Full Version: Spartans V Pollok
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > Junior Football
WJR
We are obviously happy at having given Pollok a game on Sat but I suspect this Sat may be different. Am I right in thinking in you guys may have a few key players back?

The great leveller (irony only slightly intended) may be City Park. Not many bigger teams like playing us there. Only Edin Uni have won dodgy pen decisions against us in recent times.

Sorry we won't be able to host you guys in as good style as you did us but we'll do our best given the confines of the venue.

To play Annan away is a great incentive for us but may equally be one for Pollok given it is a former EoS side more then holding their own in SFL3.

Any thoughts from the Pollok folk?
caledoniaman
Looking forward to Saturday's game. Should be a cracker. I'm hoping for a good crowd at CP on Saturday. Many an interested neutral might come along as well.
cmontheloknow
All Lok fans will be wanting to see is a decent performance which saturday certainly was not. I'm sure the manager will re-jig the team a bit too. Stevie Miller is back from holiday so he'll add a bit of bite to the midfield. It's a shame Davie McGeown is still banned as we miss the flair he brings us. Brian MacKay and Derek Heaton remain out through injury while Mark Booth lacks fitness for such a tie. It'll be largely the same 16 from Saturday with Miller coming in for someone. And MacKay will be on the bench despite being injured as he's one of our two U21s.
WJR
QUOTE (cmontheloknow @ Sep 29 2008, 21:48) *
All Lok fans will be wanting to see is a decent performance which saturday certainly was not. I'm sure the manager will re-jig the team a bit too. Stevie Miller is back from holiday so he'll add a bit of bite to the midfield. It's a shame Davie McGeown is still banned as we miss the flair he brings us. Brian MacKay and Derek Heaton remain out through injury while Mark Booth lacks fitness for such a tie. It'll be largely the same 16 from Saturday with Miller coming in for someone. And MacKay will be on the bench despite being injured as he's one of our two U21s.

Fair enough Jamie. You've scored a bucket load of goals so far this season but seemed to misfire a bit on Saturday (as did we at times as Nicky, Daryl and Donal are normally more reliable than that).

Are your goals coming from the guys missing or the guys who were playing? (Obviously I don't really expect you to answer that one - I'm sure Sam and Mickey have that info tucked up their sleeves)
cmontheloknow
QUOTE (WJR @ Sep 29 2008, 21:59) *
Fair enough Jamie. You've scored a bucket load of goals so far this season but seemed to misfire a bit on Saturday (as did we at times as Nicky, Daryl and Donal are normally more reliable than that).

Are your goals coming from the guys missing or the guys who were playing? (Obviously I don't really expect you to answer that one - I'm sure Sam and Mickey have that info tucked up their sleeves)

A look at our website (were it not down because of a technical hitch) would show that Dingwall, Downs and Turnbull are the top scorers for us this season. Info also in the prog so no state secret really.

The Arthurlie game last weekend saw us lose Essler, Aitchison and MacKay through injury with playmaker McGeown getting a 2 match ban while we also lost 'Bexy' Miller for the Spartans tie through a holiday. Essler and Aitchy both made the cut just, though I'm not certain if the silver fox was 100% fit or not. MacKay is a big loss as he is a classic winger which is always good late in the game against weary fullbacks on either side though I thought big Hoskins was one of the standouts for you.

Maybe it was nerves, for some of our boys it was a Scottish Cup debut, a much more high profile game than perhaps they were used to? Whatever, I'm sure the management team will have all the jitters in the side firmly put under control for saturday.

Sinnet was in the paper today saying it was our worst performance under him, though IMHO the pace Spartans played on the break really tested us. There is no team I've seen in the Juniors who plays at such a tempo for 90 mins. It's the sort of thing we tend to do to other teams. However, we do have another level or two to go to, with or without those unavailable. But we have to do it on saturday otherwise, as Jim S says, we can forget about a cup run.
The Green Brazil
QUOTE (cmontheloknow @ Sep 29 2008, 22:13) *
A look at our website (were it not down because of a technical hitch) would show that Dingwall, Downs and Turnbull are the top scorers for us this season. Info also in the prog so no state secret really.

The Arthurlie game last weekend saw us lose Essler, Aitchison and MacKay through injury with playmaker McGeown getting a 2 match ban while we also lost 'Bexy' Miller for the Spartans tie through a holiday. Essler and Aitchy both made the cut just, though I'm not certain if the silver fox was 100% fit or not. MacKay is a big loss as he is a classic winger which is always good late in the game against weary fullbacks on either side though I thought big Hoskins was one of the standouts for you.

Maybe it was nerves, for some of our boys it was a Scottish Cup debut, a much more high profile game than perhaps they were used to? Whatever, I'm sure the management team will have all the jitters in the side firmly put under control for saturday.

Sinnet was in the paper today saying it was our worst performance under him, though IMHO the pace Spartans played on the break really tested us. There is no team I've seen in the Juniors who plays at such a tempo for 90 mins. It's the sort of thing we tend to do to other teams. However, we do have another level or two to go to, with or without those unavailable. But we have to do it on saturday otherwise, as Jim S says, we can forget about a cup run.

Reckon Jimbo Sinnet and the rest of the Pollok boys seen the price of even money on offer last saturday and thought Mr Hills would offer a better price for a reply. Lets be honest how many Junior punters had there stash on Pollok. Its payback this week and I would expect at least 6/4. Get your fingers oot boys and give me a good weekend.
WJR
QUOTE (cmontheloknow @ Sep 29 2008, 22:13) *

Cheers again Jamie. Dingy was picked out as a class player, sorry I didn't read the programme.

Deano (Hoskins) has been a new recruit from our 19s and, I think, getting better each game. After losing Kevin Motion to Stenny (where he is going really well), Deano is our new "left peg".

So, another great game to look forward to.

City Park surface should have recovered in the last couple of weeks but guess what? Yes, pishin' doon again today. Not sure about the forecast so fingers crossed.
Nocko
QUOTE (The Green Brazil @ Sep 29 2008, 22:28) *
Reckon Jimbo Sinnet and the rest of the Pollok boys seen the price of even money on offer last saturday and thought Mr Hills would offer a better price for a reply. Lets be honest how many Junior punters had there stash on Pollok. Its payback this week and I would expect at least 6/4. Get your fingers oot boys and give me a good weekend.

Mr Hills were only 4/6 Pollok!!!
th1stleandr0se
QUOTE (caledoniaman @ Sep 29 2008, 21:38) *
Looking forward to Saturday's game. Should be a cracker. I'm hoping for a good crowd at CP on Saturday. Many an interested neutral might come along as well.

I'm really caught here. It's Rose v Bathgate on Saturday, which has a bit of a bite to it these days, but I live in Edinburgh and Spartans v Pollok looks like being a right good cup-tie.

Does it go to another replay if it's a draw or is it extra time and penalties?
arab_joe
I didn't realise the replay was on Saturday, pretty gutted it clashes with United v Inverness as I would have loved to donder down to City Park. My fingers will be crossed for a Spartans win.

How have Spartans been faring without Jonny Seeley at the back this year by the way?
cmontheloknow
QUOTE (WJR @ Sep 29 2008, 22:29) *
Cheers again Jamie. Dingy was picked out as a class player, sorry I didn't read the programme.

Deano (Hoskins) has been a new recruit from our 19s and, I think, getting better each game. After losing Kevin Motion to Stenny (where he is going really well), Deano is our new "left peg".

So, another great game to look forward to.

City Park surface should have recovered in the last couple of weeks but guess what? Yes, pishin' doon again today. Not sure about the forecast so fingers crossed.

I'm at a wedding on saturday so fingers crossed for a deluge!
Specky
Careful what you ask for Jamie, our season went rather pear shaped after we had what seemed like a six month holiday after a Senior Scottish tie ..... Best to keep any momentum rolling on. Good luck to Spartans again this week, i was one of the few to back you on here last week (no hard feeling Jamie or Pollok, just preferred Spartans), so stick in again, it sounds like your Management have learned from last year, which must be pleasing.

Spartans to win on penalties, with your keeper saving 3 !!....

biggrin.gif remember where you heard it first ....
Specky
QUOTE (cmontheloknow @ Sep 30 2008, 06:27) *

I remember when my brother got married ... We were drawn at home in the Junior cup to Auchinlek the year after we beat them in the final.... Half the guests were p1shed before the meal as the goal updates came in !.... beat them 5 or 6 - 1 !!, superb, made my job as best man a heck of a lot easier !...
lyt
QUOTE (cmontheloknow @ Sep 30 2008, 07:27) *

you could always get an escort wi a cmontheloknow mask blink.gif
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.