Full Version: Tiger Woods 09 (360 Version)
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > The e-chat forum
StewartyMac
Anyone got the latest version of this? I bought it today, and it's ace.

Cracking new feature of the Tiger Woods franchise this year is the ability to play against three other players without having to wait for each one to take a shot. Makes online play a lot quicker, I guess.

Anyway, if anyone has it and is up for a game, just gimme a shout (MacZidane).

I think there's at least 6 European players in it this year, so if 12 of us can be persuaded to play, we could set up some sort of mini Ryder Cup, which would be a good laugh.

Oh, and I'm not interested if you're anything like the tubes I played online today, who hit 54 and 55 at St Andrews from the back tees. I don't see the point in playing someone who birdies or eagles every single hole. Where's the fun in that? wink.gif
MarreZ
QUOTE (StewartyMac @ Sep 28 2008, 20:01) *

Cracking new feature of the Tiger Woods franchise this year is the ability to play against three other players without having to wait for each one to take a shot. Makes online play a lot quicker, I guess.

I think there's at least 6 European players in it this year, so if 12 of us can be persuaded to play, we could set up some sort of mini Ryder Cup, which would be a good laugh.

Oh, and I'm not interested if you're anything like the tubes I played online today, who hit 54 and 55 at St Andrews from the back tees. I don't see the point in playing someone who birdies or eagles every single hole. Where's the fun in that? wink.gif

Ive got it, not played it much, about 10 rounds.
thomas
QUOTE (StewartyMac @ Sep 28 2008, 20:01) *

Ive got it and yeah the online play is good but genrally full of people who only get eagles or birdies even in the beginner rooms. If i see u on il offer u game my gamercard is smtid1982.
StewartyMac
QUOTE (thomas @ Sep 28 2008, 21:21) *
Ive got it and yeah the online play is good but genrally full of people who only get eagles or birdies even in the beginner rooms. If i see u on il offer u game my gamercard is smtid1982.

Aye, because your -13 through 18 wasnae anything special, eh? The other two were both -19. Thats utterly ridiculous. I would have finished level pal if it wasnae for that hole where no matter how i played the approach, it would always go in the water. mad.gif
Gaz
It's a great game Stewarty, but it's really easy to get really good at it, especially when your guy's statistics get bumped up and you can reach the green on a Par 5 in 2 and Par 4 in 1. It'll only be a couple of weeks before you're regularly hitting -15 or lower rounds.
StewartyMac
QUOTE (Gaz @ Sep 29 2008, 00:41) *
It'll only be a couple of weeks before you're regularly hitting -15 or lower rounds.

Hopefully not. It's not in the spirit of the game, I don't think.

I've had some really good games already against guys who've won by shooting 66-67. That's proper golf. Going round in 54 or less is just dull.
thomas
QUOTE (StewartyMac @ Sep 29 2008, 00:25) *

Aye, because your -13 through 18 wasnae anything special, eh? The other two were both -19. Thats utterly ridiculous. I would have finished level pal if it wasnae for that hole where no matter how i played the approach, it would always go in the water. mad.gif

Got to be honest that was a pretty good round i played noticed you having a nightmare on one of the holes.
Fuctifano
That's sadly been a feature of just about any golf game I've ever played since the glory days of World Class Leaderboard- it just gets too easy too soon. The last TW game I had was (I think) '07- the only courses that you weren't going round in the 50s after a couple of weeks were the fictional 10,000 yard ones.
Fuctifano
Actually, Tiger's a bit boring himself now- EA should ditch him and get the man of the people (pictured in my avatar) involved.

You could have mini-games where you run around St Andrews hunting deer for extra power-up points and "piss off other players by over-celebrating" buttons which makes it harder for the opponents to hit their shots with perfect timing.

Only thing is, I'm not sure our Boo would know what a games console is...
KnightswoodBear
I'd be up for this, this years version is ace. biggrin.gif

Currencyb0y is my gamertag
StewartyMac
Some cat just shot 51 on a par 73 course in a game I just played. He's a beginner, apparantly. laugh.gif

Actually, I worked out how to 'kick' players out of games I create. Anyone comes along with 12's across the board gets booted out!

If anyone else here regularly shoots those kinds of scores, does it not get awfy boring eagling and birdieing every hole?

Had a fantastic match at Bay Hill earlier against some American guy, I shot 66, he got 65. That's the kind of games I like. wink.gif
ictforeurope
just bought this with a x-box 360 bundle so looking forward to playing it
McMuffin
It gets really easy really quickly, I had a 51 last night and my best statistic is 9.9 including +2 from equipment. I had it on the second hardest difficulty when I made my guy, dunno how to change it.

I've started simulating the first 3 rounds of the competitions, then its a bit of a challenge when you're 6 behind before play begins, but can still win most of them.

Paffers25. As of today, I'm back online.
Tubbs
This is a daft question no doubt, but here goes.

What is the easiest way of playing a pal who i know is online. I can 'chat' to a friend via the dashboard but what is the best way to play 09 with him.

cheers
minijc
QUOTE (Tubbs @ Oct 11 2008, 22:01) *
This is a daft question no doubt, but here goes.

What is the easiest way of playing a pal who i know is online. I can 'chat' to a friend via the dashboard but what is the best way to play 09 with him.

cheers

Well make sure he has the game first...
Tubbs
Well i suppose if you ask a daft question biggrin.gif

My pal does have the game as well, but the way he trys to do it is my creating a room and then hoping no other players join before i do ? any other suggestions.
Viva La Livi
that ryder cup idea is awesome, i'm up for that
StewartyMac
QUOTE (Viva La Livi @ Oct 12 2008, 21:52) *
that ryder cup idea is awesome, i'm up for that

Aye, it'll be good.

Was playing 'One Ball' online today, that's great fun and it's a great leveller. You play against someone using just the one ball, hence the name. You play alternately, and the person who sinks it into the hole wins that hole, so tactics play a big part.
McMuffin
Anyone fancy a game tonight?
StewartyMac
Just played this American twat whose stats were all maxed at 12 at 'One Ball'

Won four of the first five holes, and he spat the dummy big style and disconnected laugh.gif

Honestly, some of these tubes who play online can't handle defeat under any circumstances. I suspect that's why a player with those stats hangs around the 'beginners' room. wink.gif
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.