Full Version: Has Strachan Silenced The Critics Finally?
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > Rangers v Celtic, Celtic v Rangers
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Pink Freud
QUOTE (Beyemystic @ Oct 26 2008, 23:06) *
Probably because our team sheet now reads like a Scotland 'B' squad. Depressing stuff.

I see your problem Plastic. I also have the solution. Bohemians are runnning away with it in Ireland.

Repeat after me..."Come on Bohs!". It's only one letter of a difference to what you are used to, and will allow you to trample the ould sod for real, instead of having a go at the young sod, Chesney. All in all a satisfactory conclusion, and one that will, with any luck, see you haunting Irish football sites and castigating them for abandoning the cause. You KNOW it makes sense.
djn
QUOTE (Beyemystic @ Oct 26 2008, 23:06) *
Probably because our team sheet now reads like a Scotland 'B' squad. Depressing stuff.

Well, the "Scotland B" team is playing some very attractive football, scoring lots of goals and will win the league, so please tell me your problem?
Beren
QUOTE (H_B @ Oct 26 2008, 10:42) *
"Umm, in O'Neill, sorry the Blessed Martin's last season, did Hibs not beat us at Paradise 3-1 and Aberdeen beat us 3-2, Hearts beat us 2-0 and Rangers beat us 2-0?"

"And your point being Brother Seamus?"

"Well, err, didn't that mean the Blessed Martin should have been sacked?"

"Sigh, once again Brother Seamus, you miss the point completely. The quality of football on show that season, even in those defeats, which I think we can all agree were caused by the scandalous Masonic refereeing so prevalent in Scotland, transcended actual results.

TBF, in the 3-2 defeat against Aberdeen, Celtic were actually denied two absolute stonewaller penalties (both deliberate hand balls). They happened directly in front of me. ph34r.gif
Beyemystic
QUOTE (Swampy @ Oct 27 2008, 01:10) *
Yet it's getting results, and it's doing so in entertaining fashion, with plenty of goals...

QUOTE (Mr Cadbury's Parrot @ Oct 27 2008, 14:08) *
Well, the "Scotland B" team is playing some very attractive football, scoring lots of goals and will win the league, so please tell me your problem?

But not in the important games. There is the old familiar whiff of mediocrity around our club's playing staff and I for one don't like it. The defensive 'sieve' is back. We can usually beat SPL teams in games neutrals might descibe as "entertaining" (because they're so evenly matched) but against European teams or even the huns we are routinely - and quite casually - humped.

loyalbluebear
QUOTE (Beyemystic @ Oct 28 2008, 18:52) *
But not in the important games. There is the old familiar whiff of mediocrity around our club's playing staff and I for one don't like it. The defensive 'sieve' is back. We can usually beat SPL teams in games neutrals might descibe as "entertaining" (because they're so evenly matched) but against European teams or even the huns we are routinely - and quite casually - humped.

that must have fucking hurt admitting that laugh.gif
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (loyalbluebear @ Oct 28 2008, 19:46) *

Haw "Loyal" should you no be at a game? biggrin.gif
Beyemystic
QUOTE (loyalbluebear @ Oct 28 2008, 20:46) *

Well that's a large part of my gripe with Strachan - he has taken us back to the days when we went into these games more in hope than expectation.

The current hun side is quite weak, but to be fair to them they've used what little money they have quite wisely. Guys like Mendes and, to a lesser extent, Davis, have cut their teeth in the Premiership and are therefore in a position to ride roughshod over the likes of Barry Robson and Scott Brown.

The English teams are saturated with money and as such tend to have bloated squads - Martin exploited this to pick up guys like Thompson and Sutton for far below their true value before giving them a platform to find their confidence and form.
khenny
QUOTE (Beyemystic @ Oct 28 2008, 21:03) *
Well that's a large part of my gripe with Strachan - he has taken us back to the days when we went into these games more in hope than expectation.

The current hun side is quite weak, but to be fair to them they've used what little money they have quite wisely. Guys like Mendes and, to a lesser extent, Davis, have cut their teeth in the Premiership and are therefore in a position to ride roughshod over the likes of Barry Robson and Scott Brown.

The English teams are saturated with money and as such tend to have bloated squads - Martin exploited this to pick up guys like Thompson and Sutton for far below their true value before giving them a platform to find their confidence and form.

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

You really do talk the biggest pile of steaming shit at times.

The funny thing is (really makes me laugh) knowing you and muppets like you will not fully enjoy Celtic winning title after title and getting through group stages of Champs League because you hate the manager that is guiding your team to success after success!

You really couldn't make this one up! laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

The only reason you keep clutching at straws and saying Martins team were better because.....blah blah is coz WGS team is not doing what Martins did ie. lose the league to Rangerms.

Come on board the Strachan train mate we are in a nice warm seat looking at you and yer stubborn mayes soaking wet on the platform with yer MON masks on. You just dont realise that that train left years ago!!!
Johnboy1877
QUOTE (Beyemystic @ Oct 28 2008, 21:03) *

Loved this bit laugh.gif
Johnboy1877
QUOTE (H_B @ Oct 26 2008, 11:42) *
2nd meeting of the S.H.I.T. - Baillieston, Glasgow 26 Oct 08

Brother Haw Haw to chair.

"Okay Brothers, first Order of Business - Brothers Keevins and Guidi send their apologies. "

"Secondly, Brother Mystic will be taking all deposits today for the pilgrimage to Birmingham. £50 secures you a place on the bus and payment before 31st October also gets you a complementary bottle of the Blessed Martin's bath water, certified and consecrated by Brother Walford. An incentive to you all, I am sure. Our local Provident Financial representative is available at the back to assist those brothers experiencing a pre-Giro cash shortage. "

"Now, onto the main business of the day - an update on plans to remove Gordhun Satan from our glorious family in christ and celticism."

"Following our humbling by the very average Manchester United in midweek - yes, quite Brother Mystic, one wonders indeed what Aston Villa would have done to the wretched collection of Scottish nonentities (of course exempting the heroic efforts of young Aiden and Cillian in a hopeless cause) Satan sent out as lambs to the slaughter, it is clear that our chance to secure a Celtic minded appointment before Satan condemns us to the ignominy of Champions League failure must be grasped here and now."

"To add fuel to the fire, only yesterday did the hated ginger gargoyle humiliate us by losing two goals to the Edinburgh traitorous treachorous Hun apologist "Hibernian". I have rarely been so angry, thinking how low Satan has taken us that "Hibs" can notch two goals at Paradise. I..."

"Yes, Brother Seamus. What is it?"

"Umm, in O'Neill, sorry the Blessed Martin's last season, did Hibs not beat us at Paradise 3-1 and Aberdeen beat us 3-2, Hearts beat us 2-0 and Rangers beat us 2-0?"

"And your point being Brother Seamus?"

"Well, err, didn't that mean the Blessed Martin should have been sacked?"

"Sigh, once again Brother Seamus, you miss the point completely. The quality of football on show that season, even in those defeats, which I think we can all agree were caused by the scandalous Masonic refereeing so prevalent in Scotland, transcended actual results. The free flowing beauty of the performances left you spellbound, and completely unable even to begin to care about the scoreboard, unlike the prosaic "4 goals, big deal" ethos of Gordhun's battlers".

"Now, moving on, I believe Brother Mystic has a new plan to cast this snake from our midst. The floor is yours Brother".

"Brothers, I have cogitated, ruminated and puzzled on this during a recent week's retreat in the hedge behind the Blessed Martin's conservatory in Brimingham, and have concluded that there is only one way to resolve this issue. Like our Provisional Brothers being subjugated in Ireland, sometimes a cause is so just, so righteous, that it justifies extreme measures to end oppression. And surely Bothers, surely, no one can gainsay that this current humiliating position is nothing short of an oppression of the Irish peoples worldwide. To that end, I believe the ultimate sanction must be considered, to hit the PLC in the only way it feels pain"

"Yes Brothers, it's time for a hunger strike. I propose a Pie Boycott, with a one bovril limit per month, even in December. Let's see what Desmond and the other craven scum in the boardroom have to say when the catering business is brought to its knees."

(Applause)

"Once again Brother Mystic, you astound us with the ingenuity of your thinking. Let us go forth Brothers and spread the word and let our noble cause be successful as surely it must if god is listening to our pleas. In Martin we trust. "

laugh.gif Excellent stuff HB
loyalbluebear
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Oct 28 2008, 19:53) *
Haw "Loyal" should you no be at a game? biggrin.gif

not got a babysitter tonight and its far too cold for a 3 year old to be out
loyalbluebear
QUOTE (Beyemystic @ Oct 28 2008, 20:03) *

did MoN not pay nearly 10mill for these 2 who between them only had 1 england cap

if you ask me the old firm have both been guilty of paying over the odds to english clubs for a player because these players "played" in the EPL when in fact they were only bit part players for their teams
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (loyalbluebear @ Oct 28 2008, 21:16) *
did MoN not pay nearly 10mill for these 2 who between them only had 1 england cap

if you ask me the old firm have both been guilty of paying over the odds to english clubs for a player because these players "played" in the EPL when in fact they were only bit part players for their teams

Like £2m+ for McClugger, just becauses he's "bawwys pal"
H_B
QUOTE (khenny @ Oct 28 2008, 20:20) *
The funny thing is (really makes me laugh) knowing you and muppets like you will not fully enjoy Celtic winning title after title and getting through group stages of Champs League because you hate the manager that is guiding your team to success after success!

Correct.

You can feel the bitterness with every post. The amusing thing being with each passing season, O'Neill's achievements, such that they were, look more and more disappointing.

Celic could easily be going for 9 in a row this season had O'Neill not underachieved so badly against McLeish.
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (khenny @ Oct 28 2008, 20:20) *
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

You really do talk the biggest pile of steaming shit all the time.

Fixed that for you. wink.gif
Beyemystic
QUOTE (khenny @ Oct 28 2008, 21:20) *

Listen nobody laughed longer and harder at the huns' hubris/collapse last year than me.

And I enjoyed our European exploits, particulary when we had an effective screen for our defence who rarely wasted possession (to wit, Lenny). To my mind he was largely the difference between a 180 minute stalemate with Milan and a meek submission to Barca the following season.

I am also a staunchly awestruck by "last sixteens". Last year when I visited the Bernabau tour I nonchalantly bounded past half a dozen or so European cups, straight to the centrepiece - the famous hall of "último dieciséis", the crowning achievement of which Franco's favourite sons are most proud.

QUOTE (H_B @ Oct 29 2008, 00:03) *
Correct.

You can feel the bitterness with every post. The amusing thing being with each passing season, O'Neill's achievements, such that they were, look more and more disappointing.

Celic could easily be going for 9 in a row this season had O'Neill not underachieved so badly against McLeish.

The thing about O'Neill's tenure was that even the lows were part of the whole rollercoaster ride. Would the treble or indeed Seville have been so magical without the counterpoint of black Sunday? Watching the king of kings and his bhoys humble Europe's best after what had gone before was scarcely believable. The lapis philosophorum of O'Neill's alchemical trick was the figure of Bobby Petta - in whom the opposites were unified - from deadbeat idle coward hiding on the wing to showboating superstar in a few short weeks.

That bittersweet contrast was life condensed in all its messy, joyous, unfair, beautiful, mucked up glory. It was being alive!

As Zarathustra would have it:

"Have you ever said Yes to a single joy? O my friends, then you said Yes to all woe. All things are entangled, ensnared, enamored; if ever you wanted one thing twice, if ever you said, "You please me, happiness! Abide, moment!" then you wanted all back. All anew, all eternally, all entangled, ensnared, enamored—oh, then you loved the world. Eternal ones, love it eternally and evermore; and to woe too, you say: go, but return! For all joy wants—eternity."

Contrast that with modestly talented SPL players churning out consistent but mediocre performances. Living through Seville etc. then being smugly informed Gary Caldwell is "sensational"? No thanks Chesney!
Millfield Marksman
QUOTE (Beyemystic @ Oct 29 2008, 00:21) *
As Zarathustra would have it:

Nietzsche wink.gif

Edited: how many consonants do you need to spell 'ch'?
Beyemystic
QUOTE (Millfield Marksman @ Oct 29 2008, 01:24) *
Nietzsche wink.gif

Edited: how many consonants do you need to spell 'ch'?

I know smile.gif
H_B
The thing about O'Neill's tenure was that even the lows were part of the whole rollercoaster ride. Would the treble or indeed Seville have been so magical without the counterpoint of black Sunday?

Ah, gotcha!

Stracan's mistake was in winning 3 titles in a row, not ignominiously surrendering the league in his second season, so he could deliver a rollercoaster ride.

In some ways this is similar to the performance management processes people in large companies often have to go through, involving "meeting expectations" and £exceeding expectations" whereby the latter garners a greater payrise than the former.

The trick being then to intermittently perform poorly so the following year you are seen to improve, rather than maintain steady excellence, which becomes the norm and therefore expected of you.
khenny
QUOTE (Beyemystic @ Oct 29 2008, 01:21) *
The thing about O'Neill's tenure was that even the lows were part of the whole rollercoaster ride. Would the treble or indeed Seville have been so magical without the counterpoint of black Sunday? Watching the king of kings and his bhoys humble Europe's best after what had gone before was scarcely believable. The lapis philosophorum of O'Neill's alchemical trick was the figure of Bobby Petta - in whom the opposites were unified - from deadbeat idle coward hiding on the wing to showboating superstar in a few short weeks.

That bittersweet contrast was life condensed in all its messy, joyous, unfair, beautiful, mucked up glory. It was being alive!

Contrast that with modestly talented SPL players churning out consistent but mediocre performances. Living through Seville etc. then being smugly informed Gary Caldwell is "sensational"? No thanks Chesney!

If I'm reading this correctly you seem to be pissed off that Caldwell is not as "good" as Petta?

By my recollection (and most Celtic mates I talk to) Petta played no more than a handful (that may be stretching it a bit actually) of decent games for us and I was delighted when he ceased to figure in our team as he was the definition of useless on the wing. The 6-2 game aside I can't recall him being superb for us anytime. I'll take it a stage further and tell you that probably even Graveson played more good games for us that Petta did. His debut versus Aberdeen was excellent and he weighed in with a few goals against the huns in a very short period at Celtic Park. That aside he was pish also!!

As H_B mantions above rolleyes.gif . You seem to now be annoyed at Strachan cause we don't have any lows so we can "properly" celebrate the highs. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif All I can say is that you would've been apoplectic during Steins' tenure in charge of the Hoops.

Once more for the sake of your sanity (hmmm may be too late to help you on that one) jump on board the Strachan express and enjoy the ride to the max.

You know it makes sense.
djn
The thing about O'Neill's tenure was that even the lows were part of the whole rollercoaster ride

So, you don't like WGS because winning the league every year, and two good seasons in Europe means there's been no "lows"? rolleyes.gif

You should try being a Berwick fan if you want "lows"...

Are you really scraping the bottom of the barrel to find a reason to dislike the guy? It's a one man car crash
H_B
So, where were we?

Back to back home wins with clean sheets, 4 points clear in the title race and an average of 2.6 goals per game.

Lord Haw Haw hasn't treated us to his rambling contradictions for a while, so perhaps he will indulge me.

Why was it again that O'Neill DIDN'T have to go, despite having lost the title shamefully twice in his final three seasons, and having lost 4 home games in his last season (the same number Strachan lost in his next 3 SEASONS combined!!!) and Strachan DOES have to go, even though he has won 3 titles in a row and is heading towards a 4th? huh.gif

I'm sure there is a perfectly logical way to explain this apparently ludicrous contradiction that suggests football is certainly not the benchmark.

Disraeli
Oh, not this thread again. I suppose I can use it to increase my post count, so there's one redeeming factor. In fact, now that I'm here it doesn't seem that bad.
To me?
H_B
QUOTE (Disraeli @ Nov 13 2008, 11:40) *
Oh, not this thread again. I suppose I can use it to increase my post count, so there's one redeeming factor. In fact, now that I'm here it doesn't seem that bad.
To me?

I can certainly understand why this thread would make Rangers fans uncomfortable, so used were they to Strachan's predecessor making a roaring c'nt of the title race and feeding Rangers some crumbs.

Now that 4 in a row is becoming more and more inevitable, getting rid of Strachan in any way they can should be Rangers fans' aim.
Disraeli
QUOTE (H_B @ Nov 13 2008, 11:42) *
I can certainly understand why this thread would make Rangers fans uncomfortable, so used were they to Strachan's predecessor making a roaring c'nt of the title race and feeding Rangers some crumbs.

Now that 4 in a row is becoming more and more inevitable, getting rid of Strachan in any way they can should be Rangers fans' aim.

Wrong answer, your reply should have been: "To you?".
Someone has never watched "ChuckleVision".

I'll try again; to me?
H_B
QUOTE (Disraeli @ Nov 13 2008, 11:45) *
Wrong answer, your reply should have been: "To you?".
Someone has never watched "ChuckleVision".

I'll try again; to me?

No, the Chuckle Brothers always made me uneasy. As did the Krankies. I never found them funny either - they didn't even register on my Laugherty-o-meter, which reached 9.5 watching my new hero last night.
Disraeli
QUOTE (H_B @ Nov 13 2008, 11:49) *
No, the Chuckle Brothers always made me uneasy. As did the Krankies. I never found them funny either - they didn't even register on my Laugherty-o-meter, which reached 9.5 watching my new hero last night.

Needless to say, you're wrong again. I'm not asking you to write an essay on Bohr theory here.
Just, quite simply, add "To you?" after your post.
To me?
Swampy
Having lost the first OF game of the season Celtic nonetheless remain odds-on-favourites for the title. Strachan's doing a terrible job right enough mad.gif
H_B
QUOTE (Swampy @ Nov 13 2008, 12:01) *
Having lost the first OF game of the season Celtic nonetheless remain odds-on-favourites for the title. Strachan's doing a terrible job right enough mad.gif

What do you expect when Rangers "now struggle to put down 99p for every £5 Celtic spend" (© Beyemystic)?

Except of course for when they outspend Celtic again, and lose to Strachan.

To be fair to O'Neill, he was dealing with the managerial colossus that is Alex McLeish. Managing 1 title in 3 seasons against that wily tactician must actually be a source of great pride for him.

Of course, when O'Neill left, the Celtic fans were clearly willing to accept being second best. It's just this disgusting "being the best" thing Strachan has going that is his downfall.
Disraeli
QUOTE (Swampy @ Nov 13 2008, 12:01) *

I suppose many Celtic fans view winning Old Firm encounters as integral. You need to take into account the intangible value of the Old Firm match.
To me?
H_B
QUOTE (Disraeli @ Nov 13 2008, 12:15) *
I suppose many Celtic fans view winning Old Firm encounters as integral. You need to take into account the intangible value of the Old Firm match.

To be honest, I think winning Old Firm games only matters to the side who are being humped in the league season after season.

During the 80s, when Celtic were shite, I remember my Celtic mates would still get excited about the odd Old Firm win, even though in league terms it was an irrelevance as they were normally well back.

From work experiences with Ostrogoth fans, it is a bit of a changearound. Now Ranegrs fans revel in any wins over Celtic to cover up the hurt at knowing in championship terms they are so clearly second best.
sev
QUOTE (H_B @ Nov 13 2008, 12:09) *
What do you expect when Rangers "now struggle to put down 99p for every £5 Celtic spend" (© Beyemystic)?

Except of course for when they outspend Celtic again, and lose to Strachan.

To be fair to O'Neill, he was dealing with the managerial colossus that is Alex McLeish. Managing 1 title in 3 seasons against that wily tactician must actually be a source of great pride for him.

Of course, when O'Neill left, the Celtic fans were clearly willing to accept being second best. It's just this disgusting "being the best" thing Strachan has going that is his downfall.

Correct

Also Bigotmistic also states that we lost to wee diddy teams that we didnt do under ONeill. Is he forgetting ICT in the scottish cup? Motherwell on the last day of the season? Basle in the Champs League qualifier where we had a 2 goal lead going into the 2nd game

Open your eyes Bey you might just enjoy the moment
H_B
QUOTE (sev @ Nov 13 2008, 12:19) *
Correct

Also Bigotmistic also states that we lost to wee diddy teams that we didnt do under ONeill. Is he forgetting ICT in the scottish cup? Motherwell on the last day of the season? Basle in the Champs League qualifier where we had a 2 goal lead going into the 2nd game

Absolutely.

But I think HawHaw's squirming is the more concerning. He has already stated that O'Neill's failures did not mean he should have lost his job, yet Strachan should be sacked even if he does win the league this season.

Now that Strachan is averaging more goals per game than O'Neill did in 4 of his 5 seasons in charge, that becomes all the more bemusing!
Disraeli
QUOTE (H_B @ Nov 13 2008, 12:19) *
To be honest, I think winning Old Firm games only matters to the side who are being humped in the league season after season.

During the 80s, when Celtic were shite, I remember my Celtic mates would still get excited about the odd Old Firm win, even though in league terms it was an irrelevance as they were normally well back.

From work experiences with Ostrogoth fans, it is a bit of a changearound. Now Ranegrs fans revel in any wins over Celtic to cover up the hurt at knowing in championship terms they are so clearly second best.

You really are diabolically bad at this game. In keeping with the nature of this thread, you're supposed to reply "to you?"
It's really very simple - I wouldn't ask you to do it if I thought it was beyond your ability.
To me?
zenith st.petersburg
QUOTE (H_B @ Nov 13 2008, 12:19) *

Celtic were actually the dominant team between OF in the 80's until Souness in 86/87 season. Then after that we had the double winning centenary season in 88.
Ididn't consider Rangers our biggest rivals during that period - Aberdeen & Dundee Utd were more of a challenge.
JUMPURS
Correct

Thanks to that 'lifelong love of Celtic' who went jumping around like a fucking loon when he scored both goals McDonald?

I am so proud he wear the number 7. rolleyes.gif c**t.
Beren
Correct

A very good example of this is the number of Celtic fans that were spitting bullets after Strachan's 4-4 draw with Motherwell. They conveniently forgot that their last competitive domestic game was a 2-1 defeat to Motherwell. Yep, the one that lost the league and ensured Celtic had to play a 2nd round qualifier against Artmedia.
khenny
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Nov 13 2008, 14:44) *
Thanks to that 'lifelong love of Celtic' who went jumping around like a fucking loon when he scored both goals McDonald?

I am so proud he wear the number 7. rolleyes.gif c**t.

You have to remember that he was employed by Motherwell, was probably on fairly average wages and wouuld be over the moon at securing a win bonus for him and his team mates.

I hold no grudges against him or almost anyone (Mojo scum aside) who has scored against us and then plays for us, or vice versa.

It's a job and the guys treat it as such.
celtic_glasgow
I have only one comment to make. And i say this as a staunch gordon strachan supporter.

Martin O'Neill came to a celtic in complete and utter disarray. We had lost the league by 21points the previous season and the team had become a shambles. O'Neill completely revamped celtic football club. I think most supporters would have been happy to have given rangers a run for their money, but we battered them and that was a very good rangers team.

Martin O'Neil built the platform from which gordon strachan has builts celtic's success, he gave fans back their believe, he made celtic park a fortress and that has remained during gordon strachan's time as manager.

Neither managers feats can be compared, just like tommy burns team of 96 cannot be compared to O'neills because in all honesty their is every chance that the 96 team would have beaten our 03 team but because back then competing against rangers was almost out of the question he never won a championship.

So to the masses of p&b this arguement is not boring and lets move onto another topic
SmellTheGlove
QUOTE (celtic_glasgow @ Nov 13 2008, 17:21) *
I have only one comment to make. And i say this as a staunch gordon strachan supporter.

Martin O'Neill came to a celtic in complete and utter disarray. We had lost the league by 21points the previous season and the team had become a shambles. O'Neill completely revamped celtic football club. I think most supporters would have been happy to have given rangers a run for their money, but we battered them and that was a very good rangers team.

Martin O'Neil built the platform from which gordon strachan has builts celtic's success, he gave fans back their believe, he made celtic park a fortress and that has remained during gordon strachan's time as manager.

Neither managers feats can be compared, just like tommy burns team of 96 cannot be compared to O'neills because in all honesty their is every chance that the 96 team would have beaten our 03 team but because back then competing against rangers was almost out of the question he never won a championship.

So to the masses of p&b this arguement is not boring and lets move onto another topic

Agree with all that.
Beyemystic
QUOTE (celtic_glasgow @ Nov 13 2008, 17:21) *

1. Correct about MoN's impact. I would suggest the model of Bill Shankley at Liverpool: clearly some of the individuals who followed him into the job enjoyed greater tangible success in terms of trophies but they will never eclipse "Shanks" in the affections of "Koppites", because they know who got the ball rolling.

2. To a certain extent Strachan has piggybacked on O'Neill's success because his first trophies came with Lenny patrolling the midfield, Hartson banging in the goals etc. Clearly Strachan's increasingly poor signings have diluted the quality of the squad as time has gone on and now home European wins have turned to draws and we are often papped out of domestic cups by joke teams.

3. I enjoyed watching the 96 team, but come on, they were naive. They fell for the same sucker punch every time in "old firm" games. The 03 team could (and did) give anybody in Europe a game but Paris Saint Germain dished out a salutary lesson to Tommy's Bhoys, who were notably out of their depth.

The thing is - and its pertinent to our current side - at that level you are only as good as your weakest link, so the presence of Gordon Marshall, John Hughes, Brian O'Neil etc. meant we never stood a realistic chance. Arch-pragmatist Martin O'Neill built a side with no such defects (except goalies - his Achilles heel). But, infuriatingly, we now find ourselves with a team of weak links again.
khenny
QUOTE (Beyemystic @ Nov 13 2008, 18:07) *
1. Correct about MoN's impact. I would suggest the model of Bill Shankley at Liverpool: clearly some of the individuals who followed him into the job enjoyed greater tangible success in terms of trophies but they will never eclipse "Shanks" in the affections of "Koppites", because they know who got the ball rolling.

2. To a certain extent Strachan has piggybacked on O'Neill's success because his first trophies came with Lenny patrolling the midfield, Hartson banging in the goals etc. Clearly Strachan's increasingly poor signings have diluted the quality of the squad as time has gone on and now home European wins have turned to draws and we are often papped out of domestic cups by joke teams.

3. I enjoyed watching the 96 team, but come on, they were naive. They fell for the same sucker punch every time in "old firm" games. The 03 team could (and did) give anybody in Europe a game but Paris Saint Germain dished out a salutary lesson to Tommy's Bhoys, who were notably out of their depth.

The thing is - and its pertinent to our current side - at that level you are only as good as your weakest link, so the presence of Gordon Marshall, John Hughes, Brian O'Neil etc. meant we never stood a realistic chance. Arch-pragmatist Martin O'Neill built a side with no such defects (except goalies - his Achilles heel). But, infuriatingly, we now find ourselves with a team of weak links again.

Personally I think MON's success was brought about by Tommy Burns cavalier exciting football, which obviously was started by Billy McNeills' double winning side, who were I suppose inspired by the tales from Billy about the lengendary Jock Stein who had in fact taken inspiration from having been in the presence of Jimmy McGrory. Jimmy however puts his success down to the most successful Celtic manager of all time (trophy wise) Willie Maley. smile.gif

So there you have it. Get rid of Strachan and get Willie Maleys great great great grandson in charge.

Would you be happy then bey?
Beren
Martin O'Neill piggy-backed on Jansen, Venglos and Barnes signings. Without Larsson, Lambert, Petrov, Moravcik, Mjallby, how well would Sutton, Lennon, Thompson and Valgaeren faired that first season?
khenny
QUOTE (Eönwë @ Nov 13 2008, 18:54) *
Martin O'Neill piggy-backed on Jansen, Venglos and Barnes signings. Without Larsson, Lambert, Petrov, Moravcik, Mjallby, how well would Sutton, Lennon, Thompson and Valgaeren faired that first season?

I can't thank Barnes!! ohmy.gif

No Celtic fan can!!
Beren
QUOTE (khenny @ Nov 13 2008, 19:06) *
I can't thank Barnes!! ohmy.gif

No Celtic fan can!!

He was signed on Venglos' recommendation IIRC, that ok? wink.gif
khenny
QUOTE (Eönwë @ Nov 13 2008, 19:10) *
He was signed on Venglos' recommendation IIRC, that ok? wink.gif

shutup.gif
Beyemystic
QUOTE (Eönwë @ Nov 13 2008, 18:54) *

He surrounded the decent players we had with other decent players and made the whole greater than the sum of its parts, unlike Chesney who surrounded the decent players he inherited with bargain basement SPL mediocrity.

He also schemed against many of the decent players and sneakily knifed them in the back whilst platitudes dripped from the corner of his mouth.
sev
QUOTE (Beyemystic @ Nov 13 2008, 19:32) *
He surrounded the decent players we had with other decent players and made the whole greater than the sum of its parts, unlike Chesney who surrounded the decent players he inherited with bargain basement SPL mediocrity.

He also schemed against many of the decent players and sneakily knifed them in the back whilst platitudes dripped from the corner of his mouth.

Dont go to the games then if you feel that strongly about it
TheLip
QUOTE (khenny @ Nov 13 2008, 18:24) *
Personally I think MON's success was brought about by Tommy Burns cavalier exciting football, which obviously was started by Billy McNeills' double winning side, who were I suppose inspired by the tales from Billy about the lengendary Jock Stein who had in fact taken inspiration from having been in the presence of Jimmy McGrory. Jimmy however puts his success down to the most successful Celtic manager of all time (trophy wise) Willie Maley. smile.gif

So there you have it. Get rid of Strachan and get Willie Maleys great great great grandson in charge.

Would you be happy then bey?

Under Jimmy McGrory Celtic suffered the worst period in their history. In the 20 years of McGrory's management they won just the one title and on one occasion had to win on the final day to avoid relegation. Nice of Jimmy to lay the blame at Willie Maley's door. When talking management and success, it would be better if you left the hapless McGrory out of the equation.
As for Willie Maley longevity more than anything else makes him Celtic's most trophyladen manager. He started with Celtic before the Boer War and was still manager when WWII started. Stein's period at Celtic was total and utter domination of Scottish Football, during their nine in a row Celtic appeared in 17 of the possible 18 Cup Finals, the 1968 Scottish Cup Final between Dunfermline and Hearts was the only domestic final not to feature Celtic, add to that two European Cup Finals and I believe his record will stand the test of time and in the long run be seen as much more effective and important than Maley's.
JUMPURS
QUOTE (khenny @ Nov 13 2008, 16:17) *
You have to remember that he was employed by Motherwell, was probably on fairly average wages and wouuld be over the moon at securing a win bonus for him and his team mates.

I hold no grudges against him or almost anyone (Mojo scum aside) who has scored against us and then plays for us, or vice versa.

It's a job and the guys treat it as such.

The scoring isn't the issue, it was the celebrating he done.