Full Version: Boycott New Bayview.
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
ARoverinLeeds
QUOTE (Ever the Optimist @ Sep 29 2008, 05:28) *
But surely for the biggest team in the league they should have the biggest admission prices!!!

Seriously though, any football fan who's worth their salt can see this is just plain wrong. Any rational EF fan will admit it is wrong, and anyone who doesn't is either on a wind up or just plain stupid. The only loser in this is ultimately going to be East Fife Football Club as there is no way there is going to be a full stadium, where as if Gray had played fair there could have been a sell out crowd and the club raked in the pounds. It is clear however that Gray only has one wish in life and that is to 'Get it up' the Rovers. If EF fans can't see how dangerous that is for East Fife Football Club then you are wearing blinkers. You don't pay £22 for most SPL games so how can anyone justify charging £22 for a second division game. And I know the situation and I know you are getting a 'discount, but that means not going to watch your own team if you are a Rovers Fan. Could you imagine this happening for the OF, Hibs/Hearts, Ayr/Killie, St Mirren/Morton, Airdrie/Motherwell etc. There would be riots, no question. The SFL have to get their finger out and stop this, but as has already been alluded to they probably will think about it, discuss it in committee meetings and make their decision on the 10th November, too late for the supporters.

As for the poster who doesn't believe in protests via the internet, Ayr fans very successfully reversed a clubs decision over admission prices a few years back, starting on the internet. All it takes is a few to let the masses know what is happening. Motherwell tried to charge us £19 pounds for a 4th round cup tie. We bombarded the press to make all fans aware of the situation and Boyle eventually backed down. We phoned all of the papers, the hotlines, the radio phone ins and all the journalists were on our side. I believe, and Arbroath fans will have to confirm this, that he also refunded Arbroath fans in some way, for their trip to Fir Park in the third round, as they paid £19 also.

On top of that we also arranged a pie protest on the day of the game which was incredibly well respected, and with 2500 of an away support that day Boyle lost a good few thousand.

So it can be done, and EF fans remember that something will undoubtedly happen for the game on the 3rd of January when you visit Kirkcaldy, so I guess it shows that Mr Gray cares for no-one but himself. Remember that when he leaves you in the lurch.

The voice of reason. smile.gif
Virtual Insanity
This is a joke. I shall be joining the boycott of New Bayview on November 8th.
Sludden123
The price is a absolute joke. They're only doing that to stir things up. There playing mind games with you all, and it seems to working so far. They have all talking about the match and it's not taking place for a few weeks yet.

It's only a small wall behind the goals so the Raith fans should hire Open Top Double decker buses and watch the game for free from the car park. biggrin.gif
dov2711
One of the best wind ups ever imo, a clever bit of backtracking and we will hear that the voucher entitles EF fans to buy a ticket nothing more.

The Rovers tickets cant be pushed through at £22 as the PR would be so awful for EF around the country. Unless Gray has one of Gordon Brown's spin doctors advising him then he will be digging an escape route just now.

Did the announcement on Saturday state away tickets would be £22? if so its a rather strange thing to announce ticket prices for people who arent in the stadium.

The sanctions which EF would face from the SFL would defeat any money made and the implications throughout the game would mean that if let through an incredibly dangerous precedent would be set. (Ever the optomist spells this out very clearly in his/her post)

There seemed to be a good bit of bridge building going on at the last derby so it would be amazing if he goes this far.

One thing Mr Gray does very well is get people talking, pity he wouldnt give us a bit of his time for our radio show when he was asked.

As for boycotts- how do you need someone else to give you a leaflet and advise you on how not to go to a game. Around 800 went missing the week after the derby with little help, maybe I just didnt get the leaflet.....
RRFC TILL I DIE
QUOTE (dov2711 @ Sep 29 2008, 08:56) *
One of the best wind ups ever imo, a clever bit of backtracking and we will hear that the voucher entitles EF fans to buy a ticket nothing more.

The Rovers tickets cant be pushed through at £22 as the PR would be so awful for EF around the country. Unless Gray has one of Gordon Brown's spin doctors advising him then he will be digging an escape route just now.

Did the announcement on Saturday state away tickets would be £22? if so its a rather strange thing to announce ticket prices for people who arent in the stadium.

The sanctions which EF would face from the SFL would defeat any money made and the implications throughout the game would mean that if let through an incredibly dangerous precedent would be set. (Ever the optomist spells this out very clearly in his/her post)

There seemed to be a good bit of bridge building going on at the last derby so it would be amazing if he goes this far.

One thing Mr Gray does very well is get people talking, pity he wouldnt give us a bit of his time for our radio show when he was asked.

As for boycotts- how do you need someone else to give you a leaflet and advise you on how not to go to a game. Around 800 went missing the week after the derby with little help, maybe I just didnt get the leaflet.....

best post so far.
The last bit is the best point
has there been a boycott of starks park this season attendances have been shocking for the supposed best suported team in the 2nd division rolleyes.gif
Andy.C
I'm sure it was Steven that posted a part of the rules stating that a club cant charge away fans an inflated price without charging the home fans the same. Willie Gray is supposedly charging his own fans the inflated price too if they dont have a voucher.
I dont know the man personally but I cant help but get the impression that he is arrogant enough to carry on with this pricing structure and not really give a toss what the SFA have to say about it.
Mon_The_Fife
QUOTE (dov2711 @ Sep 29 2008, 08:56) *

rolleyes.gif I give up.

Why is it? Do people not communicate with each other? For example... errmmm Pie and Bovril?
Fifer 38
EF have backed down over this, check out www.eastfife.org. Thank god for that. Mon the Fife
Mon_The_Fife
Good stuff. I think the voucher scheme was a great idea, now alot of the genuine East Fife supporters could be denied a ticket.
dov2711
East Fife Pricing

Backtracking of the highest order "due to the views of our own valued supporters".....aye right the voucher scheme for home fans looked like a winner as long as the remaining tickets went at normal prices to those without.

Official statement "We seem to have scored an own goal and have decided to cover our tracks by banging the drum for our valued supporters most of whom would have been gauranteed a ticket and at a reduced price had we seen this through"

Cheers Willie, this thread has been fun to watch.

renton
This week, he threatens us with a price hike, next week, he'll be slashing the allocation, week after that? christ knows, maybe stealing our first born sons laugh.gif

Dunc
Shat it.
CALDERON
rw89
laugh.gif What a bottler!
shaft
QUOTE (faither @ Sep 28 2008, 13:26) *
The Rovers fans who are whining about this clearly belong to the "romantic Socialism" faction of political beliefs.

It's a simple example of Supply and Demand. We know far more folk want to attend this match than there is the capacity for. The simple solution is to ration by price.

All those who say they cannae pay £22.00 will undoubtedly have spent at least that on drink in the preceding week. It's a simple choice of priorities: spend money on stuff to help you forget the misery of living in Kirkcaldy or support your team.

f**k ME! RIGHT ENOUGH METHILL IS SO NICER THAN KIRKALDY.....TALK ABOOT POT AND KETTLE YA SMELLY b*****d!
fifepup
Superb wind up by Willie G laugh.gif

fifepup
QUOTE (shaft @ Sep 29 2008, 11:05) *
f**k ME! RIGHT ENOUGH METHILL IS SO NICER THAN KIRKALDY.....TALK ABOOT POT AND KETTLE YA SMELLY b*****d!

Poor grammar and spelling.
You are clearly an ignorant dumb ass. rolleyes.gif
Ladyfan
Thank goodness this has happened. It was not in the slightest bit fair on both sets of supporters. I have a season ticket so I'm okay but did not agree with it at all.

Bit of common sense finally.
Ayrgirl
QUOTE (Fifer 38 @ Sep 29 2008, 10:00) *
EF have backed down over this, check out www.eastfife.org. Thank god for that. Mon the Fife

Was it all a great big hoax then? Was he banking on Ayr fans posting about the price hike and voucher system in order to get a reaction. Worked a treat if that's the case.
Stevo Fife
Have to say one thing........when King William of Gray pulls a publicity stunt like this one, he sure does it in style laugh.gif

Best wind-up yet by the big man. He`s chuckling away as we speak wink.gif

Saturday 8th November 2008

Further to our announcement on Saturday past regarding a possible voucher scheme for the above match and also proposed ticket prices we would advise of the following. <snigger> Our Board of Directors have taken into consideration the views of our own valued supporters (and not the lino sniffers) and revised the match ticket prices for this match as follows : - Adult £13 Concession £7 { Please note there will be no voucher scheme in operation }<snigger> East Fife Season Ticket holders will automatically be allocated a match ticket, East Fife Supporters Club and East Fife Supporters Trust members will be given priority to purchase a match ticket, full details will follow soon.
We do not apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused as its given us the best laugh in ages watching the linos cry.

Angusfifer
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Sep 29 2008, 11:43) *
Have to say one thing........when King William of Gray pulls a publicity stunt like this one, he sure does it in style laugh.gif

Best wind-up yet by the big man. He`s chuckling away as we speak wink.gif

Saturday 8th November 2008

Further to our announcement on Saturday past regarding a possible voucher scheme for the above match and also proposed ticket prices we would advise of the following. <snigger> Our Board of Directors have taken into consideration the views of our own valued supporters (and not the lino sniffers) and revised the match ticket prices for this match as follows : - Adult £13 Concession £7 { Please note there will be no voucher scheme in operation }<snigger> East Fife Season Ticket holders will automatically be allocated a match ticket, East Fife Supporters Club and East Fife Supporters Trust members will be given priority to purchase a match ticket, full details will follow soon.
We do not apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused as its given us the best laugh in ages watching the linos cry.

Yup, brilliant stunt by Oor Wullie. Hilarious seeing the Raith muppets getting all radical... laugh.gif
danelder89
I'm glad this has been resolved and I look forward to seeing you all at New Bayview on the 8th smile.gif
RRFC TILL I DIE
its more like it that they shat it after seeing th reaction nothing to do with a wind up rolleyes.gif
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (jack_bauer @ Sep 29 2008, 11:56) *
I'm glad this has been resolved and I look forward to seeing you all at New Bayview on the 8th smile.gif

I think it was your video that did it Jack wink.gif

I`ll buy you a pint mate.
danelder89
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Sep 29 2008, 11:57) *
I think it was your video that did it Jack wink.gif

I'm keeping the video up by the way, so everyone will know what a cowardly club East Fife really are tongue.gif
Angusfifer
QUOTE (RRFC TILL I DIE @ Sep 29 2008, 11:56) *
its more like it that they shat it after seeing th reaction nothing to do with a wind up rolleyes.gif

Aye, like Wullie really cares about what Raith fans thought...
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (Angusfifer @ Sep 29 2008, 12:03) *

Thats 100% accurate.
RRFC TILL I DIE

its more like he was worried what could happen to the club not what we think rolleyes.gif
Xbass Threepwood
QUOTE (Ladyfan @ Sep 29 2008, 11:10) *
Thank goodness this has happened. It was not in the slightest bit fair on both sets of supporters. I have a season ticket so I'm okay but did not agree with it at all.

Bit of common sense finally.

Having skimmed through this thread, Im glad a couple East Fife fans (like Ladyfan) have shown a bit of common sense and decency. Shame about the rest of you though, an embarrassment to the division. sad.gif
Angusfifer
QUOTE (The Gray Ghost @ Sep 29 2008, 12:10) *
Having skimmed through this thread, Im glad a couple East Fife fans (like Ladyfan) have shown a bit of common sense and decency. Shame about the rest of you though, an embarrassment to the division. sad.gif

Agree 100%. Too much banter on P&B these days.
Disgraceful...
Rovers_Lad
QUOTE (The Gray Ghost @ Sep 29 2008, 12:10) *

Well said but the comments of some EF fans are to be expected.As I said previously,this forum has deteriorated rapidly since EF came calling
Xbass Threepwood
QUOTE (Angusfifer @ Sep 29 2008, 12:28) *
Agree 100%. Too much banter on P&B these days.
Disgraceful...

Its not really banter though, is it?

Club A wants to double the cost of Club B's fans. Now, any other clubs fans would be able to point out the unfairness of it, and would be completely against it. I for one would not be in favour of doubling the cost for away fans compared to home fans, no matter who we were playing.

Of course, a sickening majority of East Fife fans seem to think its perfectly acceptable, I have no doubt that if the positions had been reversed, the majority of Raith fans would not have been in favour of the increase. Classless. sad.gif

Edited to add, I should emphasise again though that I was pleasantly surprised by a couple of the fans (e.g. ladyfan) who actually came out and said that she felt it was unfair! A credit to her club and a rare patch of light in a darkened landscape of East Fife scumbaggery.
Angusfifer
QUOTE (Rovers_Lad @ Sep 29 2008, 12:30) *
Well said but the comments of some EF fans are to be expected.As I said previously,this forum has deteriorated rapidly since EF came calling

Absolutely. Some have even had the audacity to remind the Raith fans of their pisspoor trophy haul throughout their miserable existence in Scottish Fitba.
The bare-faced cheek of it...
RRFC TILL I DIE
QUOTE (Angusfifer @ Sep 29 2008, 12:36) *
Absolutely. Some have even had the audacity to remind the Raith fans of their pisspoor trophy haul throughout their miserable existence in Scottish Fitba.
The bare-faced cheek of it...

is everyone going to go along with the boycott still or are they happy to go now? rolleyes.gif
Ladyfan
QUOTE (The Gray Ghost @ Sep 29 2008, 12:35) *
Edited to add, I should emphasise again though that I was pleasantly surprised by a couple of the fans (e.g. ladyfan) who actually came out and said that she felt it was unfair! A credit to her club and a rare patch of light in a darkened landscape of East Fife scumbaggery.

Aw shucks! smile.gif
Scottydog
Bollocks to Fatso, I'm still not coming. biggrin.gif
CALDERON
Hes still a fat cnut

Meh I doubt this was a wind up, surely Gray would be well aware of the negative press and publicity such a move would have attracted.

Thats the kind of stunt that is required to fund these "glamour" signings.
St. Starko
laugh.gif i bet a few Rovers fans feel i bit silly for over reacting now. It was never going to happen. Have to admit it was a fantastic wind up by the East Fife BoD. It certainly took up about 20 minutes of my life reading through some of the waffle in this thread laugh.gif
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (St. Starko @ Sep 29 2008, 12:46) *
laugh.gif i bet a few Rovers fans feel i bit silly for over reacting now. It was never going to happen. Have to admit it was a fantastic wind up by the East Fife BoD. It certainly took up about 20 minutes of my life reading through some of the waffle in this thread laugh.gif

You're making far too many sensible posts dude. Get it stopped wink.gif
RRFC TILL I DIE
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Sep 29 2008, 12:49) *
You're making far too many sensible posts dude. Get it stopped wink.gif

we will just have to stuff them now shove it back in there face lol rolleyes.gif
doulikefish
QUOTE (St. Starko @ Sep 29 2008, 12:46) *

best wind up yet!!!
perfect timing with the home fans voucher scheme and rovers getting beat
love the youtube campaign laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (Rovers_Lad @ Sep 29 2008, 12:30) *

Now, if you took the time to read through this entire thread, you might want to change your mind on that.
Pot, kettle and all that tongue.gif
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (doulikefish @ Sep 29 2008, 12:56) *
best wind up yet!!!
perfect timing with the home fans voucher scheme and rovers getting beat
love the youtube campaign laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

The youtube campaign is a work of art.
Not too bad now he knows how to spell November right wink.gif
And the big red do not enter sign is class.
Andy.C

Probably not. But he would really care about the amount of money his big mouth nearly lost his club.
I'll be there now after this momentous display of bottling.

Wind up my arse!

Victory is ours. biggrin.gif
AllanJM
The annoying thing is that all those talking of boycotts will change their minds now and as I'm not a season ticket holder I probably won't get a ticket.
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE (Andy.C @ Sep 29 2008, 13:04) *
Probably not. But he would really care about the amount of money his big mouth nearly lost his club.
I'll be there now after this momentous display of bottling.

Wind up my arse!

Victory is ours. biggrin.gif

Ah but it was just all a wind-up Andy rolleyes.gif

If it was a wind-up they would have kept it going for a few more days at least......

I think we should call them the Bayview Bottlers from now on!!! cool.gif
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE (The Gray Ghost @ Sep 29 2008, 12:35) *
Its not really banter though, is it?

Club A wants to double the cost of Club B's fans. Now, any other clubs fans would be able to point out the unfairness of it, and would be completely against it. I for one would not be in favour of doubling the cost for away fans compared to home fans, no matter who we were playing.

Of course, a sickening majority of East Fife fans seem to think its perfectly acceptable, I have no doubt that if the positions had been reversed, the majority of Raith fans would not have been in favour of the increase. Classless. sad.gif

It dosen't surprise me to be honest, they have to keep in with Gray for obvious reasons.........

But trust me their attitude has been noted and when the time comes it will be thrown back in their face wink.gif
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (Steven @ Sep 29 2008, 13:42) *
It dosen't surprise me to be honest, they have to keep in with Gray for obvious reasons.........

But trust me their attitude has been noted and when the time comes it will be thrown back in their face wink.gif

Sorry, but has this thread anything to do with Man Utd? laugh.gif
turboshandy
Told you it was all bollocks. tongue.gif
Ayrgirl
QUOTE (turboshandy @ Sep 29 2008, 14:21) *
Told you it was all bollocks. tongue.gif

It wasn't though. They announced it at the game on Saturday and have now changed their mind. Not bollocks - the thought was there.