Full Version: Weekend 4th And 5th October
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > Gambling
Pages: 1, 2, 3
Fudge
I am very much liking the look of both Cowedenbeath at home to Shire and Dumbarton at home to Annan. Both are at 4/6 (which is bang on what I expected) with Bet365 although it is very early days and there will be better prices than that available nearer the time.

I'm toying with the idea of a double, but more likely I will just go with a single on Dumbarton. I could write an essay on why but I doubt anyone really cares.
Clachan Blue
Not sure of the price as can't access betting sites at work and don't have a coupon handy, but one game which sticks out in the Scottish 2nd Division would be Brechin at home to Alloa. Got to fancy Brechin to get a home win there, although the odds may not be the best.
accies
Are Cowedenbeath not at home to East Stirling?
Fudge
QUOTE (accies @ Sep 29 2008, 14:32) *
Are Cowedenbeath not at home to East Stirling?

My mistake. I knew they were at home to Shire but for some reason typed Montrose. I had that bet on Sat so was probably just stuck in my mind.
cityfan
Another good 4/6 in the third division is Berwick at home to Elgin. Our form is obviously awful. Conceded 11 goals in 2 games against teams in the bottom half of the league and we have never won at Berwick.
dubs
5 home wins in the 3rd wouldn't be too surprising but I bet it would pay well.

Albion Rovers at home to Motrose would be doubtful but given the turmoil thats hit Montrose this week, I wouldn't be shocked.
the jambo-rocker
it's still far too early for me to be looking at team for this weekend with the latter only finishing yesterday. However the sound of Berwick being 4/6 to beat a very poor elgin side does sound to good to true.
venga1
East Fife at home to Stranraer IMO, I'll be having a 3 figure single to win 100 on that, similar to Peterhead v Stranraer 2 weeks a go.
Latino Lover
Everton are 4/5 to beat rudderless Newcastle at Goodison in a fixture they have taken 16 out of the last 18 points from.
vinnie-7
Does anyone know if any bookies is doing odds on the scottish Junior Cup this weekend?

I really fancy a large single on Berwick to beat Elgin. Elgin are struggling badly at the moment!
Napoli1881
Saturday:

Blackburn vs Man Utd
Sunderland vs Arsenal
Birmingham vs QPR
Swansea vs Wolves
Peterborough vs Leeds
Wycombe vs Bournemouth
Leyton Orient vs Scunthorpe
Brechin vs Alloa

Sunday:

Everton vs Newcastle
Portsmouth vs Stoke

Man Utd & Arsenal away from home should pick up all three points against Blackburn & Sunderland.
Birmingham & Wolves are flying in Championship, and their odds should be good against QPR & Swansea.
Got to fancy Leeds for the difficult tie at London Road against Peterborough
Wycombe should win at home to a woeful Bournemouth (although the Cherries have hit abit of form lately.
Scunthorpe are unbeated in their last EIGHT league & Cup games, and should go up at the end of the season.
Brechin should get all three points against Alloa.

Everton will beat the woefully inadequate Newcastle team, althouh Owen will score!
Portsmouth are for a good win, and are always hard to beat at Fratton Park.

£2 ten-fold me thinks... wink.gif

WullieBroonIsGod
QUOTE (venga1 @ Sep 29 2008, 18:56) *
East Fife at home to Stranraer IMO, I'll be having a 3 figure single to win 100 on that, similar to Peterhead v Stranraer 2 weeks a go.

1/2 with William Hill at the moment mate.
Best Price I've seen so far
Accies1
Celtic vs. Hamilton - 12/1

Life savings going on it.
clyde til we die
QUOTE (Accies1 @ Sep 30 2008, 19:05) *
Celtic vs. Hamilton - 12/1

Life savings going on it.

Your never gonna put a whole £10 on it are you ?
Accies1
QUOTE (clyde til we die @ Sep 30 2008, 21:23) *
Your never gonna put a whole £10 on it are you ?

I was thinking more along the lines of £5 rolleyes.gif
19QOS19
Just had a £5 double come in :-

Burnley Vs Watford 19/20

Sheff Wed Vs Nott Forest 19/20

Returned £19.01 and that's all going on a treble this weekend of :-

Brechin Vs Alloa 4/7

Cowdenbeath Vs East Stirling 4/7

Berwick Vs Elgin 4/7

Here's hoping as that will return £73.77. Made these bets at William Hill online.

accies
Ive stuck a free £5 bet on accies at 10/1 smile.gif
Accies1
Quite like the look of this accy:

Berwick v Elgin 4/6
Cowdenbeath v East Stirling 4/7
Stenhousemuir v Forfar 8/13
Brechin v Alloa 1/2
East Fife v Stranraer 2/5
Ross County v Morton 10/11

Can get odds of about 16/1 on it.
mid-table
Sunderland v ARSENAL 4/6
ROTHERHAM v Grimsby 8/11
KIDDERMINSTER v Barrow 3/5
BRECHIN v Alloa 4/7
EAST FIFE v Stranraer 8/15
BERWICK v Elgin 7/10

Out of interest, the 2nd bet in my paper trade to win a house would be Rotherham to beat Grimsby, a fictional £1,650 at 8/11.
raithfortheleague
QUOTE (mid-table @ Oct 1 2008, 21:04) *
Sunderland v ARSENAL 4/6
ROTHERHAM v Grimsby 8/11
KIDDERMINSTER v Barrow 3/5
BRECHIN v Alloa 4/7
EAST FIFE v Stranraer 8/15
BERWICK v Elgin 7/10

Out of interest, the 2nd bet in my paper trade to win a house would be Rotherham to beat Grimsby, a fictional £1,650 at 8/11.

will you not be raging if it comes in and you could have had a house
mid-table
QUOTE (raithfortheleague @ Oct 1 2008, 21:29) *
will you not be raging if it comes in and you could have had a house

Yes and no.
Yes, as you mention I could have had a house, but also no, as the whole point is proving it can be done before trying it for real.
Accies1
QUOTE (Accies1 @ Oct 1 2008, 18:54) *
Quite like the look of this accy:

Berwick v Elgin 4/6
Cowdenbeath v East Stirling 4/7
Stenhousemuir v Forfar 8/13
Brechin v Alloa 1/2
East Fife v Stranraer 2/5
Ross County v Morton 10/11

Can get odds of about 16/1 on it.

Any of these dodgy?

Or do you think it has a reasonable chance of coming up?
raithfortheleague
only one that could be dodgy to me is county
DarkBlue62
QUOTE (Accies1 @ Oct 1 2008, 21:45) *
Any of these dodgy?

Or do you think it has a reasonable chance of coming up?

QUOTE (raithfortheleague @ Oct 1 2008, 21:50) *
only one that could be dodgy to me is county

I would say that aswell.
DarkBlue62
Stenhousemuir v Forfar
Berwick v Elgin
East Fife v Stranraer
Swansea v Wolves
Norwich v Derby
Partick v Dundee

Odds of around 50/1 wink.gif
stevenston saint
QUOTE (DarkBlue62 @ Oct 1 2008, 22:02) *
Stenhousemuir v Forfar
Berwick v Elgin
East Fife v Stranraer
Swansea v Wolves
Norwich v Derby
Partick v Dundee

Odds of around 50/1 wink.gif

Doesn't look too bad...........for you wink.gif tongue.gif
dubs
We're playing the team with the joint best away record in the league, at those odds I don't think we are worth the risk to be honest. Forfar have shown themselves to be formidable on their travels this season.
Gall09
QUOTE (DarkBlue62 @ Oct 1 2008, 21:53) *
I would say that aswell.

So that's my life savings on Morton then tongue.gif
the jambo-rocker
can somebody please tell me what odds you can get for hull to win away to tottenham this sunday?

whatever they are, i quite fancy a piece of that action
mid-table
QUOTE (the jambo-rocker @ Oct 2 2008, 11:22) *
can somebody please tell me what odds you can get for hull to win away to tottenham this sunday?

Best odds I have seen is 15/4.
the_russian
Agree with a lot of the picks so far. Games that I haven't seen mentioned, Peterhead away to Ayr is huge odds (circa 15/8), Raith (at evens I think) at Gayfield, and Crawley in the BSP who are in great form at the top of the league. They play Burton away, who are also chasing promotion, but seem to lack the bottle for these crunch games (they lost to R&D and heavily to Stevenage recently) I saw a price of around 7/4.

Worth a wee trixie, then if one loses you'll at least get your steak bake... sorry, I meant your stake back.

Edit, the voices in my head are telling me to put 10 on Hamilton too.

Hamilton is the child in my cellar.
the jambo-rocker
QUOTE (mid-table @ Oct 2 2008, 11:58) *
Best odds I have seen is 15/4.

cheers

just found 4-1 with william hill
ClydeSI
Arsenal, West Ham, Reading, Brighton, Bradford, Celtic, Rangers, Brechin, Alloa, East Fife, Stenny. £75 for £1

Brechin, East Fife, Berwick, Cowden, Dumbarton, Stenny. 70.35 for £5
clyde til we die
QUOTE (the jambo-rocker @ Oct 2 2008, 11:22) *

I would wait until you see how Spurs play today.
GavMan_AUFC_1910
QUOTE (ClydeSI @ Oct 2 2008, 13:26) *
Arsenal, West Ham, Reading, Brighton, Bradford, Celtic, Rangers, Brechin, Alloa, East Fife, Stenny. £75 for £1

I'll give you odds of 1000000/1 for that accumulator above! wink.gif wink.gif

dubs
Just had a quick scan of this weekends line, money to be made or whit!?

Far better than last weeks where I still had 6 out of 8 overall right.
Kayster
Will be looking more in depth tomorrow so will post my selections then.

Had a look at the Junior Scottish cup

4/7 Armadale 16/5 Edinburgh Utd 3/1
4/9 Ashfield 7/2 East End 19/5
1/50 Auchinleck 9/1 Nairn St. Ninian 20/1
4/5 Beith 5/2 Hill of Beath 5/2
5/4 Blackburn Utd 13/5 Lochee Harp 6/4
2/5 Blairgowrie 10/3 Crossgates 9/2
19/5 Buchanhaven 7/2 Cumbernauld 4/9
9/2 Buckie Rovers 10/3 Dyce 2/5
4/6 Dalry 14/5 Dunbar 14/5
14/5 Downfield 14/5 Broxburn 4/6
10/3 East Kilbride 10/3 Whitburn 1/2
3/1 Fraserburgh 16/5 Kirriemuir 4/7
11/8 G. Perthshire 5/2 Tranent 11/8
5/1 Hermes 19/5 Sauchie 1/3
14/5 Inverness City 14/5 West Calder 4/6
1/100 Irvine Meadow 9/1 Bishopmill 25/1
1/2 Largs 10/3 Dundonald 10/3
1/6 Larkhall 11/2 Royal Albert 8/1
12/1 Livingston Utd 15/2 Bonnyrigg 1/14
10/11 Longside 11/4 Wishaw 2/1
7/4 Lugar 5/2 Ballingry 11/10
6/4 Musselburgh 13/5 Bo'ness 5/4
16/1 New Elgin 9/1 Lochee Utd 1/33
2/5 R. Glencairn 10/3 Lochore 9/2
4/11 Renfrew 7/2 Shettleston 5/1
10/3 Saltcoats 10/3 Johnstone 1/2
3/1 Scone 16/5 Culter 4/7
12/1 Stonehouse 15/2 Kilbirnie 1/14
EVS Strathspey 14/5 Muirkirk 7/4
1/2 Tayport 10/3 Broughty 10/3
1/6 Thorniewood 11/2 Cruden Bay 8/1
8/15 Vale of Clyde 16/5 Arniston 16/5
8/11 Whitletts 11/4 Blantyre 13/5

You ever seen a team priced higher than 1/100?!!?

My team priced at 12/1, might have a wee punt on us too win, lol! tongue.gif
Fudge
QUOTE (dubs @ Oct 2 2008, 14:03) *
Just had a quick scan of this weekends line, money to be made or whit!?

Far better than last weeks where I still had 6 out of 8 overall right.

There are so many decent shouts at circa 4/6 ish.

If you had enough money to stick £200 on each othem I'm fairly certain you'd make decent money, but obviously over a grand on betting on one weekend is a bit excessive for average joes like us.

I think I'm just going to go with a Dumbarton/Cowden double, and a £50 free bet on Forfar at 4/1
dubs
There's a cluster in the 2nd and 3rd in Scotland where I can only see home wins to be honest, Brechin, East Fife, Berwick, Cowden and Dumbarton namely.

Also looking elsewhere, Rotherham, Wigan, Walsall, Sheff Utd. and Arsenal could make up some speculative bets.

Confident of some significant profit this weekend.
Fudge
QUOTE (dubs @ Oct 2 2008, 16:16) *
There's a cluster in the 2nd and 3rd in Scotland where I can only see home wins to be honest, Brechin, East Fife, Berwick, Cowden and Dumbarton namely.

Agree entirely, the only problem is what way do you bet on them, singles, a few double, trebles?

I was scared about getting say 5 out of 6 right and not making as much as i should have due to the way the best were placed.
dubs
Aye it boils down to how much are you willing to risk, I don't have the finance to back each with significant singles, will just collate them all, then rate them out of 1-5 and put on two or three trebles/fourfolds which pay 100 odd or whatever - been doing that all season and I'm roughly 40% up i think.
Cowden til i die
Has anyone looked at the Junior/Senior football betting on Labrokes on-line. Surely theres money to be amde there. They even have games like Edinbugh Uni v Easthouses.

Anyway i like Raith, Rotherham, East Fife, Dumbarton, Wycombe and Scunny.
DarkBlue62
QUOTE (stevenston saint @ Oct 2 2008, 07:08) *
Doesn't look too bad...........for you wink.gif tongue.gif

QUOTE (Gall09 @ Oct 2 2008, 10:15) *
So that's my life savings on Morton then tongue.gif

Stop bullying me people! crying.gif

And Gall09. Life savings on the draw wink.gif laugh.gif
The Naitch
Trixie on this bunch...

Clyde vs Dunfermline (6/5)
Ross County vs Morton (15/8)
Berwick vs Elgin (8/13)

£5 total stake could return £30.93

Same stake on this trixie as well...

Sunderland vs Arsenal (4/6)
Nottingham Forest vs Crystal Palace (8/5)
Kettering vs Northwich (8/15)

...which could return £21.90

Gall09
Wigan v Middlesbrough @11/10
Blackpool v Cardiff @ 15/8
East Fife v Stranraer @4/9
[b]Berwick[/b] v Elgin @7/10
Cowdenbeath v East Stirling @8/13

£10 four-folds could return £652

Fiver accy could return £120
ClydeSI
if my line comes up tonight (nancy htft looks on just now, waiting for milan and psg on the other) i might have a dabble on the junior cup. Its very rare that an upset happens so will look at four or five around 1/2 shots for a tenner.
uberman
Scunthorpe away at Leyton orient @23/20 looks a good bet to me, Scunny have scored 10 goals on their travels winning 3 times and losing 1. Leyton O have won 1, drawn 1 and lost 2 at home and only scored 3 times and conceded 7
the jambo-rocker
The teams that i look the like of are the following

Wigan - Middlesbrough 21-20 - Wigan are a very good team at home, losing only by a goal to chelsea, and a win against man city. Middlesbrough have been dreadful away form home so far failing to pick up a win in any of their away matches this season.

Norwich - Derby 19/10 - Derby are starting to pick up some really good momentum from their permiership hangover, and are five games unbeaten. Norwich have not looked to good as of late and have lost two of their key defenders for the match.

West Ham - Bolton 8/11 - West Ham have looked really good in their last two matches scoring three goals in each of their games. Bolton are another team that have still to pick up any points on their travels this season.

Leyton Orient - Scunthorpe 23-20 Scunthorpe has mentioned in the latter, have been banging the goals in away from home. Leyton Orient are very poor at home and their only win of the season came against a very poor hereford side that languish at the foot of the table

All odds are william hill. Roughly 22-1. A Cheeky tenner on that methinks

Edit: Also little addtions of Berwick, Dumbarton, Brechin and Rotherham all at 4-7 to boost the accumulator is quite tempting however i dont want to get too greedy.
ClydeSI
QUOTE (Kayster @ Oct 2 2008, 14:52) *
Will be looking more in depth tomorrow so will post my selections then.

Had a look at the Junior Scottish cup

Where did you get the odds from?
Kayster
QUOTE (ClydeSI @ Oct 3 2008, 09:28) *
Where did you get the odds from?

Willie Hill offering those odds in shop.....