Full Version: Why Would He Say Something So Stupid
The Pie Shop > The Cups > Scots in Europe
fatman76
"Despite the reverse Strachan says his side showed a new dimension to their play in European competition." blink.gif

I take it this new dimension was in a parallel universe where sellick didnae get beat!

unsure.gif
patto
How was The Bill ?
fatman76
QUOTE (patto @ Oct 1 2008, 12:34) *
How was The Bill ?

Dont you know your game was on ITV last night? Thats very same channel they show the Bill on. C'mon yer just clutching at straws, do you not remember the name of the last team to play in a european final? I'll give you a clue, it wis one of the old firm but it wisnae celtic! whistling.gif

Take all the time you need to answer that and 'NO' it's not a trick question.
zenith st.petersburg
QUOTE (fatman76 @ Oct 1 2008, 12:55) *
Dont you know your game was on ITV last night? Thats very same channel they show the Bill on. C'mon yer just clutching at straws, do you not remember the name of the last team to play in a european final? I'll give you a clue, it wis one of the old firm but it wisnae celtic! whistling.gif

Do you think Celtic can win UEFA Cup this season?
the jambo-rocker
QUOTE (zenith st.petersburg @ Oct 1 2008, 12:59) *

i think aalborg have a better shot myself...
zenith st.petersburg
QUOTE (the jambo-rocker @ Oct 1 2008, 13:07) *
i think aalborg have a better shot myself...

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
I think Motherwell have a better chance than Aalborg dry.gif
fatman76
QUOTE (zenith st.petersburg @ Oct 1 2008, 12:59) *

You can quote me on this ................NO! I think you will find your defense is not good enough. McManus has been found to be a very poor CB, all the full backs are terrible and Caldwell is very hit or miss. As you saw last night a quality attack will always score against you no matter how tight Strachan tries to keep it.
port-ton

Spain and Germany? didn't realise they were part of the Old Firm.

If you mean club football then i'm going to go for Manchester Utd and Chelsea.

if youre going to ask a question and say its not a trick question then at least know the answer.
zenith st.petersburg
QUOTE (fatman76 @ Oct 1 2008, 13:22) *
You can quote me on this ................NO! I think you will find your defense is not good enough. McManus has been found to be a very poor CB, all the full backs are terrible and Caldwell is very hit or miss. As you saw last night a quality attack will always score against you no matter how tight Strachan tries to keep it.

The players you have mentioned were all part of the team which beat last seasons UEFA Cup finalists to the league championship last season .
Must have been a very poor standard of competition in UEFA Cup last season if a team with such a poor defence had a more successful season . Maybe Rangers run in europe wasn't as good as first thought wink.gif
IMO the OF qualifying for last 8 would be an incredible achievement . A second tier euro club , such as Villareal , Porto , Schalke etc would be favourites against either of them most seasons.
If Celtic don't finish in top 2 of the group i would expect no worse than semi-finals of UEFA Cup.
Kincardine
QUOTE (zenith st.petersburg @ Oct 1 2008, 13:42) *
Must have been a very poor standard of competition in UEFA Cup last season if a team with such a poor defence had a more successful season . Maybe Rangers run in europe wasn't as good as first thought wink.gif

So how were the sour grapes you had for breakfast?

So who, exactly, talked of the "very poor standard of competition in UEFA Cup last season "?
port-ton
Didn't Celtic have a better defensive record in the league than Rangers last year?
Jimmy Shaker
do you not remember the name of the last team to play in a european final? I'll give you a clue, it wis one of the old firm but it wisnae celtic! whistling.gif

Man United v Zenit St Petersburg was the last European final played. It was also on ITV.
T_S_A_R
on the news they just said "in other places celtic's performance would have been enough to win them the game"

there are places where you can win without scoring? thats a new one to me.
Jimmy Shaker
QUOTE (T_S_A_R @ Oct 1 2008, 19:01) *
there are places where you can win without scoring? thats a new one to me.

Anfield, Liverpool v Chelsea, Champions League semi-final. laugh.gif
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (port-ton @ Oct 1 2008, 13:40) *
Spain and Germany? didn't realise they were part of the Old Firm.

If you mean club football then i'm going to go for Manchester Utd and Chelsea.

if youre going to ask a question and say its not a trick question then at least know the answer.

And I'm going to call you wrong and say it was Manchester Utd Vs Zenit St. Petersburg.

Smart a*se.
Beyemystic
QUOTE (fatman76 @ Oct 1 2008, 08:56) *
"Despite the reverse Strachan says his side showed a new dimension to their play in European competition." blink.gif

I take it this new dimension was in a parallel universe where sellick didnae get beat!

unsure.gif

The same parallel dimension where signing Paul Hartley, Mark Brown, Kenny Miller, Scott Brown, Garry Caldwell, Mark Wilson, Steven Pressley is progression.

The guy has lost the plot and has surely now fouled the nest of Timdom once too often.

Beyemystic
I'll always remember an interview with Tommy Burns in what was to be his last season. Talking about his recent signing of Davie Hannah he appeared suitably crestfallen, his eyes on the floor and sorrow weighing visibly on his noble brow. As he begged for tolerance and understanding from his fellow Tims, he reluctantly spelt out that Hannah was "just about the best available at the time" to cover for the fragile Paul McStay/Phil O'Donnell and out-of-sorts Peter Grant.

Then his honest blue eyes flashed as he launched into an earnest lecture about the "big names" that, "make no mistake" he and Stark had pursued with the best of intentions.

In contrast Strachan has filled the squad with Hannah type players and expects us to believe it is actually desirable! An improvement! blink.gif Far from coming clean like Tommy, or apologising, the wee shite smugly refuses to entertain any perfectly justified questioning from fans who can see us heading straight down the pan.
zenith st.petersburg
QUOTE (Kincardine @ Oct 1 2008, 16:19) *
So how were the sour grapes you had for breakfast?

So who, exactly, talked of the "very poor standard of competition in UEFA Cup last season "?

Indirectly fatman76 did. He spoke of our defensive failings even though , despite those failings , we won the league. To lose the league to a team with such a poor defence and qualify for UEFA final doesn't really suggest a high calibre of opposition in the UEFA Cup does it.
Millfield Marksman
QUOTE (Beyemystic @ Oct 2 2008, 00:35) *
I'll always remember an interview with Tommy Burns in what was to be his last season. Talking about his recent signing of Davie Hannah he appeared suitably crestfallen, his eyes on the floor and sorrow weighing visibly on his noble brow. As he begged for tolerance and understanding from his fellow Tims, he reluctantly spelt out that Hannah was "just about the best available at the time" to cover for the fragile Paul McStay/Phil O'Donnell and out-of-sorts Peter Grant.

Then his honest blue eyes flashed as he launched into an earnest lecture about the "big names" that, "make no mistake" he and Stark had pursued with the best of intentions.

That post could make a billy-goat puke biggrin.gif
myshkin

I know that one!

It was the huns. The reason I remember it was because of the rampaging hordes looting and destroying everything in their path. I think they also got pumped but that was a side issue.

Do I win a prize? smile.gif
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.