Full Version: Could We Please Get On With Talking Football.
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > Rangers v Celtic, Celtic v Rangers
Ric
This forum has got out of hand. I take some blame for that as I have always been reticent regarding moderating the OF forum due to the amount of stick you get from either side, but the amount of non-footballing however it's now getting to a point where it's almost unrecognisable to the rest of the forum.

Could you please at least keep to the subjects. Yes I realise that there will always be side issues with the OF (for example the singing of songs) and yes they aren't football and yes I expect them to be discussed. What I do not want to see are libellous threads suggesting one or other officials on either side are guilty of some crime when it has not been proven in a court of law or threads opened up containing nothing but "they are c*nts" in it.

Come on guys, this is "your" forum, do you want to enter into a debate about football or just spend days flaming each other with the same tired arguments?
Frank Booth
QUOTE (Ric @ Sep 29 2008, 12:41) *
This forum has got out of hand. I take some blame for that as I have always been reticent regarding moderating the OF forum due to the amount of stick you get from either side, but the amount of non-footballing however it's now getting to a point where it's almost unrecognisable to the rest of the forum.

Could you please at least keep to the subjects. Yes I realise that there will always be side issues with the OF (for example the singing of songs) and yes they aren't football and yes I expect them to be discussed. What I do not want to see are libellous threads suggesting one or other officials on either side are guilty of some crime when it has not been proven in a court of law or threads opened up containing nothing but "they are c*nts" in it.

Come on guys, this is "your" forum, do you want to enter into a debate about football or just spend days flaming each other with the same tired arguments?

Isn't this a Scottish football forum? rolleyes.gif
JUMPURS
Good idea, this place has been less fun to come vist, more like a chore.

Maybe there should be 1 big super thread regarding the certain controversial song at the moment and keep it all in there.
KnightswoodBear
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Sep 29 2008, 13:04) *

Maybe there should be 1 big super thread regarding the certain controversial song at the moment and keep it all in there.

Good idea
LordHawHaw
Maybe Celtic fans should just ignore the one poster that simply wants to "steal" every thread for the same discussion, while that discussion should be openly argued, I'd suggest allowing him to used all the threads in the forum for his agenda ruins the whole place.

Ignore him and his ramblings
Ric
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Sep 29 2008, 13:04) *

Certainly it's feeling like a chore to moderate, and that's not fair on those who want to come in here and contribute. For someone, ie: me, who is not entrenched in the Old Firm divide it's difficult for me to weed out what is out and out insulting and completely unrelated to football and those threads that are decent fishing or windup threads. I'm not saying you can't take the piss, you just have to be a little more careful (or subtle) when doing it.

We all like pub banter, don't get me wrong, but these days pub banter has to be toned down for a website like this, especially considering the spotlight of the media falling onto the actions of the two groups of fans.

I know I will get accused of bias no matter what decisions I take, but I can assure people that I don't come into this with an agenda other than to improve the quality of the posts in this forum.

I am sure the huge majority of posters on here would welcome that.
seamus
The forum has went right downhill since proteus maximus has joined he just spends more time trying to get the last word on the thread or a "full house " of posts on the Rangers vCeltic thread.
I enjoy a good debate about the non-footballing issus of the old firm and although I dont agree with posters such as No-8 and Bellend they stimulate good debate.The non footballing issues are enjoyed by other posters outwith the old firm support.

Proteus maximus is the reason why the forum is devalued.
myshkin
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 29 2008, 13:08) *
Maybe Celtic fans should just ignore the one poster that simply wants to "steal" every thread for the same discussion, while that discussion should be openly argued, I'd suggest allowing him to used all the threads in the forum for his agenda ruins the whole place.

Ignore him and his ramblings

It really is that simple. I would question why anyone would want to respond to his hate filled ramblings. Better off out of it in my opinion.
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (myshkin @ Sep 29 2008, 13:14) *
It really is that simple. I would question why anyone would want to respond to his hate filled ramblings. Better off out of it in my opinion.

If Celtic fans cannot do that as it would seem with some then the mods should take action on that one poster
Ric
QUOTE (seamus @ Sep 29 2008, 13:11) *
I enjoy a good debate about the non-footballing issus of the old firm and although I dont agree with posters such as No-8 and Bellend they stimulate good debate.The non footballing issues are enjoyed by other posters outwith the old firm support.

And that I would agree with. I also think there are some issues that should probably be discussed in GN as they affect society as a whole rather than Celtic and Rangers specifically.

Ultimately I would like this forum to be an enjoyable one for people to visit and read and for it to be a good mix of banter and actual football (like the other parts of P&B). I am sure everyone else wants that too.
seamus
QUOTE (Ric @ Sep 29 2008, 13:20) *
And that I would agree with. I also think there are some issues that should probably be discussed in GN as they affect society as a whole rather than Celtic and Rangers specifically.

I think over the last few years the non-footballing issues have been more evident than ever and I can only see it increasing.If it was moved to general nonsense it may deter a certain poster of trying to monopolise the subjects with his pish.
The Savage
To be honest, how can the moderators on here complain about the number of irrelevant threads/posts, when they know what the root of the problem is, yet take no action. As I've stated before, from an ordinary poster's point of view, the solution is simple, ignore Proteus Maximum. If his threads/posts were ignored, it would not be long before he would feck off back to FF. However, I believe that some of the people on here make this impossible, and there will always be someone daft enough to reply to this idiot, so therefore the moderators should most definitely do something about it.
seamus
QUOTE (The Savage @ Sep 29 2008, 13:52) *
To be honest, how can the moderators on here complain about the number of irrelevant threads/posts, when they know what the root of the problem is, yet take no action. As I've stated before, from an ordinary poster's point of view, the solution is simple, ignore Proteus Maximum. If his threads/posts were ignored, it would not be long before he would feck off back to FF. However, I believe that some of the people on here make this impossible, and there will always be someone daft enough to reply to this idiot, so therefore the moderators should most definitely do something about it.

I will start to ignore him but its quite difficult to ignore someone who posts pish on every thread.Even the rangers fans on here have had enough of him.
Ric
QUOTE (The Savage @ Sep 29 2008, 13:52) *
To be honest, how can the moderators on here complain about the number of irrelevant threads/posts, when they know what the root of the problem is, yet take no action.

As I said, I hold my hands up. I am totally guilty of not giving enough attention to this forum. You know the reasons why (if not read up), but that is no excuse. I am sorry, and I am trying to make some amends just now.
HibeeJibee
In the USA, Congress is currently creating a 'toxic bank', for all the bad debts of American financial institutions. dry.gif Perhaps the P&B Congress/dictator can create a 'toxic thread' for the bigotry p*sh.
seamus
QUOTE (HibeeJibee @ Sep 29 2008, 18:03) *
In the USA, Congress is currently creating a 'toxic bank', for all the bad debts of American financial institutions. dry.gif Perhaps the P&B Congress/dictator can create a 'toxic thread' for the bigotry p*sh.

Theres more than a fair share of bigots outwith the old firm support on here.
HibeeJibee
QUOTE (seamus @ Sep 29 2008, 18:06) *
Theres more than a fair share of bigots outwith the old firm support on here.

Mmm dry.gif ... maybe so. But the root issues of 'threads on offence-causing' are 99% related to the OF.
seamus
QUOTE (HibeeJibee @ Sep 29 2008, 18:14) *
Mmm dry.gif ... maybe so. But the root issues of 'threads on offence-causing' are 99% related to the OF.

Take one poster away and you have a sensible debate.
I wonder if he is even a Hun or an alias.
Beyemystic

Cynics might suggest you have been reticent regarding moderating the rest of the forum properly happy.gif Not me though I hasten to add wink.gif

Off the top of my head I can think of

• huns endorsing violent crime on Neil Lennon
  • huns libelling John Reid with various nonsense
  • huns accusing the great Big Jock of some sort of proxy involvement in a horrible crime against children

etc.

Balanced against this we have very little (nothing, in fact) comparable from the board's Tims.

Proteas Maximus has a way to go before he plumbs the depths of some 'buddies' on the SPL board, branding folk "child murdering scumbags" without censure.
seamus
Am I being paranoid or does anyone else think that this influx of new posters may be trying to devalue the site as they are from a competing one?
Why would a poster such as Porteus Mahimus try to fill a full forum with insignificant posts when having the last post on every thread?
Because he has a site of his own and needs posters maybe?. huh.gif
Top Cat
QUOTE (seamus @ Sep 29 2008, 20:34) *
Am I being paranoid or does anyone else think that this influx of new posters may be trying to devalue the site as they are from a competing one?
Why would a poster such as Porteus Mahimus try to fill a full forum with insignificant posts when having the last post on every thread?
Because he has a site of his own and needs posters maybe?. huh.gif

I think ye might actually have a point! I questioned whether he was a Gers fan the other day and thought it was weird the way he answered every topic. Don't get me wrong, some of his stuff was funny but I also thought he was fecking up what I regard tae be a standard above any other fitba forum.
Ric
QUOTE (Beyemystic @ Sep 29 2008, 19:47) *
  • huns accusing the great Big Jock of some sort of proxy involvement in a horrible crime against children

Can't comment on the first one as I've not seen anything in particular and I can't see how you could stop people from expressing their opinion about him being beaten up though.

The second one I closed a thread on that exact subject (after which I was accused of sectarian bias - towards Celtic this time. I am sure you will love the irony in that).

As for the final one then I would like to think that a thread suggesting such a thing would be closed immediately.

When it comes to comments, they are far harder to weed out without reading every post made on here. Something I don't have to the time or inclination to do. Although there is a complaints forum for pointing them out. We can only keep this place up to a decent posting standard with the help of people posting on it.

Proteas Maximus has a way to go before he plumbs the depths of some 'buddies' on the SPL board, branding folk "child murdering scumbags" without censure.

If you wish to point me in the direction of said quote, I can see it in the context it is in.
seamus
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 29 2008, 20:44) *
I think ye might actually have a point! I questioned whether he was a Gers fan the other day and thought it was weird the way he answered every topic. Don't get me wrong, some of his stuff was funny but I also thought he was fecking up what I regard tae be a standard above any other fitba forum.

Why else would he try and feck up the Rangers and Celtic forum whilst making himself look like a cnut.
WeAreThePeople
Cynics might suggest you have been reticent regarding moderating the rest of the forum properly happy.gif Not me though I hasten to add wink.gif

Off the top of my head I can think of

etc.

Balanced against this we have very little (nothing, in fact) comparable from the board's Tims.

How about the tims congratulating that mob from one of your sites for the threats on Novo?

That is just one of the top of my head.

His statement was perfectly valid, both sides are posting a lot of sh*te about stuff which isn't about our sides. I'd rather we stick to things about the FOOTBALL.

Like talking about the entertaining stuff Rangers have been serving up this season unlike last.
calum_gers
1) celtic fans praising the huddleboard for posting novos address?

Anyway how about 1 big thread for all non football topics in here.....anything else gets closed. Im getting sick of getting drawn into arguments with people that would claim black is white to suit their purposes.
Ric
QUOTE (calum_gers @ Sep 29 2008, 22:17) *
Anyway how about 1 big thread for all non football topics in here.....anything else gets closed. Im getting sick of getting drawn into arguments with people that would claim black is white to suit their purposes.

All non-football topics should be in General Nonsense (or another applicable forum). It's like that for every other league section on this site, it shouldn't be any different here.
Fitzwallace
I've never seen a shower of more immature wankers than Celtic and Rangers supporters. Tit for tat, they're worse than us, blah blah blah.

You're both as bad as each other, and are a blight on our game.
Disraeli
It's all the fault of that Carl Jung bloke.
Why he feels the need to post in a Scottish football forum (several decades after his death, I might add) I'll never know.
Ric
QUOTE (Disraeli @ Sep 30 2008, 12:13) *
It's all the fault of that Carl Jung bloke.

Are you suggesting this is all one big dream? wink.gif
KnightswoodBear
QUOTE (Ric @ Sep 30 2008, 14:40) *
Are you suggesting this is all one big dream? wink.gif

If it is, I'm eagerly awaiting the woman made entirely from breasts that usually appears in mine biggrin.gif
Beyemystic
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Sep 29 2008, 22:13) *
How about the tims congratulating that mob from one of your sites for the threats on Novo?

QUOTE (calum_gers @ Sep 29 2008, 22:17) *
1) celtic fans praising the huddleboard for posting novos address?

Who? When?

Anyway, this is an example of something being wildly exagerrated/totally dreamt up in order to balance the scales.

Its about as believable as big bad Aberdeen fans eclipsing all the huns' behaviour by "glorifying" an injury to a mediocre player more than 20 years ago.
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (Beyemystic @ Oct 1 2008, 21:08) *
Who? When?

Anyway, this is an example of something being wildly exagerrated/totally dreamt up in order to balance the scales.

Its about as believable as big bad Aberdeen fans eclipsing all the huns' behaviour by "glorifying" an injury to a mediocre player more than 20 years ago.

Ah but you can't deny that it is wrong and all the Celtic fans were hoping that the action would actually be taken by some Celtic fan somewhere. You lot aren't all rays of sunshine either. wink.gif

Anyway, I'd like to get away from this your worse than us tosh, lets get talking of the football as Ric wants. wink.gif
glasnost
As I said the other week, it is a pity that the moderators could not do their job properly on this section of the forum. If they did, then there would be little need for such a plea to be made.

Of course whilst they should shoulder some of the blame, so to should those that seem to find it impossible to ignore the ramblings of the new lunatic fringe that recently hit this board.
Ric
QUOTE (glasnost @ Oct 2 2008, 15:19) *
As I said the other week, it is a pity that the moderators could not do their job properly on this section of the forum. If they did, then there would be little need for such a plea to be made.

That's an interesting comment coming from someone who had such a bad reaction to the moderators "doing their job properly" before..
glasnost
QUOTE (Ric @ Oct 2 2008, 19:01) *
That's an interesting comment coming from someone who had such a bad reaction to the moderators "doing their job properly" before..

My "bad reaction" was entirely down to the double standards and susbequent petulance from one particular moderator, as you very well know.
Fife Saint
QUOTE (glasnost @ Oct 2 2008, 20:55) *
My "bad reaction" was entirely down to the double standards and susbequent petulance from one particular moderator, as you very well know.

They are all out to get you.
Ric
QUOTE (glasnost @ Oct 2 2008, 20:55) *

I know well your opinion of the matter. They don't necessarily match those of the moderation staff. I really fail to see why you have chosen to bring this subject back up.
glasnost
QUOTE (Ric @ Oct 2 2008, 21:01) *
I know well your opinion of the matter. They don't necessarily match those of the moderation staff. I really fail to see why you have chosen to bring this subject back up.

It was YOU who brought it back up dry.gif
Ric
QUOTE (glasnost @ Oct 2 2008, 21:02) *
It was YOU who brought it back up dry.gif

With respect, there is very little else I could read into this..

QUOTE (glasnost @ Oct 2 2008, 15:19) *
As I said the other week, it is a pity that the moderators could not do their job properly on this section of the forum.

Unless you have not made the connection between moderators trying to do their job and the actions of some posters when decisions are made that they don't agree with.

However, regardless of the final outcome, it would be pointless to continue giving alternate viewpoints on this, as I feel we have both said our piece on the subject.
glasnost
QUOTE (Ric @ Oct 2 2008, 21:07) *
With respect, there is very little else I could read into this..

Unless you have not made the connection between moderators trying to do their job and the actions of some posters when decisions are made that they don't agree with.

However, regardless of the final outcome, it would be pointless to continue giving alternate viewpoints on this, as I feel we have both said our piece on the subject.

rolleyes.gif

Are you just looking for an argument or what?

You could and should read into it that IMO moderators, on this section of the forum, have let things slip badly hence the need for this thread. FFS, it's what you yourself have even said re "I am totally guilty of not giving enough attention to this forum" rolleyes.gif
Ric
QUOTE (glasnost @ Oct 2 2008, 21:13) *
Are you just looking for an argument or what?

No not at all.

And I apologise if I picked up the comment in the wrong manner.
glasnost
QUOTE (Ric @ Oct 2 2008, 21:16) *
No not at all.

And I apologise if I picked up the comment in the wrong manner.

No problem.
Ric
Just to add gents, talking about football does not mean starting threads about cars being vandalised or people being attacked by dogs, even if the newspaper mentions the club name. Both of these threads have been moved to GN.
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (Ric @ Oct 7 2008, 14:28) *
Just to add gents, talking about football does not mean starting threads about cars being vandalised or people being attacked by dogs, even if the newspaper mentions the club name. Both of these threads have been moved to GN.

Is the PR thread OK, after all it has everything to do with the club? huh.gif
Ric
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 7 2008, 23:04) *
Is the PR thread OK, after all it has everything to do with the club? huh.gif

Yeh, it was a tough call. The subject itself isn't football, or football related, and with a subsequent thread being open in GN I felt moving and merging was the better option.

I'm not saying I will always be right with this sort of stuff, just a gut decision on this occasion.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.