Full Version: East Fife V Stranraer
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
the_russian
As much as the whole Raith fiasco amuses me, there's still 4 games to play before the lino's come calling, starting with Stranraer who we owned last season. Will they continue to remain on our mantlepiece (as the form book suggests) or can they pull off a shock result?

Hopefully we'll continue to play as well as it sounds like we have been, if so we should have nothing to worry about, but complacency would be dangerous, especially with 2 key men, Smart and McDonald out for certain.

I'll go for a narrow 2-1 win, McManus to continue his good form with a brace.
GoF
I can't see us beating them four times this season.

They'll be bust by December.
marf-1870
QUOTE (GoF @ Sep 28 2008, 20:36) *
I can't see us beating them four times this season.

They'll be bust by December.

A must say your patter is fantastic.

Not a game to look forward to for Stranraer I don't think. Hopefully Tade goes up there and continues his good form, vital if we're to get anything from the game. Need a performace from Andy Gibson as well. The man is due a good game. Centre of the park will be different again this week with Mitchel being out.

Don't think I am going up to this one, for the first time following Stranraer I just can't be botherd going. Hate the Methil, hate the journey, hate East Fife and probably will have a result to hate a quarter to five so not a good day out. The money I save from not going will pay my train for the Scotland game.
Ladyfan
QUOTE (marf-1870 @ Sep 28 2008, 22:15) *

Not a game to look forward to for Stranraer I don't think. Hopefully Tade goes up there and continues his good form, vital if we're to get anything from the game. Need a performace from Andy Gibson as well. The man is due a good game. Centre of the park will be different again this week with Mitchel being out.

Don't think I am going up to this one, for the first time following Stranraer I just can't be botherd going. Hate the Methil, hate the journey, hate East Fife and probably will have a result to hate a quarter to five so not a good day out. The money I save from not going will pay my train for the Scotland game.

I really feel for supporters who get to the stage where they feel like that about their team. I really hope that someone steps in and saves the club. It is never good to see other clubs struggling. i wish you all luck (not during the game though, I'm not that nice).
Stevo Fife
Anyway, back to football.
Not sure about the goings on at Stranraer but i hope they pull through it.

Stevo predicton

East Fife 2-0 Stranraer
Ladyfan
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Sep 29 2008, 12:14) *
Anyway, back to football.Not sure about the goings on at Stranraer but i hope they pull through it.

Stevo predicton

East Fife 2-0 Stranraer

I laughed there - I post on another about nobody wanting to talk about the football and then post something non-related on this thread!

Dozy wench!! rolleyes.gif
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (Ladyfan @ Sep 29 2008, 12:49) *
I laughed there - I post on another about nobody wanting to talk about the football and then post something non-related on this thread!

Dozy wench!! rolleyes.gif

I know. Get it stopped wumin! cool.gif

Whats your prediction then? C'mon..
Ladyfan
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Sep 29 2008, 12:54) *
I know. Get it stopped wumin! cool.gif

Whats your prediction then? C'mon..

Not doing predictions! I predicted for the Peterhead and Queens Park game and look what happenend there. I decided to cut that out (along with a few other of my superstitions) and our luck changed. I am a white witch you know. Things I do, and some things I don't do, can change the course of a day.

However, I can say that I am not looking forward to the fact that I will miss the next 2 games coz am a jet setter but I will continue my superstitions and spells whilst in Geneva and Mallorca. So don't worry!! wink.gif
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (Ladyfan @ Sep 29 2008, 12:59) *
Not doing predictions! I predicted for the Peterhead and Queens Park game and look what happenend there. I decided to cut that out (along with a few other of my superstitions) and our luck changed. I am a white witch you know. Things I do, and some things I don't do, can change the course of a day.

However, I can say that I am not looking forward to the fact that I will miss the next 2 games coz am a jet setter but I will continue my superstitions and spells whilst in Geneva and Mallorca. So don't worry!! wink.gif

Have a nice time. Watch out for fake fags. I just got tanned with 400 of the bloody things and they are disgusting. Second time this year thats happened. rolleyes.gif
Mon_The_Fife
Stranraer are in a real mess at the moment and while I sympathise with them I still want us to give them a right good spanking. Come 4.45pm on Saturday I might feel a bit sorry for them again.

I'm sure a lot of folk have fallen out of love with their club at some point or another, but got to take the good with the bad and always remember there are people worse off than yourselves. e.g you could support Cowdenbeath.
BOOB Stranraer Loyal!!!!!!!
QUOTE (marf-1870 @ Sep 28 2008, 22:15) *

Got to agree Marf, for once in my life i am not looking forward to saturday..or any Future Stranraer FC game at the moment.

Very little enjoyment out of it sad.gif probably will end up going but a really dont know why ohmy.gif think am mad laugh.gif
Gall09
QUOTE (BOOB Stranraer Loyal!!& @ Sep 29 2008, 17:47) *
Got to agree Marf, for once in my life i am not looking forward to saturday..or any Future Stranraer FC game at the moment.

Very little enjoyment out of it sad.gif probably will end up going but a really dont know why ohmy.gif think am mad laugh.gif

Would you be looking forward to it if Stranraer were winning every week, but still in financial trouble?

Or is it a case of you can't enjoy any Stranraer game knowing the club is in the financial mess that it's in?
blue ayr
QUOTE (Gall09 @ Sep 29 2008, 18:45) *
Would you be looking forward to it if Stranraer were winning every week, but still in financial trouble?

Or is it a case of you can't enjoy any Stranraer game knowing the club is in the financial mess that it's in?

I also feel the same as both Marf and Boob but can only speak for myself when I say the reason I'm not looking forward to the game is purely down to the situation at the club at the moment. Myself and these lads went week in week out the last season we spent in Division Two (you know the one I mean, under Gerry Bawbag when we really were getting tanked on a weekly basis by teams who themselves were pish!) and even though things on the pitch were shocking at that time I still looked forward to watching Stranraer every Saturday, the fear of getting thumped again didnt put me off. Its a horrible feeling, one I hate having as Im sure the other lads do but its just the way it is at the moment. Just so much negativity surrounding the club. And Ladyfan can forget her superstitions as well, honestly no danger of us winning the game or even taking the point. sad.gif
Saor_Alba_1314
Think I'll donate 22 quid to an anti racism charity in the name of Kevin Fotheringham on Saturday.........................
blue ayr
QUOTE (Crazy_Horse @ Sep 29 2008, 19:14) *
Think I'll donate 22 quid to an anti racism charity in the name of Kevin Fotheringham on Saturday.........................

Why not go with the cheaper option of buying a newspaper? In there you will find something called 'current affairs'. dry.gif
the_russian
Sad to hear of the way Stranny fans are feeling at the moment. I know there's been a lot of friction between our clubs but I genuinley hope you guys get things sorted out and keep the club alive, wouldn't wish bankrupcy on any lower league fan.

Still hope we beat you though!
blue ayr
QUOTE (the_russian @ Sep 29 2008, 19:27) *
Sad to hear of the way Stranny fans are feeling at the moment. I know there's been a lot of friction between our clubs but I genuinley hope you guys get things sorted out and keep the club alive, wouldn't wish bankrupcy on any lower league fan.

Still hope we beat you though!

Thats the point Im trying to make above, our fans have enough to be worrying about at the moment without all the racism pish being raked up for the umpteenth time. But you're right, you should give us a hiding, no arguments there!
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (blue ayr @ Sep 29 2008, 19:32) *
Thats the point Im trying to make above, our fans have enough to be worrying about at the moment without all the racism pish being raked up for the umpteenth time. But you're right, you should give us a hiding, no arguments there!

I doubt very much if it will be dragged up again. Outwith the courts, i think both teams and supporters are keen to see the back of this.
Its bawbags like the poster above (lino sniffing arsehole) who seem intent on stirring this up although what it has to do with that fud is anyones guess.
QUOTE (blue ayr @ Sep 29 2008, 19:12) *
I also feel the same as both Marf and Boob but can only speak for myself when I say the reason I'm not looking forward to the game is purely down to the situation at the club at the moment. Myself and these lads went week in week out the last season we spent in Division Two (you know the one I mean, under Gerry Bawbag when we really were getting tanked on a weekly basis by teams who themselves were pish!) and even though things on the pitch were shocking at that time I still looked forward to watching Stranraer every Saturday, the fear of getting thumped again didnt put me off. Its a horrible feeling, one I hate having as Im sure the other lads do but its just the way it is at the moment. Just so much negativity surrounding the club. And Ladyfan can forget her superstitions as well, honestly no danger of us winning the game or even taking the point. sad.gif

Summed it up totally mate. Even in the torrid time under Britton at least we knew thier was going to be a team on the park next week and it was always a good day out when we travelled away. Now i just dont have the same hunger for it, the club is so unorganised we dont know what or why certain things are happening, its just a really depressing time to Support Stranraer sad.gif
marf-1870
The reasons for me not wanting to go are due to it being in Methil and the fact I've not go the money to spend with the Scotland game the next week. It is quite likely I'll end up at the game and there is no doubt what so ever that I will stop loving the club. As blue Ayr says we've followed them through worse times on the park for sure. The money situatuation is of course a worry but it's something that I try to put to the back of my mind on a Saturday and enjoy the football.
mid-table
Is this not the time though for all the people who DO care about the club to rally together?
If the people that care about the club e.g. the supporters, start turning their backs, then what future does the club have?

It's the difficult option but often the thing worth doing is the difficult thing.

Edit; is there a supporters body at Stranraer, trust or other similar group?
King Kebab
QUOTE (mid-table @ Sep 29 2008, 22:19) *
Is this not the time though for all the people who DO care about the club to rally together?
If the people that care about the club e.g. the supporters, start turning their backs, then what future does the club have?

It's the difficult option but often the thing worth doing is the difficult thing.

How profound are you???

Cudos man for a good post!!!
blue ayr
It is not a case of anybody turning there back on the club, infact far from it. Although we have all said we are finding it difficult to be upbeat about Stranraer games at the moment we have also all said we will be there. Nobody is turning there back on the club its just fans worrying about the overall future of the club, big difference.
WullieBroonIsGod
I'm predicting a comfortable win for East Fife on Saturday. Hopefully Crawford can get his first competitive goal, and it's a good all-round performance as I think the Peterhead game will be a real toughie.

First things first though, and it's Stranraer. They're having a tough time of it at the moment and I wish the club well (not on Saturday however), horrible to see a lower league club struggle like that.

Can any Stanraer fans tell me what the local feeling is towards them? Do you get plenty supporters buses leaving for Ibrox like we do here (and to a slightly lesser extent Celtic Park)?
QUOTE (WullieBroonIsGod @ Sep 30 2008, 13:02) *
I'm predicting a comfortable win for East Fife on Saturday. Hopefully Crawford can get his first competitive goal, and it's a good all-round performance as I think the Peterhead game will be a real toughie.

First things first though, and it's Stranraer. They're having a tough time of it at the moment and I wish the club well (not on Saturday however), horrible to see a lower league club struggle like that.

Can any Stanraer fans tell me what the local feeling is towards them? Do you get plenty supporters buses leaving for Ibrox like we do here (and to a slightly lesser extent Celtic Park)?

There is a supporters bus that goes to Parkhead and i think two that go to Ibrox. But the bigger problem is just people in Stranraer who have a problem with the club or the committee or are too lazy to bother to get themselves to Stair park, or the most common excuse.....'am not wasting my money watching that shite' rolleyes.gif
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (BOOB Stranraer Loyal!!& @ Sep 30 2008, 22:57) *
There is a supporters bus that goes to Parkhead and i think two that go to Ibrox. But the bigger problem is just people in Stranraer who have a problem with the club or the committee or are too lazy to bother to get themselves to Stair park, or the most common excuse.....'am not wasting my money watching that shite' rolleyes.gif

You going on Saturday Boob? I`m still owe you a pint from last seasons trip to Stranraer ;)
the_russian
Paul McManus is 50/50 to be fit for tomorow. It would be a blow for him to miss out as he's in fine form, and although we are well covered up front we are now missing a few first team players, Smart, McDonald and Fagan.
WullieBroonIsGod
Anyone know the likely line up for the Fife tomorrow, given the current injury list?
Mon_The_Fife
QUOTE (WullieBroonIsGod @ Oct 3 2008, 15:56) *
Anyone know the likely line up for the Fife tomorrow, given the current injury list?

It's the_russian and myself upfront the way things are going at the moment. We are missing a lot of players, and if McManus is out we will be struggling to find a squad of 16.

Smart, McDonald, Fagan, Nugent and Stanic all out. Atleast Paul Stewart will be back.
the_russian
QUOTE (Mon_The_Fife @ Oct 4 2008, 10:20) *
It's the_russian and myself upfront the way things are going at the moment.

Its been ages since I scored.
WullieBroonIsGod
If need be I'll play centre half with Tweedie cool.gif
we r the raith
QUOTE (WullieBroonIsGod @ Oct 4 2008, 12:37) *
If need be I'll play centre half with Tweedie cool.gif

unlucky lads especially the balloon that started the topic laugh.gif
we r the raith
QUOTE (we r the raith @ Oct 4 2008, 17:01) *
philpy
Oh dear. laugh.gif
Paisley Plumber
QUOTE (philpy @ Oct 4 2008, 17:06) *
Oh dear. laugh.gif

oh dear oh dear oh dear .... ha ha ha, pmsl , can't stop laughing laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Nice one Straney
Andy.C
Sare wan!

oops.gif
turboshandy
Coupon buster or what?

I honestly take no pleasure in seeing East Fife get beaten (In particular when I have money on them to win) and I hope P&B's junior Rovers contingent don't flood this topic with their usual pish and embarrass the (few) decent Rovers posters on here.
Mon_The_Fife
QUOTE (we r the raith @ Oct 4 2008, 17:01) *

QUOTE (philpy @ Oct 4 2008, 17:06) *
Oh dear. laugh.gif

Fly back from Arbroath did we? Part timers.
rw89
QUOTE (turboshandy @ Oct 4 2008, 17:26) *
Coupon buster or what?

I honestly take no pleasure in seeing East Fife get beaten (In particular when I have money on them to win) and I hope P&B's junior Rovers contingent don't flood this topic with their usual pish and embarrass the (few) decent Rovers posters on here.

Spot on
marf-1870
QUOTE (turboshandy @ Oct 4 2008, 16:26) *
Coupon buster or what?

Not at all dry.gif . Glad I chose to go taday, this not giving me any time to get to the bookies to take East Fife this morning.
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
QUOTE (turboshandy @ Oct 4 2008, 17:26) *
Coupon buster or what?

Was an unexpected result. I dont like to see the Fife get beat either, but from our point of view it keeps their challenge at a peep, at least for another wee while.
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Sep 30 2008, 23:02) *
You going on Saturday Boob? I`m still owe you a pint from last seasons trip to Stranraer wink.gif

never realised you left me a comment Stevo mate ohmy.gif was up mate but never seen you ? i'll get that pint sometime soon am sure tongue.gif
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.