Full Version: Villareal V Celtic
The Pie Shop > The Cups > Scots in Europe
Pages: 1, 2, 3
celtic_glasgow
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 30 2008, 22:40) *

In summary I thought we did much better than I thought, not unhappy with how we performed tonight, do the buggers at Celtic park biggrin.gif

Yeh surprisingly upbeat doesn't really feel like a defeat considering we are normally demoralised after ten mins or so on the road.
If we could just spring a shock at Old trafford and sneak a point it might not be beyond us to qualify but I would happily accept the UEFA Cup right now
celtic_glasgow
QUOTE (YER SISTERS YER MAW @ Sep 30 2008, 22:41) *
I'm being serious here.Was Paul Hartly even playing? I can't remember seeing him or hear the commentators say his name.

Point Proven!
Fife Saint
Tough one for Strachan to take. As Charlie Nic said post match he is at his wits end on how he can play with the assets he has. They were completely outclassed tonight and even the sporadic foray forward was in vain.

I think they have a struggle on to make the UEFA cup now.
Beren
Didn't think Hartley done too badly tonight, he's playing in that role that many contributions are overlooked: closing down players and pressuring into poor passing, which he done well enough.

Nakamura adds strong passing ability when he keeps up with play, unfortunately though, that appears to be less and less these days. Should have been hooked at half time (preferably not starting at all).

Maloney looked good at going forward, but needs to add a bit of tracking back to his game, see McGeady over the last two years for how much this adds to the team.

McGeady done little of note and still appears to be too slow in releasing the ball, although was almost a different player in the second half than in the first.

Boruc - excellent.

McManus had a couple of good, well timed tackles that could easily have seen penalties had he got them wrong.

Naylor - feel sorry for him tonight, lacks confidence and was left open to attack after attack.

Wilson - not too bad, and at long last, he's starting to show a little bit of why he was signed in the first place.

Samaras - frustration is the word that sums up his performance best I think.

The Rest - not a great deal to say really.

The Wall - lol sad.gif
khenny
QUOTE (celtic_glasgow @ Sep 30 2008, 22:37) *
You thought Maloney played well??? You realise that by playing well you must be available for a pass and following your runner when playing that position, he left naylor exposed 2v1 on numerous occasions, was extremely poor in my opinion.

Thought Aiden didn't play to badly, certainly not the best but by no means the worst.

What exactly did paul hartley do tonight? If anybody seen him touch the ball give me a shout.

Nakamura....well what do you expect

Scott Brown - Best game in the Hoops, only gave it away once which is a record for him and seemed to be the only player in the midfield who relished a tackle.

Gary Caldwell had a super game yet again, did not put a foot wrong and continues to grow in stature, even captain had a decent game tonight covering for our invisible left side.

The people in the wall at the goal - FUCKIN JUMP NEXT TIME!!!!!

Clearly you are on drugs!!!

McGeady left Wilson on his own time after time and the opposite was true of Maloney! Time after time he tucked in behind and did a great job defensively.

Guess you are just one of these blinkered McGeady is Ghod guys. Thought Hartson summed his performance up perfectly. "McGeady looks like a player that's been out for a few weeks" Spot on John.
Beren
QUOTE (khenny @ Sep 30 2008, 22:55) *
Clearly you are on drugs!!!

McGeady left Wilson on his own time after time and the opposite was true of Maloney! Time after time he tucked in behind and did a great job defensively.

Guess you are just one of these blinkered McGeady is Ghod guys. Thought Hartson summed his performance up perfectly. "McGeady looks like a player that's been out for a few weeks" Spot on John.

Maloney left Naylor open several times.
Fife Saint
What amazed me was the amount of times that both Maloney and McGeady collected the ball behind the fullbacks. I don't know if that was a symptom of Celtic's tactics or just the superior play from the Spaniards.
khenny
QUOTE (Eärendil @ Sep 30 2008, 22:58) *
Maloney left Naylor open several times.

If you notice it was Naylor that was out of position and it's not Maloneys fault that Naylor is pish!
Beren
QUOTE (khenny @ Sep 30 2008, 23:02) *
If you notice it was Naylor that was out of position and it's not Maloneys fault that Naylor is pish!

Aye right enough, especially the times when Naylor wasn't out of position and Maloney couldn't be arsed tracking his midfielder back.
celtic_glasgow
QUOTE (khenny @ Sep 30 2008, 23:02) *

Oh my god, please what age are you, i do not think Mcgeady is god i'm one of many on here who compare him to our previous left mid in alan thompson and show he isn't even as good at thommo.

But time and time again Maloney left naylor and would not track back, i lost count of the amount of times i shouted at him to chase back.

Put it this way how many time did Villareal get to the bye line past Naylor and maloney? MANY TIMES

Past Wilson and mcgeady? EXTREMELY FEW, INFACT I CAN REMEMBER ONE

N.B The Caps is not shouting, its showing the answer
seamus
I dont know what people are expecting Celtic could have got a result tonight but were unlucky.
Samaras right through onthe keeper and Macdonalds volley could have changed the game.

I would expect to beat Vilareal at Parkhead and beat Aalborg over there I expect nothing over Man Utd.

We will end up in the Uefa and if that means losing the title I would rather not be in it.
khenny
QUOTE (Eärendil @ Sep 30 2008, 23:06) *
Aye right enough, especially the times when Naylor wasn't out of position and Maloney couldn't be arsed tracking his midfielder back.

Watch the game back in the morning! Sober! dry.gif
celtic_glasgow
QUOTE (Eärendil @ Sep 30 2008, 23:06) *

This guy is clearly about 14 years old and knows extremely little about football
Kincardine
QUOTE (Fife Saint @ Sep 30 2008, 22:48) *
I think they have a struggle on to make the UEFA cup now.

The Dhims will qualify for the UEFA pretty easily. Aalborg are piss poor and if they win their home match against Celtc I'll be amazed.
khenny
QUOTE (celtic_glasgow @ Sep 30 2008, 23:07) *
Oh my god, please what age are you, i do not think Mcgeady is god i'm one of many on here who compare him to our previous left mid in alan thompson and show he isn't even as good at thommo.

But time and time again Maloney left naylor and would not track back, i lost count of the amount of times i shouted at him to chase back.

Put it this way how many time did Villareal get to the bye line past Naylor and maloney? MANY TIMES

Past Wilson and mcgeady? EXTREMELY FEW, INFACT I CAN REMEMBER ONE

N.B The Caps is not shouting, its showing the answer

It's quite simple all you have to do is watch the game again and watch McGeadys position. He is upfield a lot and exposing Wilson too many times. He also gave possession away time after time inthe first half. Look closely at Maloneys play, especially in the first half, he bailed Naylor out on more than one occassion.
WeAreThePeople
C'Mon now Timmy! It's not all bad.

This guy over on Sesame Street has the right idea

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Our away form in Europe has been abysmal. Christ even FC Cluj have won away from home in the Champions league, but its maybe not as bad as we think here is a wee look back at "the ones that got away"…

18th September 2001

Juventus 3 - Celtic 2

We were robbed, make no bones about it. After being 2-0 down we pull it back to 2-2 with minutes left Amoroso takes a dive in the box and a penalty is given. One of the worst decisions in our CL history.

Should have been a 2-2 draw.

23rd October 2001

Rosenberg 2 - Celtic 0

On paper a game that should have been ours for the taking but sadly a former hero Harold "10 in a row" brattback put us to the sword. The accountant who had not scored for 3 months prior to this match hit a double. We had countless chances but again failed to find the net.

17th September 2003

Bayern Munich 2 - Celtic 1

It should have been a draw. Alan Thompson puts us in front and it was a deserved lead. We played well but up steps Roy Makaay and fires in a stunning volley. A draw we can accept that. But what happens next is a complete clanger. A cross-come-shot bounces in front of hedman and into the back of the net. 2-1 Bayern. Game over.

Should have been a 1-1 draw

21st October 2003

Anderlecht 1 - Celtic 0

We played against 10 men for 65 minutes and could not find a way through. We had a penalty claim turned down. Hartson had a goal ruled off for offside and the Anderlecht keeper had a great game. Late in the second half they score and get the win.

Should have been at least a draw.

10th December 2003

Lyon 3 - Celtic 2

We pulled level twice to make it 2-2 then the ref decided to give a very harsh hand ball penalty against bobo balde. They score. Game over.

Should have been a 2-2 draw

29th September 2004

Ac Milan 3 - Celtic 1

Make no mistake this was not a 3-1 defeat. History books will show this but 2 goals in the last 2 minutes was like a knife in the heart. We pulled back to make it 1-1 through Varga only again to be dealt a late sickening blow.

Should have been a 1-1 draw

12th December 2006

FC Copenhagen 3 - Celtic 1

No pressure we are through to the last 16. A game where we should have had been calm cool and collective. Sadly we got pumped. Who knows what the score should have been but it was a huge missed opportunity.

24th October 2007

Benfica 1 - Celtic 0

It was like the Alamo but we survived until again late in the game. The 87th minute to be precise. Gutted.

Should have been a 0 - 0 draw.

4th December 2007

Ac Milan 1 Celtic 0

This was like a training game. Both teams knew they where through although we did have one eye on results elsewhere. Scott brown missed a great chance to put us 1-0 up but again as it always does a strike late on in the second half gave Milan the win.

Should have been a 0 - 0 draw.

Now I know what a lot of you will be thinking. Aye if my granny had baws she would be my granddad, but looking back we have been damn unlucky in some of these games and our away record on paper may be part of the worst in the champions league but I do believe with a little lady luck we will pull something out of the bag be it tonight, in Manchester or away to Aalborg.

Believe. That’s all we need to do…..
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Oh how he has the green tinted specs on biggrin.gif
stevenston saint
After watching Man U against Aalborg, i can definetly see Celtic winning over there which they need to do now.On tonights performance,how the f did they get a draw at Parkhead,they should have lost 6 or 7 tonight.
celtic_glasgow
QUOTE (stevenston saint @ Sep 30 2008, 23:11) *
After watching Man U against Aalborg, i can definetly see Celtic winning over there which they need to do now.On tonights performance,how the f did they get a draw at Parkhead,they should have lost 6 or 7 tonight.

Hopefully they will open up at home, leaving gaps to expose, they just sat in at Parkhead and we couldn't break them down.
In what is probably the most likely situation a win in Aalborg should get us through to the Uefa Cup
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (celtic_glasgow @ Sep 30 2008, 23:13) *
Hopefully they will open up at home, leaving gaps to expose, they just sat in at Parkhead and we couldn't break them down.
In what is probably the most likely situation a win in Aalborg should get us through to the Uefa Cup

Now where have I heard this before?

Copenhagen? ohmy.gif

Anderlecht? ohmy.gif

Artmedia? ohmy.gif

Could it next be

Aalborg? ohmy.gif
celtic_glasgow
QUOTE (khenny @ Sep 30 2008, 23:10) *
It's quite simple all you have to do is watch the game again and watch McGeadys position. He is upfield a lot and exposing Wilson too many times. He also gave possession away time after time inthe first half. Look closely at Maloneys play, especially in the first half, he bailed Naylor out on more than one occassion.

Its so funny how people can be this incredibly wrong, nobody is backing you up in your point, please indicate to me situations where they got in behind Wilson and then tell us when they got in behind naylor, I think you will find Naylor will have a lot more ticks against his name.

and note mcgeady and maloney should have been tracking the runners
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (celtic_glasgow @ Sep 30 2008, 23:16) *
Its so funny how people can be this incredibly wrong, nobody is backing you up in your point, please indicate to me situations where they got in behind Wilson and then tell us when they got in behind naylor, I think you will find Naylor will have a lot more ticks against his name.

and note mcgeady and maloney should have been tracking the runners

I could name one when Wilson had 2 men to mark, and didn't know who to go to.

REMEMBER THAT?
celtic_glasgow
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Sep 30 2008, 23:14) *
Now where have I heard this before?

Copenhagen? ohmy.gif

Anderlecht? ohmy.gif

Artmedia? ohmy.gif

Could it next be

Aalborg? ohmy.gif

Aalborg are nowhere near the standard of Copenhagen or Anderlecht.

As an aside, are Aalborg not the team who knocked out some team from lithunia who knocked out some diddy team from glasgow

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif laugh.gif
celtic_glasgow
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Sep 30 2008, 23:17) *
I could name one when Wilson had 2 men to mark, and didn't know who to go to.

REMEMBER THAT?

Aah that was Mark wilson in his gary caldwell disguise midway through the second half yeh? When thye dragged there shot wide of the right hand post
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (celtic_glasgow @ Sep 30 2008, 23:19) *
Aah that was Mark wilson in his gary caldwell disguise midway through the second half yeh? When thye dragged there shot wide of the right hand post

It was defo Mark Wilson, I watched it on Sky Sports, you know the good channel, and they even commented on it a few times after it happened, Wilson was exposed and didn't know wither to go to the inside man or the one on the outside of him.

Badly exposed due to McGeady refusing to come back and help.
IXI THE ONE IXI
Thought Villarreal were ripping Celtic to pieces, it made it even funnier that the freekick was soft which they scored from as well. McManus and his 'we felt we done enough to get something out the game' comment was bizarre. Hope they beat the Danes though and go through in the UEFA though, a nice long sapping slog to knacker them for the league biggrin.gif
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (IXI THE ONE IXI @ Sep 30 2008, 23:23) *
Thought Villarreal were ripping Celtic to pieces, it made it even funnier that the freekick was soft which they scored from as well. McManus and his 'we felt we done enough to get something out the game' comment was bizarre. Hope they beat the Danes though and go through in the UEFA though, a nice long sapping slog to knacker them for the league biggrin.gif

Oh, Samaras gave the same quote on Sky Sports. biggrin.gif

"I thought we did enough to get a point"

What get in the other teams half and get a serious chance three times? laugh.gif
Beren
QUOTE (khenny @ Sep 30 2008, 23:08) *
Watch the game back in the morning! Sober! dry.gif

Yes, I think you should.
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (celtic_glasgow @ Sep 30 2008, 23:18) *
Aalborg are nowhere near the standard of Copenhagen or Anderlecht.

As an aside, are Aalborg not the team who knocked out some team from lithunia who knocked out some diddy team from glasgow

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif laugh.gif

The same Diddy side who beat the other Diddy Side in Glasgow in their own Midden? laugh.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Edit: Robbie Earl speaking about Boruc there and just kept referring to him as Artur Borat biggrin.gif

We know hes a laughing stock too Robbie! biggrin.gif
celtic_glasgow
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Sep 30 2008, 23:27) *
The same Diddy side who beat the other Diddy Side in Glasgow in their own Midden? laugh.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Edit: Robbie Earl speaking about Boruc there and just kept referring to him as Artur Borat biggrin.gif

We know hes a laughing stock too Robbie! biggrin.gif

Neil Alexander, Allan Macgregor, aye ok.

And is it me or did u not beat us at Parkhead and not a midden? And also one win doesn't make a season
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (celtic_glasgow @ Sep 30 2008, 23:31) *
Neil Alexander, Allan Macgregor, aye ok.

And is it me or did u not beat us at Parkhead and not a midden? And also one win doesn't make a season

Aye, but one KO doesn't make us bad, you lot are sticking to that, so we will stick to humping you in your own midden.

Imagine getting beat like a diddy team like us, oh how it must annoy you! biggrin.gif

McGregor and Boruc are on a par, both think they are better than they are at the moment, the difference being we have a decent enough keeper as to have faith in so we can drop ours to show him he needs to get his head out his a*se.
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (IXI THE ONE IXI @ Sep 30 2008, 23:23) *

My arse, pretty even first half IMO, thought we played them really well, second half they had much more possession, it was 1-0 and we were still in it right to the end. The better team won, but that team with all their restrictions played well tonight.

The target for me was always the Uefa spot, I still think it's reasonable to expect that we'll get that place
banana
Decent defensive performance by Celtic, but spectacularly useless in possession. Look out for Samaras starring in a remake of 'My Left Foot'.
stevenston saint
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 30 2008, 23:45) *
The target for me was always the Uefa spot

laugh.gif Liar.
zenith st.petersburg
Thought Scott Brown had a great game as did Caldwell and as for their free-kick shit happens - overall a massive improvement . If only Samaras had stuck that one away...
The uefa cup place is ours though but do we want it if it's going to detract from the league?
Beat Utd & Villa at home & Aalborg away and we can still qualify. The last game vs Villareal could be decider depending on other results...we're still in it. Remember a few years ago Rangers beat Sturm Graz & Monaco in the first 2 games and ended up with nothing. All is not lost...
Maleybhoy
I thought the game was pretty evenly matched in the first half, which we probarbly shoulda went in at half time 1-0 up through that samaras chance. ye cant really miss they chances at that level and get away with it.
Thought Villareal up'd it in the second half and alot of Celtic players looked tiredaround 70 minutes. Best team won, but i thought we coulda nicked a point.
Really pleased Will Caldwells performance last night, ive slated him many a time, but he looked to have it together last night.

Nakamura was terrible...what was his purpose on that park last night apart from hitting a free-kick if we ever got one.
port-ton
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Sep 30 2008, 23:25) *
Oh, Samaras gave the same quote on Sky Sports. biggrin.gif

"I thought we did enough to get a point"

What get in the other teams half and get a serious chance three times? laugh.gif

If thats the case then Rangers deserved to be knocked out in the 1st knockout round of the Uefa Cup last season.
H_B
QUOTE (stevenston saint @ Oct 1 2008, 07:08) *
laugh.gif Liar.

No it's true.

St Martin has shown Celtic fans that the UEFA Cup is actually more important thatn the Champions League. Every Celtic fan knows that ohmy.gif
seaside nipper
the most amusing aspect of Celtic's workman like , close, but no cigar type performance was the wee ginger whinger giving it plenty bleating about the dodgy , soft free kick award.

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Talk about a brass neck , accept it ya diddy. You are the manager of a provincial diddy team in UEFA Champions league terms , that kind of 'injustice' is nothing to be complaining about. Get over yersell 1eye.gif

fatman76
QUOTE (Maleybhoy @ Oct 1 2008, 09:34) *
I thought the game was pretty evenly matched in the first half, which we probarbly shoulda went in at half time 1-0 up through that samaras chance. ye cant really miss they chances at that level and get away with it.
Thought Villareal up'd it in the second half and alot of Celtic players looked tiredaround 70 minutes. Best team won, but i thought we coulda nicked a point.
Really pleased Will Caldwells performance last night, ive slated him many a time, but he looked to have it together last night.

Nakamura was terrible...what was his purpose on that park last night apart from hitting a free-kick if we ever got one.

I personally thought Villareal put in one of their worst performances of the season and made sellick look better than they actually are. The good thing is that the fact Villareal did not play well has given you all hope you can beat them at home! laugh.gif
Shengus Khan
Surely the time has now come for Sellick to stop playing away European ties. They should simply forfeit the away games and give the 3 teams in their group the points. This then gives Sellick just the 3 home games to try and win all their points (as per the norm). Not only would this save the fans thousands of pounds every year, it would also put an end to all these tiring midweek European trips.

The Sellick hierarchy really should look into it.
Ric
Not read all this, so apologies if I am repeating what others have said, but this comment from Strachan..

"I've had a look at it and I'm not convinced it was free-kick," said Strachan.

"Only the player who was involved with it will know whether he dived or not, but the pictures themselves tell you.

Is comedy gold considering the way Celtic players seem to hit the deck in games against us...

That said, overall, I would have liked Celtic to win the game.
Svensen
One nil flattered these Oirish mongs, the thing that makes me laugh is the comments from their mong collective on this board "Brown done pretty well", "McGeady was good", "Nakamura should have been off" pfff!

Celtic were outclassed.

All Celtic done was try to keep up and sit with 10 men in the box when VR were on the move, as soon as the Spanish realised this they just cut them open with short passing. How many times did they break the back 6 with that cheeky wee by-line pass.

Celtic were lucky that VR never had their shooting boots on last night or it would have been a rout.

As much as I enjoyed the diving being rewarded by free kicks and eventually a goal, I'm surprised that these Euro wannabe's, in particular Strachan hasn't realised that the majority of Continental teams esp the Latins play for soft fouls, which are rewarded in Europe. If you don't like it, do the same. Wee bit different from Scotland where the officials are either mad proddy religious headcases, cheats or just inepts.

An easy win for Villarreal at the San Giro methinks, it was the difference between men and boys last night. I especially enjoyed Wee Aiden when he first went up against Capdevila laugh.gif

Difference with these cnuts is, that they're actually used to playing against players who actually have the Ronaldo-esque talent that wee Lesbian tries so hard to emulate.

All in all, a right good laugh. Bring on Man U...

patto
QUOTE (seaside nipper @ Oct 1 2008, 10:35) *
the most amusing aspect of Celtic's workman like , close, but no cigar type performance was the wee ginger whinger giving it plenty bleating about the dodgy , soft free kick award.

Talk about a brass neck , accept it ya diddy. You are the manager of a provincial diddy team in UEFA Champions league terms , that kind of 'injustice' is nothing to be complaining about. Get over yersell 1eye.gif

Do you wear rangers tops under st mirrens when you goto games ? you bog rats wouldnt shut up about our penalty at cp.
tonythetim
I was happy with the way we played in spells of the game, but they were a very good team.

We had a couple of chance, which on another night could have been better.

I think we will beat them at home, Aalborg away and MUST beat Man U at home as well.

Did we not lose of 1st 2 games last season and still progressed?

Its not over yet!
patto
You really dont have anything to shout about for St mince, do you svensen ?
Svensen
QUOTE (patto @ Oct 1 2008, 12:25) *
Do you wear rangers tops under st mirrens when you goto games ?

Typical OF attitude, if you're not for us, you're against us...

The obligatory "What team do you really support?" mentality. Funny.

SirRogerCasement
QUOTE (Svensen @ Oct 1 2008, 12:44) *

Typical OF attitude, if you're not for us, you're against us...

The obligatory "What team do you really support?" mentality. Funny.

I always have a good laugh at dopey St Mirren fans on here speculating on a tournament in which they will never ever participate in.

port-ton
QUOTE (SirRogerCasement @ Oct 1 2008, 13:15) *
I always have a good laugh at dopey St Mirren fans on here speculating on a tournament in which they will never ever participate in.

take it you have no views on the Copa America or the Premiership then?
Ric
QUOTE (patto @ Oct 1 2008, 12:25) *
..you bog rats wouldnt shut up about our penalty at cp.

I think you'll find the media took the same stance of "it wasn't a penalty". In fact the only person to think it was, was the Celtic supporting referee.

Not that I am dwelling on the matter, it's done and dusted, but you can't blame us for pointing to the irony of Strachan's comments.
myshkin
QUOTE (Svensen @ Oct 1 2008, 12:01) *
One nil flattered these Oirish mongs, the thing that makes me laugh is the comments from their mong collective on this board "Brown done pretty well", "McGeady was good", "Nakamura should have been off" pfff!

Celtic were outclassed.

All Celtic done was try to keep up and sit with 10 men in the box when VR were on the move, as soon as the Spanish realised this they just cut them open with short passing. How many times did they break the back 6 with that cheeky wee by-line pass.

Celtic were lucky that VR never had their shooting boots on last night or it would have been a rout.

As much as I enjoyed the diving being rewarded by free kicks and eventually a goal, I'm surprised that these Euro wannabe's, in particular Strachan hasn't realised that the majority of Continental teams esp the Latins play for soft fouls, which are rewarded in Europe. If you don't like it, do the same. Wee bit different from Scotland where the officials are either mad proddy religious headcases, cheats or just inepts.

An easy win for Villarreal at the San Giro methinks, it was the difference between men and boys last night. I especially enjoyed Wee Aiden when he first went up against Capdevila laugh.gif

Difference with these cnuts is, that they're actually used to playing against players who actually have the Ronaldo-esque talent that wee Lesbian tries so hard to emulate.

All in all, a right good laugh. Bring on Man U...

St Mirren will be relegated this season. Of that there is no doubt.

That should be equally as funny. I will be here to dance on their grave.