starky
Sep 30 2008, 07:54
I HAVE BEEN WATCHING EAST OF SCOTLAND FOOTBALL FOR YEARS NOW AND THE MOST CONSISTENT PLAYER I HAVE SEEN IS DOUGIE BLACKLEY ALONG WITH ROBBIE MANSON, DISCUSS
socceroo
Sep 30 2008, 10:20
QUOTE (starky @ Sep 30 2008, 08:54)

I HAVE BEEN WATCHING EAST OF SCOTLAND FOOTBALL FOR YEARS NOW AND THE MOST CONSISTENT PLAYER I HAVE SEEN IS DOUGIE BLACKLEY ALONG WITH ROBBIE MANSON, DISCUSS
There are lots of consistent players about but playing consistently p*ish counts for nothing!
Simplistic
Sep 30 2008, 11:27
I can only really Comment on the Spartans players as I dont see enough of any of the rest.
I think some of the best players in skills, ability and consistency are
Nicky Walker
Dan Gerrard
Ross Archibald
There are loads others who can play very very well but I think the three have managed to play very well everytime I see them
Only Stand out from other teams for me are Devlin who was at Peebles last year and one of the wingers at Craigroyston (can't remember his name, Sammy or something)
the midfield general
Sep 30 2008, 11:39
best players i've seen have been
willie bennett (spartans)
darren pryde (whitehill)
steven clee (edinburgh city)
Lothians Fan
Sep 30 2008, 11:39
Nicky Walker was consistently good at Whitehill during his time there and was a stand out prior to that with Edinburgh Uni.
Ross Johnston at Whitehill has been a mainstay of consistency for many years - likewise Kevin Lee.
Tyler Durdin
Sep 30 2008, 14:26
Lewis Sloan of Dalbeattie Star was the best player I played against in EOS. Great player - both feet as well.
voice of reason 2
Sep 30 2008, 14:33
Alan notman from the glory gala days
big Brian Thorpe from the excellent 80s vale team
wullie bennet ex whitehill and spartans
stuart fowlie spartans
UniFan
Sep 30 2008, 15:36
QUOTE (voice of reason 2 @ Sep 30 2008, 15:33)

Alan notman from the glory gala days
big Brian Thorpe from the excellent 80s vale team
wullie bennet ex whitehill and spartans
stuart fowlie spartans
Dan Gerrard was sensational for the Uni and remains a stand-out at Spartans. If we are going back in time, I've yet to see a better player than John Bird (ex WWFC & Spartans). Top top drawer. Chris Jardine at Annan was a great player in EofS with Annan; also Keith McLeod the best C/F in the league in the last 10 yrs.
CHIEF WIGGUM
Sep 30 2008, 16:32
alan notty notman.... LEGEND
bigman
Sep 30 2008, 19:20
If Jordan or Kieran Ainslie (Team Ainslie) formely of Berwick Rangers Reserves still played EOS they would get my vote. However as they are not I would say Dougie Brydon of Coldstream is up there.
Mr Pick
Sep 30 2008, 22:28
QUOTE (bigman @ Sep 30 2008, 20:20)

If Jordan or Kieran Ainslie (Team Ainslie) formely of Berwick Rangers Reserves still played EOS they would get my vote. However as they are not I would say Dougie Brydon of Coldstream is up there.
jesus christ, a hope u have a wicked sence of humour. fair enuff they were good players but ur gonna stick by ur word and say they were the best players in both leagues? this is obviously kieran or rory the second.
starky
Sep 30 2008, 23:31
dougie samuel
willie bennet
nicky walker
kevin motion
dougie blackley
robbie manson
dougie nye
stewart fowlie
david mowat
LIVERPOOL
Oct 1 2008, 10:38
Going Back= Lawrie Tulloch,John Wilkes,(Kelso s) Peter Mcnulty,
Recent - Phil(PELE)O`neill,Stewart Fowlie,Kevin Motion,Nicky Walker.
But To Many To List.
We Should Try Best Players In Team Form
2000 Onwards To Start With ?
GOAL
DEFENCE
MIDFILED
FORWARDS
We Will List ASAP
predator
Oct 1 2008, 10:56
Would have to say Tommo was up there with the best during his time at Spartans. Always had an impact in the game.
boardroomshuffler
Oct 1 2008, 11:59
Tommo has a chance of being one of the very few Eos players who stepped up to the 3rd div and win 2 championship medals with different clubs. Stenny have to win the league for that to happen,as things stand they have an obvious chance. Coughlin as manager will have 3 Full seasons of 2 championships and runner up only beaten on goal difference.
Just a little impressive.
But To Many To List.
to name a few,
goals, Kevin Brown, Scott cantley chris russell
defenders, ross johnston, ross archibald,dan gerrard, jamie ewart, craig scott, paul mcginley,
midfield, dougie samuel, john bird, iain thompson, robbie manson, sean macauley, chris jardine,ryan mcguffie, scott hunter, ross macnamara, kevin motion
forwards, craig manson, phil hobins, keith mcleod, stephen O'donnell, dale mccall,nicky walker,chris nye,gareth armstrong,
theres a few player there guys, in my team that ive saw and played againest, all good players for what they each done.
jeckwithesneck
Oct 1 2008, 14:58
QUOTE (scorer @ Oct 1 2008, 13:39)

But To Many To List.
to name a few,
defenders, ross johnston, ross archibald,dan gerrard, jamie ewart, craig scott, paul mcginley,
midfield, dougie samuel, john bird, iain thompson, robbie manson, sean macauley, chris jardine,ryan mcguffie, scott hunter, ross macnamara, kevin motion
forwards, craig manson, phil hobins, keith mcleod, stephen O'donnell, dale mccall,nicky walker,chris nye,gareth armstrong,
theres a few player there guys, in my team that ive saw and played againest, all good players for what they each done.
As from the players youv'e mentioned a canny see nae scottish borders laddys

(lets remember that EOS is split up between borders, edin and lothian clubs). Whats yer view on borders players, just there to make the numbers up or sout

, cause from what yer all writing theres no an awfy lot of shout outs for thum.
Supporter
Oct 1 2008, 15:22
QUOTE (jeckwithesneck @ Oct 1 2008, 15:58)

(lets remember that EOS is split up between borders, edin and lothian clubs). Whats yer view on borders players, just there to make the numbers up or sout

Maybe because he doesn't think any of the Borders guys are any good.......
The guys from the Borders seem to have a wee chip on their shoulders for some reason. Always going on about this and that whereas other teams just get on with it. Is it a case of the townies vs. the rest or what???
jeckwithesneck
Oct 1 2008, 16:29
QUOTE (Supporter @ Oct 1 2008, 16:22)

Maybe because he doesn't think any of the Borders guys are any good.......
The guys from the Borders seem to have a wee chip on their shoulders for some reason.
Always going on about this and that whereas other teams just get on with it. Is it a case of the townies vs. the rest or what???

please specify the line in bold
oscar15
Oct 1 2008, 17:26
QUOTE (jeckwithesneck @ Oct 1 2008, 15:58)

Heres a few for you then from ma days playing and watching eos
Alan Notman (Gala) the best ball player av ever seen
Peter Mcnulty (Kelso), Paul Brownlee(selkirk) , Steven McNaughton(vale)no nonsense centre halfs
Sandy Bell (Selkirk) attacking midfield master
Davie Henry and Paul Loughran( both Gala), Davie Main and Steven Page(both Hawick) quality fullbacks
Jimmy McNulty (Kelso) for his ability to drive players on
Frankie Scott (Hawick) for his finishing
And heres a few more recent ones
John Dodds (selkirk)
Gavin watson (gala)
Steven Notman(vale)
Dougie Brydon(coldstream)
Sean Owens(Hawick)
havent seen many of the other border teams recently to comment on them.
shogun1
Oct 1 2008, 17:42
QUOTE (oscar15 @ Oct 1 2008, 17:26)

Heres a few for you then from ma days playing and watching eos
Alan Notman (Gala) the best ball player av ever seen
Peter Mcnulty (Kelso), Paul Brownlee(selkirk) , Steven McNaughton(vale)no nonsense centre halfs
Sandy Bell (Selkirk) attacking midfield master
Davie Henry and Paul Loughran( both Gala), Davie Main and Steven Page(both Hawick) quality fullbacks
Jimmy McNulty (Kelso) for his ability to drive players on
Frankie Scott (Hawick) for his finishing
And heres a few more recent ones
John Dodds (selkirk)
Gavin watson (gala)
Steven Notman(vale)
Dougie Brydon(coldstream)
Sean Owens(Hawick)
havent seen many of the other border teams recently to comment on them.
If ur mentioning frankie scott for his finishing you have to put brian lough(eyemouth,hawick and others) in there too.Quite prolific in EOS. Maybe even Haighy(coldstream) mind you, i could fit them both in my pocket...ha ha
stool pigeon
Oct 1 2008, 18:11
QUOTE (shogun1 @ Oct 1 2008, 18:42)

If ur mentioning frankie scott for his finishing you have to put brian lough(eyemouth,hawick and others) in there too.Quite prolific in EOS. Maybe even Haighy(coldstream) mind you, i could fit them both in my pocket...ha ha

Neil Ewart top drawer
Kevin Freedman eh.... bottom drawer
oscar15
Oct 1 2008, 18:15

aint it great looking back a forgot about loughy he was a hand full as well. you tend to forget some of them, only when somebody reminds you does it all come back. Whats loughy up to now? Is he involved with football?
QUOTE (scorer @ Oct 1 2008, 13:39)

But To Many To List.
to name a few,
I haven't seen EoS football for that long so didn't see the likes of Sammy or Birdy play but of the guys I have seen I would add to your squad:
Defenders: Stewart Fowlie
Midfield: Willie Bennett
While not my favourite and not having the length of service in the EoS the guys above had, Wayne McIntosh was a great striker in the time he spent in the EoS.
Grumpy Panner
Oct 2 2008, 00:10

You must have BIG pockets!!!! Lol
Loughy now making a living in France. Haigy is still the king of Chirnside!!!!
boardroomshuffler
Oct 2 2008, 06:46
Erich Schaedler i'm sure i heard he played for Hawick.
Ian Whitehead at Vale.
Did John Collins not play for Gala?????????????
oscar15
Oct 2 2008, 07:44
QUOTE (boardroomshuffler @ Oct 2 2008, 07:46)

Erich Schaedler i'm sure i heard he played for Hawick.
Ian Whitehead at Vale.
Did John Collins not play for Gala?????????????
IAN (CHALKIE) WHITEHEAD PLAYED FOR SELKIRK IN THE ALL CONQUERING SELKIRK SIDE OF THE 70'S CAN ONLY JUST REMEMBER THEM THINK SANY BELL PLAYED IN THAT TEAM AS WELL BEFORE GOING ON TO PLAY RIGHT UP TO THE EARLY 90'S
LIVERPOOL
Oct 2 2008, 07:55
TEAM
BROWN
JOHNSTON,GERARD,McNULTY,FOWLIE,
WALKER,MOTION,BENNET,BIRD,
O`NEILL,McLEOD
SUBS AS MANY AS GOOD AS ABOVE BUT ANY 5 FROM ?
CANTLEY,WOODBURN,ARCHIBALD,TULLOCH,BELL,JARDINE.HOBSON.McCAL
L
MANAGER WELL THAT WILL BRING SOME INTERESTING RESULTS BUT WILLIE DARROCH,DAVE SMITH,
oscar15
Oct 2 2008, 08:02
QUOTE (LIVERPOOL @ Oct 2 2008, 08:55)

TEAM
BROWN
JOHNSTON,GERARD,McNULTY,FOWLIE,
WALKER,MOTION,BENNET,BIRD,
O`NEILL,McLEOD
SUBS AS MANY AS GOOD AS ABOVE BUT ANY 5 FROM ?
CANTLEY,WOODBURN,ARCHIBALD,TULLOCH,BELL,JARDINE.HOBSON.McCAL
L
MANAGER WELL THAT WILL BRING SOME INTERESTING RESULTS BUT WILLIE DARROCH,DAVE SMITH,
DAVE SMITH WAS QUITE THE PLAYER TO. HARDEST PLAYER I EVER PLAYED AGAINST DID HE GO ONTO MANAGE A LEAGUE SIDE?
Clum's Choreographer
Oct 2 2008, 11:18
QUOTE (stool pigeon @ Oct 1 2008, 19:11)

Neil Ewart top drawer
Kevin Freedman eh.... bottom drawer

Quite close to the mirror then? Seems about right
tamthebam
Oct 2 2008, 16:06
Not much got past Paul McLaren when he played for Whitehill and Spartans. And some of Tam (the original Bam) Nolan's play for Edinburgh City was superb- pity he didn't keep off the sauce!
colinmc
Oct 2 2008, 16:38
i can only really talk about whitehill as i go to watch them, most skillfill is mark ellis, defenedr ross johnston, set plays long balls darren pride.
Shadow5
Oct 2 2008, 18:32
Dont forget about Raleigh Gowrie - I think he won the most Scottish Qualifying Cups ever?
Jim Rae - Great Left Back and Free Kick Specialist ( Scott Cantley will still have nightmares)
Neli Irvine - Midfield General
But the best player by a country mile is John Bird . He was the most exciting player i've ever seen play EOS and a top bloke as well.
QUOTE (Mr Pick @ Sep 30 2008, 23:28)

jesus christ, a hope u have a wicked sence of humour. fair enuff they were good players but ur gonna stick by ur word and say they were the best players in both leagues? this is obviously kieran or rory the second.
haha jus read this walesy wht a complete joke,f**k knows who this is writing tht!dont have a clue,dougie is gd but best ave playd wi is punton with out a doubt!
Cowans a Square Heed
Oct 2 2008, 20:00
QUOTE (Mr Pick @ Sep 30 2008, 23:28)

One of there Berwick Town aka The Harrow team mates writting that Seany
tamthebam
Oct 2 2008, 20:02
Dave Smith managed Montrose for a few months after managing Whitehill Welfare. He was the SFL's first black manager (as far as I know) but the media didn't make much of a thing about it at the time-probably couldn't even find Montrose on the map. He was hard as nails but a nice guy off the pitch.
Mr Pick
Oct 2 2008, 20:48
QUOTE (roary! @ Oct 2 2008, 20:37)

haha jus read this walesy wht a complete joke,f**k knows who this is writing tht!dont have a clue,dougie is gd but best ave playd wi is punton with out a doubt!
haha ano. comical jordan. a didnt think ud be that stupid to create that. and a dont think kieren even nos wat pie and bovril is. ii puntons good, shame he canny b arsed to play the best standard of football hes able to play. no affence to the berwick town revolution though

Adam Spark
Oct 3 2008, 11:52
QUOTE (oscar15 @ Oct 2 2008, 07:44)

IAN (CHALKIE) WHITEHEAD PLAYED FOR SELKIRK IN THE ALL CONQUERING SELKIRK SIDE OF THE 70'S CAN ONLY JUST REMEMBER THEM THINK SANY BELL PLAYED IN THAT TEAM AS WELL BEFORE GOING ON TO PLAY RIGHT UP TO THE EARLY 90'S
There was a photo hung up for years at Selkirk's old Ettrick Park clubrooms of Ian, Sandy and Moray McLaren from the successful team of late 70s with their Scottish caps.
Maybe Kenny Rutherford and Neil McFadden from the same team could be thrown into the hat of some of EOS's best ever players?
tamthebam
Oct 3 2008, 16:17
Funny how "Scoop" Anderson's name hasn't been mentioned yet....?
sideline hero
Oct 5 2008, 18:02
Surely Darren Gillon - ex kelso and now eyemouth must be up there?
darren gillion yeah for the number one thug in the east of scoland maybe,best player defo not not even in the top 50 in the last ten years
Wulliewus
Oct 6 2008, 19:07
Alan Notman was the best player ever to grace EOS football.
the vulture
Oct 7 2008, 18:32
Simplistic, for you to mention only three players from your own team makes you a bit blinkered mate, as Spartans do play against other teams ie 22 players not just 11..oh and for you not to mention fowlie tut tut..shame on you!!
galayankee
Oct 7 2008, 22:43
watson gala goalie former selkirk keeper,,,, legend !!!!!
best goalie in eos!!
Simplistic
Oct 7 2008, 22:47
QUOTE (the vulture @ Oct 7 2008, 19:32)

Simplistic, for you to mention only three players from your own team makes you a bit blinkered mate, as Spartans do play against other teams ie 22 players not just 11..oh and for you not to mention fowlie tut tut..shame on you!!
Fair comment
Only 2 things id say are
1. Spartans are the only team I see week in week out. I can't comment on other players as I dont see them
2. Didn't need to mention Fowlie as he is the captain for the squad
Ronaldo9
Oct 8 2008, 10:28
I reckon Peter Keenan who played for Civil Service in the 80's and late 90's should be up there. 15 years service with the Strollers, had the chance to move on but was a good loyal Stroller.
Apparently his sons are now with Civil.
Must be decent also.
QUOTE (galayankee @ Oct 7 2008, 23:43)

watson gala goalie former selkirk keeper,,,, legend !!!!!
best goalie in eos!!
You have got to be joking

Absolute liability a legend in his own heid. There are better keepers and far better other players in the EOS at present.
The majority of the current crop could not lace the boots of former EOS players. When Selkirk, the Albert, the Vale and the Fairydean were at their peak very few of the players now would have made even the bench let alone the starting eleven. The standard has dropped considerably.
galayankee
Oct 9 2008, 16:13
QUOTE (AFAB @ Oct 8 2008, 11:27)

You have got to be joking

Absolute liability a legend in his own heid. There are better keepers and far better other players in the EOS at present.
The majority of the current crop could not lace the boots of former EOS players. When Selkirk, the Albert, the Vale and the Fairydean were at their peak very few of the players now would have made even the bench let alone the starting eleven. The standard has dropped considerably.
lol whos doing better the local fairydean(all playing for free) or the tubes from edinburgh (squad got over £15000 a year) the fairydean had 4 seasons ago!!! a would put ma years wages that u cud pick a select side from the borders that would beat a select side from you toonies!!! n who av u ever played for!!!!!
markcass
Oct 9 2008, 17:35
Paul Dumma Kelso gets mine the boy is a guiness
oscar15
Oct 9 2008, 18:28
QUOTE (galayankee @ Oct 9 2008, 17:13)

lol whos doing better the local fairydean(all playing for free) or the tubes from edinburgh (squad got over £15000 a year) the fairydean had 4 seasons ago!!! a would put ma years wages that u cud pick a select side from the borders that would beat a select side from you toonies!!! n who av u ever played for!!!!!
Look at his members id galayankee, hes from the borders!! Watson is a good keeper, infact he could be a very good keeper if he would stick to that, instead of all the nonsense he gets upto! Can you compare him to Dodds at Selkirk, the previous management thought not, or Dowie at Hawick, the management there thought not either, when they chased him after he offered his services!
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.