

Will you be playing this online? If so, ill order a copy.
Ric
QUOTE (MarreZ @ Oct 2 2008, 19:44) *
Will you be playing this online? If so, ill order a copy.

Probably. Although a fair bit will depend if PES is playable online.
FilthyMack
Jesus Christ. IT'S HORRIBLE! WTF are the playing at?!

I had to laugh at the "mild lyrics" warning at the load up though. Couldn't they have put an offensive lyrics warning in for Foochieball on the last game. Alarmingly they've even deemed the "You've got to use your head" song good enough to speed up and use as a tannoy song in the game. Only Pro Evo can provide such an assault on the ears. laugh.gif
garymcc1874
Finally got a chance to play it ... I wish I didn't.

What a load of absolute shite! I didn't think you could get any worse than PES08 but it is much worse!
danelder89
I used to be a die-hard PES fan back in the days of the original Xbox. The release of the new game was something I used to look forward to for months. Now I can't stand it, I don't understand where Konami went wrong. On the other hand, I used to despise FIFA, now I love it! Can't wait to buy FIFA 09 tommorow biggrin.gif

Next-gen was the worst thing to ever happen to Pro Evolution Soccer sad.gif

Gaz
QUOTE (FilthyMack @ Oct 2 2008, 22:43) *
Jesus Christ. IT'S HORRIBLE! WTF are the playing at?!

I had to laugh at the "mild lyrics" warning at the load up though. Couldn't they have put an offensive lyrics warning in for Foochieball on the last game. Alarmingly they've even deemed the "You've got to use your head" song good enough to speed up and use as a tannoy song in the game. Only Pro Evo can provide such an assault on the ears. laugh.gif

The presentation is fucking appalling.

Not a fan.
danelder89
Next time you play the demo go Liverpool and listen to the fans chanting "Liverpool...Liverpool...Liverpool!" laugh.gif

(I laugh, only to stop myself from crying)
StandFree03
Like I have said, I am really disappointed and in a way quite saddened by it.

It surely has to be a massive wind-up.....
SteelEdge
QUOTE (jack_bauer @ Oct 2 2008, 23:15) *
Next-gen was the worst thing to ever happen to Pro Evolution Soccer sad.gif

Re-arrange these words into a sentence...

Firmly nail head hit on.
FilthyMack
QUOTE (Gaz @ Oct 2 2008, 23:16) *
The presentation is fucking appalling.

Not a fan.

To be fair the presentation has only ever been functional at best, that's just cosmetics. It's the moment you kick off and the ball zips off with absolutely zero sense of physics baesd in this dimension. An utter travesty. How anybody can defend this is beyond me.
StandFree03
QUOTE (FilthyMack @ Oct 2 2008, 23:25) *
To be fair the presentation has only ever been functional at best, that's just cosmetics. It's the moment you kick off and the ball zips off with absolutely zero sense of physics baesd in this dimension. An utter travesty. How anybody can defend this is beyond me.

Were you playing Fifa 08 or PES2008? Have you been a PES man in the past? I'm curious to know how people feel about this.

I wonder if it's aimed at the old school Pro Evo players. That's the way I feel but the online fuck-ups last year made me try (and convert me to) Fifa. Interesting to hear what they have to say about it, anyone got any interviews with Seabass?
Gaz
QUOTE (FilthyMack @ Oct 2 2008, 23:25) *

I agree that presentation should come second to gameplay, but it's not asking too much to think that in eight incarnations of the game they'd have done something a bit better.
StandFree03
QUOTE (Gaz @ Oct 3 2008, 00:11) *
I agree that presentation should come second to gameplay, but it's not asking too much to think that in eight incarnations of the game they'd have done something a bit better.

It was funny for a while but it's too far now. Konami surely can allocate a massive budget to the game and there are relatively few licenses to pay for.....
Mr X
QUOTE (StandFree03 @ Oct 3 2008, 00:17) *
It was funny for a while but it's too far now. Konami surely can allocate a massive budget to the game and there are relatively few licenses to pay for.....

Theyre probably working on perfecting the Wii version. Everyone knows thats where the future lies wink.gif
FilthyMack
QUOTE (StandFree03 @ Oct 3 2008, 00:09) *
Were you playing Fifa 08 or PES2008? Have you been a PES man in the past? I'm curious to know how people feel about this.

I wonder if it's aimed at the old school Pro Evo players. That's the way I feel but the online f**k-ups last year made me try (and convert me to) Fifa. Interesting to hear what they have to say about it, anyone got any interviews with Seabass?

I've been playing it since the SNES ISS days and always preferred it, until now, over Fifa. Last year I was torn between the two. While Fifa had made giant strides since switching to the new engine for 07 I still had my gripes with it, and it was slow. It offered a very good alternative to the staid gameplay of Pro Evo, but ultimately I felt Pro Evo was still crisper and although had taken a backward step IMO was still the more playable. Come Euro 08 I'd decided I'd found a better game of football when most of what I'd disliked about Fifa08 was sorted (bar a few niggly bugs in the Euro 08 build which I believe have been ironed for for Fifa09).

I'm not a big online player but the Euro online cup on Euro 08 was a brilliant diversion along with the Be-a-pro mode. Innovations, aomething that Pro Evo is lacking. While for a while EA started trying to emulate Konami's game they always seemed to be trying out their own ideas at the same time (controlling players off the ball, now an intuitive button press to send a man on a run). Konami just seem out of ideas and if this demo's anything to go by, going backwards.
StandFree03
QUOTE (FilthyMack @ Oct 3 2008, 00:31) *
I've been playing it since the SNES ISS days and always preferred it, until now, over Fifa. Last year I was torn between the two. While Fifa had made giant strides since switching to the new engine for 07 I still had my gripes with it, and it was slow. It offered a very good alternative to the staid gameplay of Pro Evo, but ultimately I felt Pro Evo was still crisper and although had taken a backward step IMO was still the more playable. Come Euro 08 I'd decided I'd found a better game of football when most of what I'd disliked about Fifa08 was sorted (bar a few niggly bugs in the Euro 08 build which I believe have been ironed for for Fifa09).

I'm not a big online player but the Euro online cup on Euro 08 was a brilliant diversion along with the Be-a-pro mode. Innovations, aomething that Pro Evo is lacking. While for a while EA started trying to emulate Konami's game they always seemed to be trying out their own ideas at the same time (controlling players off the ball, now an intuitive button press to send a man on a run). Konami just seem out of ideas and if this demo's anything to go by, going backwards.

Interesting. Pretty much sums up my experience of it, apart from Euro 08 which I've never played. Fifa was a good alternative in the beginning but after a few plays and more understanding of the mechanics and controls it won me over completely. I played Be a Pro online with some scousers and it kind of swung me.

Do you not think this new version of Pro Evo is a hark back to when it was the best Football game a few years ago? It feels like it's deliberately gone that way to try and get back the old school fans, which would probably please me no end if I hadn't already switched to Fifa a year ago.

To be fair, it's a great example of exploiting your opponents weaknesses.
Dee4Life1893
Downloaded it for the PS3, played two games and deleted it.

Truly awful. What is that sound when the ball is kicked??
Wilson2606
Downloaded the demo for the 360, played one game and deleted it. Very disappointing.
Andy.C
Downloaded it for PS3 and thought it was alright. If they have the framerate problem sorted out I reckon I'll be sticking with Pro Evo. I'll give Fifa a try though.
dubs
This is fuckin' depressing, I feel almost obliged to get it when I get my PS3 but some of the stuff being said on here makes me want to curl up in a ball on the floor and soil myself repeatedly.

I want my Pro Evo back!! sad.gif
Andy.C
QUOTE (dubs @ Oct 3 2008, 10:15) *
This is fuckin' depressing, I feel almost obliged to get it when I get my PS3 but some of the stuff being said on here makes me want to curl up in a ball on the floor and soil myself repeatedly.

I want my Pro Evo back!! sad.gif

I honestly didnt see much wrong with it Dubs.

Scored a 30 yarder with Scholes and a left foot volley with Ronaldo. The AI seems a bit more intelligent in the way that I was getting crowded out when attacking down the wings after about 30 mins gone in the game. Folk are talking about the noise when you kick the ball too, is that on the 360 as I didnt notice any difference on the PS3?

I cant help but feel that folk are panning it without giving it much of a chance.
dubs
I agree, lets be honest here there have been faults with every edition of the game. Remember the fated game where they introduced handballs? Every time the ball hit one of your players above waist height in the box the ref blew, it was a nightmare.

I've still played each one religously and bemoaned its inadequacies, rather than stopped because of them.

Is it blind loyalty? Perhaps, but I'd rather lick my own stanes than play Fifa.
Ric
QUOTE (Andy.C @ Oct 3 2008, 11:20) *
I cant help but feel that folk are panning it without giving it much of a chance.

That's certainly how I feel although I believe that comes from people expecting this game to be something it's not.

QUOTE (dubs @ Oct 3 2008, 11:33) *
I've still played each one religously and bemoaned its inadequacies, rather than stopped because of them.

Each and every new instance of PES is berated by the fans on release. PES 4 and 5 got dogs abuse in the fans forums, and yet many people now look back to those being the best in the series.

I'm not saying people are entitled to their opinion, SF and I are on different sides of the fence for example, but I'm still going to be buying this as it is an improvement.
Andy.C
I agree, lets be honest here there have been faults with every edition of the game. Remember the fated game where they introduced handballs? Every time the ball hit one of your players above waist height in the box the ref blew, it was a nightmare.

Every Pro Evo I've played I didn't like until I got right into it. Pro Evo 2008's framerate problem lets it down but I've still not had any other game in my PS3 for a couple of months now because the gameplay is still fantastic. At the risk of sounding like I think I'm great at Pro Evo one thing I would change is the difficulty settings. I'm still beating the PS3 on the top levels by 4 or 5 goals. I'd love a computer team that frustrates the fuck out of me by hammering me 6 or 7 nil every time I play them.
I predict that in a couple of days, perhaps weeks, some of the folk slagging Pro Evo 2009 will have come around.

P.S. - If I could lick my own balls my PS3 would be redundant!
G_Man1985
I played the demo and thought it was alrite. I will be buying it. Thought it was alot harder to score and fine the crossing to be more harder also, through ball i like. So far so good.
FilthyMack

I always played it religously despite it's inadequacies too for a very simple reason, it was still by far an away the best football game you could get. That is just no longer the case.

Agree with what's been said that each incarnation of Pro Evo never makes a good first impression but until last year and this year I've never thought it was actually worse.
Gaz
I didn't buy a Pro Ev after PES6 was, well, shite. Especially after PES5 was so good.

I only play PES2008 up at my mate's house with a group of us, which is still great. But there's no point me buying it when one of them will.

Haven't had a FIFA game since FIFA '95 on the MD, so I think I'm going to treat myself. Worst comes to worst, if I get it for £30 and don't like it I should still be able to get about that second hand after Tesco can their promotion.
KnightswoodBear
Had two games of this last night. Pish.

Fifa purchased today
RCR
The players yells are hilarious! It's like the mental hospital's football team playing some cavemen. The games alright actually, though shootings a bit rubbish.
djchapsticks
The game isn't actually that bad. Pro Evo's gameplay in itself isn't the major issue. It's the 'extras' that invariably come with it. Shite licenses, lack of decent leagues, shite editor, rotten presentation and of course that infamous lack of framerate from last year which put paid to the notion of me purchasing it.

I might go for the plunge this year and take a chance on both FIFA09 and Pro Evo. As I've said, the FIFA demo didn't impress me greatly, but it's probably due to the fact that I'm not very good as I've not played a FIFA game over any length of time since Road to France 98. Hopefully for that reason, FIFA will grow on me.

But with Pro Evo? Nah it's not that bad. As Ric says, it could do with a running directions overhaul, but then so could FIFA, and the passing still seems to be a bit skee-whiff. But it's stuff you just need to learn to live with I guess.
Mr. Brightside
I played the demo the other say and wasn't overly impressed, but at this time last year I was saying the same as 2008 wasn't great either, hopefully this one definitely isn't the finished product as it is not really an improvement on last years.

I haven't played or bought a FIFA game since 2005, when I thought it was ridiculous that I could play Riquelme on the the left-wing, get him to cut in, mid-way inside the opposition's half and score.
Needless to say he was my top scorer for Tenerife that season, top of La Liga by a good 20 points.

I think PES 2009 will still be being bought by myself as I need a football game and refuse to trust FIFA again.
StandFree03
QUOTE (Mr. Brightside @ Oct 6 2008, 18:54) *
I played the demo the other say and wasn't overly impressed, but at this time last year I was saying the same as 2008 wasn't great either, hopefully this one definitely isn't the finished product as it is not really an improvement on last years.

I haven't played or bought a FIFA game since 2005, when I thought it was ridiculous that I could play Riquelme on the the left-wing, get him to cut in, mid-way inside the opposition's half and score.
Needless to say he was my top scorer for Tenerife that season, top of La Liga by a good 20 points.

I think PES 2009 will still be being bought by myself as I need a football game and refuse to trust FIFA again.

I could start a thread telling you how good Fifa09 is this year but there are pages and pages about it already. It's a long way from 2005.
Hill Street Blue
Standfree, totally off topic, but who is the chick in each of your posts, she's a stunner!!!
David W
Here's a wee link comparing images of players on Fifa/Pro Evo.

Clicky
DarkBlue62
QUOTE (Hill Street Blue @ Oct 6 2008, 19:09) *
Standfree, totally off topic, but who is the chick in each of your posts, she's a stunner!!!

Its the lasie from Paramore, God! tongue.gif