Full Version: Saints 2 - 0 Dundee
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3
The ghost of Jim Morton
May I be the first to say .GIRUY..RAE MUST STAY ....

Great result and not a bad game. First half was about even with a few decent chances but not much else. Ref Brines loves to blow his whistle though. To many fouls given for both sides for nothing.

Second half was much better with Saints pressing a bit more and looking in charge. The programme ediotor must have seen in to the future. Paul Sheerin lit up the front cover and lit up the match with a beautiful curled shot in to the top corner. Chris miller who was my man of the match was every where. Then the icing on the cake was a cracking finish by Savo Milne.

Shit crowd of only 4300 which was not surprising I suppose because Dundee truely are pish.After Savo's strike the away end emptied very quickly.Great result great day 3 points thank you very much biggrin.gif
G_Man1985
Dundee are 6th........................ sad.gif . I read Dundee had alot of possesion but couldnt put the ball in the net. Sheerin strike was meant to of been a cracking strike. Pretty unhappy and i would like our management team to change.
Bigmouth Strikes Again
QUOTE (The ghost of Jim Morton @ Sep 27 2008, 17:07) *
May I be the first to say .GIRUY..RAE MUST STAY ....

Great result and not a bad game. First half was about even with a few decent chances but not much else. Ref Brines loves to blow his whistle though. To many fouls given for both sides for nothing.

Second half was much better with Saints pressing a bit more and looking in charge. The programme ediotor must have seen in to the future. Paul Sheerin lit up the front cover and lit up the match with a beautiful curled shot in to the top corner. Chris miller who was my man of the match was every where. Then the icing on the cake was a cracking finish by Savo Milne.

Shit crowd of only 4300 which was not surprising I suppose because Dundee truely are pish.After Savo's strike the away end emptied very quickly.Great result great day 3 points thank you very much biggrin.gif

Just imagine ghostie..... if you could manage to lose your virginity tonight........today could be the 'perfect day' cool.gif
Steve McQueen
Brines was awful for the first 45 but a bit better in the 2nd. Any co9ntact was a free kick at some times then pulling your opponent to the ground was play on.

1st half was pretty poor TBH, we had an own goal disallowed for pushing (I think?). Main had a very good save at the feet of the Dundee striker when it looked like it would be a goal.

Cracking strike from Sheerin to put us infront, must have beat his man 2 or 3 times before curling into the top corner. Dundee did come back into it but didnt have many real chances to equalise & Savo finished it with another great finish to settle it.

Defence was better Ruti won everything, still a lot of work to do.
Matty_True_Dee
QUOTE (Steve McQueen @ Sep 27 2008, 17:57) *
Brines was awful for the first 45 but a bit better in the 2nd. Any co9ntact was a free kick at some times then pulling your opponent to the ground was play on.

1st half was pretty poor TBH, we had an own goal disallowed for pushing (I think?). Main had a very good save at the feet of the Dundee striker when it looked like it would be a goal.

Cracking strike from Sheerin to put us infront, must have beat his man 2 or 3 times before curling into the top corner. Dundee did come back into it but didnt have many real chances to equalise & Savo finished it with another great finish to settle it.

First half was boggin, second wasn't much better but Sheerin scored a beautiful goal. Had that not gone in it may well have gone on to be a goalless draw but it wouldn't have mattered as....

... we are utterly, utterly garbage.
the_saints_are_coming
Sheeeeeeeeeeeeeeerin.
honest to god i love the saintees. biggrin.gif
Muggy
QUOTE (Steve McQueen @ Sep 27 2008, 17:57) *

Did he?

This week, I'm not going to pin-point abuse at Rae for this result. We don't have the right to go upto Perth and win, especially with the injury list pilling up again. In saying that, we nearly scored, forcing a good save from Main. That would probably have changed the outcome of the game.

We went with a parochial formation system and it didn't work, but with McHale pulling out injured before the match, we were up against it from the off. I didn't expect us to get anything from this match. Everything seems to be going against us at the moment.

I hope McMenamin is ok, as that would be a massive blow, (even though our strikers are not scoring).

Nobody is going to run away this league, so we've still a chance, along as we start scoring goals.

Based on todays teams, I would say neither look good for the title, but someone has to win it.

I will also add this:

John Bennet - make your mind up and get on with it! I'm not saying we wouldn't be going through this bad patch had this take-over talk not arisen, but it has to be having a detrimental effect on the squad. It's unsettling, and I'm not using this as an excuse because we may have been defeated regardless.

John Bennet needs to make his mind up, and move on.
Fast_Action
At least Dundee can console themselves that they have such an outstanding keeper in Rab Douglas. Otherwise they might have shipped five goals at least in their last two games. ohmy.gif
Muggy
QUOTE (Fast_Action @ Sep 27 2008, 18:12) *
At least Dundee can console themselves that they have such an outstanding keeper in Rab Douglas. Otherwise they might have shipped five goals at least in their last two games. ohmy.gif

It's all Robert Douglas's fault. rolleyes.gif
Fife Saint
The death spiral is almost out of control.

Two great finishes left the bigot-riddled dragon of Dundee slain at the swords of Sirs Sheerin and Milne.

Rae must be pulling his hair out (pun intended) at his players who lacked in every department. Not even the gamesmanship of Gilhaney and ineptitude of Brines could rescue Dundee from their fate.

We looked dangerous when Liam Craig broke from Left Back and took Cowan for a ride and got balls in the area.

And to top it off McMenamin carted off in a stretcher.
Stainrod's Fedora
Another shite day in Perth. Shite weather, shite motorway diversion, shite car park, shite police/stewards, shite prices, shite pie, shite crowd, shite game, and Dundee were the shitiest of the lot.

Just shite.

Thank God for alcohol.
EastFootball
RAE MUST GO!!
Fife Saint
QUOTE (Stainrod's Fedora @ Sep 27 2008, 18:20) *
Another shite day in Perth. Shite weather, shite motorway diversion, shite car park, shite police/stewards, shite prices, shite pie, shite crowd, shite game, and Dundee were the shitiest of the lot.

Just shite.

Thank God for alcohol.

Surely you laughed at Malone stotting Gilhaneyin the face with a rocket clearance. Surely!
Muggy
QUOTE (Fife Saint @ Sep 27 2008, 18:18) *
And to top it off McMenamin carted off in a stretcher.

Totally unacceptable. I thought of you as one of the better posters on this site, but not after that!

(Cue, the Whooosh excuse)
Fife Saint
QUOTE (Muggy :) @ Sep 27 2008, 18:23) *
Totally unacceptable. I thought of you as one of the better posters on this site, but not after that!

Lighten up, Freddie Daquin kissed it better and he walked onto the teambus.
Juan Sara
Best bit of today was having a Rae must go chant.
the_saints_are_coming
Dundee supporters showed their class by singing about Alan Mains father once again. rolleyes.gif

Disclaimer: i am aware not every Dundee fan was but there certainly was a fair few singing it.
Derry_boy
4 defeats in last 5 games, scored 2 and conceded 10

we don't look like scoring and we can't defend, when we do play good football and get to the final 3rd we are clueless, Curier is hopeless and should be dropped to the bench untill he gets his finger out his fucking arse

Great goal from Sheerin, placed perfectly and Savo's was well hit aswell

only good thing from the match was possibly the fact it wasn't more
Stainrod's Fedora
QUOTE (Fife Saint @ Sep 27 2008, 18:23) *
Surely you laughed at Malone stotting Gilhaneyin the face with a rocket clearance. Surely!

VitalDees
Rae has to resign or get punted it's just not good enough. How can he possibly justify playing one up front when we have only scored FOUR goals from open play in EIGHT games?

Two well taken goals from St Johnstone but from a Dundee perspective it was poor defending. We never closed St Johnstone down and gave them far too much room as soon as we lost the first goal, I said it would finish 2-0 and unfortunately I was correct.

Malone was constantly out of position and watched Sheerin as he scored a fantastic goal, Rab could do nothing about either goal and McKeown didn't look solid. Pozniak and Daquin are wasting space and the team is split. The people that our bus driver (Jim Lauchlan) brings from Glasgow and the group that come from Dundee. ALL players should be coming from the same place and the players didn't look interested at all.

Rae must go, he is in awful manager and that has proved after these back to back defeats, he can say what he wants but we're not a team, we're individuals. I like the shout of Stevie Frail as our next manager but really, anyone would do better than Rae.

John Bennet is not likely to take over until the end of the season and that would depend on us achieving promotion (which looks very unlikely) but he has invested a significant amount in the club this season.

QUOTE (the_saints_are_coming @ Sep 27 2008, 18:31) *
Dundee supporters showed their class by singing about Alan Mains father once again.

Disclaimer: i am aware not every Dundee fan was but there certainly was a fair few singing it.

To be honest I couldn't care what Dundee fans were singing today and I heard "Alky Rae" coming from the Home Support and to be honest, I couldn't care less.
Muggy
Dundee supporters showed their class by singing about Alan Mains father once again. rolleyes.gif

Get over it. It's wrong, but you knew it was going to happen!
Derry_boy

Can't we do that? no?

Gavin Swankie showed his class today, great performance laugh.gif
Juan Sara
QUOTE (Derry_boy @ Sep 27 2008, 18:33) *
Can't we do that? no?

Gavin Swankie showed his class today, great performance laugh.gif

Better than everyone of our players.
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (Muggy :) @ Sep 27 2008, 18:23) *

(Cue, the Whooosh excuse)

Correct, totally unecceptable. As was the " Alan Mains Alky Dad" chant
Muggy
QUOTE (VitalDees @ Sep 27 2008, 18:32) *
John Bennet is not likely to take over until the end of the season and that would depend on us achieving promotion (which looks very unlikely) but he has invested a significant amount in the club this season.

How do you know that?
Stainrod's Fedora
Also had to laugh at the amount of wee fannies sitting round about me today, chucking scarves away and kicking seats.
Derry_boy
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Sep 27 2008, 18:34) *

Correct.

Only Mark Gilhaney, Rab Douglas and Eric Paton would get pass marks for me.
Fife Saint
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Sep 27 2008, 18:34) *

I disagree. I thought Swankie was totally anonymous. At least you had guys who were trying to get involved.
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Sep 27 2008, 18:28) *
Best bit of today was having a Rae must go chant.

I never heard that. Never heard much else either though tongue.gif
Juan Sara
QUOTE (Derry_boy @ Sep 27 2008, 18:35) *
Correct.

Only Mark Gilhaney, Rab Douglas and Eric Paton would get pass marks for me.

You serious huh.gif
Muggy
QUOTE (The ghost of Jim Morton @ Sep 27 2008, 18:35) *

What's that got to do with this particular scenario?

I've already said those chants are wrong!
HardingsHamstring
QUOTE (Muggy :) @ Sep 27 2008, 18:11) *
Based on todays teams, I would say neither look good for the title, but someone has to win it.

Neither St Johnstone or Dundee, apparently.
Derry_boy
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Sep 27 2008, 18:36) *
You serious huh.gif

aye.

he atleast attacked his full back and on a number of occasions beat him, nobody else looked willing to put a shift in
Stainrod's Fedora
QUOTE (The ghost of Jim Morton @ Sep 27 2008, 18:35) *

If Main wasn't such a complete fuckwit then nothing would be directed at him. Years of acting like a clown has brought about this regular pantomime with the Dundee supporters.
Muggy
QUOTE (Stainrod's Fedora @ Sep 27 2008, 18:40) *
If Main wasn't such a complete fuckwit then nothing would be directed at him. Years of acting like a clown has brought about this regular pantomime with the Dundee supporters.

Absolutely true. The chants are wrong, but Main has brought it on himself.
Fife Saint
To be fair its not his fault his dad is an alky. If Alan Main was an alky then it would make it ok in my book.
Derry_boy
QUOTE (Muggy :) @ Sep 27 2008, 18:41) *
Absolutely true. The chants are wrong, but Main has brought it on himself.

ooh Alan's dad's an alki
he drinks just like a fish
and when he wakes up in the morning
he's lying in his pish

ooh Alan's dad's an alki
he sits and drinks all day
he said he started drinking
when he heard his son was gay
EastFootball
QUOTE (Fife Saint @ Sep 27 2008, 18:43) *
To be fair its not his fault his dad is an alky. If Alan Main was an alky then it would make it ok in my book.

If I had a son like Alan Main, I'd be driven to drink.

Mind you, if I had a son like Alan Main there would evidently be something strange happening in space-time.
the_saints_are_coming
QUOTE (Derry_boy @ Sep 27 2008, 18:44) *
ooh Alan's dad's an alki
he drinks just like a fish
and when he wakes up in the morning
he's lying in his pish

ooh Alan's dad's an alki
he sits and drinks all day
he said he started drinking
when he heard his son was gay

your parents must be so proud. rolleyes.gif
Derry_boy
QUOTE (Fife Saint @ Sep 27 2008, 18:43) *

correct.

Main is just a fanny
Derry_boy
QUOTE (the_saints_are_coming @ Sep 27 2008, 18:44) *
your parents must be so proud. rolleyes.gif

your spot on

arsehole.
Fife Saint
Main is a fanny to opposing supporters but to the tefal-heid punters that sit in my area of the East stand he is a god-like figure.

I reckon they would let him go home and pump their wives/mums.

I understand why people don't like him.
Derry_boy
QUOTE (Fife Saint @ Sep 27 2008, 18:46) *
Main is a fanny to opposing supporters but to the tefal-heid punters that sit in my area of the East stand he is a god-like figure.

I understand why people don't like him.

surely they have standards ohmy.gif
EastFootball

For someone from Perth, that's the same person, surely?
Nizzy
Main is a fanny to opposing supporters

I don't think he is, we've had some superb banter with Main down the years and he's always been quick to applaud the Jags fans at the conclusion of every game I can remeber us facing him in.

He obviously has a problem with the Dundee support. Well, who doesn't?
Fast_Action
QUOTE (Muggy :) @ Sep 27 2008, 18:36) *
What's that got to do with this particular scenario?

I've already said those chants are wrong!

You should be saying the same about your sectarian chants.
the_saints_are_coming
QUOTE (Derry_boy @ Sep 27 2008, 18:45) *
your spot on

arsehole.

Derry_boy
QUOTE (Fast_Action @ Sep 27 2008, 18:50) *

Hullo Hullo
we are the Dundee boys
Hullo Hullo
you hear us by our noise
were up to our kness in arrab blood
so surrender or youll die
cause we are the Dundee derry boys

that one laugh.gif

your just jealous.
DeeJay35
QUOTE (Fast_Action @ Sep 27 2008, 18:50) *

ffs here we go again rolleyes.gif
Derry_boy
QUOTE (the_saints_are_coming @ Sep 27 2008, 18:50) *

to think it has took you about 10 minutes to reply and to look up a picture to post with it suggests you need to get out more
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.