Been a number of years since I`ve been up at Gayfield.Looking forwad to it,one of the few real football grounds left.
BIGQ FAE KDY
Oct 1 2008, 22:13
quality ground and it even blaws a gale on a calm down there
Lang Toun Lad
Oct 1 2008, 23:09
Will be heading up for the first time and also my first away game of the season as well. Hopefully we can get a win with Wales and Smith to score in a 2-0 win.
lichtie36nilhello
Oct 2 2008, 08:33
QUOTE (Robbo @ Oct 1 2008, 19:02)

Been a number of years since I`ve been up at Gayfield.Looking forwad to it,one of the few real football grounds left.
You are right about Gayf, with lots of soul less stadium sprouting up here there and every bloody where, we are proud of our well kept ground

Please bring your friends to see to biggest team in the 2nd division to play Raith Rovers
After all the biggest team should bring the biggest away support

Not like East Fife
Wild Rover
Oct 2 2008, 14:14
where is ne good pubs ???
This will be my first trip up to Gayfield. I will wrap up warm
farflung lichtie
Oct 2 2008, 16:34
Yep looks like there's some weather due this weekend.
If anyone's interested there's a short audio clip from the local paper where manager John McG gives his thoughts on the upcoming game. He seems to imply Rovers are the biggest team in the division.
http://www.arbroathherald.co.uk/sport/THIS...ES39.4552481.jp
I'll definitely be there - I'm quite looking forward to it.

My last game until we play at home to Alloa on November 1, so I hope it's a good one!
Cliche Guevara
Oct 2 2008, 19:48
If anyone's interested there's a short audio clip from the local paper where manager John McG gives his thoughts on the upcoming game. He seems to imply Rovers are the biggest team in the division.
Ah - I was expecting the
other John McG.
'3/4 of the Raith Rovers squad are full-time' - ooh mercy, stand back...
Incidentally, regarding the audio clip - does anyone remember those old Box 2000 adverts on STV?
MonTheRovers!!
Oct 2 2008, 21:15
We need to get back to winning ways and I think this is where it'll happen. 3-1 Rovers
never been to gayfeild but really looking forward to this game hopfuly 3 points on the go and keep close to the top away from those methil hun tinks god i hope we stuff them next month mate but not sure if ill be goin wih all this ticket carry on that wullie gray has a lot to say for himself the fat get
lichtie36nilhello
Oct 3 2008, 07:34
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Oct 2 2008, 22:15)

We need to get back to winning ways and I think this is where it'll happen. 3-1 Rovers

So do we and I think this is where it will happen, 1-0 super Lichties
CALDERON
Oct 3 2008, 11:56
Here come the "Full time" excuses.
Get intae them
Sam Kerr
Oct 4 2008, 09:23
if raith dinnae win this one McGlynn should just vault the dyke into the North sea, Robbie Raeside at the back is so slow,we must use this advantage.
MonTheRovers!!
Oct 4 2008, 13:42
20 mins to go and we're still in Dundee. f**k sake.
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Oct 4 2008, 14:42)

20 mins to go and we're still in Dundee. f**k sake.
Outside Morrisons?
Poor choice friend. Poor choice.
MonTheRovers!!
Oct 4 2008, 16:12
Decent enough performance by us. First half we were excellent and held them off with ease and Ferry's goal was a peach. Post more when I get in.
lichtie36nilhello
Oct 4 2008, 16:19
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Oct 4 2008, 17:12)

Decent enough performance by us. First half we were excellent and held them off with ease and Ferry's goal was a peach. Post more when I get in.
super Lichties were unlucky with a couple of free kicks until a defensive blunder and a wonder strike put the Rovers on easy street........Until the Second half when the Lichties woke up! With a decent striker we may/would have taken something out of the game...........
Goals that count eh
Well done to the Rovers, best team i have seen this season (1st half anyway!)
turboshandy
Oct 4 2008, 16:35
QUOTE (lichtie36nilhello @ Oct 4 2008, 17:19)

With a decent striker we may/would have taken something out of the game...........
Welcome to our world...
MonTheRovers!!
Oct 4 2008, 17:18
QUOTE (lzreid @ Oct 4 2008, 14:47)

Outside Morrisons?
Poor choice friend. Poor choice.
Erm, is that where the big retail park where JJB and TK Maxx is? If so, then aye there. We only missed 2 minutes of the game somehow!! We left the Bankhead petrol station in Glenrothes at 2:05

Anyway, as i've already said, we totally dominated the game in the first half, but lost our way a wee bit in the second half of the second half. As the Arbroath supporter said, if they had a decent striker up front, or if Davey McGurn wasn't in such amazing form, they could have easily got a draw from the game. Only a couple of majestic saves from him kept us at 2-0.
Thought that Wales looked good again, and Walker and Ferry both had excellent games, both goals were superb, Ferry's espiecally. Great strike from around 25-30 yards.
A good, if not a bit cold, day. Fair chuffed

Edited to add: I saw the man behind the myth, the legendary xbl today. I chanted "xbl, xbl" to limited response
RRFC TILL I DIE
Oct 4 2008, 17:22
great support today sung for the whole game and got right behind the team
keep it up
Recre Rover
Oct 4 2008, 17:30
Good solid win today - exactly what we needed after last week.
Tough start to the game with a few close free-kicks, but we took control of the game soon enough and were well on top when the goals came.
We were a bit pish in the second half, letting Arbroath back into it, but goalkeeper change made a difference as McGurn produced a few excellent stops to earn his clean sheet.
First quarter over and only 1 defeat is the positive way to look at things, so I think I'll be happy with that.
Michael W
Oct 4 2008, 17:42
Good result for us today, good to get back to winning ways.
Great to see Ferry get off the mark today, he's looked capable of scoring a few, hopefully more goals will now follow. Cracking strike too.
We were good in the first half, although I'd say we rode our luck in the second. Some quite nervy defending at times. McGurn had a cracking second half, producing some fine saves, good to see him back in goals. I don't know what it was in the second, we just seemed to sit in a bit, Arbroath certainly deserved a goal.
Quite a surprising line-up today I must say, certainly not what I was expecting. I was surprised at the decision to leave out Smith, but I have to say he didn't really look like doing anything when he came off the bench.
Some cracking banter flying about today, best laugh I'd had in a while. An enjoyable day out in all.
Xbass Threepwood
Oct 4 2008, 17:59
Im not too disheartened. Raith looked good in the first half, Raeside slipped for the first goal, but that was understandable on such a wet surface. Could have happened to anyone. The second goal was a cracker though!
We played alright, and in the second half we could have had a couple if McGurn hadn't made some good saves. I thought the short blond partnership of Gates, Weir and Reilly looked promising towards the end. It was a nice day out, the football was decent to watch (although our usual boo boy support were critical of everything as per usual), and I had a laugh with a couple of the Raith fans.
Im sure we can get a few wins this season, although we will probably get relegated. Even so, I would rather we played like that and got relegated than go through last seasons 1-0 wins over again.
Great day out! Thoroughly enjoyed myself today, have to say I was underwhelmed when I first saw Gayfield but it's a cracking wee ground. I love how you can switch ends at half time - the way it should be! Excellent support for the team today, which is also the way it should be.
As for the game, they had a few early free kicks, couple of crosses that came to nothing before we burst into life suddenly, putting Walker through on goal. Brilliant finish, it has to be said. Just as well it wasn't one of our strikers.

Ferry's goal was an absolute peach, great to see him off the mark. You could see how much the goal meant to him. Hope he kicks on and becomes a big player for us now.
We maybe could have nicked another before half time, but Arbroath could say the same about the second half. We were poor, and I suppose Arbroath will be a bit annoyed they didn't score, they probably deserved to. McGurn made two excellent saves and there were a couple of penalty appeals - anything in them? Didn't look like much from where I was.
Overall, happy with the deserved three points. Throroughly enjoyed my day, some excellent banter on the terraces - "He's fat, he's round, his heads on upside down!".
danelder89
Oct 4 2008, 18:10
Really enjoyed my day out today. We deserved the win and Ferry's goal was the best I have seen for a while. I'm delighted that McGlynn has seen sense and put Wilson on the right wing, McGurn back in goals and Davo at the back

Atmosphere was good too, I'll put some pics/vids up later.
danelder89
Oct 4 2008, 18:22
Rovers fans:

And Bob the Builder in the amusements after the game, showing his true colours

:
danelder89
Oct 4 2008, 18:50
Video time
Rovers fans singing - A tribute to Paul McManus
Rovers fans singing 2 - News comes through that East Fife are 2 down, a wee song for them
Rovers fans singing 3 - "There's only one moustache!"
Rovers fans singing 4 - A song for their keeper

(as mentioned by Paco earlier)
Match action - A couple of really good chances for Rovers to score in the second half.
raith1957
Oct 4 2008, 18:52
Good result today, happy weekend.
CALDERON
Oct 4 2008, 18:53
Good day out, Good Performance, Good Result.
Chuffed!
Big_Andy
Oct 4 2008, 19:03
QUOTE (Paco @ Oct 4 2008, 19:00)

Great day out! Thoroughly enjoyed myself today, have to say I was underwhelmed when I first saw Gayfield but it's a cracking wee ground.
I love how you can switch ends at half time - the way it should be! Excellent support for the team today, which is also the way it should be.
As for the game, they had a few early free kicks, couple of crosses that came to nothing before we burst into life suddenly, putting Walker through on goal. Brilliant finish, it has to be said. Just as well it wasn't one of our strikers.

Ferry's goal was an absolute peach, great to see him off the mark. You could see how much the goal meant to him. Hope he kicks on and becomes a big player for us now.
We maybe could have nicked another before half time, but Arbroath could say the same about the second half. We were poor, and I suppose Arbroath will be a bit annoyed they didn't score, they probably deserved to. McGurn made two excellent saves and there were a couple of penalty appeals - anything in them? Didn't look like much from where I was.
Overall, happy with the deserved three points. Throroughly enjoyed my day, some excellent banter on the terraces - "He's fat, he's round, his heads on upside down!".

And the way it used to be at San Starko before they put in those fucking seats.............
Not long in, with my Arbroath smokies in the grill with a bit of butter and the smell is fantastic. Canny wait to tuck into them. The perfect end to a perfect day. Rovers win comfortably, and EF get pumped at home by 10 man Stranrank....................and I stink the hoose oot wi smelly smoked haddock.
Anyhow, thought first half we were superb. Second half we were labouring a bit. Arbroath missing an open goal, and McGurn pulling off a few good saves. Hope we keep it up.
The Phoenix
Oct 4 2008, 19:08
QUOTE (jack_bauer @ Oct 4 2008, 19:22)

Rovers fans:

And Bob the Builder in the amusements after the game, showing his true colours

:

Bob The Builder, my erse - I'd recognise Philpy anywhere.
Wild Rover
Oct 4 2008, 20:01
QUOTE (Nocturnal Groove @ Sep 30 2008, 02:02)

I predict a 2-0 win for Arbroath

squire here, well done to the mighty raith tday, clean sheet, easy win, also, well done to the east fife for getting a goal against the mighty stranraer. hahahahahahahahahah. cant wait til nov 8th, we wil play u off the park and kick c***s off it. bring on the methill scum. fuckin hey yoooooooooo
Xbass Threepwood
Oct 4 2008, 20:32

Great day out! Thoroughly enjoyed myself today, have to say I was underwhelmed when I first saw Gayfield but it's a cracking wee ground. I love how you can switch ends at half time - the way it should be! Excellent support for the team today, which is also the way it should be.
In my unbiased view, I think its the best ground I've ever been to!

I thought one of the penalty appeals was a handball, but it was hard to see, and the ref could was pretty sure about it, so it probably wasn't significant. The rest of them weren't penalty shouts IMO.
QUOTE (xbl @ Oct 4 2008, 21:32)

In my unbiased view, I think its the best ground I've ever been to!

It's probably replaced Brechin as my favourite away ground to be honest. That, of course, has nothing to do with us being humped the last two times I've went to Brechin...
Sure, the ground is a bit of a hole, but you can make plenty noise in the terracing. I really liked it.
Smokie the Beagle
Oct 4 2008, 21:46
A good away support today, put a smile on the face despite the shity weather. I still cant believe that Arbroath never scored today, although we were 2 down at half time i dont believe there was two goals in the game. Raith are certainly the best team i,ve seen in this division, you played good football and certainly deserved your win. I think you will win the league. However, Let's hope that Scott gets fit or at least we get a striker soon and start finishing the chances we create. The team dont deserve to be where they are so lets hope the next quarter produces more points and more goals for the smokies.
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
Oct 4 2008, 21:53
Commitments meant I missed the game today. Shite.
Was mildly surprised we won, given that Arbroath are a decent side and that they're more used to the gusty weather.
Nice that a couple of Arbroath fans have said we're the best side theyve seen in the league. I dont think Brechin fans will echo that but our promotion push looks like its back on after the previous three games.
Now its bring on the Dishonest Men
Xbass Threepwood
Oct 4 2008, 22:20
This thread is a proper Arbroath - Raith love in!
Raith were great, an advert for all that is good about Fife. The fans seemed reasonably human and civilised, they had a bit of humour, travelled in good numbers, their team looked quite entertaining, and the game was played in a good spirit too. As I said earlier in the thread, a nice day out all round.
Looks like a good Raith support!
The irony...........
I had to spend the day in Kirkcaldy!
Nocturnal Groove
Oct 4 2008, 23:12
QUOTE (Wild Rover @ Oct 4 2008, 21:01)

squire here, well done to the mighty raith tday, clean sheet, easy win, also, well done to the east fife for getting a goal against the mighty stranraer. hahahahahahahahahah. cant wait til nov 8th, we wil play u off the park and kick c***s off it. bring on the methill scum. fuckin hey yoooooooooo
I think you better check what team i support again m8
Xbass Threepwood
Oct 4 2008, 23:14
QUOTE (b ross @ Oct 5 2008, 00:05)

Looks like a good Raith support!
From the looks of it, there were around the same number of home and away fans. Evidently the good people of Arbroath decided to brave the weather from their setees!
SmokedHaddock
Oct 4 2008, 23:55
We seriously need to get a striker in on loan or we're doomed, i don't give a shit how good we play if you can't take your chances you are going doon.
Its the same old story every week "if" we had a better striker ect.
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Oct 4 2008, 18:18)

Erm, is that where the big retail park where JJB and TK Maxx is? If so, then aye there. We only missed 2 minutes of the game somehow!! We left the Bankhead petrol station in Glenrothes at 2:05

Oh, then no. You made the right choice. I got stuck outside Morrisons last weekend and thought I'd engage in some gentle mocking of you for making the same mistake.
To be fair though, it came back and kicked me right in the 'sac.
MonTheRovers!!
Oct 5 2008, 08:41
QUOTE (jack_bauer @ Oct 4 2008, 19:22)

Rovers fans:

That isn't all of us, though. There was the same again if not more round the other side.
MonTheRovers!!
Oct 5 2008, 09:32
Interviews are now up
here

He only scores screamers mate.
Good to hear.
QUOTE (xbl @ Oct 4 2008, 23:20)

Raith were great, an advert for all that is good about Fife. The fans seemed reasonably human and civilised, they had a bit of humour, travelled in good numbers, their team looked quite entertaining, and the game was played in a good spirit too. As I said earlier in the thread, a nice day out all round.
Quality day out.As I said previous,a right football ground,changing ends at half time,best pie and bovril this season.Excellent pint(s) in the pub Tuttie Neuk?
Onto the game,thought we were fairly comfortable in the 1st half.As expected being 2 down Arbroath came into it in the 2nd and were unlucky on a few occassions but so were we.
All in all.Quality day out.
edinlichtie
Oct 5 2008, 11:46
QUOTE (xbl @ Oct 5 2008, 00:14)

From the looks of it, there were around the same number of home and away fans. Evidently the good people of Arbroath decided to brave the weather from their setees!
Did
you honestly just joke about people not going to a game?? See my signature.
Nothing really more to add than has already been said - impressive away support, bad defending 1st goal, good strike 2nd goal (altho was Hill at fault..??), and without a striker we can't finish anything. 1 or 2 really good saves 2nd half too.
Xbass Threepwood
Oct 5 2008, 12:05
QUOTE (edinlichtie @ Oct 5 2008, 12:46)

Did you honestly just joke about people not going to a game?? See my signature.
The home support looked quite low, and the weather was awful, is it really so hard to assume that the two are linked? Am I not allowed to say that?
Mel Hutchwright
Oct 5 2008, 12:13
QUOTE (edinlichtie @ Oct 5 2008, 12:46)

good strike 2nd goal (altho was Hill at fault..??), and without a striker we can't finish anything.
At the time I thought Hill possibly was a wee bit slow getting down to to the shot, but in fairness it was a fantastic strike that would understandably have caught him slightly unawares.
Not for the first time this season, I thought Weir looked far more effective when he was moved out wide. He certainly doesn't convince as the answer to our striking woes.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.