Full Version: Clyde V Dunfermline
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
Grant228
After last weeks showing against Morton a significant improvement is needed if we are to have any hope of getting a much needed win here.
If no knocks are picked up in training and presuming Wilson is not fit I would pick...
GK-Galacher
RB-Woods
CB-Thomson
CB-Shields
LB-McCann
RM-Harper
CM-Phinn
CM-Burke/Bell
LM-Wiles
FC-Kirk/Campbell
FC-Bayne
Mon The Clyde
What a shit game this will be.
Stoo61
For you lot maybe.
revolvingduck
QUOTE (Grant228 @ Sep 30 2008, 17:22) *
After last weeks showing against Morton a significant improvement is needed if we are to have any hope of getting a much needed win here.
If no knocks are picked up in training and presuming Wilson is not fit I would pick...
GK-Galacher
RB-Woods
CB-Thomson
CB-Shields
LB-McCann
RM-Harper
CM-Phinn
CM-Burke/Bell
LM-Wiles
FC-Kirk/Campbell
FC-Bayne

huh.gif

Surely has to be Kirk? Campbell scored but he only touched the ball twice!

Apart from that, I would probably be similar, but my extreme bias against Harper means I want Wiles on the right and maybe Muirhead on the left. Although perhaps he isn't fit.

I really think we have to win this game. Yes, it's only our 9th game of the season, but we need to keep in touch with the leaders with Livi and Queens meeting on the same day. C'mon the Pars!
Grant228
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Sep 30 2008, 17:25) *
What a shit game this will be.

I agree wholeheartedly.
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE (Stoo61 @ Sep 30 2008, 17:26) *
For you lot maybe.

Yes, Dunfermline coming to town is a bit low key for Clyde I'm afraid. Banker home win ph34r.gif
shawfielder
Clyde v Dunfermline if we keep up our home form of this year I should be fresh for my Saturday night out after my afternoon nap at Broadwood. 0-0

mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif

Mushroom
As if we didn't have enough injury issues, Gibson, probably our best player this season - is out.

Might not even bother going to this to be perfectly honest. Not worth the hour round trip IMO.
revolvingduck
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Sep 30 2008, 17:40) *
Yes, Dunfermline coming to town is a bit low key for Clyde I'm afraid. Banker home win ph34r.gif

I actually like Broadwood. It's just a pity it has no soul really.

Oh well, I'll be there Saturday
parslad
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Sep 30 2008, 17:40) *

Thought all your home games were low key.That's why you got 1000 against Queens.
Pride Of The Clyde
Comfortable win for the Pars by 2 or 3 goals.
We have too many players injured, we have no leadership on the park or from the dugout and we are shit in the middle of the park.
CK
Higgins must start this game, if he doesn't get picked then I will have lost faith in Brown. Same with Ruari, he scores against Airdrie then is left on the bench whilst an unfit Emslie, who is yet to add anything to our team gets started ahead of him.

I'd like to see Cherrie in goals, Higgins, McGregor and Ohnesorge in defence with one of Lowing/Brown, Kettlewell, Ruari, Roddy and one of McKay/Waddell/Trouten in midfield, Gemmill and McSwegan up front unless Clarke is fit. We'll probably lose.
blowtorch
QUOTE (CK @ Sep 30 2008, 22:37) *
whilst an unfit Emslie, who is yet to add anything to our team

Thought Emslie showed a lot of promise against Partick Thistle, where Clyde played some good passing football, but he was clearly not ready to come back from injury against QoS.
Shawfield Stallion
If Higgins isn't picked, especially now that Billy G is out for a month, then I'll be absolutely raging.

Clyde fans at Broadwood are even more catatonic and apathetic than usual. John Brown has completely disillusioned me and others with his terrible tactics, his insistence on picking his favourites, and his stubbornness with the Kettlewell situation. He shows absolutely no leadership (starting off bawling instructions at the players, only to slink into the dugout the minute we lose a goal never to be seen again) and I'm getting fed up with it.

Our terrible home performances can also be blamed on the moronic section of fans who sit near the dugouts, but they're not going to realise that they're costing us points and they refuse to change. Anyway, that's for another thread

There's no chance we'll win, especially since Gibson is now out. If Clarke and Higgins are given starts then we might manage to nick an undeserved point but I can't see past another baffling team selection and a Dunfermline win
FREDDYFRY
QUOTE (CK @ Sep 30 2008, 22:37) *
Higgins must start this game, if he doesn't get picked then I will have lost faith in Brown. Same with Ruari, he scores against Airdrie then is left on the bench whilst an unfit Emslie, who is yet to add anything to our team gets started ahead of him.

I'd like to see Cherrie in goals, Higgins, McGregor and Ohnesorge in defence with one of Lowing/Brown, Kettlewell, Ruari, Roddy and one of McKay/Waddell/Trouten in midfield, Gemmill and McSwegan up front unless Clarke is fit. We'll probably lose.

Agree with most of that, but Cherrie in Goal?? You must be joking, should be used as cover only. Cannot deal with any cross ball and cannot hold a direct shot. Everything is pushed away and usually back into a dangerous area.

Hutton even though he has went back a bit this year is a much better keeper in every department.
Lambo1885
GK-Galacher
RB-Woods
CB-Thomson
CB-Shields
LB-McCann
RM-Harper
CM-Phinn
CM-Burke/Bell
LM-Wiles
FC-Kirk/Campbell
FC-Bayne

Looks like Wilson will be fit. Only change I'd make from Saturdays startin 11 would be Wiles for Harper. Wiles seems to be gettin better with each game so i'd give him a chance form the start. Glass had a bit of a mare 2nd half on Sat but wouldn't drop him for it as he's been good every other game he's played. And Kirk/Campbell, no brainer Kirk everytime.
vikingTON

Meh - if you play like you did against us you'd probably beat Clyde: at Broadwood.
GypsyTillIDie
Clarke shoukld fit for this game. smile.gif It said in the program that he missed the first two days or training due to a slight calf strain but he wasn't 100% for the game on Saturday so he wasn't risked. Cherrie's a bombscare but after a dreadful performance against QOTS, he has to be dropped. I'd also like to see Higgins back in the defence as Gibson's out for a month.

Hutton
Lowing McGregor Higgins Ohnesorge
McKay Kettlewell Ru.McLennan Waddell
Clarke Gemmill

I think we'll get beat, but we'll put up a good fight.
Mushroom
QUOTE (Shawfield Stallion @ Oct 1 2008, 10:58) *
Our terrible home performances can also be blamed on the moronic section of fans who sit near the dugouts, but they're not going to realise that they're costing us points and they refuse to change. Anyway, that's for another thread

You should try sitting in that area - theres one guy in particular who gets right on my tits, he just never shuts up and his voice goes right through you.

The rest of the post I agree fully with. I really don't see any reason to go to the games at the moment. Do something fun and sociable or watch a manager play favourites, make baffling decisions and hide in the dugout.

Brown must go.
gingapar
I'm quite looking forward to this one, just because i missed the morton game though and i'm quite enjoying this season so far. hopefully be a good game although i'm aware that's a rarity a Broadwood, would like to see a performance and scoreline similar to that at Mcdiarmid.
David W
Brown must go laugh.gif ?
Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth
I dont see why not. Weve been absoloute guff under him from the word go.
TheDoctor
I've seen Clyde a few times this season and I think they look more settled under Brown than they ever did under Hendry, to be fair.

I agree with the shout on Kettlewell certainly. He was a far better player at Queen's Park, so perhaps he just needs a bit of time to get use to the competitiveness of the First Division.

Having said that, I think Dunfermline will win at Broadwood as their away record over the last season and a bit is quite good (third best away record in Division One last season) compared to Clyde's home record (five wins in 22 home matches going back to start of last season - yet to win at Broadwood this campaign).

I'm planning on coming to Broadwood so hopefully I'll be entertained.
BullyWee1878
QUOTE (Mushroom @ Oct 1 2008, 18:26) *
You should try sitting in that area - theres one guy in particular who gets right on my tits, he just never shuts up and his voice goes right through you.

The rest of the post I agree fully with. I really don't see any reason to go to the games at the moment. Do something fun and sociable or watch a manager play favourites, make baffling decisions and hide in the dugout.

Brown must go.

You are a fucking idiot. I hope you dont go to the games if thats the sort of shite attitude you have just cos he aint picking a player.
Livi_Lyon
I can see a draw here. I think Dunfermline have the better team, but Clyde can be hard to break down.
Santini
A few injuries. The fans not happy. An almost guaranteed shite crowd. A shite home record. Playing against a better team. This is the kind of game Clyde will win. 2-1 Clyde
TheDoctor
QUOTE (Santini @ Oct 2 2008, 10:07) *
A few injuries. The fans not happy. An almost guaranteed shite crowd. A shite home record. Playing against a better team. This is the kind of game Clyde will win. 2-1 Clyde

Love your optimism biggrin.gif
DAFC
Looking forward to this one, last time I was there was the postponed cup game.
Is it always freezing there?

clyde til we die
QUOTE (DAFC @ Oct 2 2008, 11:46) *
Looking forward to this one, last time I was there was the postponed cup game.
Is it always freezing there?

Yes always......................even when it's roasting laugh.gif
Shawfield Stallion
QUOTE (BullyWee1878 @ Oct 2 2008, 09:35) *
You are a fucking idiot. I hope you dont go to the games if thats the sort of shite attitude you have just cos he aint picking a player.

I think what Mushroom's getting at is that going to Broadwood is even more of a chore than usual, and that's reflecting in the recent attendances which have been poor even by our standards. I don't think that Higgins is the sole reason why he can't be bothered and I can't really blame him.

I don't agree that BROWN MUST GO - not because I don't think he's a dud manager but simply because this club absolutely needs a bit of stability at the moment. We've shown improvement in dribs and drabs and I still have a little bit of faith in what he's trying to do. For all his faults Brown strikes me as the loyal (no pun intended) type who'll want to see this job out, unlike his predecessors

I'll be there as usual but I've noticed that more and more regulars have been staying away which is disappointing. Then again, so is the product on the pitch considering some of the investments we made in the summer

Santini, I like your thinking biggrin.gif
Shawfield Stallion
QUOTE (GypsyTillIDie @ Oct 1 2008, 18:12) *
Hutton
Lowing McGregor Higgins Ohnesorge
McKay Kettlewell Ru.McLennan Waddell
Clarke Gemmill

I think we'll get beat, but we'll put up a good fight.

I think the team will be along the lines of

Hutton

McGregor

BROWN

Higgins

oHNESORGE

Gemmill

KETTLEWELL ( C )

McLennan

Clarke Waddell

McKay

cool.gif
vikingTON
^ Think Dunfermline will expose the gaps in that defence. rolleyes.gif
Shawfield Stallion
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Oct 2 2008, 12:28) *

IN BROWN WE TRUST
ClydeSI
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Oct 2 2008, 12:28) *

aye, as usual, they are all over the place.
Mushroom
QUOTE (Shawfield Stallion @ Oct 2 2008, 12:05) *
I think what Mushroom's getting at is that going to Broadwood is even more of a chore than usual, and that's reflecting in the recent attendances which have been poor even by our standards. I don't think that Higgins is the sole reason why he can't be bothered and I can't really blame him.

I don't agree that BROWN MUST GO - not because I don't think he's a dud manager but simply because this club absolutely needs a bit of stability at the moment. We've shown improvement in dribs and drabs and I still have a little bit of faith in what he's trying to do. For all his faults Brown strikes me as the loyal (no pun intended) type who'll want to see this job out, unlike his predecessors

Not that I'm worried by BW1878 thinks, he always comes across as a complete tosser to me, but Brown's tactics defy common sense, I can cope with managers who make the odd bad team selection, someone of the Alan Kernaghan ilk, who despite making the odd error (like playing himself for the big ICT match) generally do a reaonable job.

Brown is doing things that are absolutely retarded week in, week out. Moving McKay, keeping Higgins off the bench for some kid (thats not stupidity actually, thats just playing favourites, which is worse), not playing MacLennan after he finished Airdrie off, instead giving way for an unfit Hun.

I can't have faith in a manager who does those kind of things.

edit- that said, he's a genius compared to Colin Hendry laugh.gif
David W
QUOTE (Mushroom @ Oct 2 2008, 15:55) *
Not that I'm worried by BW1878 thinks, he always comes across as a complete tosser to me, but Brown's tactics defy common sense, I can cope with managers who make the odd bad team selection, someone of the Alan Kernaghan ilk, who despite making the odd error (like playing himself for the big ICT match) generally do a reaonable job.

Brown is doing things that are absolutely retarded week in, week out. Moving McKay, keeping Higgins off the bench for some kid (thats not stupidity actually, thats just playing favourites, which is worse), not playing MacLennan after he finished Airdrie off, instead giving way for an unfit Hun.

I can't have faith in a manager who does those kind of things.

edit- that said, he's a genius compared to Colin Hendry laugh.gif

Firstly, I disagreed with McKay being moved up front last week albeit he's probably the best finisher we have after Clarke. Regarding Higgins, I don't think anyone will disagree with the fact that he's been harshly treated but it was always going to be a choice between him and Mark Brown on the bench last week. McLennan played well against Airdrie but still failed to pick up his man on several occasions. He's not had a good season and given the way Emslie/Kettlewell performed against Thistle, I would've probably gone with that pairing (albeit, Emslie didn't appear to be fully fit).

This is where your argument falls down though - you ALWAYS look at one side and fail to analyse the other. What about Brown's decision to start with McGregor/Gibson versus Thistle; criticised by everyone pre-game but ultimately repaid with excellent performances? Again, his decision to throw on McLennan/McSwegan against Airdrie sealed the game in our favour. Or bringing on Trouten against Alloa to change things.

At the end of the day, we've got one of the two smallest budgets in the division (probably the two smallest by far) and despite a terrible run of injuries (evidence that he's compiled a decent squad), we are sitting in a decent position. Away from home the games against Dundee/Livi should have yielded a couple of points and we've won our two most recent away trips. Our home form is disappointing (and reflected in the poor attendances) but we should have beaten Thistle and the Queens game would've gone our way if we'd netted first. I think Clyde fans need to get realistic about what we can seriously expect to achieve.
bully_wee407
QUOTE (David W @ Oct 2 2008, 16:58) *
Firstly, I disagreed with McKay being moved up front last week albeit he's probably the best finisher we have after Clarke. Regarding Higgins, I don't think anyone will disagree with the fact that he's been harshly treated but it was always going to be a choice between him and Mark Brown on the bench last week. McLennan played well against Airdrie but still failed to pick up his man on several occasions. He's not had a good season and given the way Emslie/Kettlewell performed against Thistle, I would've probably gone with that pairing (albeit, Emslie didn't appear to be fully fit).

Maclennan has been injured since the begining of the season but forced to play i heard! Kniggling knee injury or alogn those lines?? Explains why he looks sluggish this season
Clyde4life
QUOTE (bully_wee407 @ Oct 2 2008, 20:39) *
Maclennan has been injured since the begining of the season but forced to play i heard! Kniggling knee injury or alogn those lines?? Explains why he looks sluggish this season

Spot on!

But don't let that stop the Kettlewell knockers on here, ignoring the fact that he's been carrying the midfield the last few weeks.
GypsyTillIDie
QUOTE (bully_wee407 @ Oct 2 2008, 20:39) *

He's got a groin condition. If he played a full game at the start of the season, he could barely walk for the next two or three days due to it. It was in the Sunday Mail in September I think.

Back to the game, it says on the 'Latest' bar on the OS saying that Clarke and Wilson are back in the squad for tommorow's game. Terrific news as we desperately missed Clarke against QOTS.
Kirky_Clyde
Not looking forward to this. However the returns of Clarke and Wilson are a massive bonus. I would play

Hutton

Lowing
McGregor
Higgins
Ohnesorge

McKay
Wilson
Kettlewell
Emslie
Waddell

Clarke

Change of formation as I'm unconvinced with Gemmill. He looked on no man's land last week.
gingapar
QUOTE (GypsyTillIDie @ Oct 3 2008, 19:36) *
He's got a groin condition. If he played a full game at the start of the season, he could barely walk for the next two or three days due to it. It was in the Sunday Mail in September I think.

Back to the game, it says on the 'Latest' bar on the OS saying that Clarke and Wilson are back in the squad for tommorow's game. Terrific news as we desperately missed Clarke against QOTS.

a groin condition? sounds itchy
Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth
Right then. Eve of the game and im rather pessimistic. Its not outwith the realms of possibility for us to pick up something but I dont see it. Will be a rotten crowd tomorrow as well. My estimate is about 900.

Hopefully Wilson will go straight back in and if it was me id leave out Emslie. Cherrie to fuck anol - hes cost us too many already this season. My team would thus be (i dont usually do this but I am bored)

Hutton

Lowing
McGregor
Higgins
Ohnesorge

McKay
Kettlewell
Wilson
Waddell

Gemmill
Clarke

Ive noticed a few people criticising Gemmil which is fair enough as he was crap last week. However anytime he has had Clarke beside him he has looked a threat so id keep him in. They complement each other reasonably well.
Sao Paulo
FWIW I would go;

Hutton (GK); Ohnesorge (LB) Higgins (CB) McGregor (CB) Lowing (RB); Waddell (LM) Kettlewell (CM) Emslie (CM) MacKay (RM); Gemmill (FC) Clarke (FW/FR).

I would like it if Trouten could feature in some capacity, possibly in a 4-5-1/4-3-3 arrangement. It might be difficult to integrate him without creating disharmony elsewhere however. The above team line doesn't inspire a lot of confidence; don't know that there's tremendous guile in the midfield or any players capable of carrying the ball. I foresee problems in going between midfield and attack. The back four could cave in the middle similarly, depending on which Neil McGregor and Chris Higgins turn up.

I predict an away win but obviously hope otherwise. If we win this one, we'll have surpassed ourselves.
Stuiboy
SOME OF THE CLYDE FANS NEED TO GET A GRIP OF THEM SELVES AN SHOW A LITTLE SUPPORT TO THERE TEAM AND GET BEHIND THEM. WOULD LIKE TO SEE SOME OF U DO A LITTLE BETTER. CLYDE 2-1
revolvingduck
We're going to lose aren't we?

sad.gif
Kirky_Clyde
QUOTE (Stuiboy @ Oct 4 2008, 01:26) *
SOME OF THE CLYDE FANS NEED TO GET A GRIP OF THEM SELVES AN SHOW A LITTLE SUPPORT TO THERE TEAM AND GET BEHIND THEM. WOULD LIKE TO SEE SOME OF U DO A LITTLE BETTER. CLYDE 2-1

No need to shout, sir wink.gif
bully_wee407
hutton
lowing
brown
higgins
waddel??

trouten
ru maclenann
wilson
kettlewell
ro maclennan

clarke

4-5-1 with macleannan and trouten supporting from the wings?
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE (bully_wee407 @ Oct 4 2008, 10:57) *
hutton
lowing
brown
higgins
waddel??

trouten
ru maclenann
wilson
kettlewell
ro maclennan

clarke

4-5-1 with macleannan and trouten supporting from the wings?

Trouten for McKay? laugh.gif laugh.gif
Clyde4life
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Oct 4 2008, 11:00) *
Trouten for McKay? laugh.gif laugh.gif

I would make that change too.

Although I would not have McGregor or Ohnersorge out of the team.
Jimmy85
I always stick a fiver on 3 draws ,and if i could pick this game 3 times thats what I'd do.