Full Version: John Reid Condem Rangers Fans For Racist Chanting
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > Rangers v Celtic, Celtic v Rangers
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4
Kincardine
QUOTE (Swampy @ Sep 29 2008, 11:13) *
To be fair El Mundo has only a tiny sports section, and if you meant El Mundo Deportivo I've not looked at it today. Sport only really reports on Catalan matters (and Celtic are playing in the Valencian Community.)

I haven't seen Marca today either but the other day they said that Boruc was Croatian tongue.gif

I did just look at a Valencian paper . Nothing to report.

QUOTE (Proteus Maximus @ Sep 29 2008, 12:08) *
This is terrible. I've just scanned the Italian, Dutch, Belgian, German, American and Australian media. Not one mention anywhere.

It's almost as if they don't care about Timmy's opinion. laugh.gif

I found one report........in the Irish News. does a Belfast paper count?
KnightswoodBear
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Sep 29 2008, 12:38) *
It is the full song, the lyrics are disgusting.

And since it is meant as only a wee bit of football banter, why doesn't it ever get backed up? Because it isn't just a bit of football banter.

No it's not. The song that's being complained about is one line sung ad nauseum, which is probably the correct turn of phrase for it.

The full song, which I'll say again I've never heard, in fact the only place I've ever seen it is copied and pasted on here by Celtic fans telling us how awful it is.
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (KnightswoodBear @ Sep 29 2008, 12:42) *
No it's not. The song that's being complained about is one line sung ad nauseum, which is probably the correct turn of phrase for it.

The full song, which I'll say again I've never heard, in fact the only place I've ever seen it is copied and pasted on here by Celtic fans telling us how awful it is.

Not sure that only being able to get a group of guys at a football match to sing the chorus diminished the whole song, Rangers should do as their club has asked and refrain from singing it.

Celtic should tell Rangers (privately) if their fans continue to sing it then they will be banned from Celtic park, simple as that. We should let the police and the authorities take action on the song as the law of the land, and football demands.
Proteus Maximus
Apparently we are not meant to mention the truth about John Reid's war criminal status, his record as a sex pest, his racist attacks and crypto-fascist policies because, although it's all true and backed up in evidence, since it offends Celtic fans.

StuartyMac and Ric, on behalf all the Celtic fans who are hugely offended by my articulate explication of Reid's character and record, would like to ask us to please refrain from revealing the truth to Celtic fans.

Furthermore, they would like us to accept every lie, falsehood and smear made by Celtic fans or the racist, sex pest, crypto-fascist war criminal that factually is John Reid.
KnightswoodBear
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 29 2008, 12:55) *
Not sure that only being able to get a group of guys at a football match to sing the chorus diminished the whole song, Rangers should do as their club has asked and refrain from singing it.

Celtic should tell Rangers (privately) if their fans continue to sing it then they will be banned from Celtic park, simple as that. We should let the police and the authorities take action on the song as the law of the land, and football demands.

I'm not arguing the right and wrongs of singing the song, I'm arguing that you can't get upset because nobody has published the song in it's entirety, the fact remains that that isn't what the complaints are about. It's one line.

Going out of your way to find a song on the net and then claiming to be offended by it smacks slightly of mock offence.
Proteus Maximus
QUOTE (KnightswoodBear @ Sep 29 2008, 13:01) *
I'm not arguing the right and wrongs of singing the song, I'm arguing that you can't get upset because nobody has published the song in it's entirety, the fact remains that that isn't what the complaints are about. It's one line.

Going out of your way to find a song on the net and then claiming to be offended by it smacks slightly of mock offence.

What a well thought out and rational point.

Perhaps you are a Rangers fan after all.
djn
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 28 2008, 23:34) *
As I was there today let me advise the familiar two lines of the Famine Song were sung quite a number of times and will continue tae be sung unless you can actually legally stop it or can find a jail tae hold up thousands of Gers fans!

Sounds a good idea to me. We could get John Reid's "Prison Ship" for the purposes.

Get thee to a Hunnery biggrin.gif
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (KnightswoodBear @ Sep 29 2008, 13:01) *

I don't agree, the song is racist, with all sorts of horrors like child abuse and sectarianism thrown in for good measure, I've heard the whole song, Rangers fans singing the chorus IMO does not diminish that they are singing that song. Also the bit they do sing is equally as offensive and racist I'd suggest, pretty sure the police told Rangers the Crown office thought so too.

Accusing the targets of this song because they take offence is just as bad I'd say
KnightswoodBear
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 29 2008, 13:16) *
I don't agree, the song is racist, with all sorts of horrors like child abuse and sectarianism thrown in for good measure, I've heard the whole song, Rangers fans singing the chorus IMO does not diminish that they are singing that song. Also the bit they do sing is equally as offensive and racist I'd suggest, pretty sure the police told Rangers the Crown office thought so too.

Accusing the targets of this song because they take offence is just as bad I'd say

Please don't take this as me saying you are a liar, but where have you heard the full song? You're the first person I know that has actually heard the full thing.

The point I'm trying to make is that I get the feeling that folk on here and elsewhere are "offended" because it's the popular thing to be. The best comparison I can make is it's like when a movie comes out that has a bit of controversy attached to it, usally stoaked by the media, and you end up with people protesting outside cinemas. If you asked the majority of them if the had actually seen the film, just to make uyp their own mind, inevitably the answer is no.
rocksie67
QUOTE (Kincardine @ Sep 29 2008, 11:00) *
So when you said, "Tomorrow this story will do the news cycle" you didn't actually mean it?

From Graeme Spiers

------------------------------------
PAUL LE GUEN ARRIVED TO TAKE UP his new job just as Uefa’s humiliating prosecution of Rangers for bigotry was drawing to a close. But little did Le Guen or anyone else know that it was a Celtic manager who had landed Rangers in trouble.

Martin O’Neill was never lacking a highly attuned awareness of the Rangers-Celtic divide in Glasgow and the religious strands that went with it. The Celtic manager had a deep sense of what the club were about and, as O’Neill saw it, what Rangers were about in resenting Celtic and the club’s Catholic heritage. Although O’Neill was astute and almost academic in demeanour, deep down he felt a visceral animus towards Rangers and some of the prejudiced antics of a section of their supporters.

It was a resentment on O’Neill’s part that would ultimately contribute to Uefa taking Rangers to task over bigotry. The conclusive moment that captured O’Neill’s contempt for what he viewed as anti-Catholic prejudice around Rangers came on one infamous November night in Barcelona in 2004. Celtic were in the great edifice of the Nou Camp to play a Champions League tie, but the mind of the club’s manager was at Ibrox three days earlier, when Celtic had lost the plot on the field and had two players sent off while losing 2-0.

That afternoon and the days and events that followed proved a turning point in the fate of Rangers and David Murray, the club chairman, in the eyes of Uefa. O’Neill fumed about the treatment of Neil Lennon at Ibrox and, at a press conference in Barcelona, made his infamous allegation about “racial and sectarian” abuse of Lennon.

Lennon had been no innocent - indeed, it was a wonder he was not shown the red card - but not for the first time, for many of us, the reality could not be denied: the hatred at Ibrox for figures such as Lennon and O’Neill was there to be heard in sectarian shouts and chants.

Not only were the Scottish papers filled again with the saga of bigotry in Scottish football, but worse for Rangers was the presence in Barcelona of a Uefa observer, who, listening to O’Neill, wrote the words “racism” and “sectarianism” in his notepad and conveyed them to a Uefa committee in Switzerland. The incident was one of a number of key moments that led to Uefa investigating the bigotry issue around Rangers, causing excruciating publicity for the club and, ultimately, a Uefa fine and censure.

O’Neill thus played a direct role in the Uefa investigation of Rangers and that fact alone only intensified the natural and sometimes atavistic rivalry between him as the Celtic manager and Murray as the chairman of Rangers.

A degree of mutual contempt between Murray and O’Neill had always existed and what was worse from Murray was the fact that here was O’Neill stirring it up and, indeed, inviting trouble for Rangers. Partly because of O’Neill, the Ibrox club were stung into action to fight bigotry and ban certain chants from their stadium.

LordHawHaw
QUOTE (KnightswoodBear @ Sep 29 2008, 13:24) *
Please don't take this as me saying you are a liar, but where have you heard the full song? You're the first person I know that has actually heard the full thing.

The point I'm trying to make is that I get the feeling that folk on here and elsewhere are "offended" because it's the popular thing to be. The best comparison I can make is it's like when a movie comes out that has a bit of controversy attached to it, usally stoaked by the media, and you end up with people protesting outside cinemas. If you asked the majority of them if the had actually seen the film, just to make uyp their own mind, inevitably the answer is no.

I understand what you are saying, I just don't think it can be mitigated by saying most have only learned the chorus in terms of it's ability to offend, knowing the context of the words as most do.

Outwith the intrnet I don't think it's as much of a "issue"amongst Celtic fans as it is on it, understandable as it's what we are discussing on here. I also think think that Celtic and Rangers are taking a low profile on this, that was jeopardised by Bain's press release, Reid had to answer, and he's did so in a very understated way.

IMO the only step we have as Celtic fans is to ask that Rangers fans are banned from Celtic park, which is what we should do if they continue to sing that song. I accept that Rangers might then ban Celtic fans from Ibrox because of the offensive songs we sing. Maybe that's what's needed.
calum_gers
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 29 2008, 13:58) *
I understand what you are saying, I just don't think it can be mitigated by saying most have only learned the chorus in terms of it's ability to offend, knowing the context of the words as most do.

Outwith the intrnet I don't think it's as much of a "issue"amongst Celtic fans as it is on it, understandable as it's what we are discussing on here. I also think think that Celtic and Rangers are taking a low profile on this, that was jeopardised by Bain's press release, Reid had to answer, and he's did so in a very understated way.

IMO the only step we have as Celtic fans is to ask that Rangers fans are banned from Celtic park, which is what we should do if they continue to sing that song. I accept that Rangers might then ban Celtic fans from Ibrox because of the offensive songs we sing. Maybe that's what's needed.

I just think John Reids a bit of an idiot, famine isnt race specific but the song is huh.gif laugh.gif
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (calum_gers @ Sep 29 2008, 14:03) *
I just think John Reids a bit of an idiot, famine isnt race specific but the song is huh.gif laugh.gif

I'm honestly strugging with this "Reid" target, The PF office said the famine song was actionable due to being covered by the racism laws and that police could act on that understanding. What has this to do with Reid, Celtic or Celtic fans?
calum_gers
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 29 2008, 14:05) *
I'm honestly strugging with this "Reid" target, The PF office said the famine song was actionable due to being covered by the racism laws and that police could act on that understanding. What has this to do with Reid, Celtic or Celtic fans?

Reid has done an interview saying that the famine killed people of all faiths (true).
That famines not faith specific (true)
But that the words "the famine is over why dont you go home" is racist....

the three statements, to me, dont fit.
(Im not defending the song i dont like it - I think when were told to shut up on a song we should for the sake of Rangers) but the 3 comments dont seem to tally in my mind, if famine isnt faith exclusive how do those 9 words become racist without any qualifiers?
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (calum_gers @ Sep 29 2008, 14:09) *
Reid has done an interview saying that the famine killed people of all faiths (true).

(Im not defending the song i dont like it - I think when were told to shut up on a song we should for the sake of Rangers) but the 3 comments dont seem to tally in my mind, if famine isnt faith exclusive how do those 9 words become racist without any qualifiers?

Then perhaps you could fire off a note to the procurator fiscal service and ask them on what basis they have decided that this song is actionable by the police.

Blaming black people for having anti black people laws is normally the reserve of the anti black people
calum_gers
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 29 2008, 14:16) *
Then perhaps you could fire off a note to the procurator fiscal service and ask them on what basis they have decided that this song is actionable by the police.

Blaming black people for having anti black people laws is normally the reserve of the anti black people

I dont really think im putting blame at anyones door here. huh.gif
JUMPURS
QUOTE (calum_gers @ Sep 29 2008, 14:09) *

You are confusing bigotry (the part to do with religion) and race (the part to do with your heritage)
calum_gers
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Sep 29 2008, 15:20) *
You are confusing bigotry (the part to do with religion) and race (the part to do with your heritage)

So whats the difference between a song about someones religion, and someones heritage? huh.gif
BLF
QUOTE (calum_gers @ Sep 29 2008, 15:28) *
So whats the difference between a song about someones religion, and someones heritage? huh.gif

Religion is about a spiritual belief. Heritage is about background and family/social history - often the 2 are closely linked.
Kincardine
QUOTE (rocksie67 @ Sep 29 2008, 13:27) *
From Graeme Spiers

So you said that the european papers would be full of this crime against humanity because of Reid's brilliant news management - and to back this up you quote from a British paper from over a year ago about another story?

calum_gers
QUOTE (BLF @ Sep 29 2008, 15:39) *
Religion is about a spiritual belief. Heritage is about background and family/social history - often the 2 are closely linked.

Of this im well aware....i think people are just picking and choosing facts to support their arguments here to be honest...

Trying to seperate heritage and religion when it comes to Celtic is going to get pretty short shrift i would imagine? huh.gif
JUMPURS
QUOTE (calum_gers @ Sep 29 2008, 15:28) *

If someone is from American/Polish/Chinese/Irish heritage can you tell what religion they are??

Because someone is a Catholic, can you tell what their heritage is?
JUMPURS
QUOTE (calum_gers @ Sep 29 2008, 15:46) *
Of this im well aware....i think people are just picking and choosing facts to support their arguments here to be honest...

Trying to seperate heritage and religion when it comes to Celtic is going to get pretty short shrift i would imagine? huh.gif

The famine song isn't bigoted at all, but it is racist.
calum_gers
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Sep 29 2008, 15:46) *
If someone is from American/Polish/Chinese/Irish heritage can you tell what religion they are??

Because someone is a Catholic, can you tell what their heritage is?

No, no.

But my question was, what is the difference in a song putting down on either one?
JUMPURS
QUOTE (calum_gers @ Sep 29 2008, 15:56) *
No, no.

But my question was, what is the difference in a song putting down on either one?

Their isn't anything, but AFAIK John Reid never said bigoted songs are ok, but racist songs where not, so i am not understanding where you are coming from?
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (The Savage @ Sep 28 2008, 20:10) *
I find it extremely laughable that you have quoted from The Scottish Sun. Out of all of the newspapers which are published in Scotland, The Sun is most definitely one of the least creditable.

Right behind the Daily Record, another newspaper which pops it's head up from time to time. laugh.gif

As for Reid's comments, I don't take Reid seriously with his background. People with that kind of background really shouldn't be allowed to be anywhere near football.

Racist, Sectarian c*nt, and he is on the high-horse condeming us?

Oh the Irony!
rocksie67
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Sep 29 2008, 16:48) *
Right behind the Daily Record, another newspaper which pops it's head up from time to time. laugh.gif

As for Reid's comments, I don't take Reid seriously with his background. People with that kind of background really shouldn't be allowed to be anywhere near football.

Racist, Sectarian c*nt, and he is on the high-horse condeming us?

Oh the Irony!

Reid however has thrown a hand grenade into the mix , he has basically labelled the Rangers Fans racist . Rangers spokespeople have never criticised the Celtic support .

Are Murray and Bain going to let the Rangers support be criticised in public , seems so they have said nothing in reply

For those who dont see what is comming at tomorrows pre match press conferences, you will probably find that some journalist has been primed to ask a question regarding the famine song and bingo . Its played out in front of the foreign media and UEFA

Given his political background Reid will be taken seriously by UEFA
Top Cat
Any news yet around Europe on auld JR's statement?? rolleyes.gif I went oan Sky Sports News thinking it would be top story only tae get a quick snippet fae Hartley Hare at Glasgow Airport telling the world he hoped the dhims could get a point in Villareal and if no, then a point at one of the away games! huh.gif Not the most inspiring comment but at least he's realistic! tongue.gif
rocksie67
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 29 2008, 19:03) *
Any news yet around Europe on auld JR's statement?? rolleyes.gif I went oan Sky Sports News thinking it would be top story only tae get a quick snippet fae Hartley Hare at Glasgow Airport telling the world he hoped the dhims could get a point in Villareal and if no, then a point at one of the away games! huh.gif Not the most inspiring comment but at least he's realistic! tongue.gif

Does not need to make headlines ,. However you can see by their silence . Murray and Bain too scared to take Reid on, shitbags .

Rangers racist chanting has not gone unnoticed by UEFA , that will soon become clear tongue.gif

Top Cat
QUOTE (rocksie67 @ Sep 29 2008, 20:02) *
Does not need to make headlines ,. However you can see by their silence . Murray and Bain too scared to take Reid on, shitbags .

Rangers racist chanting has not gone unnoticed by UEFA , that will soon become clear tongue.gif

Why do David Murray and Martin Bain have tae say anything?? Yer lot are digging the hole. biggrin.gif They like the rest of us are just watching ye do it! wink.gif
rocksie67
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 29 2008, 20:07) *
Why do David Murray and Martin Bain have tae say anything?? Yer lot are digging the hole. biggrin.gif They like the rest of us are just watching ye do it! wink.gif

ok if your not clever enough to realise what the outcome of all this is going to be .. tongue.gif

Top Cat
QUOTE (rocksie67 @ Sep 29 2008, 20:15) *
ok if your not clever enough to realise what the outcome of all this is going to be .. tongue.gif

I know yer dying tae so enlighten me! rolleyes.gif What will the outcome of this be?
rocksie67
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 29 2008, 20:33) *
I know yer dying tae so enlighten me! rolleyes.gif What will the outcome of this be?

The Bears as true defenders of free speech will take on all comers for the right to sing racist songs tongue.gif
Top Cat
QUOTE (rocksie67 @ Sep 29 2008, 21:08) *
The Bears as true defenders of free speech will take on all comers for the right to sing racist songs tongue.gif

Ye were so keen tae gie me an answer beforehand so why the deflection now?? huh.gif Unless of course ye didnae have an answer tae the question! rolleyes.gif laugh.gif
The Savage
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 29 2008, 21:17) *
Ye were so keen tae gie me an answer beforehand so why the deflection now?? huh.gif Unless of course ye didnae have an answer tae the question! rolleyes.gif laugh.gif

I'm pretty sure Rocksie does not have a magical crystal ball and can predict the future. The truth is only time will tell what will come of this situation. I eagerly await.
Top Cat
QUOTE (The Savage @ Sep 29 2008, 21:20) *
I'm pretty sure Rocksie does not have a magical crystal ball and can predict the future. The truth is only time will tell what will come of this situation. I eagerly await.

Eh, dhimster, yer fellow dhimster harped on that he knew what the outcome would be and even suggested I wisnae clever enough tae work it out! rolleyes.gif And then ye give the reply as above! huh.gif

Are you and yon other dhimwit also known as Dumb and Dumber by any chance! tongue.gif
The Savage
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 29 2008, 21:23) *
Eh, dhimster, yer fellow dhimster harped on that he knew what the outcome would be and even suggested I wisnae clever enough tae work it out! rolleyes.gif And then ye give the reply as above! huh.gif

Are you and yon other dhimwit also known as Dumb and Dumber by any chance! tongue.gif

The point I was making is that no-one can predict the outcome of this situation and there really is no point in you's two arguing over what will or will not come of this whole thing. Can't you process that through your thick hun mind?
Top Cat
QUOTE (The Savage @ Sep 29 2008, 21:28) *
The point I was making is that no-one can predict the outcome of this situation and there really is no point in you's two arguing over what will or will not come of this whole thing. Can't you process that through your thick hun mind?

So he makes a statement and I ask him tae explain it, you get involved wae gobblygook trying tae defnd him, he still cannae answer it, you then say he cannae answer it cause no one can predict the future and all the time I'm sitting here thinking, what the feck are these two dhims on! huh.gif

Ye couldnae make it up! A couple of resident dhimwits of the highest order!! laugh.gif
The Savage
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 29 2008, 21:33) *
So he makes a statement and I ask him tae explain it, you get involved wae gobblygook trying tae defnd him, he still cannae answer it, you then say he cannae answer it cause no one can predict the future and all the time I'm sitting here thinking, what the feck are these two dhims on! huh.gif

Ye couldnae make it up! A couple of resident dhimwits of the highest order!! laugh.gif

Where did i defend him? The point I was making was aimed at both you and Rocksie. If you fail to see the point I'm making then it's through your own inadequacies.
Top Cat
QUOTE (The Savage @ Sep 29 2008, 21:35) *
Where did i defend him? The point I was making was aimed at both you and Rocksie. If you fail to see the point I'm making then it's through your own inadequacies.

Oh right, it must be me then! huh.gif Let's discuss yer point then and see if you can do better than Dumb or is it Dumber?? wink.gif You said no one can predict the future so if this is the case which I'm sure it more than probably is, rolleyes.gif why do you eagerly await the outcome?
The Savage
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 29 2008, 21:47) *
Oh right, it must be me then! huh.gif Let's discuss yer point then and see if you can do better than Dumb or is it Dumber?? wink.gif You said no one can predict the future so if this is the case which I'm sure it more than probably is, rolleyes.gif why do you eagerly await the outcome?

I eagerly await the outcome as I am finding the whole "Famine Song" situation increasingly tiresome. It's getting beyond a joke, and the sooner it's resolved, the better.
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (The Savage @ Sep 29 2008, 21:56) *
I eagerly await the outcome as I am finding the whole "Famine Song" situation increasingly tiresome. It's getting beyond a joke, and the sooner it's resolved, the better.

I'm increasingly getting tired of being called a "hun" maybe they should resolve that by removing that also? huh.gif
rocksie67
QUOTE (The Savage @ Sep 29 2008, 21:20) *

Keep Singing Loud and Proud Bears biggrin.gif

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/...t-Football.html

SPL on alert over racist chant
Those Rangers supporters who continue to ignore pleas from club officials to refrain from singing the Famine Song may see Walter Smith's team penalised by the game's ruling body. Strathclyde Police consider singing Famine Song to be an arrestable offence.

By Ewing Grahame

Photograph: Head first: Rangers striker Kenny Miller scores the first of his two goals at Easter Road on Sunday in an SPL match that was again marred by racist chanting Photo: PA

On Sunday, just as Celtic chairman John Reid issued a statement describing the song as "racist and deeply offensive", thousands among the travelling Rangers support sang it loudly and repeatedly during the 3-0 victory over Hibernian at Easter Road.

The public view of the Rangers Supporters Trust is that the song is merely banter and it is true that it is mainly the refrain (to the tune of Sloop John cool.gif "The Famine's over, why don't you go home?" which is sung.

However, the verses of the song are undeniably racist, accusing Irish immigrants of, among other crimes, raping their children, and Strathclyde Police have confirmed that they consider the singing of such songs as an arrestable offence.

Now the Scottish Premier League has revealed that they are monitoring the situation. The SPL introduced fresh regulations last season and a key change from previous legislation is that clubs are now held responsible for the behaviour of their followers at away grounds.

Yesterday, Greg Shields, the SPL's marketing and communications director, refused to pre-judge the issue but admitted they are keeping tabs on the problem.
"We are still waiting for our match delegate's report," he said. "However, concerns have already been raised about the lyrics of this song and we've had meetings with Strathclyde Police on this matter. Our first step was to gather their views and they've been speaking to the Crown Office on this subject. We're keeping a close eye on it and if this is flagged up then we would take the relevant next steps. We brought these rules into play last year in order to address these issues."

"We would not comment on the lyrics of any particular song," said a spokeswoman for Strathclyde Police last night. "However, where any songs or chants are perceived to be offensive, whether in a racist or sectarian manner, efforts will be made to identify those responsible and appropriate action will be taken by officers.
"Strathclyde Police continues to work closely with clubs and authorities to tackle racist and sectarian behaviour that unfortunately can prevail within certain sections of Scottish football."

Of course, taking direct action against a large group of people in a confined space poses logistical problems and could endanger the safety of police officers, as the spokeswoman conceded. "When practical, we would go in and deal with it," she said. "When there are thousands of people doing it then that becomes more difficult but we would still endeavour to identify those responsible and take action."

Lothian and Borders Police adopted a different stance. They disclosed that only one arrest had been made during Sunday's game and that it was for an unrelated offence.

"There is no investigation ongoing in relation to any songs sung by fans at yesterdays' Hibs v Rangers match," said an official statement. "There is a burden of proof required by the Procurator Fiscal when proving such a charge and there was insufficient evidence to identify or charge any individual with this offence."

It is a problem which shows no sign of going away, though, and Walter Smith, whose side have responded impressively since their traumatic Champions League elimination at the hands of FBK Kaunas, must despair at the intransigence of that section of his support.

Top Cat
QUOTE (rocksie67 @ Sep 30 2008, 03:13) *

I'm still waiting on answer tae my question about yer predicted outcome dhimster?? Oh and btw, yon author of yer article is well known in fitba circles as a dhim supporter so his story would be better served keeping the fire going! laugh.gif
Kincardine
Having been assured that the world of European journalism would be rocked by the nuclear bombshell dropped by John Reid in his brilliant exhibition of news management I had a look at the same papers I trawled yesterday. Not a cheep from any one them.

I thought, therefore, I'd broaden the search to include cities where The Dhims have a Special relationship. Well not all of them, obviously, since that would take too long, but the main ones:

Der Speigel. Published in the home city of St Pauli. Nothing to report.

Palestine Times. Nothing to report.

Liverpool Echo. Nothing to report.

Journal Record. Porto sports paper. Nothing to report.

Barcelona Report. Nothing to report.

So, come on Rocksie67. Where is this "brilliant News management"?
youroldda
QUOTE (Kincardine @ Sep 30 2008, 09:44) *
Having been assured that the world of European journalism would be rocked by the nuclear bombshell dropped by John Reid in his brilliant exhibition of news management I had a look at the same papers I trawled yesterday. Not a cheep from any one them.

I thought, therefore, I'd broaden the search to include cities where The Dhims have a Special relationship. Well not all of them, obviously, since that would take too long, but the main ones:

Der Speigel. Published in the home city of St Pauli. Nothing to report.

Palestine Times. Nothing to report.

Liverpool Echo. Nothing to report.

Journal Record. Porto sports paper. Nothing to report.

Barcelona Report. Nothing to report.

So, come on Rocksie67. Where is this "brilliant News management"?

It was front page on my ( IRA TODAY ) subscription!!...... so there
H_B
QUOTE (rocksie67 @ Sep 29 2008, 17:20) *
Given his political background Reid will be taken seriously by UEFA

No he won't. Unless he gets his genocidal maniac acquaintances to put the word out about Michel Platini, which is of course possible.
Paddy Flannery
QUOTE (patto @ Sep 28 2008, 21:18) *

Whats your take on the "PEOPLE" doing nazi salutes ? And don't start "Hand of ulster" shite.

Would the same people doing 'Nazi salutes' really fly an Israeli flag?
JUMPURS
QUOTE (Paddy Flannery @ Sep 30 2008, 12:30) *
Would the same people doing 'Nazi salutes' really fly an Israeli flag?

Inteligence not their forte?
banterman86
First proper day back at uni, and i'm already wasting my lie on these forums...but i can't help it, is so entertaining!

Just a couple of points...have those who claim to have been checking el monde, the echo etc actually doing it? And if so...why? Do you really care that much?

Secondly i'm not sure abour Reid being a " war criminal" really has anything to do with this, one poster said he wouln't be told what to sing by a man from his background, which strikes me as a fair point but both sets of fans need to realise that his political past means he is not taken any more or less seriously by governing bodies than any other man in his position, does Reids role in Iraq etc fall anywhere within Uefa's remit?

As far as i can tell the song is not ilegal, i beleive it can be taken offensively but then again i'm of that airy fairy school of thought that any sort of racism,sexism,bogotry that it embaresses the offender far more than it hurts the victim