St. Starko
Oct 5 2008, 13:08
I would say i am dissapointed to not have seen a good Rovers performance at a top notch ground, but i instead had a fantastic day with free hospitality at Sunderland v Arsenal

. Delighted to hear the result from today and to hear we played well. Maybe a bit annoying that we can't get a chance to keep good form up because of the international break

Anyway, nice one Rovers, really looking forward to the Ayr game now.
Raith_Raver
Oct 5 2008, 15:31
Great result and moral boost after Brechin. A bit of the bitter-sweet tho. After a really good first half we seemed to try to hold what we had, or maybe lacked a bit of self belief to kill the game off with another goal or two.
But fair dos to Arbroath, who really made a game of it in the second half. Just as well McGlynn had the sense to bring McGurn back, or it could have been a different story. The team selection was a bit odd, but at least he made the changes for once.
QUOTE (Raith_Raver @ Oct 5 2008, 16:31)

Great result and moral boost after Brechin. A bit of the bitter-sweet tho. After a really good first half we seemed to try to hold what we had, or maybe lacked a bit of self belief to kill the game off with another goal or two.
But fair dos to Arbroath, who really made a game of it in the second half. Just as well McGlynn had the sense to bring McGurn back, or it could have been a different story. The team selection was a bit odd, but at least he made the changes for once.
Were we set out as a 3-5-2 then?
pantene proV
Oct 5 2008, 15:42
QUOTE (Andy.C @ Oct 5 2008, 16:33)

Were we set out as a 3-5-2 then?
No Andy, 4-4-2
Cook right back, Ellis left back, Davo & Campbell in middle
Wilson pushed up to right mid, Ferry left mid, Walker & Sloan in middle
Weir & Wales up front
It worked too!
AllanJM
Oct 5 2008, 15:53
QUOTE (pantene proV @ Oct 5 2008, 16:42)

No Andy, 4-4-2
Weir & Wales up front
It worked too!
Highlighted part wasn't too convinging tbh. Ellis is wasted at LB and should play in the middle.

No Andy, 4-4-2
Weir & Wales up front
It worked too!
Cheers pal.
I'd have thought if we were playing Wilson at RM in a 4-4-2 we'd have kept Andy Cook at LB and played Davo at RB with our usual two in the middle.
John McGlynn obviously knows better than me though, I'm just glad it worked!
Michael W
Oct 5 2008, 16:37
QUOTE (AllanJM @ Oct 5 2008, 16:53)

Highlighted part wasn't too convinging tbh. Ellis is wasted at LB and should play in the middle.
Was Good to see we'd addressed the problem of finding a player to fill in at right midfield, although I do think there is potential to leave us a bit vulnerable to counter attacks down there. Cook and Wilson both play the game a bit to similarly, I worry both might get caught up the park leaving us exposed.
I have to say though, Ellis put in a couple of good crosses yesterday.
MonTheRovers!!
Oct 5 2008, 16:46
No-one find it slightly strange that Armstrong wasn't on the bench yesterday? And neither was Guerrero? But there was a an under 19 - McCabe?
Very strange indeed.
Armstrong was injured. Pretty sure i seen that in one of the paper's on Saturday. I just think Guerrero isn't that good, he has to show what he can do in training and he obviously doesn't look to be better than anything we've got. Alot of Raith fans seem to think because he's foreign he's going to be good. If McCabe's doing better in training i'm more than glad to see him get a place on the bench. I'd rather our under 19's got a place than some spannish guy who's only likely to be here till the end of the season and isn't even on the wage bill.
QUOTE (R.R.FC @ Oct 5 2008, 17:57)

Armstrong was injured. Pretty sure i seen that in one of the paper's on Saturday. I just think Guerrero isn't that good, he has to show what he can do in training and he obviously doesn't look to be better than anything we've got. Alot of Raith fans seem to think because he's foreign he's going to be good. If McCabe's doing better in training i'm more than glad to see him get a place on the bench. I'd rather our under 19's got a place than some spannish guy who's only likely to be here till the end of the season and isn't even on the wage bill.
A lot of people also think we should try and see a player on the pitch allowing us to make judgements.
MonTheRovers!!
Oct 5 2008, 17:04
How's he not gonna be on the wage bill, like?
St. Starko
Oct 5 2008, 17:10

No Andy, 4-4-2
Weir & Wales up front
It worked too!
Fair play to McGlynn for actually trying something new. Trying something new was the only thing he could do anyway or we would have lost. Well done to the big man.
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Oct 5 2008, 17:46)

No-one find it slightly strange that Armstrong wasn't on the bench yesterday? And neither was Guerrero? But there was a an under 19 - McCabe?
Very strange indeed.
Well, it's definetly strange. I'm just baffled alone at the fact that McGlynn actually tried a new system or players.
Computers not letting me quote so...
MonTheRovers!!: Don't really know whats happening, I think Raith have put him up with a place to stay but Prest's taking care of his wages, from what i've heard we're not paying him.
and
rw89: Fans don't need to make their judgements they don't pick the team, McGlynn deems him not good enough not to play so that's good enough for me. We've hardly been in a situation where we could take a risk and introduce him to see how he does.
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
Oct 5 2008, 19:36
I would like to see Guererro get a chance soon. I cant think he's do any worse than Silvestro's been lately, and even Sloan. Tho I'm told Sloan did ok yesterday for a change.
pantene proV
Oct 5 2008, 20:37
QUOTE (rw89 @ Oct 5 2008, 18:04)

A lot of people also think we should try and see a player on the pitch allowing us to make judgements.

Hmmmmmn! I realise fans think they can do better than managers but did you really mean that post?
As RRFC said, it's not up to us to determine whether a player should be in the team (as much as i'd like it to happen), can you imagine?
JM interview
"Well Guerrero hasn't looked too good in training, the application isn't there, but I'm giving him a jersey so that the support can decide for me. I'm my own man, me - really I am!"
I really think he hasn't shown up well in training i'm afraid. Silvo must be a better passer of the ball
Pratt Street Elite General
Oct 5 2008, 20:45
Aye, Silvo's a better passer of the ball, just a pity it's passes to the other team.
Great day out on Saturday, a nice wee drive up the road (pity about Dundee!), a coosty wee stadium, changing ends at half time with a wee bit banter with the Arbroath fans (After 1,2,3 "Moustache Moustache Moustache".)
A million miles difference in performance from last weeks shocking defeat to Brechin too!
Bring on the Ayr.
QUOTE (pantene proV @ Oct 5 2008, 21:37)

Hmmmmmn! I realise fans think they can do better than managers but did you really mean that post?
As RRFC said, it's not up to us to determine whether a player should be in the team (as much as i'd like it to happen), can you imagine?
JM interview
"Well Guerrero hasn't looked too good in training, the application isn't there, but I'm giving him a jersey so that the support can decide for me. I'm my own man, me - really I am!"
I really think he hasn't shown up well in training i'm afraid. Silvo must be a better passer of the ball

Hardly inspiring though is it for Guerrero? Comes here to a foreign country and not given a run out even when Silvestro was playing poorly. I'm not by any means saying we should play players for the sake of judgement, just meant that we could have used him and given him an opportunity.
St. Starko
Oct 5 2008, 20:49
QUOTE (pantene proV @ Oct 5 2008, 21:37)

JM interview

I can understand what you're saying but...He's been here a month right? and he isn't on a contract yet? If McGlynn thinks he's not putting in enough effort then McGlynn has to say, if you don't meet my effort requirement, you're out.
Am i wrong in thinking this?
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
Oct 5 2008, 21:03
QUOTE (St. Starko @ Oct 5 2008, 21:49)

I can understand what you're saying but...He's been here a month right? and he isn't on a contract yet? If McGlynn thinks he's not putting in enough effort then McGlynn has to say, if you don't meet my effort requirement, you're out.
He should at least have been given a run out as sub, like when the game was lost at Brechin and the midfielders on the pitch were all at sea anyway.
pantene proV
Oct 5 2008, 21:05
QUOTE (St. Starko @ Oct 5 2008, 21:49)

Not wrong at all.
There does seem to be a little confusion around the guy, and you're right - if he isn't good enough, get rid. Maybe the interviewer can ask JM for the next interview "
Is this spanish guy all that?"
Anyway, McGlyn thankfully stopped with the notion of playing Walker & Silvo in the same midfield yesterday and this, coupled with Wilson supporting on the right (Davo doesn't do this) resulted in a far more balanced looking formation.
At least, in the 1st half...
danelder89
Oct 5 2008, 21:13
pantene proV
Oct 5 2008, 21:22
QUOTE (jack_bauer @ Oct 5 2008, 22:13)

Well, to the right of the camera gantry in the first photo was all Rovers fans - I can vouch for that.
Think the rest were all Arbroath though.
RRFC TILL I DIE
Oct 6 2008, 06:55
QUOTE (pantene proV @ Oct 5 2008, 22:22)

Well, to the right of the camera gantry in the first photo was all Rovers fans - I can vouch for that.
Think the rest were all Arbroath though.
we had fans in the seated stand to
MonTheRovers!!
Oct 6 2008, 06:59
This side of the stand was Rovers fans i'm pretty sure, and round the corner before the fence is Rovers. Rest us Arbroath.
Good following nonetheless.
Whistle Blower
Oct 6 2008, 07:30
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Oct 5 2008, 18:04)

How's he not gonna be on the wage bill, like?
We aren't paying his wages, that how he isn't on the wage bill.
Blazes Boylan
Oct 6 2008, 09:08
QUOTE (RRFC TILL I DIE @ Oct 6 2008, 07:55)

we had fans in the seated stand to

As was brought to my attention by one of my fellow lichties fans, there were more people on the away bench than there were in the home crowd, never mind the healthy (in number rather than lifestyle and habit) travelling support. What do all these fellas do? I presume there is an assistant to the goalkeeping coach, aromatherapist, key grip, best boy, executive stylist etc etc.
As for the game, Rovers looked pretty good in the first half, scored two commendable goals and at that point I feared the worst. In the second half, once John McG had made the changes - for which he was vigorously castigated and berated by the pitchfork and torch-wielding village idiots as always - we came into the game and had enough chances to sneak something. That said, Hill made a couple of excellent stops at the other end and I certainly do not begrudge Rovers their win. There was mention of Arbroath missing an open goal; can't recall that incident but do give great credit to Rovers' keeper for a couple of blinding saves.
Rovers looked like a solid team; Arbroath are trying to play football which is a welcome change from last season's largely atrocious fare; but IMO Peterhead are the best footballing team I've seen this year so far.
Xbass Threepwood
Oct 6 2008, 11:00
QUOTE (Blazes Boylan @ Oct 6 2008, 10:08)

- for which he was vigorously castigated and berated by the pitchfork and torch-wielding village idiots as always -
Excellent summary of the game IMO, particularly the bit above. You've described our home support perfectly!
great day out and good result to match
the pub right accross from the groud was a great wee boozer and we had some really good banter with the Arbroath supporters in there.
first time ive ever been to Gayfield and you do have a cracking ground and you must have alot of money to hire Jocky Scott as a steward!
QUOTE (P.C @ Oct 6 2008, 13:05)

great day out and good result to match
the pub right accross from the groud was a great wee boozer and we had some really good banter with the Arbroath supporters in there.
first time ive ever been to Gayfield and you do have a cracking ground and you must have alot of money to hire Jocky Scott as a steward!

Steward was willing to have a laugh about it as well, which always helps.....
Probably the best away day so far, great wee pub, decent banter and two top class goals. Can't ask for much more really.
QUOTE (renton @ Oct 6 2008, 13:54)

Steward was willing to have a laugh about it as well, which always helps.....
Probably the best away day so far, great wee pub, decent banter and two top class goals. Can't ask for much more really.
well a lack of smokies on the bus next time maybe
1320Lichtie
Oct 7 2008, 20:39
The crowd was 855 and we always get atleast 500-600 diehards every week so there must have been around 250-300 raith fans which is a great following on such a shity day at the coldest ground in the world.
Ill keep saying this but if we get a goalscorer i can see us jumping up the league , its all were missing and i hope mcglashan is seeing this and has someone in mind seeing Bryan Scott is fecked.
Lichtielegend
Oct 7 2008, 21:12
QUOTE (1320Lichtie @ Oct 7 2008, 21:39)

The crowd was 855 and we always get atleast 500-600 diehards every week so there must have been around 250-300 raith fans which is a great following on such a shity day at the coldest ground in the world.
Raith definitely had a larger share than that. It was near 50-50 from where I was.
QUOTE (Lichtielegend @ Oct 7 2008, 22:12)

Raith definitely had a larger share than that. It was near 50-50 from where I was.
Crowd w**k!
Seems about right to me though.
1320Lichtie
Oct 7 2008, 21:31
QUOTE (Paco @ Oct 7 2008, 22:22)

Crowd w**k!
Seems about right to me though.
Sorry i was on Holiday so didnt see the crowd just we usually get atleast 500 every week no matter how bad we are , just saying Raith had a good support by the pics etc i saw , the question is will Ayr bring more
King Kebab
Oct 7 2008, 23:02
QUOTE (Lichtielegend @ Oct 7 2008, 22:12)

So was that 50 they had at each end then!!!
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
Oct 7 2008, 23:22
QUOTE (King Kebab @ Oct 8 2008, 00:02)

So was that 50 they had at each end then!!!

And was it 50/50 when the Fife went to Gayfield?
King Kebab
Oct 7 2008, 23:24
QUOTE (bring_back_the_twa_hoops @ Oct 8 2008, 00:22)

And was it 50/50 when the Fife went to Gayfield?

Naw, we all stood together!!!
Not wanting to get embroiled in a crowd wankfest but have to say was surprised by the poor turnout from Arbroath supporters
Lichtielegend
Oct 8 2008, 09:49
QUOTE (Robbo @ Oct 8 2008, 09:16)

Not wanting to get embroiled in a crowd wankfest but have to say was surprised by the poor turnout from Arbroath supporters
I doubt we're the only club suffering from apathetic locals.
QUOTE (Lichtielegend @ Oct 8 2008, 10:49)

I doubt we're the only club suffering from apathetic locals.
I can assure you that you're not.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.