Full Version: East Fife 3 Ayr Utd 0
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
Cliche Guevara
Ouch!

That's been coming for few weeks, but it was pretty desperate stuff in the end.

I couldn't believe it when we went 0-1 down as East Fife were looking very poor. Conditions were difficult and it was very scrappy early on with East Fife players putting in a few hefty challenges and mostly being booked apart from Cameron's shocker that went mysteriously un-carded. Ayr looked like we were starting to turn the screw a wee bit and East Fife were starting to look vulnerable at he back, when Walker sold the first of two goals. McManus latched on to a long ball and Walker had two chances to challenge before McManus fired in, admittedly, a good strike from the edge of the box.

At the start of the second half Ayr looked like we meant business and immediately tried to press EF. Then Walker picks up a long ball, with the lumbering Templeman in attendance, and proceeds to play a suicide ball straight to him for no apparent reason. Templeman centres the ball and somebody duffs a shot wide that takes a wild deflection into the net for 2-0.

It didn't look good for Ayr at this stage and we decended into farce - failing to control simple balls or play easy passes to team-mates.

Walker was taken off as he was having an absolute nightmare. Perhaps he's injured - I hope so as it's the only way to explain such a bad performance.

With around fifteen minutes to go Gormley made a challenge at pace and was punched by the EF player on the way down. He was subsequently given a straight red and no sooner had I settled down from giving him pelters on the way off, and contemplating a fight-back, when somebody pointed out Aitken was being sent off too for a kick. Thanks to our esteemed captain we never had the chance to try and capitalise and EF proceeded to cut through us at will.

Very disappointed, not at all surprised, and fully expect this to be the start of a slide down to mid-table. I could post more but I don't want to.

I should be a gentleman and say well done to East Fife, though.
faither
Were you actually at the game and if so were you facing the right way in your seat? I know fans are a bit biased but the above account is the most ridiculous account of a match I've ever seen.

The first half was fairly equal though I felt we deserved our lead - just.

The second half Ayr were never in the game. We had umpteen chances and only three good and two lucky saves from your keeper prevented a complete rout.

The referee was mystifying in his ability to see fouls where none existed and as for the sending offs! I was pretty close to the players and there was little enough reason to give a foul let alone send either player off.

Your description of the game amazingly onits the fact that we had not one but two players carried off (not fouls) and so played a lot of the game with a makeshift defence.

Quite frankly if Ayr can't do better than they did in those circumstances then Div 3 awaits.
Big Fifer
I think overall we deserved to win but were Ayr to have scored first(even though I can't really remember your stuff about us looking bad in the F half), they would have gotten somethin out of the game.

Don't want to say too much about the red cards but I didn't see much that could stand for a red.

And also, the ref was a shambles as per at our level. At least this time he was a bit of a shambles for both sides!
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
Well done East Fife.

Thank fukk dry.gif
Tam EF
Totally deserved our win and it should have been more. Considering we had 2 players stretchered off with serious injuries, we adapted brilliantly. Paul McManus ran the Ayr defence ragged and more than merited his 2 goals.
Hopefully we can continue our run against Stranraer next week.
Brian Reid = God
Hats off to Brian and the boys for being kind to the Fifers.
Cliche Guevara
Were you actually at the game and if so were you facing the right way in your seat? I know fans are a bit biased but the above account is the most ridiculous account of a match I've ever seen.

Away and don't talk daft!

I'm commenting on things from an Ayr perspective, but I didn't think EF were good in the first half at all!

Disagree, slightly. One shot at goal, one goal scored and only because Walker failed to put in a challenge at two opportunties.

The referee was mystifying in his ability to see fouls where none existed and as for the sending offs! I was pretty close to the players and there was little enough reason to give a foul let alone send either player off.

One was a punch, one was a kick, which I and the referee clearly saw. If you didn't that's your problem.

Your description of the game amazingly onits the fact that we had not one but two players carried off (not fouls) and so played a lot of the game with a makeshift defence.

Not my concern, my post was long enough. In any event that only supports my view of the first half.

The second half Ayr were never in the game. We had umpteen chances and only three good and two lucky saves from your keeper prevented a complete rout.

I believe I said that

I think overall we deserved to win but were Ayr to have scored first(even though I can't really remember your stuff about us looking bad in the F half), they would have gotten somethin out of the game.

That's what I thought, but no complaints from me about the final score or where the points went.

GoRdY_b
What the hell was that all about?!?!?!?

We didn't turn up today, had our first shot on target on around 88 mins, we couldn't string 2 passes together, couldn't get to the second challenge following a clearance, somehow reverted to the long hopeful ball which seldom works, the list could go on and on.......

East "Fif" (as their support call inexpicably call them), seemed to spend lots of time rolling around the pitch wasting time! Fair enough though, they deserved to win by a country mile.

Special mention to our club "captain". What the hell he was doing kicking your opponent when the ref was going to send him off only he would know. I know he was coming back from injury, but he was nothing short of awful today as he has been for the majority of the season so far.

Scott Walker sold the first two goals, where his performance came from today I've no idea.

Just a bad day all round.
Cliche Guevara
time to get put the signatures away for another year!
LiamA
"East "Fif" (as their support call inexpicably call them), seemed to spend lots of time rolling around the pitch wasting time! Fair enough though, they deserved to win by a country mile"

Rolling around wasting time!!!! Suppose a fractured leg & ruptured ligaments isn't much of a reason for rolling around?
Fair play to Ayr for immediately stopping play as they realised the injuries were serious although I think the reason Williams did it was he was pleased to get some space cos Jay had him in his back pocket!
Lots of great performances from EF players but for me Steven Tweed was just immense! We are such a solid team when he plays, best signing Baikie has made.
Former God
QUOTE (faither @ Sep 27 2008, 18:18) *

If it was a fairly equal game then surely EF didn't deserve to be leading, it would have been a draw?

But to be fair Ayr were shite, and you deserved the win, however i wasn't that imprest with EF, they didn't seem to be playing the great football the are talked about to play. Though it doesn't hind the fact that you won fairly
callum-ayr
couldny kick our arses the day
get aitken too f**k club captain aye right who does he think he was swaggering off like that when he was sent off he shouldnt be in the squad
RedWeb
QUOTE (callum-ayr @ Sep 27 2008, 20:12) *
get aitken too f**k club captain aye right

You may be interested to know that David Lowing is now playing well for Stirling. Maybe we got the best of the swap after all huh.gif
Buckfast
Firstly to the game: Ayr were shite and East Fife deserved to win.

Now the town : That must be one of the most depressing towns in Scotland. The place is an utter dive. Tried looking for a chippy after the game and every where was either boarded up or had shutters down.The place is a midden with nothing but jaikies and junkies hanging about doorways.
It makes Kilmarnock look like fuckin Beverley Hills!
King Kebab
Can I ask you to clarify a few points???

QUOTE (Cliche Guevara @ Sep 27 2008, 18:08) *
Ouch!

That's been coming for few weeks, but it was pretty desperate stuff in the end.

I couldn't believe it when we went 0-1 down as East Fife were looking very poor. (in what way were we looking poor??? As has been said, I thought it was a very entertaining and even first half???)
Conditions were difficult (What conditions???) and it was very scrappy early on with East Fife players putting in a few hefty challenges and mostly being booked apart from Cameron's shocker that went mysteriously un-carded. Ayr looked like we were starting to turn the screw a wee bit and East Fife were starting to look vulnerable at he back, (Having two of your first pick defenders strechered off will do that to you!!!) when Walker sold the first of two goals. McManus latched on to a long ball and Walker had two chances to challenge before McManus fired in, admittedly, a good strike from the edge of the box.

At the start of the second half Ayr looked like we meant business and immediately tried to press EF. Then Walker picks up a long ball, with the lumbering Templeman in attendance, and proceeds to play a suicide ball straight to him for no apparent reason. Templeman centres the ball and somebody duffs a shot wide that takes a wild deflection into the net for 2-0. (Not true and you are doing a disservice to both players, your guy attempted to take the ball wide in order to clear it, Templeman then put in a fantastic tackle retrieving the ball got up and then played a ball into the centre, did you actually see what happened there or did somebody tell you your version when you came back from the toilet???)

It didn't look good for Ayr at this stage and we decended into farce - failing to control simple balls or play easy passes to team-mates. (True!!! but to be honest we were excellent in the second half and didn't give you a chance to better yourselves!!!)

Walker was taken off as he was having an absolute nightmare. Perhaps he's injured - I hope so as it's the only way to explain such a bad performance. (True!!!)

With around fifteen minutes to go Gormley made a challenge at pace (Untrue, he hacked him down!!!) and was punched by the EF player on the way down. (True, but I don't know if he connected or not, but the attempt was made so he had to go!!!) He was subsequently given a straight red and no sooner had I settled down from giving him pelters on the way off, and contemplating a fight-back, when somebody pointed out Aitken was being sent off too for a kick. (True and probably the most petulant act of the lot, he wasn't even involved in the initial incident!!!) Thanks to our esteemed captain we never had the chance to try and capitalise and EF proceeded to cut through us at will. (True!!!)

Very disappointed, not at all surprised, and fully expect this to be the start of a slide down to mid-table. I could post more but I don't want to.

I should be a gentleman and say well done to East Fife, though.
King Kebab
QUOTE (Buckfast @ Sep 27 2008, 21:20) *

Now the town : That must be one of the most depressing towns in Scotland. The place is an utter dive. Tried looking for a chippy after the game and every where was either boarded up or had shutters down.The place is a midden with nothing but jaikies and junkies hanging about doorways.

Yup, and they would probably pump you three-zip as well!!!
jt1903
Great result and performance by the Fife today. We were utterly dominant and broke through the Ayr defence with ease for the entire second half. Easily the best performance of the season by the lads.
Tam EF
And with Brian Reid keeping the players in the Dressing Room for an hour after full time enabling us to eat the after match buffet which was very, very nice!
King Kebab
QUOTE (Tam EF @ Sep 27 2008, 21:34) *
And with Brian Reid keeping the players in the Dressing Room for an hour after full time enabling us to eat the after match buffet which was very, very nice!

Better to eat it than to wear it Tam!!! wink.gif
Screamin' Skull

Ayr players don't seem to have much luck with food where East Fife are concerned do they?
davidkennedyshand
And with Brian Reid keeping the players in the Dressing Room for an hour after full time

Good..hopefully smashing a few egos off the walls
GoF
QUOTE (Screamin' Skull @ Sep 27 2008, 22:11) *
Ayr players don't seem to have much luck with food where East Fife are concerned do they?

Tam EF
QUOTE (davidkennedyshand @ Sep 27 2008, 22:21) *
Good..hopefully smashing a few egos off the walls

Agree, one of the East Fife volunteers asked an Ayr player before the game how they were playing this season...his response was " why do you think we`re top of the league"
GoF
QUOTE (Tam EF @ Sep 27 2008, 22:26) *
Agree, one of the East Fife volunteers asked an Ayr player before the game how they were playing this season...his response was " why do you think we`re top of the league"

Did they reply with "because Dave Baikie's taken a few weeks to find his best team"? tongue.gif
Cliche Guevara
KK not sure how best to reply:

I thought the first half was bollocks - not sure what you're used to but the number of passes that went out for a throw-in, and the number of aimless long balls rendered the game rather tedious. Clearly you'll acknowledge a far better performance in the second half.

Re the conditions: seemed to be blowing a gale which was holding the ball up and making it difficult for both teams to get it down and pass. Again, perhaps that's what you're used to . The first half was like a Junior game to me. I've seen better performances than that from every other team I've seen us play.

Walker had ample opportunity to hump the ball away, and Templeman should never have got near it. Not sure how you can argue against that.

Am not actually that sure that you're disagreeing with most of what I've posted. Not that it matters that much as the result was clear-cut in the end.
Cliche Guevara

I'd be interested to know who that was. It's just rude, for a start, and I'm quite sure the EF volunteer took great delight from it at the end of the game. presumably the player in question was one of the abject failures on the park today. Actually, the people who I suspect might have made such a remark had contributed least to our success. Anyway, it's back to reality for us and we'll try and keep our heads above water fighting for a play-off place from now.
kiwififer
QUOTE (Buckfast @ Sep 28 2008, 09:20) *

You were in Methil, down at the docks ffs! Leven is the main town and it's full of pubs, shops, chippy's etc.

Sour grapes make an affy whine...
Bayviewboy
QUOTE (callum-ayr @ Sep 27 2008, 20:12) *
couldny kick our arses the day
get aitken too f**k club captain aye right who does he think he was swaggering off like that when he was sent off he shouldnt be in the squad

You'll get your wish - he won't be in the squad next week - he'll be suspended !!!!!! LOL
aldo
first off, yes east fife we better than us by a mile today and thoroughly deserved the win. although fairly mediocre in defence and midfield, they have some top forward players and will be up there at the end of the season.

in terms of conditions that have been mentioned, although it was windy, i thought the pitch today was horrendous. looked like the reason for the east fife boy's bad injury and made it hard for both teams to play much good football. very dry and bobbly.

we were shocking today and i am glad to hear of reid keeping the players behind, hopefully for a few kind words. need to respond next week.
Pit Bits Bits
Don't know who had the biggest shocker today.

Us or your female tannoy announcer, who couldn't string three words together without stuttering.

She should have been at home preparing her man's dinner!! whistling.gif
Ayrgirl
We were shit. Enough said.

QUOTE (Pit Bits Bits @ Sep 28 2008, 00:31) *

Us or your female tannoy announcer, who couldn't string three words together without stuttering.

I know, she was dire. Hopefully she will have completed her reading course before we return there.
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
QUOTE (Pit Bits Bits @ Sep 28 2008, 00:31) *

Sounds like the one who's been there for years - she's hilarious. If it's her she will have announced after each goal ''that was a goal for East Fife'' in all seriousness.
Stevo Fife
You know things are pretty desperate when you start criticising the tannoy lady. Jeez is that the best you can do? Staff in the pie hut had better watch out. Ayrs finest are spitting the dummy. Loved seeing you lot pour out the stadium with 10 mins to go. Mind you, you were well and trully pumped.

The game.....
first half fairly even with us just edging it. Second half was 3-0 going on 6. East Fife played well and the players were up for it, in particular Shields who was outstanding.
I`ve always maintained this league is anybody's. I saw nothing today to suggest that Ayr were better than anyone else so far this season. You're wide open at the back and have very little to offer up front. Your no. 6 looks a tidy player, the rest looked average.
Everyone is capable of taking points of each other and to be honest you didn't look a better side than Raith. Peterhead best side i`ve seen so far.

Top of the league? Yer havin' a laff.
Pit Bits Bits
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Sep 28 2008, 00:53) *
You know things are pretty desperate when you start criticising the tannoy lady. Jeez is that the best you can do? Staff in the pie hut had better watch out. Ayrs finest are spitting the dummy. Loved seeing you lot pour out the stadium with 10 mins to go. Mind you, you were well and trully pumped.

I'd love to criticise the girl operating the turnstile who couldn't must have thought I was 16, but I can't.

Handed over my £20 pound note and received £13 in return.....not bad for being 34.

Agreed, we were pish though but are we not allowed to comment on things other than game?
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (Pit Bits Bits @ Sep 28 2008, 00:59) *
I'd love to criticise the girl operating the turnstile who couldn't must have thought I was 16, but I can't.

Handed over my £20 pound note and received £13 in return.....not bad for being 34.

Agreed, we were pish though but are we not allowed to comment on things other than game?

No! wink.gif
Ayrgirl
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Sep 28 2008, 01:03) *
No! wink.gif

Tough.

I stayed till the end (just so that I could boo at them)
Pit Bits Bits
QUOTE (Ayrgirl @ Sep 28 2008, 01:05) *
Tough.

I stayed till the end (just so that I could boo at them)

So did I, but I just couldn't even be bothered booing!!

sad.gif sad.gif
fifepup
So just to recap, Ayr lost because:
it was a bit windy, the pitch was a bit muddy, the tannoy wifie had a stutter, you couldn't find a chip shop, and our players deliberately broke some of their own limbs to waste time. laugh.gif laugh.gif

Ayrgirl
QUOTE (Pit Bits Bits @ Sep 28 2008, 01:06) *

sad.gif sad.gif

Tbh I gave a have hearted boo as I quickly left the stadium in embarrassment. Words fail me - I can't believe how shit we were. Nobody seemed to give a fuck and that is a shocking attitude. The team and management need to take a long hard look at themselves.
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (Pit Bits Bits @ Sep 28 2008, 01:06) *

sad.gif sad.gif

You should be standing by them not booing them. They were well beaten on the day.
Still don't see what the hype was about.
Who was your no.7? He`s a player. The much mentioned Stevenson seems overated. A good read though.
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
QUOTE (fifepup @ Sep 28 2008, 01:11) *
it was a bit windy, the pitch was a bit muddy, the tannoy wifie had a stutter, you couldn't find a chip shop, and our players deliberately broke some of their own limbs to waste time. laugh.gif laugh.gif

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

You forgot to add that the town depressed them laugh.gif
Ayrgirl
QUOTE (fifepup @ Sep 28 2008, 01:11) *

No, it's because we were/are shit.

Pit Bits Bits
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Sep 28 2008, 01:12) *
Who was your no.7? He`s a player. The much mentioned Stevenson seems overated. A good read though.

Number 7 was Ryan Borris and to be honest, him and our keeper Grindlay were the only two to get pass marks from me.

Stevenson just hasn't cut it at all this season. Hopefully its just a case of him needing one really good performance to get him back to the standards he set last season and I'd say Alex Williams is in an identical situation.

bring_back_the_twa_hoops
QUOTE (Ayrgirl @ Sep 28 2008, 01:20) *
No, it's because we were/are shit.

We're shitter than you - we can outdo Ayr in anything king.gif
Ayrgirl
QUOTE (bring_back_the_twa_hoops @ Sep 28 2008, 01:27) *
We're shitter than you - we can outdo Ayr in anything king.gif

Just because you're off ignore it doesn't mean I'm going to argue with you wink.gif
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (Pit Bits Bits @ Sep 28 2008, 01:26) *
Number 7 was Ryan Borris and to be honest, him and our keeper Grindlay were the only two to get pass marks from me.

Stevenson just hasn't cut it at all this season. Hopefully its just a case of him needing one really good performance to get him back to the standards he set last season and I'd say Alex Williams is in an identical situation.

Aye, thayts the fella. Good tricky player and i thought he was going to cause us problems but he seemed to lack the support.
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
QUOTE (Ayrgirl @ Sep 28 2008, 01:29) *
Just because you're off ignore it doesn't mean I'm going to argue with you wink.gif

I thought you might have contested that one tongue.gif
kiwififer
QUOTE (aldo @ Sep 28 2008, 12:30) *
in terms of conditions that have been mentioned, although it was windy, i thought the pitch today was horrendous.

Another excuse, the pitch and conditions were the same for both teams.
the_russian
I think there's a world record number of excuses in this thread from Ayr fans.

Delighted with the result, I had a feeling we'd horse them, after all this "we can't wait to play East Fife after they were rude to us on the boat" pish from their players.

We'll beat you in a food fight, and we'll beat you at fitbaw laugh.gif get it roon ye's, ya bunch o fannies.

pwned!!
St. Starko
I don't know if this was a good result or a bad result for Raith. East Fife are clearly hitting some form and look to overtrake us, so it's bad. However, if Ayr had won they would have been even further ahead of us. This is depressing sad.gif
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.