Full Version: Boycott New Bayview.
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Andy.C
Willie Gray is apparently hiking prices for Raith and some East Fife fans up to £22 for the next East Fife v Raith match at New Bayview.

£22 for a Scottish 2nd division match!

If the rumours about the ridiculous price increase are true will you be going to the match regardless?

If Gray gets away with this it will set a precedent for other idiotic or grudge bearing chairmen to do the same so I urge all Raith fans and fans of other clubs to vote with their feet and stay away from New Bayview until this idiot is hounded out of the club and hopefully Scottish football.

This is by no means a slight on the good fans of East Fife football club.
doulikefish
no
Cliche Guevara
This should wait until nearer the time, and the significance of the game is clearer
Andy.C
QUOTE (Cliche Guevara @ Sep 28 2008, 10:47) *
This should wait until nearer the time, and the significance of the game is clearer

It can be bumped if it slides nearer the time but a bit of early momentum wouldn't go amiss.
The Arch
Have Raith came out with any sort of statement, regarding Gray's decision?

Raith have every right to do the exact same voucher offer, when EF next come to town but the main losers will be the fans, so it depends if Raith value money more than dignity.
The American
Greeting faced rovers.

Chin up son, im sure you can afford it. tongue.gif

Doink
Would help if we knew what the boycott was about.
davidkennedyshand
It's about East Fife apparently charging pay at the gate fans £22 if they don't get a voucher for the Raith game.

If it's true i wouldn't encourage them
AllanJM
no because we have to think of our team rather than that fat p***k and his vendetta against us. An empty away end will have a negative effect on our team and I for one won't give the Kunt the satisfaction.
Andy.C
QUOTE (Doink @ Sep 28 2008, 10:57) *

Original post edited. wink.gif

QUOTE (AllanJM @ Sep 28 2008, 11:05) *
no because we have to think of our team rather than that fat p***k and his vendetta against us. An empty away end will have a negative effect on our team and I for one won't give the Kunt the satisfaction.

An empty away end may also give the team that extra bit of determination (Not that I think they'll need any) to get one over Gray.
rw89
QUOTE (The Arch @ Sep 28 2008, 10:53) *
Raith have every right to do the exact same voucher offer, when EF next come to town but the main losers will be the fans, so it depends if Raith value money more than dignity.

I really don't think what East Fife do should have any bearing on our prices for derbies. East Fife brought around 1000 fans when they played us earlier this month, many of whom it is a first match in years. We should just provide the same as the first derby and take the money rather than turning fans away from the game.

QUOTE (Doink @ Sep 28 2008, 10:57) *

Willie Gray is out esteemed ex-chairman who feels "hard done by the Rovers". Pre-season Gray said he was looking to take 12 points from us and that we lacked ambition for signing two players from outwith the SFL which is fair enough, we can see that is Gray building up the derby. Gray goes to Starks this month and gets abused by the Rovers fans who see him as a p***k constantly trying to get one over the Rovers. He then claim to have been abused outside Starks park after the game by a group of supporters waiting for him , in reality they were waiting for a bus.

In an attempt to get one over us Gray is alledgedly going to decrease the Raith capacity to around anything between 200-600 fans. This thread is a response to Gray also introducing a voucher scheme where fans who do not attend the game against Stranraer with have to pay 22 pounds.
davidkennedyshand
QUOTE (Andy.C @ Sep 28 2008, 11:09) *
An empty away end may also give the team that extra bit of determination (Not that I think they'll need any) to get one over Gray.

Think Celtic won at Ibrox when Murray banned their fans.
If Gray goes ahead with this apparent fleecing it certainly will give your team more determination i would think.
Duracell Bunny
I felt it was better to post in this thread........

QUOTE (AllanJM @ Sep 28 2008, 11:02) *
Quite frankly this is a fucking disgrace. I actually thinks he wants us to boycott this. I would appeal to all Rovers fans not to fall into his trap. This goes for Fife's Finest in particular. People may criticise you (not me i might add as i know and like most of your members) but nobody can argue that you add atmosphere particularly at away games. I think it would piss him off more to waddle out of the bar on matchday to 500 away fans giving him abuse.

We have to remember that an empty away end will have a negative effect on our team. Let's just pay the money get right behind the team and cheer them on to a victory. That's the best way to say GIRFUY to the fat fucker.

I will certainly be there - I may even have a better chance of getting a ticket now if some of you are boycotting.

The best way to give a GIRFUY is to go to the ground but not actually go into the game, give the team backing from outside the ground (no anti Gray chants as we need to rise above it)

Police will not move around 700 (at least) people if Gray decides to phone the police and have them moved.....

Also wouldn't go a amiss to have a few papers in attendence and the bad publicty East Fife would get should be pretty good!!!

This is a win win situation, East Fife get bad publicity, no money from Raith fans going to East Fife, lots of empty seats inside the ground and Raith fans still can give the team backing...

Also we have a couple of collection buckets and every penny goes to the Rovers so they get some extra cash as well smile.gif
doulikefish
QUOTE (Steven @ Sep 28 2008, 11:13) *
I felt it was better to post in this thread........

The best way to give a GIRFUY is to go to the ground but not actually go into the game, give the team backing from outside the ground (no anti Gray chants as we need to rise above it)

Police will not move around 700 (at least) people if Gray decides to phone the police and have them moved.....

Also wouldn't go a amiss to have a few papers in attendence and the bad publicty East Fife would get should be pretty good!!!

This is a win win situation, East Fife get bad publicity, no money from Raith fans going to East Fife, lots of empty seats inside the ground and Raith fans still can give the team backing...

thats a normal matchday for you steven,ie not going wink.gif
turboshandy
I still think this is a load of bollocks. However, if this does turn out to be true, then I feel a boycott is the only way to go. Not sure what Willie Gray is trying to prove by hiking up the prices but, whatever his reasons, surely the best way to respond is to hit him where it hurts - his pocket.

And hopefully the Raith Rovers board don't respond with a similar scheme next time the Fife are in town. We're better than that.
davidkennedyshand
QUOTE (turboshandy @ Sep 28 2008, 11:26) *
I still think this is a load of bollocks.

You just can't shake the feeling it's a wind up.

If true and folk pay their £22 and don't complain..they deserve to pay that every game for being f*cking stupid.
raith1974
Is it not the case that the SFL set the minimum and maximum prices for entry to the lower leagues, surely if WG wants to charge £22 and restrict us to 100 tickets then the club should complain to the SFL who have a duty to step in and help out.

I for one will never give any money to WG sorry EF and instead would prefer to stand outside on the mound and sing from there.
Duracell Bunny
Clicky

Admission Arrangements for Visiting Clubs
80. Unless otherwise instructed by the Management Committee, each club must make provision for a reasonable number of visiting supporters at every home match. In the event of any dispute arising between clubs as to the provision to be made for visiting supporters at any match, the Management Committee shall, upon application made by either party, consider and adjudicate upon the matter.

80.1 No club shall charge different admission prices for visiting supporters for accommodation comparable with that used by supporters of the home club. This requirement does not apply to special local arrangements for season ticket holders, family enclosures, senior citizens and children.
RedWeb
QUOTE (Steven @ Sep 28 2008, 11:34) *

Aye but it seems both sets of fans are going to be charged the same...ie £22. The only difference is home fans can get a money off voucher the week before. Therefore IF true it sounds like Gray is being clever in his attempts to f**k off Rovers supporters.
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE (RedWeb @ Sep 28 2008, 11:49) *
Aye but it seems both sets of fans are going to be charged the same...ie £22. The only difference is home fans can get a money off voucher the week before. Therefore IF true it sounds like Gray is being clever in his attempts to f**k off Rovers supporters.

Dunfermline done something similar against Rangers a few seasons back and got fined for it........
RedWeb
Reading all this stuff it has to be said this Wullie Gray does sound like a sad p***k who needs to move on and give up on his pathetic Rovers vendetta wink.gif
mid-table
If I was involved with Raith, and I don't know if this whole idea is possible with SFL broadcast rules, but I would look into the following;
Beam the game back to Starks Park, charge people £5 to get in or whatever is your break even cost for setting it up, make a few quid off catering, get good PR.
MonTheRovers!!
See if this is indeed true, mass boycott is the only way to go. Hopefully no wee weasel lets us down and pays to get in.

1500 Rovers fans standing outside the ground, no way the police are going to move all of us. f**k him, fat c**t.
ta elite
wind your necks in kirkcaldy tossers
if wullie is reading this he will be pissing himself laughing at you thick cvnts biting like fvck
MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE (ta elite @ Sep 28 2008, 12:16) *
if wullie is reading this he will be pissing himself laughing at you thick cvnts biting like fvck

How many times have you changed your club, fanny features?
Andy.C
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Sep 28 2008, 12:06) *
See if this is indeed true, mass boycott is the only way to go. Hopefully no wee weasel lets us down and pays to get in.

1500 Rovers fans standing outside the ground, no way the police are going to move all of us. f**k him, fat c**t.

It'd be great if we could get good numbers outside of New Bayview and support the team from outside the ground. We could help the Rovers benefit with a 'Donate a note' scheme like the club did when the takeover was in full swing........
MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE (Andy.C @ Sep 28 2008, 12:20) *
It'd be great if we could get good numbers outside of New Bayview and support the team from outside the ground. We could help the Rovers benefit with a 'Donate a note' scheme like the club did when the takeover was in full swing........

I'd be happy to give the Rovers my £7 instead. Picket line in front of the turnstiles sounds good to me. Absolutely no one should pay to get in.
Andy.C

You seem quite intelligent. I shall base my life on your phillosophical musings.
babemagnet

Whatever the truth is.....Rovers fans boycottIng the match? Do we fucking care!
Away tae yur Kirkcaldy midden,wi' yur Buckfast and Giro!
MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE (babemagnet @ Sep 28 2008, 12:27) *
Whatever the truth is.....Rovers fans boycottIng the match? Do we fucking care!

This is fairly ironic!! laugh.gif
Mon_The_Fife
Why do Rovers fans keep posting "if this is true"?

Yes, it is.
turboshandy
QUOTE (Mon_The_Fife @ Sep 28 2008, 12:55) *
Why do Rovers fans keep posting "if this is true"?

Yes, it is.

Well, 'if this is true', then you can feel free to point and laugh.

More than you already do... wink.gif
faither
The Rovers fans who are whining about this clearly belong to the "romantic Socialism" faction of political beliefs.

It's a simple example of Supply and Demand. We know far more folk want to attend this match than there is the capacity for. The simple solution is to ration by price.

All those who say they cannae pay £22.00 will undoubtedly have spent at least that on drink in the preceding week. It's a simple choice of priorities: spend money on stuff to help you forget the misery of living in Kirkcaldy or support your team.
Andy.C
QUOTE (faither @ Sep 28 2008, 13:26) *
The Rovers fans who are whining about this clearly belong to the "romantic Socialism" faction of political beliefs.

It's a simple example of Supply and Demand. We know far more folk want to attend this match than there is the capacity for. The simple solution is to ration by price.

All those who say they cannae pay £22.00 will undoubtedly have spent at least that on drink in the preceding week. It's a simple choice of priorities: spend money on stuff to help you forget the misery of living in Kirkcaldy or support your team.

What a lot of disillusional rubbish.

The majority of folk are not saying that they cant pay £22 more that they wont pay £22. As for it being a simple choice of priorities my main priority lies in not paying ridiculous prices to a fat idiot that harbours a grudge.

Misery of living in Kirkcaldy? laugh.gif
You're as daft as Gray.
Dunc
QUOTE (mid-table @ Sep 28 2008, 12:04) *
If I was involved with Raith, and I don't know if this whole idea is possible with SFL broadcast rules, but I would look into the following;
Beam the game back to Starks Park, charge people £5 to get in or whatever is your break even cost for setting it up, make a few quid off catering, get good PR.

We'd never get the permission to film it, sadly.
shielfield
QUOTE (Andy.C @ Sep 28 2008, 10:35) *
Willie Gray is apparently hiking prices for Raith and some East Fife fans up to £22 for the next East Fife v Raith match at New Bayview.

£22 for a Scottish 2nd division match!

If the rumours about the ridiculous price increase are true will you be going to the match regardless?

If Gray gets away with this it will set a precedent for other idiotic or grudge bearing chairmen to do the same so I urge all Raith fans and fans of other clubs to vote with their feet and stay away from New Bayview until this idiot is hounded out of the club and hopefully Scottish football.

This is by no means a slight on the good fans of East Fife football club.

The 5 of you won't know what to do
Andy.C
QUOTE (shielfield @ Sep 28 2008, 14:12) *
The 5 of you won't know what to do

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Genius!
East Fife 24
Rovers fans are c***s anyway!! They should just pay it and stop thur fukkin moanin!!
Big_Andy
Another Russian?
East Fife 24
Hu tha fukk is the russian like?
Rovers_Lad
ta elite has too much time on his hand and needs to act his age
Enigma
I would go to outside bayview. I would happily give £22 to a rovers donation bucket that to jabba the hut.
the_russian
QUOTE (Crazy_Horse @ Sep 28 2008, 14:31) *
Another Russian?

You are a sad lazy c**t, how many folk have you actually accused me of being?
Ayrgirl
QUOTE (babemagnet @ Sep 28 2008, 12:27) *

Having visited both grounds and surrounding area I know which I prefer wink.gif

QUOTE (the_russian @ Sep 28 2008, 15:07) *
You are a sad lazy c**t, how many folk have you actually accused me of being?

Oi you, you're the_russian

Oops
Martin Nelson
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Sep 28 2008, 12:06) *

We can hardly get 1500 people for a home game. Why waste the petrol money to stand outside and listen to East Fife knocking 3 or 4 goals past us?
the_russian
QUOTE (Ayrgirl @ Sep 28 2008, 15:17) *
Oi you, you're the_russian
Oops

Eh??
Michael W
I think we should have a mass organised boycott, I'm certainly in favour. I also propose we have a collection where we can donate money that we would have other wise paid at the gate with to the Rovers.

Secondly, I think we should try and get the media onside with us. £22 to watch Second division football is disgraceful, particularly when it's being done in such a disgusting and snidely manner. Gray is treating us like cash cows, let's have the last laugh by boycotting the game and refusing to pander to his dirty tricks.

I am also more than happy to provide vocal support for the team from outside the ground.

MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE (Martin Nelson @ Sep 28 2008, 15:17) *
We can hardly get 1500 people for a home game. Why waste the petrol money to stand outside and listen to East Fife knocking 3 or 4 goals past us?

It's a matter of principle. Posted this from my iphone. Big woop!!
Michael W
QUOTE (faither @ Sep 28 2008, 13:26) *

QUOTE (East Fife 24 @ Sep 28 2008, 14:27) *
Rovers fans are c***s anyway!! They should just pay it and stop thur fukkin moanin!!

Ah yes, I can see the two of you happily paying the £22 if we did the same! laugh.gif
Ayrgirl
QUOTE (the_russian @ Sep 28 2008, 15:18) *
Eh??

It was a joke rolleyes.gif