Full Version: Scottish Cup
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > Highland League
spinalonga max
as it says on the tin rolleyes.gif
Jonathan
QUOTE (spinalonga max @ Sep 30 2008, 09:21) *
as it says on the tin rolleyes.gif

Undefeated in the league. Will be tough to beat on their home patch. Too many draws so far sees them not as high up as they'd like?

www.highlandleague.net
Willie Miller's Moustache
I already answered this in the Cups forum this morning, but I'll copy and paste it here cos I'm that sorta guy:

I'm a Fraserburgh boy, and I was at the cup game this weekend when we cuffed Hawick Royal Albert 6-3. Honestly if you'd drawn us about 6 years ago when we were an absolute force and won the league you wouldn't have fancied a trip to the Bellslea as we were destroying every team that came up 4 or 5-0, and we held Arbroath to a 0-0 at their place while they were in Division 2. Most of that team has moved on or retired now though and our squad is basically made up of kids, with a couple of star players (Mikey Stephen on the left wing has been Highland League top scorer for years, and had trials with Norwich City). You should expect a game for sure because the boys get stuck right in (2 weeks ago they held Aberdeen to a 3-3 draw in a friendly, the Dons then said they are never playing them again because their players got kicked off the park), but ultimately I Dumbarton should be strong enough to see them through to the next round. There will be big crowd there though. The ground is a bit dilapidated and right next to the sea, really exposed and freezing. The pies are ace! Best part - at half time they open the gates and let you get out to the pub across the road for a pint (as long as you keep your ticket to get back in!)

Findochty Bhoy
QUOTE (Willie Miller's Moustache @ Sep 30 2008, 15:45) *
I already answered this in the Cups forum this morning, but I'll copy and paste it here cos I'm that sorta guy:

I'm a Fraserburgh boy, and I was at the cup game this weekend when we cuffed Hawick Royal Albert 6-3. Honestly if you'd drawn us about 6 years ago when we were an absolute force and won the league you wouldn't have fancied a trip to the Bellslea as we were destroying every team that came up 4 or 5-0, and we held Arbroath to a 0-0 at their place while they were in Division 2. Most of that team has moved on or retired now though and our squad is basically made up of kids, with a couple of star players (Mikey Stephen on the left wing has been Highland League top scorer for years, and had trials with Norwich City). You should expect a game for sure because the boys get stuck right in (2 weeks ago they held Aberdeen to a 3-3 draw in a friendly, the Dons then said they are never playing them again because their players got kicked off the park), but ultimately I Dumbarton should be strong enough to see them through to the next round. There will be big crowd there though. The ground is a bit dilapidated and right next to the sea, really exposed and freezing. The pies are ace! Best part - at half time they open the gates and let you get out to the pub across the road for a pint (as long as you keep your ticket to get back in!)

non biast view from a Buckie fan,,, it all depends what broch team turns up. If its the one that thrashed Buckie in the last game of last season then any team would have a fight on their hands. However if its the one which played Buckie this season then it would be a stroll. I would liken them to Hibs over the last 5 or so years, play good football and on their day a match for anyone but as with most young teams inconsistant.
zander
A team of big Fisherman and Farmers they will kick you off the park theres no doubt abou it. There star player Wemyss is just back from injury dont know if he will feature or not.
Jimmy Shaker
Fraserburgh didn't look that big against Lossie. Obviously I don't include Russell McBride in that, as he'd look big in any company. If they were a team of farmers and fisherman, they'd have more self respect than to appear wearing white boots.
Buckie Arab
QUOTE (zander @ Oct 13 2008, 21:30) *
A team of big Fisherman and Farmers they will kick you off the park theres no doubt abou it. There star player Wemyss is just back from injury dont know if he will feature or not.

Dinna think theres muckle fishermen in the Burry team these days maybe 40 or 50 year ago. Far wid they find time to train and wi maist boats oot at sea over the weekend theyd be left wi a half a team on a saturday. I thought the lad Johnston was their star man these days going by the amount o goals he gets
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.