Looks like thats going to be the story of our season
ark loyal
Oct 2 2008, 20:41
QUOTE (tam the bud @ Oct 2 2008, 21:36)

Cheap bevvy for you

enjoy

I intend to
And you make the most of that glorious sunshine
Nancy manager is a p***k for not shaking hands with Mcghee.
Drooper
Oct 2 2008, 20:46
QUOTE (patto @ Oct 2 2008, 21:46)

Nancy manager is a p***k for not shaking hands with Mcghee.
He did.
BTW, cheats never prevail
StandFree03
Oct 2 2008, 21:15
I feel sorry for the Motherwell fans most of all. We had some amazing away days in the Uefa last season and I just wish more diddy supporters could experience that kind of thing. I imagine a lot of Well fans had a great time in Nancy (oo-err) and the memories will last a lifetime.
Unlucky guys
ark loyal
Oct 2 2008, 21:24
QUOTE (StandFree03 @ Oct 2 2008, 22:15)

I feel sorry for the Motherwell fans most of all. We had some amazing away days in the Uefa last season and I just wish more diddy supporters could experience that kind of thing. I imagine a lot of Well fans had a great time in Nancy (oo-err) and the memories will last a lifetime.
Unlucky guys

Yep, gutted. To be honest out of our pool in the draw Nancy offered our best chance of progessing. At the end of the day we simply weren't able to compete at this level. Would have been a dream to get to the group stages.
Thanks for your support and all the others that wished us well!!
The rest of youse can get tae!!!!!
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
Oct 2 2008, 21:31
Couldnae beat a bunch o' Nancies.
There was a gulf in class for all to see, but McGhee summed it up right - one of their players earns more than the whole Motherwell squad. We cant compete with teams from these big leagues with all the telly income.
EKACCIES
Oct 2 2008, 21:35
Cheer up Mark McGhee, out 2 cups in 8 days .
Pride of Lanarkshire is shifting fast across the M74 !
Well done Nancy showed how footabll should be palyed reminded me of Accies last week.
ark loyal
Oct 2 2008, 21:39
QUOTE (EKACCIES @ Oct 2 2008, 22:35)

Cheer up Mark McGhee, out 2 cups in 8 days .
Pride of Lanarkshire is shifting fast across the M74 !
Well done Nancy showed how footabll should be palyed reminded me of Accies last week.
yeah!!! how to paly footabll!!!!!
Don't worry. One day apes like yourself will have evolved far enough to be able to type a well constructed sentence!!!
Edited because it might have looked bad if an ape had picked up on my poor spelling!!!
Millfield Marksman
Oct 2 2008, 21:47
QUOTE (ark loyal @ Oct 2 2008, 22:39)

Don't worry. One day apes like yourself will have evoloved far enough to be able to type a well constructed sentance!!!
Or have I been whoooooshed?
Drooper
Oct 2 2008, 21:56
QUOTE (Millfield Marksman @ Oct 2 2008, 22:47)

Or have I been whoooooshed?

The sad thing is, I don't think so
Drooper
Oct 2 2008, 21:58
QUOTE (ark loyal @ Oct 2 2008, 22:39)

Don't worry. One day apes like yourself will have evoloved far enough to be able to type a well constructed sentence!!!
Edited because it might have looked bad if an ape had picked up on my poor spelling!!! 
Have I just been whoooooshed?
Brierie Bud
Oct 2 2008, 23:05
I'm surprised no one has picked up that McGhee selected the wrong players tonight. From Saturday the two best Well players IMO were Murphy and Sutton. Both on the bench and along with silly fouls which lead to the goals, they were truely done for tonight.
Nancy looked decent, but should really have scored 4 or 5 if not for poor finishing.
ark loyal
Oct 2 2008, 23:22
QUOTE (Brierie Bud @ Oct 3 2008, 00:05)

I'm surprised no one has picked up that McGhee selected the wrong players tonight. From Saturday the two best Well players IMO were Murphy and Sutton. Both on the bench and along with silly fouls which lead to the goals, they were truely done for tonight.
Nancy looked decent, but should really have scored 4 or 5 if not for poor finishing.
That points been brought up on the the Motherwell forum. I don't think it would have made any difference. Murphys too young to be expected to perform at that level and that was proved when he was brought on. I would have prefered to see Sutton start but at the end of the day the best team won.
It was clear our weakness was at the back and Nancy capitalised on it. Nancy were always going to get chances when we were forced to chase the game.
Brierie Bud
Oct 2 2008, 23:28
QUOTE (ark loyal @ Oct 3 2008, 00:22)

That points been brought up on the the Motherwell forum. I don't think it would have made any difference. Murphys too young to be expected to perform at that level and that was proved when he was brought on. I would have prefered to see Sutton start but at the end of the day the best team won.
It was clear our weakness was at the back and Nancy capitalised on it. Nancy were always going to get chances when we were forced to chase the game.
Fair do's if it has been discussed, I just thought on a night when goals were required a team's top scorer is not starting was strange. Better luck on your next venture in to Europe.
EKACCIES
Oct 2 2008, 23:33
Joking aside, I was very surprised to see Sutton wasn't starting.
I also thought Motherwell looked out of their depth , Nancy would probably have beaten most teams , if not all the teams in Scotland.
The one thing I have noticed over about the past ten years is how few goals arecored in the French league, I am sure they are all very organised in defence.
Killie had a similar expereince against a French side a few years ago, I think it may have been Nice.
StandFree03
Oct 3 2008, 00:00
QUOTE (ark loyal @ Oct 2 2008, 22:24)

Yep, gutted. To be honest out of our pool in the draw Nancy offered our best chance of progessing. At the end of the day we simply weren't able to compete at this level. Would have been a dream to get to the group stages.
Thanks for your support and all the others that wished us well!!
The rest of youse can get tae!!!!!

No worries man, glad you still had the experience
QUOTE (bring_back_the_twa_hoops @ Oct 2 2008, 22:31)

Couldnae beat a bunch o' Nancies.
There was a gulf in class for all to see, but McGhee summed it up right - one of their players earns more than the whole Motherwell squad. We cant compete with teams from these big leagues with all the telly income.
didn't stop us gubbing Copenhagen and drawing with Bayern Munich
Ach well. Nae shame in going out to a team that got 33 million for their league finish last year...
ANDDDDD.....
oor wee team pumped Eastenders off the telly. ROON YE PEGGY MITCHELL!! 'mon the 'well.
Fucked up the team selection though.
madwullie
Oct 3 2008, 05:54
Outclassed and outmuscled. But for 18 minutes it was as good a feeling as I've ever felt at Fir Park. Completely surrounded by well fans on all sides.
Glad we had the experience, onwards and upwards.
Come on ye well.
LordHawHaw
Oct 3 2008, 07:11
Shot themselves in the foot with some poor kicks given away and then comedy defending, which gave the Nancy confidence. Otherwise I think you'd have given them a better game, still Europe is where the fun is
seaside nipper
Oct 3 2008, 07:36
oh dear. Surprised that Sutton and Murphy did not start
Was the plan to keep the game tight , not concede and then improve the team ?
Should have started with the guys on form surely ?
Anyway Craigen , and the rest of the defence all had a dreadful night. Craigen in particular talks a good game but looks more and more like Mothewrwell's weakest link.
Back to the bread and butter of SPHell
Nonseeee , clearly are a class above , they play , as do most other "european" teams , a far better game , are strong and organised and have good technical ability. Even in the Chumpions league , Aalborg on another night would've turned Celtic over.
Our domestic game sucks , there was more proof of that last night
HanoMaSano
Oct 3 2008, 07:38
QUOTE (StandFree03 @ Oct 3 2008, 01:00)

No worries man, glad you still had the experience
didn't stop us
gubbing Copenhagen and drawing with Bayern Munich

He was talking about the big money leagues, Munich I'll give you

, but Copenhagen are an average team, the danish league is on a par if not worse than the SPL. I may be wrong but I wouldn't imagine they have an income close to that of French/English/German/Spanish/Italian leagues.
Nancy got £33 Million for finishing 4th in their league last year.
Not taking anything away from Aberdeen I thought you did Scotland proud last year and I was right behind them.
As for the well, I thought while Nancy were obviously technically far superior, there wasn't too much in the game other than the two free kicks.
The game was over after the first goal and I'm not blaming the ref but it looked a pretty questionable decision from where I was sitting. That first goal killed what was a fantastic atmosphere.
The better team got through but if we had been on our game and got a bit of the luck we could have won last night.
Booker_d
Oct 3 2008, 08:03
I noticed this when we played 'Well last week and noticed it again last night. For such a supposed footballing team, they dont half punt the ball a heck of a lot. 90 minutes of punting last night AGAINST 3 CENTRE HALVES and they still never twigged.
McGhee is not the messiah. And to say that Quinn was fouled, coupled with his "the replay of the tackle on Elebert was inconclusive", Id go as far as to say that I think he's losing it.
IXI THE ONE IXI
Oct 3 2008, 08:33
Nancy could have scored between 3, and 5 goals last night easily. They were just bigger, stronger, and more technical than Motherwell. It was men against boys really, don't even recall a Motherwell shot that was close to going in.
Skyline Drifter
Oct 3 2008, 09:05
QUOTE (ark loyal @ Oct 2 2008, 21:33)

As I said. Discipline and inabiltiy to defend set pieces.
Nancy have looked no more dangerous from open play than we have
McGees known about the issue with defending set pieces for ages so there is no excuse for not sorting it out.
Well I appreciate you see a different game on the telly to in person but Jesus, that's so wrong. I went up to the game last night (hoping for a Motherwell win but fundamentally just sating my continuing appetite for UEFA Cup football this season.

) and Motherwell were completely outclasssed start to finish. Nancy could have run up a cricket score with better finishing. Their first touch was infinitely superior to Motherwell's right through the side, they were yards quicker man for man. Without a shadow of a doubt the better side won and should probably have won by more.
Of more disappointment was the complete lack of urgency from Well. I know Nancy were better but Motherwell did have plenty possession in the other half. They rarely even delivered into the box. On the odd occasion it did go in, no-one was anywhere near it, whether because the delivery was awful or the strikers were static or most likely a bit of both. I couldn't really understand why Sutton didn't start but fair enough I don't watch Motherwell much so maybe there was good reason. He certainly did hee-haw when he did come on.
Good atmosphere pre-match right enough but over the piece a very flat night.
madwullie
Oct 3 2008, 09:10
QUOTE (Booker_d @ Oct 3 2008, 09:03)

I noticed this when we played 'Well last week and noticed it again last night. For such a supposed footballing team, they dont half punt the ball a heck of a lot. 90 minutes of punting last night AGAINST 3 CENTRE HALVES and they still never twigged.
McGhee is not the messiah. And to say that Quinn was fouled, coupled with his "the replay of the tackle on Elebert was inconclusive", Id go as far as to say that I think he's losing it.
I'd agree with the first part. We were excellent at times playing on the deck last season, yet now it seems since we've signed Sutton we've mostly become long-ball merchants. Fair enough, play to your teams strengths, and Sutton and Porter are certainly the tallest forwards I can remember in a Well strip, but when we've looked good again this season it's mainly been with the ball on the deck. Hopefully Jamie Murphy's emergence will help us to move towards regaining last season's form though - thought he looked different class when he came on last night, willing to pick up the ball and run at players and take a little responsibility - obvously nowhere near the class of McArthyur though

From where I was sitting in the East I thought the foul for the first free kick was soft, but then once it's given you've got to be able to defend it, and it was certainly Jossy's Giants stuff from the backline.
COuld have been 5 or 6 towards the end, simply because we took off defensive players to try and push for a goal. 2-0 flattered us, but still think there's no shame in being gubbed by a team of their quality.
Hopefully we can bounce back on Sunday against Falkirk and put ourselves above The Accies where we belong...
MTW
shedboy82
Oct 3 2008, 09:16
I like Mark McGhee, he's been a breath of fresh air in the often stale and stuffy world of Scottish Football. But the guy has made himself look like a bit of an arse this week. His 'kick their teeth in' remark was always going to come back to haunt him, and his side were totally outclassed last night. Perhaps it would have been wiser to concentrate on Motherwell's very obvious defensive frailties.
Raving On
Oct 3 2008, 10:25
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Oct 3 2008, 10:05)

Well I appreciate you see a different game on the telly to in person but Jesus, that's so wrong. I went up to the game last night (hoping for a Motherwell win but fundamentally just sating my continuing appetite for UEFA Cup football this season.

) and Motherwell were completely outclasssed start to finish. Nancy could have run up a cricket score with better finishing. Their first touch was infinitely superior to Motherwell's right through the side, they were yards quicker man for man. Without a shadow of a doubt the better side won and should probably have won by more.
Of more disappointment was the complete lack of urgency from Well. I know Nancy were better but Motherwell did have plenty possession in the other half. They rarely even delivered into the box. On the odd occasion it did go in, no-one was anywhere near it, whether because the delivery was awful or the strikers were static or most likely a bit of both. I couldn't really understand why Sutton didn't start but fair enough I don't watch Motherwell much so maybe there was good reason. He certainly did hee-haw when he did come on.
Good atmosphere pre-match right enough but over the piece a very flat night.
I was also at the game last night and I was about to come on and post exactly the same thing, albeit in a more succint manner.
I've had the misfortune to watch Nancy a fair bit this season and that's by far the most they've impressed me.
The worrying thing is from a Scottish perspective, that was a mixture of their first team and fringe players that they had out there last night yet they still won at a canter.
Our game just looked so primitive compared to their style.
IXI THE ONE IXI
Oct 3 2008, 11:44
The football here is pretty primitive, outwith Rangers/Celtic there isn't really much to brag about. You have to take into account Nancy earned £33 million from TV deals, and have players who earn a lot more though. On the evidence of everyone this season though I think Motherwell could still finish 3rd if they get their act together. Nobody outside the OF is looking like they are going to run away with it for third.
Aloysius Snuffleupagus
Oct 3 2008, 12:01
I'm another non-Motherwell fan who went along last night. Firstly fair play to Motherwell for the pricing structure (£15 for me and the boy) and for their attempts to create an atmosphere. It's a real shame that the off the park effort wasn't rewarded on it.
As for the game, I can't really add anything original. Basically, Motherwell got their arse felt by a far quicker, skillful side and did well escaping with only a 3-0 reverse over the tie. Nancy looked excellent in parts last night, yet I very much doubt they'll make much impact in the Competition - Motherwell pretty much made them look good.
Oh well, Accies in Europe next year?
smithers-jones
Oct 3 2008, 12:39
I enjoyed the whole programme on tv, nearly as funny as the Cornton Vale programme on the other night.
Pride of Lanarkshire my arse.
QUOTE (seaside nipper @ Oct 3 2008, 08:36)

oh dear. Surprised that Sutton and Murphy did not start
Was the plan to keep the game tight , not concede and then improve the team ?
Should have started with the guys on form surely ?
Anyway Craigen , and the rest of the defence all had a dreadful night. Craigen in particular talks a good game but looks more and more like Mothewrwell's weakest link.
Back to the bread and butter of SPHell
Nonseeee , clearly are a class above , they play , as do most other "european" teams , a far better game , are strong and organised and have good technical ability. Even in the Chumpions league ,
Aalborg on another night would've turned Celtic over.Our domestic game sucks , there was more proof of that last night
Quoted for stupidity.
David W
Oct 3 2008, 13:26
I've only seen Motherwell occasionally in the past year or so but astonishingly, they appear to still be persisting with the abysmal Craigan/Reynolds partnership at centre half. Do I just happen to catch them on bad days or is McGhee just ignoring the fact they're both terrible?
Still gutted but hey ho was fun while it lasted.
Great crowd and atmosphere but as usual players failed to respond.
Still have great memories from going to Nancy and Fir Park rocking, as usual, it all goes well till the football starts
Saddest thing is, last night was the highlight of Accies season
YER SISTERS YER MAW
Oct 3 2008, 14:57
Thank fcuk McGhee never got the Scotland job,he would have took us back to the Bertie years.He is tactically inept.They were bad enough with 4 at the back never mind 3.He is showing himself and Motherwell up for what they really are,ONE SEASON WONDERS!!!
badgers apprentice
Oct 3 2008, 15:04
just what are they going to do with those giant ice poles after one of the most gutless performances ever.
QUOTE (David W @ Oct 3 2008, 14:26)

I've only seen Motherwell occasionally in the past year or so but astonishingly, they appear to still be persisting with the abysmal Craigan/Reynolds partnership at centre half. Do I just happen to catch them on bad days or is McGhee just ignoring the fact they're both terrible?
We have no other options unfortunately, I think McLean was going to start, but got done by Trica vs Cludgie pre season.
wellboy1991
Oct 3 2008, 16:40
QUOTE (Booker_d @ Oct 3 2008, 09:03)

Which is why a lot of Motherwell fans are starting to get annoyed with McGhee. Ask the teams that played us last year, we did play a lot of good open football, this year it has been total dross to watch. McGhee's signing apart from Sutton have been less than impressive and his tactics have been pish.
We are at the moment in the position that we deserve but what I will say to the accies fans is dont start gloating too much becoz for 75 mins we gave you a right decent game with an underperforming 10 men side, so if our team click and start playing the way that we can, then you will get a right going over and we will climb the league.
xaviermaw
Oct 3 2008, 19:47
Might as well have my say,
McGhee fucked up with his selection but it is just about 99% certain that Nancy would have beaten any 11 'Well players in any system going. What McGhee didn't do was offer us that slim chance of getting something (although, i'm sure in his head he was trying)
Apart from that, Seeing Fir Park actually bulging and bouncing before the match - the noise was incredible- and that experience will live with me for a while.
A shame St Mirren fans and fellow diddies will never experience anything like that
Skyline Drifter
Oct 3 2008, 19:51
QUOTE (xaviermaw @ Oct 3 2008, 20:47)

Apart from that, Seeing Fir Park actually bulging and bouncing before the match - the noise was incredible- and that experience will live with me for a while.
A shame St Mirren fans and fellow diddies will never experience anything like that

You do know St Mirren have played in Europe in living memory, right?
Other than that, I know exactly what you mean. I was there last night and I was there when we created an astonishing atmosphere in Denmark, came back from the dead against Rangers at Hampden, won an astonishing semi-final v Aberdeen and saw Palmerston bulging and rocking when we beat Dundee in the quarters, particularly with the manner of the last minute goal.
badgers apprentice
Oct 3 2008, 22:39
QUOTE (xaviermaw @ Oct 3 2008, 20:47)

so you do admit that you are a diddy club
Faddy88
Oct 4 2008, 00:30
QUOTE (badgers apprentice @ Oct 3 2008, 18:39)

so you do admit that you are a diddy club

Who wouldn't? Everyone outside the OF is, we were just the best of the rest.
T_S_A_R
Oct 4 2008, 17:47
QUOTE (David W @ Oct 3 2008, 14:26)

i don't know when you've seen them but they've been a good partnership for a while. reynolds has struggled at the beginning of this season but he had about 70 odd consecutive good games since breaking onto the team so we'll let him off. i also think craigan does a good job for us and thats backed up by his performances for NI.
last season we only lost 11 league more than an apparently defensive minded rangers team and less than dundee united who have the land of the giants at the back.
StandFree03
Oct 6 2008, 17:39
QUOTE (IXI THE ONE IXI @ Oct 3 2008, 12:44)

The football here is pretty primitive, outwith Rangers/Celtic there isn't really much to brag about.
There's absolutely fuck all to brag about a team that got pumped out of Europe by Kaunas and a team that has lost the last 18 away games (or whatever it is) in Europe either.
IXI THE ONE IXI
Oct 7 2008, 09:28
QUOTE (StandFree03 @ Oct 6 2008, 18:39)

There's absolutely fuck all to brag about a team that got pumped out of Europe by Kaunas and a team that has lost the last 18 away games (or whatever it is) in Europe either.
The UEFA Cup final last season ring any bells? Or Celtic doing it 5 years ago?
Outside the OF in Europe there isn't anything to craw about in recent years, unless you count Aberdeen going out 7-3 on aggregate.
StandFree03
Oct 7 2008, 13:13
QUOTE (IXI THE ONE IXI @ Oct 7 2008, 10:28)

The UEFA Cup final last season ring any bells? Or Celtic doing it 5 years ago?
Outside the OF in Europe there isn't anything to craw about in recent years, unless you count Aberdeen going out 7-3 on aggregate.
That was last season though and there's still nothing to "craw" about. The performance by Rangers in last seasons Uefa cup final was one of the most negative displays by a team in a Final I have ever seen. You think people are impressed by that?
IXI THE ONE IXI
Oct 7 2008, 13:20
QUOTE (StandFree03 @ Oct 7 2008, 14:13)

That was last season though and there's still nothing to "craw" about. The performance by Rangers in last seasons Uefa cup final was one of the most negative displays by a team in a Final I have ever seen. You think people are impressed by that?
Who cares if people aren't impressed by it? Arsenal might not be impressed by it, but for all their pretty football they won the square root of fuc
k all last season.
Rangers UEFA Cup run was brilliant with the squad they had, and the attacking teams couldn't break them down until the final when the team was running on fumes.
Rangers and Celtic are the only two teams who will ever carry the game forward in Europe.
StandFree03
Oct 7 2008, 13:21
QUOTE (IXI THE ONE IXI @ Oct 7 2008, 14:20)

Rangers UEFA Cup run was brilliant with the squad they had
What do you mean? The team was worth millions and millions of pounds.
IXI THE ONE IXI
Oct 7 2008, 13:25
QUOTE (StandFree03 @ Oct 7 2008, 14:21)

What do you mean? The team was worth millions and millions of pounds.
Up against teams worth tens of millions of pounds
The Greek team at the Euros was worth 'millions and millions of pounds' still a shock when they went to the final and won it.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.